DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Remarks directed to claims 7-12 (see page 8) are not persuasive as claim 7 is in independent form, there are no amendments, and no remarks directed thereto “Dependent claims 2, 6-8, and 12 are believed to be allowable as depending from what are believed to be allowable independent claim 1”.
Therefore the rejections of claims 7-12 will be maintained by the Examiner.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually (see page 10), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Examiner respectfully notes Applicant’s remarks (page 8) assert “EP’253, as best understood, is discloses periodically changing blade pitch of one or more blades of a first upstream wind turbine to accelerate wake recovery” then further asserts, “Applicant submits that the combination of references fails to disclose Applicant’s invention in amended claim 1 as the combination of references fails to disclose “periodically changing” pitch as a result of the upstream wind velocity measurement but would set the pitch as a result of the upstream measurement but would then not periodically change pitch”
However, EP’253 [0084] teaches “collective blade pitch or rotor speed offset periodic variation (pulsing) in order to vary the overall thrust of the rotor, in order to increase the turbulence in the wake” [0078] further teaches, “a floating wind turbine may take as input parameter combinations of inclinations and amplitudes of each of the floating motions indicated in figure 1 and input parameters related to wind conditions (inflow wind speed, direction and turbulence intensity)”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 is dependent on claim 3 (which is presently cancelled by the Applicant); for the purposes of examination, the Examiner will assume claim 4 is dependent on currently amended claim 1 (which includes the subject matter of now cancelled claim 3).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 4141253 A1 (EP’253 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, EP’253 discloses a controller (180), comprising:
a module that includes a processor (181) comprising a non-transitory storage medium (182) for providing instructions to a turbine blade pitch actuator (not shown, but present in the blade pitch pulsing paragraph [0084]), the instructions comprising:
periodically changing blade pitch of one or more blades (113) of a first wind turbine (110) to accelerate wake recovery ([0069], [0084]).
Regarding claim 8, EP’253 discloses all of claim 7 as above, wherein the first wind turbine is a member of a wind farm comprising two or more wind turbines (110, 120) of which a second wind turbine (120) is downstream the first wind turbine ([0006], Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 12, EP’253 discloses all of claim 7 as above, further comprising: using pulse, rotor speed, and/or helix forcing controls in combination with periodically changing blade pitch ([0084], the Examiner respectfully notes that pulsing of the blade pitch is a form of helix forcing control).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 4141253 A1 (hereinafter EP’253) in view of Wingerden et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0412310 A1).
Regarding claim 1, EP’253 discloses an active wake control method, comprising:
periodically changing blade pitch of one or more blades (113) of a first wind turbine (110) to accelerate wake recovery (“The wind turbine 110 rotates around the floater pitch axis of the coordinate system fc. As the rotor blade 113 begins to move backwards with the floater pitch motion, it interacts with its own wake which leads to a development of a turbulence region with circulations in the flow. The turbulence increases the wake recovery rate as it flows downstream. A higher floater pitch amplitude of an upstream turbine enhances thus the wake recovery due to the resulting large scale turbulence mixing the wake flow with ambient flow. The effective wind speed deficit experienced by the downstream turbine is accordingly reduced” [0069]);
However, EP’253 does not disclose,
“measuring a wind measurement upstream of the first wind turbine or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine; and
determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule.”
