DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US 12095495. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in US 12095495 with obvious wording variations. See below for mapping:
Claim 1. A phased array system comprising: transmit circuitry comprising a first transformer; receive circuitry comprising a second transformer; a first switching network; a first differential transmission line coupled to the first switching network and the first transformer; a second switching network; and a second differential transmission line coupled to the second switching network and the second transformer.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 10, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 1 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding phased array/transceiver arrangement including transmit circuitry, receive circuitry, first and second transformers, switching circuitry, and differential transmission line/phase-shifting features.
Claim 2. The phased array system of claim 1, comprising an inductor coupled to the first switching network and the second switching network.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 2 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite an inductor coupled to the isolation/phase-shifting or phased-array circuitry and processing circuitry.
Claim 3. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the inductor is configured to absorb capacitive reactance associated with the first switching network and the second switching network.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 3 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite an inductor configured to absorb excess reactive power associated with the switching arrangement, which is not patentably distinct from absorbing capacitive reactance associated with the switching networks.
Claim 4. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the first switching network is coupled to the first differential transmission line and the inductor, and wherein the first switching network is configured to couple the first differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent to the transmit circuitry.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6, 10, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 4 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding switching/phase-shifting circuitry, differential transmission line features, and an inductor associated with the switching arrangement.
Claim 5. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the second switching network is coupled to the second differential transmission line and the inductor, and wherein the second switching network is configured to couple the second switching network between the second differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent from the receive circuitry.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6, 10, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 5 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side switching/phase-shifting circuitry, differential transmission line features, and inductor arrangement.
Claim 6. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the first switching network and a second shunt switch of the first switching network to a first switch of the first switching network and a second switch of the first switching network.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 6 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and switching network/switching circuitry arrangement.
Claim 7. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the second differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the second switching network and a second shunt switch of the second switching network to a first switch of the second switching network and a second switch of the second switching network.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 7 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line and switching network/switching circuitry arrangement.
Claim 8. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein closing a first switch of the first switching network couples a first end of the first transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the first switching network couples a second end of the first transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, 12, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 8 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite activating/coupling a first switch and second switch to opposite ends of the first transformer to cause first and second phase shifts.
Claim 9. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein closing a first switch of the second switching network. couples a first end of the second transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the second switching network couples a second end of the second transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 13, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 9 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite activating/coupling third and fourth switches to opposite ends of the second transformer to cause third and fourth phase shifts.
Claim 10. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first transformer couples the first switching network to a power amplifier.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 10 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding transmit circuitry comprising a first transformer and switching/phase-shifting circuitry associated with the transmit path.
Claim 11. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first transformer couples the second switching network to a low noise amplifier.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 11 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive circuitry comprising a second transformer and switching/phase-shifting circuitry associated with the receive path.
Claim 12. A transceiver comprising: a transmitter comprising a first inductor; a receiver comprising a second inductor; a first switching network configured to apply a first phase shift by coupling processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or apply a second phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a second end of the second inductor; a second switching network configured to apply a third phase shift by coupling tbe processing circuitry to a third end of tbe second inductor or apply a fourth phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a fourth end of the second inductor; and a third inductor coupled to the processing circuitry, the first switching network, and the second switching network.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 6, 11-15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 12 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a transceiver with transmitter/receiver circuitry, first and second transformer ends coupled by switches to processing circuitry to apply phase shifts, and an inductor associated with the switching arrangement.
Claim 13. The transceiver of claim 12, comprising a differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6, 10, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 13 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and inductor arrangement associated with the phase-shifting/switching circuitry.
Claim 14. The transceiver of claim 13, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the first switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the first switching network.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 14 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and switching circuitry arrangement.
Claim 15. The transceiver of claim 12, comprising a differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6, 10, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 15 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and receive-side inductor/switching arrangement.
Claim 16. The transceiver of claim 15, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the second switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the second switching network.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 16 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line and switching circuitry arrangement.
Claim 17. Transceiver circuitry comprising: transmit circuitry comprising a first inductor; receive circuitry comprising a second inductor; a first differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and a third inductor; and a second differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 6, 10, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 17 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding transceiver/phased-array circuitry with transmit and receive paths, differential transmission lines, and an inductor associated with the switching arrangement.
Claim 18. The transceiver circuitry of claim 17, comprising a first switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or a second end of the first inductor.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, 12, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 18 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding first switching arrangement configured to couple processing circuitry to opposite ends of the transmitter-side transformer/inductor structure.
