DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/585,817, 63/558,419, 63/655,961, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. A claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for formula I and the variables in claims 1-2, 13-17, 19-25, 28-29 in PRO 63/585,817. Thus claims 1-2, 13-17, 19-25, 28-29 received a priority date of 02/27/2024. A claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for formula II and the variables in claims 3-6, 10, 18, 26-27, 30 in PRO 63/585,817 or 63/558,419. Thus claims 3-6, 10, 18, 26-27, 30 received a priority date of 06/04/2024. A claim by claim analysis indicated a lack of support for formula III and the variables in claims 7-9, 31-33 in PRO 63/585,817 or 63/558,419 or 63/655,961. Thus claims 7-9, 31-33 received a priority date of 9/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/26/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the reference D6 was of such poor resolution it was illegible in places. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink (page 1) and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not recite any methods or examples of compound structures of the instant claims besides derivatives of the formula, but not of the formulas themselves. The specification does not recite the structure necessary to achieve the claimed function. The recitation of only derivatives of the claimed formulas does not lead one skilled in the art to believe that applicant has possession of any and all compounds of the formulas. The claim encompasses a multitude of components with different structures and different mechanisms of action and there is nothing in the prior art to indicate any compound can be used as a suitable alternative for another in the manner claimed.
Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “derivative” in claims 1-33 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “derivative” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification only provides examples of derivatives not a definition “As used herein, pharmaceutically acceptable derivatives of a compound include, but are not limited to, salts, esters, enol ethers, enol esters, acetals, ketals, orthoesters, hemiacetals, hemiketals, acids, bases, clathrates, solvates or hydrates thereof” [0023]. Thus one of ordinary skilled in the art would not know what would and what would not be considered a derivative of the instant compounds. For instance how much of the current structure must be conserved to be considered a derivative. For the purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation on derivative is any compound that shares any common chemical groups of the instant compounds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by BOZIKIS (BOZIKIS et al., WO 2020254946 A1, 2020-12-24, IDS).
The reference BOZIKIS teaches a derivative(page 91, compound 25) of the instant claimed compounds, wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl.
This anticipates claims 1-30.
The reference BOZIKIS teaches “26. A pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of any one of the preceding claims, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or diluent.
27. A method of treating cancer in a patient comprising administering to the patient an amount of a compound of any one of claims 1-25, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, that is effective in treating cancer”(reference claims 26-27).
This anticipates claim 31 and 32.
The reference BOZIKIS teaches “TIP60 (KAT5) is the most studied member of the MYST family. TIP60 plays an important role not only in the regulation of transcription but also in the process of DNA damage repair, particularly in DNA double-strand breaks (DSB) (Gil 2017). TIP60 can acetylate p53, ATM and c-Myc. TIP60 and MOF specifically acetylate lysine 120 (K120) of p53 upon DNA damage (Avvakumov 2007). TIP60 has also been implicated in being important for regulatory T-cell (Treg) biology. FOXP3 is the master regulator in the development and function of Tregs and it has been shown that acetylation of FOXP3 by TIP60 is essential for FOXP3 activity (Li 2007, Xiao 2014). Underscoring this, conditional TIP60 deletion in mice leads to a scurfy-like fatal autoimmune disease, mimicking a phenotype seen in FOXP3 knock out mice (Xiao 2014). In cancer, Treg cells can facilitate tumor progression by suppressing adaptive immunity against the tumor….The MOZ locus ranks as the 12th most commonly amplified region across all cancer types (Zack 2013). MOZ is within the 8p11-p12 amplicon, which is seen at frequencies around 10-15% in various cancers, especially breast and ovarian (Turner- Ivey 2014). MOZ was first identified as a fusion partner of the CREB-binding protein (CBP) during examination of a specific chromosomal translocation in acute myeloid leukemia (AML) (Avvakumov 2007; Borrow 1996). MOZ KAT activity is necessary for promoting the expression of MEIS1 and HOXa9, proteins that are typically seen overexpressed in some lymphomas and leukemias. Increased survival of MOZ+/- heterozygote mice in the Em-Myc transgenic model of B-cell lymphoma is seen, where loss of a single MOZ allele leads to a biologically relevant reduction in Meis1 and Hoxa9 levels in pre–B-cells (Sheikh 2015)…In light of the established role of KATs in general, and MYSTs in particular, in diseases such as cancer, a need exists for new inhibitors of these proteins. Summary of the Invention Each of the embodiments of the present invention described below may be combined with one or more other embodiments of the present invention described herein which is not inconsistent with the embodiment(s) with which it is combined. In addition, each of the embodiments below describing the invention envisions within its scope the pharmaceutically acceptable salts of the compounds of the invention” This anticipates claim 33.