Van Wingerden et al. teaches, in the field of wind turbine wake control, a wind turbine wake mixing method and arrangement, comprising measuring wind measurement upstream of a first wind turbine (101) or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine (“Generally, the induction factor is determined by dividing the difference of the velocity of the wind upstream of a rotor plane V.sub.∞ and the velocity of the wind at the rotor plane (i.e. rotor disc) V.sub.d by the velocity of the wind upstream V.sub.∞” [0012]) and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine operation to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule. By also displacing the respective rotational positions of the first blade at which the blade is at the first pitch angle and, preferably, second pitch angle in time, the induction-variations (i.e. the varying induction factor) of the blade occur at different angular positions in the rotor plane over time. Hereby the location of a wake formed downstream of the wind turbine is also dynamically changing with respect to the rotor of the wind turbine. Such variations of the location of the wake increase the turbulent mixing, such that the distance required to transfer the kinetic energy into the wake is decreased and any turbines that might be arranged downstream of the wind turbine are thereby much less affected by the wake. The arrangement is provided for the purpose of reducing the wake effects downstream of the wind turbine (paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the active wake control method of EP’253 with measuring a wind measurement upstream of the first wind turbine or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine; and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine operation to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule, and to form the controller such that it further comprises: measuring a wind measurement upstream of the first wind turbine or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine; and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine operation to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule, as taught by Van Wingerden et al., for the purpose of reducing the wake effects downstream of the wind turbine.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of EP’253 and Van Wingerden et al. teach all of claim 1 as above, wherein the first wind turbine (EP’253, 110) is a member of a wind farm (EP’253, [0006] discloses a wind park) comprising two or more wind turbine (EP’253, [0006] “plurality of floating wind turbines”) of which a second wind turbine (EP’253, 120) is downstream the first wind turbine (EP’253, [0006] “upstream wind turbine and a downstream wind turbine”)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of EP’253 and Van Wingerden et al. teach all of claim 3 (the subject matter of which is now amended into claim 1) as above,
wherein the blade pitch control adjusts at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of frequency, amplitude, and shape of a wave form, the waveform being a time series of the periodic variation in blade pitch (EP’253, “The amplitude and/or frequency of a monitored parameter may for example be determined based on a frequency spectrum or its respective amplitude and phase spectrum, the frequency spectrum or its respective amplitude and phase spectrum being derived from a time series of the monitored parameter. It may for example be derived by applying a fast Fourier transform to the time series.” [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of EP’253 and Van Wingerden et al. teach all of claim 1 as above, wherein periodically changing blade pitch is determined by the following steps:
a. determining frequency and amplitude of blade pitch periodic changes by measurements of inflow or emulations of inflow at the first wind turbine (Van Wingerden et al., [0042]);
b. employing individual pitch control (IPC) to the one or more blades to excite perturbations in wind flow to improve downstream wake recovery while minimizing blade loading (Van Wingerden et al., “Furthermore, a pitch mechanism 8 is comprised (at least partially) in the hub 54, wherein the pitch mechanism 8 is arranged for pitching the blades 51, 52, 53. In the current embodiment of the turbine 1, the pitch mechanism 8 comprises three pitch drives 81, 82, 83 that are arranged to drive the ends of blade root sections 55, 56, 57 of the respective blades 51, 52, 53. The pitch drives 81, 82, 83 are arranged to individually drive the pitch rotations of the respective blades 51, 52, 53, such that the blades 51, 52, 53 can all have different pitch angles at any given time. Such a pitch mechanism 8 is also referred to as an individual pitch mechanism and controlling the individual pitch mechanism for minimizing the fatigue loading on a turbine is referred to as Individual Pitch Control (IPC).” [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of EP’253 and Van Wingerden et al. teach all of claim 1 as above, further comprising:
using pulse, rotor speed and/or helix forcing controls (EP’253, [0084]; the Examiner additionally notes that pulsing of the blade pitch is a form of helix forcing control).
Regarding claim 9, EP’253 discloses all of claim 7 as above.