Claim 19. The transceiver circuitry of claim 18, wherein coupling the processing circuitry to the first end of the first inductor causes a first phase shift and coupling the processing circuitry to the second end of the first inductor causes a second phase shift.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, 12, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 19 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite that coupling through first and second switches causes corresponding first and second phase shifts.
Claim 20. The transceiver circuitry of claim 17, comprising a first switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end of the second inductor or a second end of the second inductor.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 13, 14, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,095,495. Pending claim 20 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side switching arrangement configured to couple processing circuitry to opposite ends of the receiver-side transformer/inductor structure.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US 12250019. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in US 12250019 with obvious wording variations. See the table below for comparison:
Claim 1. A phased array system comprising: transmit circuitry comprising a first transformer; receive circuitry comprising a second transformer; a first switching network; a first differential transmission line coupled to the first switching network and the first transformer; a second switching network; and a second differential transmission line coupled to the second switching network and the second transformer.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 8, 9, 11, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 1 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a transceiver/phased array system with first and second transformers, first and second switching networks, and differential transmission line coupling to the switching network/transformer arrangement.
Claim 2. The phased array system of claim 1, comprising an inductor coupled to the first switching network and the second switching network.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 2 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding switching network and processing circuitry coupled to transformer winding ends to apply phase shifts, making the inductor-coupled implementation not patentably distinct.
Claim 3. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the inductor is configured to absorb capacitive reactance associated with the first switching network and the second switching network.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 3 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the same switching-network and phase-shifting architecture, with the capacitive-reactance absorption being an obvious implementation detail of the same arrangement.
Claim 4. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the first switching network is coupled to the first differential transmission line and the inductor, and wherein the first switching network is configured to couple the first differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent to the transmit circuitry.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 9, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 4 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding first switching network, differential transmission line, processing circuitry, and phase-shifting arrangement for the transmit-side path.
Claim 5. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the second switching network is coupled to the second differential transmission line and the inductor, and wherein the second switching network is configured to couple the second switching network between the second differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent from the receive circuitry.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 9, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 5 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding second switching network, differential transmission line, processing circuitry, and phase-shifting arrangement for the receive-side path.
Claim 6. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the first switching networlc and a second shunt switch of the first switching network to a first switch of the first switching network and a second switch of the first switching network.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 9, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 6 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and first/second sets of switches used to apply phase shifts.
Claim 7. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the second differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the second switching network and a second shunt switch of the second switching network to a first switch of the second switching network and a second switch of the second switching network.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 9, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 7 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line and switching arrangement used to apply phase shifts.
Claim 8. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein closing a first switch of the first switching network couples a first end of the first transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the first switching network couples a second end of the first transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 5, 11, 14, 15, 17, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 8 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite first and second switches of a switching network coupled to transformer winding ends to apply corresponding first and second phase shifts.
Claim 9. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein closing a first switch of the second switching network couples a first end of the second transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the second switching network couples a second end of the second transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 6, 7, 11, 14, 15, 17, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 9 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the second switching network and corresponding switches for applying phase shifts to the second amplifier/receive-side signal input.
Claim 10. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first transformer couples the first switching network to a power amplifier.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 10 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a first amplifier as a power amplifier, a first transformer, and a first switching network coupled through a transmission line/differential transmission line arrangement.
Claim 11. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first transformer couples the second switching network to a low noise amplifier.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 13, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 11 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a second amplifier as a low noise amplifier, a second transformer, and a second switching network coupled through a transmission line/differential transmission line arrangement.
Claim 12. A transceiver comprising: a transmitter comprising a first inductor; a receiver comprising a second inductor; a first switching network configured to apply a first phase shift by coupling processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or apply a second phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a second end of the second inductor; a second switching network configured to apply a third phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a third end of the second inductor or apply a fourth phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a fourth end of the second inductor; and a third inductor coupled to the processing circuitry, the first switching network, and the second switching network.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 12 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a transceiver/phased-array system with transmitter and receiver amplifier paths, switching networks, processing circuitry, and transformer winding ends used for phase shifting.
Claim 13. The transceiver of claim 12, comprising a differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 9, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 13 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a differential transmission line coupled to the switching network/transformer winding arrangement.
