DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6463674 (Meyers hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Meyers teaches a drying device that discloses a housing including an internal space and an opening (Figures 1 and 2 with the housing 100 and openings on either side at 104), the internal space being configured to house a platen (Platen 130/30), a medium to which an ink or a treatment liquid is applied being configured to be placed on the platen (Medium 132 with ink 134), the opening being connected to the internal space and being of a size through which the platen passes (Evident from Figures 1 and 2); a heater configured to heat air (Heater 110); a fan configured to supply heated air to the internal space, the heated air being air heated by the heater (Fan 116 with driving motor 174 providing the airflow shown in Figures 1 and 2); a processor (Inherent controller per Column 8 Lines 29-37); and a memory storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: switching, in a housed state of the platen being housed in the internal space, an air supply state of the heated air supplied by the fan from a first air supply state to a second air supply state different from the first air supply state by controlling at least one of the heater or the fan (Stored control scheme regarding the rheostats in Column 8 Lines 29-37 and how the two rheostats control the fan motor (airflow) and the heater in different states depending on the required/sensed values).
Regarding claim 2, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers further discloses that the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: switching the air supply state from the first air supply state to the second air supply state by controlling the fan and switching an air flow amount by the fan from a first air flow amount to a second air flow amount different from the first air flow amount (Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, there exists a first state in which there is no airflow and a second state where the fan is on, furthermore Column 8 Lines 29-37 implies that the fan can be controlled in a plurality of states).
Regarding claim 3, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 2 where Meyers further discloses that the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: switching the air flow amount from the first air flow amount to the second air flow amount that is greater than the first air flow amount (Per the broadest reasonable interpretation above in claim 2, the second state being on and the first state being off, the second airflow amount will be greater than the first state).
Regarding claim 4, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers further discloses that the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: switching the air supply state from the first air supply state to the second air supply state by controlling the heater and switching a heating temperature by the heater from a first temperature to a second temperature different from the first temperature (Column 8 Lines 29-37 details the use of a rheostat to control the heater of Meyers where under the broadest reasonable interpretation, there exists an arbitrary second state in which there is no heat applied and an arbitrary first state where the heater is on).
Regarding claim 5, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 4 where Meyers further discloses that the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: switching the heating temperature from the first temperature to the second temperature that is lower than the first temperature (As described above in claim 4, the first state can be when the heater is on and the second state is when the heater is off).
Regarding claim 11, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers further discloses a pipe connecting the fan and a plurality of air blowing outlets to each other (Pipe being the surrounding area of the fan 116 to the outlets 154), each of the plurality of air blowing outlets being open toward the internal space and being configured to blow the heated air supplied by the fan into the internal space (Evident from Figure 2), wherein the plurality of air blowing outlets are aligned in a conveyance direction of a conveyor (Figure 2), the conveyor being configured to convey the platen in the internal space (Evident of Figures 2 and 3), and the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: conveying the platen in the conveyance direction by a distance greater than an interval between a pair of the air blowing outlets adjacent to each other, of the plurality of air blowing outlets by controlling the conveyor in the housed state (Figure 2 shows the structure required with the relative spacing).
Regarding claim 13, Meyers teaches a drying system and method of control that discloses a switching processing of switching an air supply state of heated air from a first air supply state to a second air supply state different from the first air supply state by controlling at least one of a heater (Heater 110) or a fan (Fan 116) in a housed state of a platen (Platen 130/30) being housed in a internal space (Internal space of 100; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, there exists a first state in which there is no airflow and a second state where the fan is on, furthermore Column 8 Lines 29-37 implies that the fan can be controlled in a plurality of states), a medium to which an ink or a treatment liquid is applied being configured to be placed on the platen (Medium 132 with ink 134), the internal space being a space provided inside a housing and being connected to an opening (Housing 100 with openings at 104 in Figures 1 and 2), the opening being provided at the housing and being of a size through which the platen passes (Evident from Figures 1-3), the heater being configured to heat air, the heated air being air heated by the heater, the fan being configured to supply the heated air to the internal space (Evident form Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Meyers teaches a drying system and control programing that discloses a switching processing of switching an air supply state of heated air from a first air supply state to a second air supply state different from the first air supply state by controlling at least one of a heater (Heater 110) or a fan (Fan 116) in a housed state of a platen (Platen 130/30) being housed in a internal space (Internal space of 100; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, there exists a first state in which there is no airflow and a second state where the fan is on, furthermore Column 8 Lines 29-37 implies that the fan can be controlled in a plurality of states), a medium to which an ink or a treatment liquid is applied being configured to be placed on the platen (Medium 132 with ink 134), the internal space being a space provided inside a housing and being connected to an opening (Housing 100 with openings at 104 in Figures 1 and 2), the opening being provided at the housing and being of a size through which the platen passes (Evident from Figures 1-3), the heater being configured to heat air, the heated air being air heated by the heater, the fan being configured to supply the heated air to the internal space (Evident form Figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6463674 (Meyers) in view of US 6340225 (Szlucha hereinafter).
Regarding claim 6, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform processes comprising: acquiring an application amount of the ink or of the treatment liquid onto the medium, and switching the air supply state from the first air supply state to the second air supply state based on the acquired application amount.