However, EP’253 does not disclose, “further comprising: measuring a wind measurement upstream or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine; and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule”
Van Wingerden et al. teaches, in the field of wind turbine wake control, a wind turbine wake mixing method and arrangement, comprising measuring wind measurement upstream of a first wind turbine (101) or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine (“Generally, the induction factor is determined by dividing the difference of the velocity of the wind upstream of a rotor plane V.sub.∞ and the velocity of the wind at the rotor plane (i.e. rotor disc) V.sub.d by the velocity of the wind upstream V.sub.∞” [0012]) and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine operation to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule. By also displacing the respective rotational positions of the first blade at which the blade is at the first pitch angle and, preferably, second pitch angle in time, the induction-variations (i.e. the varying induction factor) of the blade occur at different angular positions in the rotor plane over time. Hereby the location of a wake formed downstream of the wind turbine is also dynamically changing with respect to the rotor of the wind turbine. Such variations of the location of the wake increase the turbulent mixing, such that the distance required to transfer the kinetic energy into the wake is decreased and any turbines that might be arranged downstream of the wind turbine are thereby much less affected by the wake. The arrangement is provided for the purpose of reducing the wake effects downstream of the wind turbine (paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the active wake control method of EP’253 with measuring a wind measurement upstream of the first wind turbine or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine; and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine operation to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule, and to form the controller such that it further comprises: measuring a wind measurement upstream of the first wind turbine or using a measure representing an upstream wind measurement from the first wind turbine; and determining a blade pitch control of the first wind turbine operation to minimize, reduce or eliminate downstream wake produced by the first wind turbine; and determining an optimal pitch schedule, as taught by Van Wingerden et al., for the purpose of reducing the wake effects downstream of the wind turbine.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of EP’253 and Van Wingerden et al. teach all of claim 9 as above, wherein the blade pitch control adjusts at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of frequency, amplitude, and shape of a waveform, the waveform being a time series of the periodic variation in blade pitch (EP’253, “The amplitude and/or frequency of a monitored parameter may for example be determined based on a frequency spectrum or its respective amplitude and phase spectrum, the frequency spectrum or its respective amplitude and phase spectrum being derived from a time series of the monitored parameter. It may for example be derived by applying a fast Fourier transform to the time series.” [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, EP’253 discloses all of claim 7 as above.
However, EP’253 does not disclose,
“wherein the periodically changing blade pitch is determined by the following steps:
a. determining frequency and amplitude of blade pitch periodic changes by measurements of inflow or emulations of inflow at the first wind turbine;
b. employing individual pitch control (IPC) to the one or more blades to excite perturbations in wind flow to improve downstream wake recovery while minimizing blade loading.”
Van Wingerden et al. shows a wind turbine 1, 101, 102 with variable pitch blades 51, 52, 53, with periodically changing blade pitch which is determined by the following steps: determining frequency and amplitude of blade pitch periodic changes by measurements of inflow or emulations of inflow at the first wind turbine. The predetermined frequency is preferably determined at least in dependence of an inflow wind speed that is determined upstream of the wind turbine. The predefined periodic function is customized to different operational conditions or turbine sizes, such that an increased wake mixing can be obtained for the different operational conditions and turbine sizes ([0024]). The controller is arranged for varying an induction factor of the first blade over time by dynamically changing a pitch angle of the first blade according to a predefined periodic function such that the pitch angle of the first blade periodically varies between a first pitch angle and a second pitch angle while the first blade is rotating, wherein the first pitch angle is different from the second pitch angle ([0027]); employing individual pitch control (IPC) to the one or more blades to excite perturbations in wind flow to improve downstream wake recovery while minimizing blade loading. Pitch drives 81, 82, 83 are arranged to individually drive the pitch rotations of the respective blades 51, 52, 53, such that the blades 51, 52, 53 can all have different pitch angles at any given time. A pitch mechanism 8 is also referred to as an individual pitch mechanism and controlling the individual pitch mechanism for minimizing the fatigue loading on a turbine is referred to as Individual Pitch Control (IPC), ([0042]). The arrangement is for the purpose of controlling the wind turbine such that the wake effects downstream of the wind turbine are reduced ([0007]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the active wake control method and the controller of EP’253 with the periodically changing blade pitch which is determined by the following steps: a. determining frequency and amplitude of blade pitch periodic changes by measurements of inflow or emulations of inflow at the first wind turbine; b. employing individual pitch control (IPC) to the one or more blades to excite perturbations in wind flow to improve downstream wake recovery while minimizing blade loading, as taught by Van Wingerden et al., for the purpose of controlling the wind turbine such that the wake effects downstream of the wind turbine are reduced.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745