Claim 14. The transceiver of claim 13, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the first switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the first switching network.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutmy double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 9, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 14 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and switch-set arrangement.
Claim 15. The transceiver of claim 12, comprising a differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 9, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 15 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line coupled to the switching network/transformer winding arrangement.
Claim 16. The transceiver of claim 15, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the second switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the second switching network.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 9, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 16 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because - the patented claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line and switch-set arrangement.
Claim 17. Transceiver circuitry comprising: transmit circuitry comprising a first inductor; receive circuitry comprising a second inductor; a first differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and a third inductor; and a second differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 8, 9, 11, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 17 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding transmit and receive paths, differential transmission line features, and phase-shifting switching circuitry.
Claim 18. The transceiver circuitry of claim 17, comprising a first switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or a second end of the first inductor.
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 11 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 18 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite a switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end or second end of a transformer winding to apply phase shifts.
Claim 19. The transceiver circuitry of claim 18, wherein coupling the processing circuitry to the first end of the first inductor causes a first phase shift and coupling the processing circuitry to the second end of the first inductor causes a second phase shift.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 11, 14, 15, 17, 19, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 19 is not patentably distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite that coupling through the first and second switch sets applies corresponding first and second phase shifts.
Claim 20. The transceiver circuitry of claim 17, comprising a first switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end of the second inductor or a second end of the second inductor.
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 11, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,250,019. Pending claim 20 is not patentahly distinct from the patented claims because the patented claims recite the corresponding second amplifier/receive-side switching network arrangement for coupling processing circuitry to transformer winding ends.
Claim1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18814266 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claims in the pending Application are transparently found in copending Application No. 18814266 with obvious wording variations. See the below for mapping:
Claim 1. A phased array system comprising: transmit circuitry comprising a first transformer; receive circuitry comprising a second transformer; a first switching network; a first differential transmission line coupled to the first switching network and the first transformer; a second switching network; and a second differential transmission line coupled to the second switching network and the second transformer.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 8, 9, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 1 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receiver-side transformer/amplifier, switching network, differential transmission line, shunt-switch arrangement, and phase-shifting structure.
Claim 2. The phased array system of claim 1, comprising an inductor coupled to the first switching network and the second switching network.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 2 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite a switching network coupled to another inductor in the same phase-shifting arrangement.
Claim 3. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the inductor is configured to absorb capacitive reactance associated with the first switching network and the second switching network.
Claim 3 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 3 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the same switching-network and inductor arrangement, with capacitive-reactance absorption being an obvious implementation detail of the same arrangement.
Claim 4. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the first switching network is coupled to the first differential transmission line and the inductor, and wherein the first switching network is configured to couple the first differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent to the transmit circuitry.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 5, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 4 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding switching network, differential transmission line, inductor, and shunt-switch coupling arrangement.
Claim 5. The phased array system of claim 2, wherein the second switching network is coupled to the second differential transmission line and the inductor, and wherein the second switching network is configured to couple the second switching network between the second differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent from the receive circuitry.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 5, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 5 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receive-side switching network, differential transmission line, inductor, and shunt-switch coupling arrangement.
Claim 6. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the first switching network and a second shunt switch of the first switching network to a first switch of the first switching network and a second switch of the first switching network.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 6 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite a differential transmission line configured to couple the first shunt switch and second shunt switch to the first switch and second switch.
Claim 7. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the second differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the second switching network and a second shunt switch of the second switching network to a first switch of the second switching network and a second switch of the second switching network.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 8, and 9 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 7 is not patentably distinct from the
copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line, first and second shunt switches, first and second switches, and coupling to the amplifier port.
Claim 8. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein closing a first switch of the first switching network couples a first end of the first transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the first switching network couples a second end of the first transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift.
Claim 8 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10, 13, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 8 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite activating first and second switches to couple processing circuitry to opposite ends of an inductor/transformer arrangement to apply first and second phase shifts.
Claim 9. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein closing a first switch of the second switching network couples a first end of the second transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the second switching network couples a second end of the second transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift.
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10, 13, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 9 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite activating first and second switches to apply corresponding first and second phase shifts in the receiver-side path.
Claim 10. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first transformer couples the first switching network to a power amplifier.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 5, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 10 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding phased-array/receiver-side amplifier, transformer, switching network, differential transmission line, and inductor arrangement.
Claim 11. The phased array system of claim 1, wherein the first transformer couples the second switching network to a low noise amplifier.