Accordingly, the phrase“or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof” is implicit in the description of all compounds described herein. This invention relates to a compound of formula (I)…”(pages 2-5).
Claim(s) 1-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Rai (Rai et al., US 2023/0303580 A1, Sep. 28,2023).
The reference Rai teaches a derivative(page 288) of the instant claimed compounds, wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)2R8, R8=OH, b=2, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkynyl, R6=H.
The reference Rai teaches a derivative(page 283) of the instant claimed compounds, wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkynyl, R6=H.
The reference Rai teaches a derivative(page 284) of the instant claimed compounds, wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=H, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkynyl, R6=H.
The reference Rai teaches a derivative(page 86) of the instant claimed compounds, wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkoxy, R6=H.
This anticipates claims 1-30.
The reference Rai teaches “A pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of any one of claims 1- 93 or a stereoisomer, a mixture of stereoisomers, and/or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier”( reference claim 94) and “95 . A method of treating a condition, disease, or disorder by inhibiting a MYST family lysine acetyl transferase, including KAT6A and KAT6B, comprising administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of the compound of any one of claims 1- 93 or a stereoisomer, a mixture of stereoisomers, and/or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof or a therapeutically effective amount of the composition of claim 94 to a subject in need thereof. 96 . The method of claim 95, wherein the condition, disease, or disorder is a hyperproliferative disorder or cancer” (reference claims 94-96).
This anticipates claims 31-32.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-55 of U.S. Patent No. 12187732 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patent ‘732 claims:
wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkynyl, R6=H.
This anticipates claims 1-30.
This anticipates claim 31.
The specification teaches “Provided herein are compounds of Formula (I). Methods for the preparation of the compounds of Formula (I) and intermediates useful in the preparation of the compounds of Formula (I) are described herein. The compounds of Formula (I) may be useful as inhibitors of the MYST family of lysine acetyltransferases (KATs) for the treatment of and/or prophylaxis of hyperproliferative diseases, disorders or conditions such as cancer. In particular, the compounds of Formula (I) are useful for the inhibition of KAT6A and KAT6B which are enzymes frequently mutated, overexpressed, amplified and/or translocated in cancer, altering their normal expression, activity and function. The use of the compounds of Formula (I) in the manufacture of pharmaceutical compositions or for treating cancers is further described, including for treating cancer in combination with other anti-cancer agents”[column 1]. A compound claim can be used to reject a method claim if the utility is disclosed in the specification. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1385 (CAFC 2010). See also MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)(a).
This anticipates claim 32.
Claims 1-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11976075 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Patent ‘075 claims:
wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=O, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkynyl, R6=H.
This anticipates claims 1-31.
The patent ‘075 teaches “Provided herein are compounds of Formula (I). Methods for the preparation of the compounds of Formula (I) and intermediates useful in the preparation of the compounds of Formula (I) are described herein. The compounds of Formula (I) may be useful as inhibitors of the MYST family of lysine acetyltransferases (KATs) for the treatment of and/or prophylaxis of hyperproliferative diseases, disorders or conditions such as cancer. In particular, the compounds of Formula (I) are useful for the inhibition of KAT6A and KAT6B which are enzymes frequently mutated, overexpressed, amplified and/or translocated in cancer, altering their normal expression, activity and function. The use of the compounds of Formula (I) in the manufacture of pharmaceutical compositions or for treating cancers is further described, including for treating cancer in combination with other anti-cancer agents”(column 1). A compound claim can be used to reject a method claim if the utility is disclosed in the specification. See Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Co., 611 F. 3d 1381, 1385 (CAFC 2010). See also MPEP § 804(II)(B)(2)(a).
This anticipates claim 32.
Claims 1-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-97 of copending Application No. 18/917,615 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because :
The application claims:
wherein Z6-Z4=CH, R4=methoxy, R3=-O(CH2)R8, R8=H, b=1, Z1=N, Z3=Z2=C, R2=alkyl, R1=H, X= CH2, Het= 5- membered heteraryl, a= 1, R7=C(O)R17, R17= alkynyl, R6=H.
This anticipates claims 1-30.
This anticipates claims 31-32.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-33 are rejected.
/A.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627