Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
More specifically, in both claims, the limitation “and other select Gx based functional variables” is a form of indefinite language, as there is no clear limitation as to what is considered “other select Gx based functional variables” and how many other variables are involved to create the therapy score.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Each of claims 1-20 has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of claims 1-20 recite at least one step or instruction for collecting and determining information, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG. The claimed limitation involves a generic computer collecting, comparing, and determining data without demonstrating the computer into a practical application. Accordingly, claims 1 and 11 recite an abstract idea.
Specifically, claim 1 recites:
A computer-implemented method for diagnosing cause of exertional dyspnea, the method comprising:
receiving cardiopulmonary exercise test data corresponding to a submaximal cardiopulmonary exercise test performed by patients (Pre-solution data gathering/insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)));
gathering, by a computing device, observations to be classified based upon cardiopulmonary exercise test data (Pre-solution data gathering/insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)));
extracting, by the computing device, numerical information from the observations (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG);
classifying, by the computing device, the numerical information (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG); and
generating, by the computing device, an interpretation of the numerical information (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG).
Further, claim 11 recites:
A computing device programmed for diagnosing cause of exertional dyspnea, the computing device comprising:
at least one processor; and
memory encoding instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to:
receive cardiopulmonary exercise test data corresponding to a submaximal cardiopulmonary exercise test performed by patients (Pre-solution data gathering/insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)));
gather observations to be classified based upon the cardiopulmonary exercise test data (Pre-solution data gathering/insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)));
extract numerical information from the observations (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG);
classify, by the computing device, the numerical information (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG); and
generate an interpretation of the numerical information (observation, judgment or evaluation, which is grouped as a mental process under the 2019 PEG).
Accordingly, as indicated above, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea.
Further, dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they’re merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea in independent claims 1 and 11 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-10 and 12-20) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the additional elements (identified above in independent claims 1 and 11), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. More specifically, the additional elements of: a computing device, as recited in independent claim 1, and at least one processor and memory encoding instructions as recited in independent claim 11 are generically recited computer elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent claims 1 and 11 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and certain method of organizing human activity) using rules (e.g., memory encoding instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., the at least one processor or computing device as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent claims 1 and 11 (and their respective dependent claims) is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 and 11 (and their respective dependent claims) are each directed to an abstract idea under 2019 PEG.
Step 2B
None of claims 1-20 include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons.
These claims require the additional elements of: a computing device, as recited in independent claim 1, and at least one processor and memory encoding instructions as recited in independent claim 11.
The above-identified additional elements are generically claimed computer components which enable the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc. , 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Per Applicant’s specification in paragraphs 0039, the Applicant notes that the processing device can be a central processing unit (CPU) and further notes that “computing devices suitable for the computing device 102 include a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a mobile computing device (such as a smart phone, an iPod® or iPad® mobile digital device, or other mobile devices), or other devices configured to process digital instructions” in ¶ 0040. Additionally, Applicant fails to disclose details pertaining to “memory encoding instructions” in the Specification and only discloses details pertaining to what the at least one processor can execute in ¶ 0110 and ¶ 0112. Such computer elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional.
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed terms processor and computing device is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the processor. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in claims 1-20 amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the apparatus of claims 1-20 are directed to applying an abstract idea (e.g., mental process or certain method of organizing human activity) on a general-purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself (as in McRO, Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR). In other words, none of claims 1-20 provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent claims 1 and 11 (and their dependent claims) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, claims 1-20 merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Therefore, none of the Claims 1-20 amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al. and 2019 PEG.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoppmann et al. (US 20200069219 A1), hereinafter Hoppmann, in view of Stickland et al. (Stickland, M. K., Neder, J. A., Guenette, J. A., O’Donnell, D. E., & Jensen, D. (2022). Using cardiopulmonary exercise testing to understand dyspnea and exercise intolerance in respiratory disease. Chest, 161(6)), hereinafter Stickland.
Regarding claim 11, and substantially similar limitations in claim 1, Hoppmann discloses a computing device programmed for diagnosing cause of exertional dyspnea, the computing device comprising:
at least one processor [a portable device for receiving pulmonary function test data as well as displaying, and analyzing the data. The device may include a probe, a transducer, a beamformer, a controller, a signal processor, a B mode processor, a Doppler processor and a video processor, see in ¶ 0018]; and
memory encoding instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor [processing steps performed by processor 314, see in ¶ 0053; memory 318, see in Fig. 3], cause the computing device to:
receive data performed by patients [receiving pulmonary function test data, combining the pulmonary function test data with other clinical data, see in ¶ 0019; the other clinical data may include ultrasound, lung sound, heart sound, electrocardiogram (ECG/EKG), blood oxygenation level, blood pressure readings, or body temperature, see also in ¶ 0019];
gather observations to be classified based upon the cardiopulmonary exercise test data; extract numerical information from the observations; classify, by the computing device, the numerical information [gathering first medical data with a first device, transmitting the gathered data to a second device, combining the first medical data with at least one second medical data, employing AI to analyze the combined first medical data and the at least one second medical data, see in ¶ 0017; Examiner notes that the steps of gathering and extracting the test data is broadly interpreted as the gathering and transmitting steps of Hoppmann, and the classifying step is broadly interpreted as the “employing AI to analyze” step of Hoppmann] ; and
generate an interpretation of the numerical information [creating a personalized diagnosis based on the combined first medical data and the at least one second medical data, see in ¶ 0017].