Claim 11 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 9, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 11 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding low noise amplifier, switching network, differential transmission line, and port coupling arrangement.
Claim 12. A transceiver comprising: a transmitter comprising a first inductor; a receiver comprising a second inductor; a first switching network configured to apply a first phase shift by coupling processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or apply a second phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a second end of the second inductor; a second switching network configured to apply a third phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a third end of the second inductor or apply a fourth phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a fourth end of the second inductor; and a third inductor coupled to the processing circuitry, the first switching network, and the second switching network.
Claim 12 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 5, 10, 11, and 12 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 12 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receiver-side inductor, switching network, processing circuitry coupling, and shunt-switch short-circuit arrangement.
Claim 13. The transceiver of claim 12, comprising a differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 4, 5, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 13 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding differential transmission line and inductor/switching network arrangement.
Claim 14. The transceiver of claim 13, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the first switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the first switching network.
Claim 14 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutoiy double patenting as being unpatentab1e over at least claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 14 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite a differential transmission line configured to couple the first shunt switch and second shunt switch to the first switch and second switch.
Claim 15. The transceiver of claim 12, comprising a differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 4, 5, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 15 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line and inductor/switching network arrangement.
Claim 16. The transceiver of claim 15, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the second switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the second switching network.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 8, and 9 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 16 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receive-side differential transmission line,, first and second switches, first and second shunt switches, and coupling to the amplifier port.
Claim 17. Transceiver circuitry comprising: transmit circuitry comprising a first inductor; receive circuitry comprising a second inductor; a first differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and a third inductor; and a second differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor.
Claim 17 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 17 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receive-side circuitry, differential transmission line, inductor, switching network, and transformer/amplifier arrangement.
Claim 18. The transceiver circuitry of claim 17, comprising a first switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or a second end of the first inductor.
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10, 13, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 18 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to opposite ends of the inductor/transformer arrangement.
Claim 19. The transceiver circuitry of claim 18, wherein coupling the processing circuitry to the first end of the first inductor causes a first phase shift and coupling the processing circuitry to the second end of the first inductor causes a second phase shift.
Claim 19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10, 13, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 19 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite that the first and second switch operations apply corresponding first and second phase shifts.
Claim 20. The transceiver circuitry of claim 17, comprising a first switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to a first end of the second inductor or a second end of the second inductor.
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claims 10, 13, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/814,266. Pending claim 20 is not patentably distinct from the copending claims because the copending claims recite the corresponding receive-side switching network configured to couple processing circuitry to opposite ends of the inductor/transformer arrangement.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20180343029, hereinafter “Zhang”), and further in view of
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses,
A system comprising:
transmit circuitry (The front end circuit 10 is generally defined by a transmit chain 12, [0038]) comprising a first transformer (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a incorporates a transmit coupled inductor transformer 84 which is generally comprised of a primary winding 86 and a secondary winding 88 that are electromagnetically coupled to each other [0053]);
receive circuitry (The front end circuit 10 is generally defined by a receive chain 14, [0038]) comprising a second transformer (There is a receive coupled inductor transformer 102 that is generally comprised of a primary winding 104 and a secondary winding 106 that are electromagnetically cross-coupled to each other, [0059] );
a first switching network (a first transmit transistor switch 62 [0050]; a second transmit transistor switch 80 [0052]);
a first differential transmission line coupled to the first switching network and the first transformer (the connected transceiver is fully differential, while the antenna 16 is single-ended. As such, the entire signal path, including the components comprising such signal path, are understood to be differential and therefore comprised of two signal transmission lines [0038]; a pair of transmit differential ports 56a, 56b [0047]; The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a includes a first transmit transistor switch 62 that is connected to the first transmit differential port 56a…. The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a also includes a second transmit transistor switch 80 connected to the second transmit differential port 56b [0050]-[0052]);
a second switching network (there is a first receive transistor switch 90 that is connected to the first receive differential port 58a, and a second receive transistor switch 92 that is connected to the second receive differential port 58b [0056]); and
a second differential transmission line coupled to the second switching network and the second transformer (the first receive differential port 58a is understood to be connected to the (+) differential signal transmission line to the low noise amplifier 20, and the second receive differential port 58b is connected to the (−) differential signal transmission line to the low noise amplifier 20 [0048]; (there is a first receive transistor switch 90 that is connected to the first receive differential port 58a, and a second receive transistor switch 92 that is connected to the second receive differential port 58b [0056]-[0058]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose, a phased-array system.