However, Szlucha teaches a recording apparatus and drying device that discloses a controller acquiring an application amount of the ink or of the treatment liquid onto the medium, and switching the air supply state from the first air supply state to the second air supply state based on the acquired application amount (Column 7 Line 49 through Column 8 Line 13 details the ink amount factoring into the control of the drying apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of Meyers drying device with the ink sensing of Szlucha to increase the efficiency of the drying device.
Regarding claim 7, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers is silent with respect to switching, when a first switching timing is reached, the air supply state from the first air supply state to the second air supply state by controlling the fan and switching an air flow amount by the fan from a first air flow amount to a second air flow amount different from the first air flow amount, and switching, when a second switching timing subsequent to the first switching timing is reached, the air supply state from the second air supply state to a third air supply state different from the second air supply state by controlling the heater and switching a heating temperature by the heater from a first temperature to a second temperature different from the first temperature.
However, Szlucha teaches an ink jet dryer that discloses switching, when a first switching timing is reached, the air supply state from the first air supply state to the second air supply state by controlling the fan and switching an air flow amount by the fan from a first air flow amount to a second air flow amount different from the first air flow amount (Column 7 Line 49 through Column 8 Line 13 details the use of a timing control based on location of the print medium to control the operation of the drying fan), and switching, when a second switching timing subsequent to the first switching timing is reached, the air supply state from the second air supply state to a third air supply state different from the second air supply state by controlling the heater and switching a heating temperature by the heater from a first temperature to a second temperature different from the first temperature (Resultant combination of Szlucha using timing based control to control the fan would impart the timing control to the heaters of Meyers and this limitation would be taught).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of Meyers with the timing based control of Szlucha to allow for a specific drying time to be used.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6463674 (Meyers) in view of US 2009/0165329 (Reichel hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers further discloses a pipe connecting the fan and an air blowing outlet to each other (Pipe being the exterior tube surrounding the fan 116 and frame 119 leading to the outlets 154) , the air blowing outlet being open toward the internal space and configured to blow the heated air supplied by the fan into the internal space (Evident from Figure 2).
Meyers is silent with respect to a louver swingably provided at the air blowing outlet, wherein the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: swing the louver in the housed state.
However, Reichel teaches an ink drying device that discloses a louver swingably provided at the air blowing outlet, wherein the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: swing the louver in the housed state (Louvers 26L in Figure 3 with ¶ 20 and Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the outlets of Meyers with the louvers of Reichel to allow for control of the airflow direction.
Regarding claim 9, Meyers’ modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Meyers and Reichel would further disclose that the air blowing outlet includes a plurality of air blowing outlets aligned in a specific direction (Outlets 154 of Meyers in Figure 2), the pipe is connected to each of the plurality of air blowing outlets (Evident from Figure 2 of Meyers), the louver includes a plurality of louvers provided at each of the plurality of air blowing outlets (Combination with louvers 26L of Reichel on outlets 154), and the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: swing the plurality of louvers in the specific direction (¶ 20 of Reichel).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6463674 (Meyers) in view of US 2019/0103255 (Chung hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers further discloses that the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: conveying the platen in the internal space by controlling a conveyor in the housed state, the conveyor being configured to convey the platen in the internal space (Evident from Figures 1-3 of Meyers for the platen and medium to pass through the dryer).
Meyers is silent with respect to the motion being a reciprocating motion.
However, Chung teaches a drying and treatment device that discloses using a single entry/exit treatment/drying chamber that utilizes a reciprocating motion for transfer of the target medium to be treated (Gate valve 30 is opened to allow for the transfer of the target medium into and out of the treatment chamber 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying path and travel path of Meyers with the reciprocating motion and chamber of Chung to allow for a closed chamber to efficiently heat and dry the target medium.
Regarding claim 12, Meyers’ teachings are described above in claim 1 where Meyers further discloses that the platen is configured to be conveyed along a main path (Evident from Figures 1-3).
Meyers is silent with respect to a branched path is branched from the main path and extends to the internal space, the platen on which the medium is placed before or after the ink is discharged thereon by an inkjet printer, is conveyed from the main path to the housing via the branched path, and the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: conveying the platen in a reciprocating manner on the branched path by controlling the conveyor in the housed state.
However, Chung teaches a teaches a drying and treatment device that discloses using a single entry/exit treatment/drying chamber that utilizes a reciprocating motion for transfer of the target medium to be treated (Gate valve 30 is opened to allow for the transfer of the target medium into and out of the treatment chamber 10). The resultant combination would be such that there is a branched path is branched from the main path and extends to the internal space, the platen on which the medium is placed before or after the ink is discharged thereon by an inkjet printer, is conveyed from the main path to the housing via the branched path, and the computer-readable instructions instruct the processor to perform a process comprising: conveying the platen in a reciprocating manner on the branched path by controlling the conveyor in the housed state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drying path and travel path of Meyers with the reciprocating motion and chamber of Chung to allow for a closed chamber to efficiently heat and dry the target medium.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0114384 (Yraceburu) teaches controlling a drying device and its heater in ¶ 17-18 and 27-28). US 2013/0000830 (Green) teaches a printing system with a reciprocating dryer.
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762