Hoppmann fails to explicitly disclose wherein the computing device receives cardiopulmonary exercise test data and that the cardiopulmonary test data corresponds to a submaximal cardiopulmonary exercise test.
However, Stickland discloses that submaximal cardiopulmonary exercise test data is ideally suited to evaluate the pathophysiological mechanism(s) of dyspnea and exercise limitation in people with chronic respiratory disease [see in abstract on pg. 1505; the dyspnea response to CPET is best assessed at standardized submaximal exercise intensities ranging from rest to peak exercise, see on pg. 1511 and pg. 1512].
Hoppmann and Stickland are both analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of dyspnea assessment in patients with chronic lung issues. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hoppmann’s use of pulmonary function test data and incorporated the teachings of Stickland to include that cardiopulmonary exercise test (CPET) data is used to diagnose dyspnea because CPET is a standardized and clinically relevant method of evaluating cardiopulmonary function [see pg. 1506] and particularly submaximal CPET data is used because maximal effort is not necessary for testing, since peak dyspnea intensity ratings are generally similar between those with and without chronic respiratory diseases [Dyspnea intensity ratings at peak exercise do not discriminate between healthy control subjects and people with COPD or interstitial lung disease, nor do they help in evaluating interventional efficacy in COPD. This is because people with or without chronic respiratory disease often stop exercising with similar peak dyspnea intensity ratings, albeit at much different exercise intensities, see on pg. 1511, right column, last paragraph and start of pg. 1512].
Regarding claim 12, and substantially similar limitations in claim 2, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 11, comprising further instructions which, executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to perform the gathering, the extracting, or the classifying uses artificial intelligence [employing AI to analyze the combined first medical data and the at least one second medical data, see in ¶ 0017; AI finds structure and regularities in data so that the algorithm acquires a skill. The algorithm becomes a classifier or a predictor, see in ¶ 0036].
Regarding claim 13, and substantially similar limitations in claim 3, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 11, wherein the cardiopulmonary exercise test data includes two or more tests of:
oxygen consumption;
rate of oxygen consumption;
carbon dioxide production;
carbon dioxide exhalation;
end tidal partial pressure of carbon dioxide exhalation;
partial pressure of mixed expired carbon dioxide exhalation;
partial pressure of mean expired carbon dioxide;
heartrate [electrocardiogram (ECG/EKG), see in ¶ 0018]; and
oxygen saturation [blood oxygenation level, see in ¶ 0018].
Regarding claim 14, and substantially similar limitations in claim 4, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 11, comprising further instructions which, executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to classify the numerical information based upon one or more of: a multivariable index for disease risk [The device could also be used to help track individuals at increased genetic risk over time to help predict or prognosticate disease, see in ¶ 0051], a disease referral optimization, such as a multiparametric index score for pulmonary hypertension, cardiac or obstructive/restrictive lung disease or mix thereof and a degree of patient de-conditioning due to a disease or level of fitness.
Regarding claim 15, and substantially similar limitations in claim 5, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 11, comprising further instructions which, executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to generate a visual representation of a functional performance of a patient [Forced spirometry consists of having the patient blow through a tube of known dimensions and measuring characteristics of the air forced through the tube such as the velocity and volume of airflow over time. Both numerical and graphic data can be captured and displayed for interpretation of possible lung disease, see in ¶ 0013; see also visual display 200 in Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 16, and substantially similar limitations in claim 6, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 15, wherein the visual representation is a graph illustrating a trend for the patient [Forced spirometry consists of having the patient blow through a tube of known dimensions and measuring characteristics of the air forced through the tube such as the velocity and volume of airflow over time. Both numerical and graphic data can be captured and displayed for interpretation of possible lung disease, see in ¶ 0013].
Regarding claim 17, and substantially similar limitations in claim 7, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 11, comprising further instructions which, executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to generate a response to a therapy score for a patient based upon the numerical information [in both of these conditions having PFTs with the patient's genetic profile and other physiological data such as that from ultrasound of the heart and an EKG can increase the accuracy of the diagnosis and contribute to the development of a personalized patient treatment plan, especially when the data is analyzed with artificial intelligence, see in ¶ 0052; Examiner notes that Applicant’s specification lacks a description for what a therapy score entails, only describing a patient score (see ¶ 0147 and ¶ 0148), therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, a therapy score is understood as a result of the AI analysis step and a response to the therapy score is interpretation of the AI analysis result, both in relation to patient therapy/treatment].
Regarding claim 19, and substantially similar limitations in claim 9, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 17, comprising further instructions which, executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing device to use the therapy score to generate a guide for treating the patient [having PFTs with the patient's genetic profile and other physiological data such as that from ultrasound of the heart and an EKG can increase the accuracy of the diagnosis and contribute to the development of a personalized patient treatment plan, especially when the data is analyzed with artificial intelligence, see in ¶ 0052; Examiner notes that the therapy score is understood as the result of the AI analysis step, which is used by Hoppmann for a personalized patient treatment plan (guide for treating the patient)].
Regarding claim 20, and substantially similar limitations in claim 10, Hoppmann, as modified, discloses the computing device of claim 19, wherein the guide indicates a positive or a negative reaction to medication or other treatment by the patient [All of this would create the patient's unique health profile and serve as a baseline against which diseases, severity, and treatment could be used to provide personalized or precision medicine for this particular patient, see in ¶ 0058].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ryan et al. (US 20170296104 A1)
/HY KHANH DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791