In the same field of endeavor, Sharma discloses, a phased array system (According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a phase shifter circuit is presented, the phase shifter circuit comprising: a first port configured to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal that is processed by the phase shifter circuit and output at a load [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a phased array system, as taught by Sharma for the purpose of efficient transfer of electrical energy from the voltage source to the differential amplifier in spite of possible impedance mismatch between the output of the voltage source RF.sub.IN and the input of the differential amplifier [0048].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Zhang discloses, an inductor coupled to the first switching network and the second switching network (The primary winding 110 of the balun 108 is connected across the first and second transistor switches of the transmit and receive chain, that is, a first terminal 110a of the primary winding 110 is connected to the first transmit transistor switch 62, specifically the source 64s of the transistor 64, and the first receive transistor switch 90, specifically the source 96s of the second transistor 96 [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Zhang discloses, wherein the inductor is configured to absorb capacitive reactance associated with the first switching network and the second switching network. (The primary winding 110 of the balun 108 is connected across the first and second transistor switches of the transmit and receive chain, that is, a first terminal 110a of the primary winding 110 is connected to the first transmit transistor switch 62, specifically the source 64s of the transistor 64, and the first receive transistor switch 90, specifically the source 96s of the second transistor 96 [0060]-[0061]; The capacitance thereof, together with the inductance from the transmit coupled inductor transformers 130 and 132 are understood to define a parallel resonant circuit, thereby not loading the low noise amplifier input chain. In the transmit mode, the first receive transistor switch 90 and the second receive transistor switch 92 are deactivated, and the capacitances thereof, with the inductance from the receive coupled inductor transformer 102 is understood to define a parallel resonant circuit that prevents loading of the transmit output chain [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Zhang discloses, wherein the first switching network is coupled to the first differential transmission line and the inductor (the connected transceiver is fully differential, while the antenna 16 is single-ended. As such, the entire signal path, including the components comprising such signal path, are understood to be differential and therefore comprised of two signal transmission lines [0038]; a pair of transmit differential ports 56a, 56b [0047]; The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a includes a first transmit transistor switch 62 that is connected to the first transmit differential port 56a…. The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a also includes a second transmit transistor switch 80 connected to the second transmit differential port 56b [0050]-[0052]), and wherein the first switching network is configured to couple the first differential transmission line and the inductor to reduce capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent to the transmit circuitry ( The capacitance thereof, together with the inductance from the transmit coupled inductor transformers 130 and 132 are understood to define a parallel resonant circuit, thereby not loading the low noise amplifier input chain. In the transmit mode, the first receive transistor switch 90 and the second receive transistor switch 92 are deactivated, and the capacitances thereof, with the inductance from the receive coupled inductor transformer 102 is understood to define a parallel resonant circuit that prevents loading of the transmit output chain [0073]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Zhang discloses, wherein the second switching network is coupled to the second differential transmission line and the inductor (a balun 108 couples the transistor switches to the antenna port 54. The configuration of the balun 108 comprised of a primary winding 110 and a secondary winding 112. Although the number of turns of the primary winding 110 and the secondary winding 112 are understood to be equal, impedance transformation may be possible with different primary to secondary winding ratios, [0057]-[0060]), and wherein the second switching network is configured to couple the second switching network been the second differential transmission line and the inductor reduces capacitive reactance associated with a signal sent from the receive circuitry (At the same time, the inductors of the primary winding 110 and the secondary winding 106 of the receive coupled inductor transformer balun 108 serve low noise amplifier input matching purposes in the receive the mode while transmit switches 62 and 80 are deactivated with a parallel resonance defined by coupled inductors 84 and these switches [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Sharma discloses, wherein the first differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the first switching network and a second shunt switch of the first switching network to a first switch of the first switching network and a second switch of the first switching network (the shunted switch (encircled in FIG. 11A) of the last unit element of each of the switching conduction paths (1120A) and (1120B) coupled to a respective one of the Port2 and Port3 can be used to rotate a respective phase impedance seen by Port1 through Port2 and Port3 in a manner similar to switches S22 and S23 of FIG. 4A. In other words, when the shunted switch S of the last unit element (1010A) of (1120A) is ON (switch is closed), as shown in FIG. 11A, Port1 sees a high impedance conduction path to Port2, and when the shunted switch of the last unit element (1010B) of (1120B) is OFF (switch is open), as shown in FIG. 11A, [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Sharma discloses, wherein the second differential transmission line couples a first shunt switch of the second switching network and a second shunt switch of the second switching network to a first switch of the second switching network and a second switch of the second switching network (the shunted switch S (encircled in FIG. 11A) of the last unit element of each of the switching conduction paths (1120A) and (1120B) coupled to a respective one of the Port2 and Port3 can be used to rotate a respective phase impedance seen by Port1 through Port2 and Port3 in a manner similar to switches S22 and S23 of FIG. 4A. In other words, when the shunted switch S of the last unit element (1010A) of (1120A) is ON (switch is closed), as shown in FIG. 11A, Port1 sees a high impedance conduction path to Port2, and when the shunted switch of the last unit element (1010B) of (1120B) is OFF (switch is open), as shown in FIG. 11A, [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Sharma discloses, wherein closing a first switch of the first switching network couples a first end of the first transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the first switching network couples a second end of the first transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift (the first switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a second port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the first switchable conduction path; a second switchable conduction path comprising one or more series connected transmission lines, and one or more shunted switching transistors each coupled to a respective transmission line of the one or more series connected transmission lines, the second switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a third port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the second switchable conduction path; and a first transformer having a first winding and a second winding, the first winding coupled to the second port and the third port at a respective one of two ends of the first winding, and the second winding coupled to the load [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Sharma discloses, wherein closing a first switch of the first switching network couples a first end of the first transformer to processing circuitry to apply a first phase shift and closing a second switch of the first switching network couples a second end of the first transformer to the processing circuitry to apply a second phase shift (the first switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a second port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the first switchable conduction path; a second switchable conduction path comprising one or more series connected transmission lines, and one or more shunted switching transistors each coupled to a respective transmission line of the one or more series connected transmission lines, the second switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a third port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the second switchable conduction path; and a first transformer having a first winding and a second winding, the first winding coupled to the second port and the third port at a respective one of two ends of the first winding, and the second winding coupled to the load [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Zhang discloses, wherein the first transformer couples the first switching network to a power amplifier (the transmit chain 12 is comprised of multiple amplification stages, including a first amplifier 30, a driver amplifier 32, and a power amplifier 34 [0041]; he first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a includes a first transmit transistor switch 62 that is connected to the first transmit differential port 56a. More particularly, the first transmit transistor switch 62 includes a transistor 64 with a gate 64g, a source 64s, and a drain 64d [0050]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Zhang discloses, wherein the first transformer couples the second switching network to a low noise amplifier (the first receive differential port 58a is understood to be connected to the (+) differential signal transmission line to the low noise amplifier 20, and the second receive differential port 58b is connected to the (−) differential signal transmission line to the low noise amplifier 20. The receive (+) differential signal is designated as RX+, and the receive (−) differential signal is designated as RX− [0048]; receive differential ports 58 are a pair of receive transistor switches that connect the antenna port 54 to the differential signal outputs to the low noise amplifier. More particularly, there is a first receive transistor switch 90 that is connected to the first receive differential port 58a, and a second receive transistor switch 92 that is connected to the second receive differential port 58b [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses,
A transceiver comprising:
a transmit (The front end circuit 10 is generally defined by a transmit chain 12, [0038]) comprising a first inductor (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a incorporates a transmit coupled inductor transformer 84 which is generally comprised of a primary winding 86 and a secondary winding 88 that are electromagnetically coupled to each other [0053]);
a receiver (The front end circuit 10 is generally defined by a receive chain 14, [0038]) comprising a second inductor (There is a receive coupled inductor transformer 102 that is generally comprised of a primary winding 104 and a secondary winding 106 that are electromagnetically cross-coupled to each other, [0059] );
a first switching network (a first transmit transistor switch 62 [0050]; a second transmit transistor switch 80 [0052]);
a second switching network (there is a first receive transistor switch 90 that is connected to the first receive differential port 58a, and a second receive transistor switch 92 that is connected to the second receive differential port 58b [0056]); and
a third conductor coupled to the processing circuitry, the first switching network and the second switching network (The primary winding 110 of the balun 108 is connected across the first and second transistor switches of the transmit and receive chain, that is, a first terminal 110a of the primary winding 110 is connected to the first transmit transistor switch 62, specifically the source 64s of the transistor 64, and the first receive transistor switch 90, specifically the source 96s of the second transistor 96 [0060]-[0061]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose, a first switching network configured to apply a first phase shift by coupling processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or apply a second phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a second end of the second inductor; a second switching network configured to apply a third phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a third end of the second inductor or apply a fourth phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a fourth end of the second inductor.
In the same field of endeavor, Sharma discloses, a first switching network configured to apply a first phase shift by coupling processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or apply a second phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a second end of the second inductor; a second switching network configured to apply a third phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a third end of the second inductor or apply a fourth phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a fourth end of the second inductor (the first switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a second port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the first switchable conduction path; a second switchable conduction path comprising one or more series connected transmission lines, and one or more shunted switching transistors each coupled to a respective transmission line of the one or more series connected transmission lines, the second switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a third port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the second switchable conduction path; and a first transformer having a first winding and a second winding, the first winding coupled to the second port and the third port at a respective one of two ends of the first winding, and the second winding coupled to the load [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a first switching network configured to apply a first phase shift by coupling processing circuitry to a first end of the first inductor or apply a second phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a second end of the second inductor; a second switching network configured to apply a third phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a third end of the second inductor or apply a fourth phase shift by coupling the processing circuitry to a fourth end of the second inductor, as taught by Sharma for the purpose of efficient transfer of electrical energy from the voltage source to the differential amplifier in spite of possible impedance mismatch between the output of the voltage source RF.sub.IN and the input of the differential amplifier [0048].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Zhang discloses, a differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and the third inductor (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a includes an antenna port 54, as well as a pair of transmit differential ports 56a, 56b, and a pair of receive differential ports 58a, 58b. The first transmit differential port 56a is understood to be connected to the (+) differential signal transmission line from the power amplifier 34, while the second transmit differential port 56b is understood to be connected to the (−) differential signal transmission line from the power amplifier 34 [0047]; [0053]; The primary winding 110 of the balun 108 is connected across the first and second transistor switches of the transmit and receive chain, that is, a first terminal 110a of the primary winding 110 is connected to the first transmit transistor switch 62, specifically the source 64s of the transistor 64, and the first receive transistor switch 90, specifically the source 96s of the second transistor 96 [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), in addition Sharma discloses, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the first switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the first switching network (the first switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a second port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the first switchable conduction path; a second switchable conduction path comprising one or more series connected transmission lines, and one or more shunted switching transistors each coupled to a respective transmission line of the one or more series connected transmission lines, the second switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a third port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the second switchable conduction path; and a first transformer having a first winding and a second winding, the first winding coupled to the second port and the third port at a respective one of two ends of the first winding, and the second winding coupled to the load [0008]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), further Zhang discloses, a differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a includes an antenna port 54, as well as a pair of transmit differential ports 56a, 56b, and a pair of receive differential ports 58a, 58b. The first transmit differential port 56a is understood to be connected to the (+) differential signal transmission line from the power amplifier 34, while the second transmit differential port 56b is understood to be connected to the (−) differential signal transmission line from the power amplifier 34 [0047]; [0053]; The primary winding 110 of the balun 108 is connected across the first and second transistor switches of the transmit and receive chain, that is, a first terminal 110a of the primary winding 110 is connected to the first transmit transistor switch 62, specifically the source 64s of the transistor 64, and the first receive transistor switch 90, specifically the source 96s of the second transistor 96 [0060]-[0061]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), in addition Sharma discloses, wherein the differential transmission line is coupled between a first switch and a second switch of the second switching network and a first shunt switch and a second shunt switch of the second switching network (the first switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a second port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the first switchable conduction path; a second switchable conduction path comprising one or more series connected transmission lines, and one or more shunted switching transistors each coupled to a respective transmission line of the one or more series connected transmission lines, the second switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a third port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the second switchable conduction path; and a first transformer having a first winding and a second winding, the first winding coupled to the second port and the third port at a respective one of two ends of the first winding, and the second winding coupled to the load [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses,
Transceiver circuitry comprising:
transmit circuitry (The front end circuit 10 is generally defined by a transmit chain 12, [0038]) comprising a first inductor (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a incorporates a transmit coupled inductor transformer 84 which is generally comprised of a primary winding 86 and a secondary winding 88 that are electromagnetically coupled to each other [0053]);
receive circuitry (The front end circuit 10 is generally defined by a receive chain 14, [0038]) comprising a second inductor (There is a receive coupled inductor transformer 102 that is generally comprised of a primary winding 104 and a secondary winding 106 that are electromagnetically cross-coupled to each other, [0059] );
a first differential transmission line coupled to the first inductor and a third inductor (the connected transceiver is fully differential, while the antenna 16 is single-ended. As such, the entire signal path, including the components comprising such signal path, are understood to be differential and therefore comprised of two signal transmission lines [0038]; a pair of transmit differential ports 56a, 56b [0047]; The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a includes a first transmit transistor switch 62 that is connected to the first transmit differential port 56a…. The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a also includes a second transmit transistor switch 80 connected to the second transmit differential port 56b [0050]-[0052]);
a second differential transmission line coupled to the second inductor and the third inductor (the first receive differential port 58a is understood to be connected to the (+) differential signal transmission line to the low noise amplifier 20, and the second receive differential port 58b is connected to the (−) differential signal transmission line to the low noise amplifier 20 [0048]; (there is a first receive transistor switch 90 that is connected to the first receive differential port 58a, and a second receive transistor switch 92 that is connected to the second receive differential port 58b [0056]-[0058]).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose, a phased-array system.
In the same field of endeavor, Sharma discloses, a phased array system (According to an aspect of the present disclosure, a phase shifter circuit is presented, the phase shifter circuit comprising: a first port configured to receive a radio frequency (RF) signal that is processed by the phase shifter circuit and output at a load [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a phased array system, as taught by Sharma for the purpose of efficient transfer of electrical energy from the voltage source to the differential amplifier in spite of possible impedance mismatch between the output of the voltage source RF.sub.IN and the input of the differential amplifier [0048].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), further Zhang discloses, a first switching network configured to couple processing circuity to a first end of the first inductor or a second end of the first inductor (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a incorporates a transmit coupled inductor transformer 84 which is generally comprised of a primary winding 86 and a secondary winding 88 that are electromagnetically coupled to each other. Both the primary winding 86 and the secondary winding 88 are comprised of a plurality of turns, and are electromagnetically cross-coupled [0053]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 18), in addition Sharma wherein coupling the processing circuitry to the first end of the first inductor causes a first phase shift and coupling the processing circuitry to the second end of the first inductor causes a second phase shift (the first switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a second port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the first switchable conduction path; a second switchable conduction path comprising one or more series connected transmission lines, and one or more shunted switching transistors each coupled to a respective transmission line of the one or more series connected transmission lines, the second switchable conduction path configured to selectively couple the first port to a third port via one of a low impedance conduction path and a high impedance conduction path by respectively opening and closing of at least one shunted switching transistor of the one or more shunted switching transistors of the second switchable conduction path; and a first transformer having a first winding and a second winding, the first winding coupled to the second port and the third port at a respective one of two ends of the first winding, and the second winding coupled to the load [0008]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zhang and Sharma discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), further Zhang discloses, a first switching network configured to couple processing circuity to a first end of the second inductor or a second end of the second inductor (The first embodiment of the RF transmit-receive switch 18a incorporates a transmit coupled inductor transformer 84 which is generally comprised of a primary winding 86 and a secondary winding 88 that are electromagnetically coupled to each other. Both the primary winding 86 and the secondary winding 88 are comprised of a plurality of turns, and are electromagnetically cross-coupled [0053]; [0055]).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 12009564: A phased array element includes a transmit portion having a plurality of amplifier paths, each amplifier path having a driver amplifier and a power amplifier, a first transformer coupled to the power amplifier of a first amplifier path of the plurality of amplifier paths and a second transformer coupled to the power amplifier of a second amplifier path of the plurality of amplifier paths, a secondary winding of each of the first transformer and the second transformer coupled together by a common transformer segment.
US 11546010: One example includes a switch system. The system includes a first signal port and a second signal port. The system also includes a first switching path arranged between the first and second signal ports. The first switching path includes at least one first switch and at least one of the at least one first switch being configured as a high-speed switching device. The system further includes a second switching path arranged between the first and second signal ports in parallel with the first switching path.
US 11349503: An apparatus is disclosed for phase-shifting signals with a compensation circuit. In example implementations, an apparatus for phase-shifting signals includes a phase shifter having a first port and a second port. The phase shifter also includes a signal phase generator, a compensation circuit, and a vector modulator. The compensation circuit includes a first capacitor with a first capacitance and a second capacitor with a second capacitance. The first capacitance is different from the second capacitance.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641