DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Preliminary’s amendment dated 10/28/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yao et al. U.S. Patent 10,036,188.
Regarding claim 1, Yao et al. teaches a hinge mechanism configured to dispose opposite to a foldable part of a flexible display of a foldable electronic device, configured to unfold or fold the foldable electronic device and comprising:
a main shaft (21; figure 4 or see above annotated figure 10) comprising:
a first side (see above annotated figure 10); and
a second side (see above annotated figure 10) opposite to the first side;
a first housing support (see above annotated figure 10) disposed on the first side;
a second housing support (see above annotated figure 10) disposed on the second side, wherein the first housing support and the second housing support are configured to rotate synchronously away (figure 9) from or toward (figure 14) each other relative to the main shaft while the foldable electronic device is unfolded (figure 9) or folded (figure 14); and
a flatness stop mechanism (4 + 5; figure 4) comprising:
a first stop structure (left 4) comprising:
a first connecting rod (left 422 + 41 + 42; figure 4) rotatably coupled to the main shaft (21; figure 4), slidably (see figures 8-10) coupled to the first housing support, and configured to:
slide (see figures 8-10) relative to the first housing support while the foldable electronic device is unfolded or folded; and
slide in a first direction away (see figures 9-10) from the first housing support while the foldable electronic device is changing from an unfolded state (see figure 10) to a flattened state (see figure 9); and
a first stop block (left 5; figures 4, 9-10) fastened to the first housing support and disposed opposite to the first connecting rod (422); and
a second stop structure (right 4; figure 4) comprising:
a second connecting rod (right 422 + 41 + 42; figure 4) rotatably coupled to the main shaft (21), slidably (see figures 8-10) coupled to the second housing support, further coupled (indirectly coupled) to the first connecting rod in a first transmission (see figure 4) connection manner, and configured to:
slide (see figures 8-10) relative to the second housing support while the foldable electronic device is unfolded or folded;
rotate synchronously away (figure 9) from or toward (figures 13-14) with the first connecting rod relative to the main shaft while the foldable electronic device is unfolded or folded; and
slide in a second direction (see figure 9) away from the second housing support while the foldable electronic device is changing from the unfolded state to the flattened state (figure 9); and
a second stop block (right 5; figures 4, 9-10) is fastened to the second housing support and disposed opposite (see figures 4, 9-10) to the second connecting rod (right 422 + 41 + 42) wherein the first connecting rod (left 422) is further configured to press (see figure 9) against the first stop block (left 5) and the second connecting rod (right 422 + 41 + 42) is further configured to press (see figure 9) against the second stop block (right 5) when the foldable electronic device is in the flattened state (see figure 9).
Regarding claim 2, Yao et al. teaches the hinge mechanism of claim 1, further comprising:
a first sliding slot (left 52; figure 4) disposed on the first housing support and extending in a third direction (see figure 4) away from the main shaft, wherein the first connecting rod (left 422 + 41 + 42) is slidably (see figures 9-10) disposed in the first sliding slot (left 52) and is further configured to slide (see figures 9-14) relative to the first housing support in the first direction or a fourth direction towards the first housing support while the foldable electronic device is unfolded or folded (see figures 9-14); and
a second sliding slot (right 52; figure 4) is disposed on the second housing support and extending in a fifth direction (see figure 4) away from the main shaft, wherein the second connecting rod is slidably disposed in the second sliding slot and is further configured to slide relative (see figures 9-14) to the second housing support in the second direction or a sixth direction towards (see figures 9-14) the second housing support while the foldable electronic device is unfolded or folded (see figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 3, Yao et al. teaches the hinge mechanism of claim 2, wherein the first sliding slot comprises a first side wall (left 521; figures 4 and 9) located in a seventh direction perpendicular (see figure 9) to a rotation axial direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein the second sliding slot comprises a second side wall (right 521; figures 4 and 9) located in the seventh direction, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first avoidance slot (space inside left 52; figure 4) disposed in the first sliding slot and on the first side wall; and
a second avoidance slot (space inside right 52; figure 4) disposed in the second sliding slot and on the second side wall (see figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Yao et al. teaches the hinge mechanism of claim 2, further comprising:
a first opening (space inside left 52; figure 4) disposed in the first sliding slot (left 52; figure 4) in a seventh direction perpendicular (see figure 4) to a rotation axial direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein the first stop block (left 5) is configured to cover (see figure 4) the first opening; and
a second opening (space inside right 52; figure 4) is disposed in the second sliding slot (right 52; figure 4) in the seventh direction, wherein the second stop block is configured to cover (see figure 4) the second opening, wherein a first part (left 422; figure 4) of the first connecting rod is located between the first stop block and the first housing support, and wherein a second part (right 422; figure 4) of the second connecting rod is located between the second stop block and the second housing support.
Regarding claim 5, Yao et al. teaches the hinge mechanism of claim 2, wherein the first sliding slot (left 52; figure 4) comprises:
a first side wall (left 521; figure 4) located in a third side (see figure 4) of a rotation axial direction (see figure 4) of the hinge mechanism; and
a second side wall (522; figure 4) located in a fourth side (see figure 4) of the rotation axial direction, wherein the fourth side is opposite (see figure 4) to the third side, wherein the second sliding slot (right 52; figure 4) comprises:
a third side wall (right 521; figure 4) located in a fifth side (see figure 4) of the rotation axial direction; and
a fourth side wall (right 522; figure 4) located in a sixth side (see figure 4) of the rotation axial direction, wherein the fifth side is opposite (see figure 4) to the sixth side, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the first sliding slot and on the first side wall;
a second concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the first sliding slot and on the second side wall, wherein the first connecting rod is slidably coupled to the first concave part and the second concave part;
a third concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the second sliding slot and on the third side wall; and
a fourth concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the second sliding slot and on the fourth side wall, wherein the second connecting rod (right 422 + 41 + 42) is slidably (see figures 4, 9 and 10) coupled to the third concave part and the fourth concave part.
Regarding claim 11, Yao et al. teaches the hinge mechanism of claim 1, wherein the first connecting rod comprises a first end (left 41; figure 4) rotatably coupled (see figure 11) to the main shaft, wherein the second connecting rod comprises a second end (right 41; figure 4) rotatably coupled to the main shaft, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first gear part (left 313; figures 3-4) disposed at the first end; and
a second gear part (right 313; figures 3-4) disposed at the second end, wherein the first gear part is configured to be in a second transmission connection (see figures 3-4) manner with the second gear part to cause the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod to synchronously rotate (see figures 9-14) away from or toward each other relative to the main shaft.
Regarding claim 12, Yao et al. teaches the hinge mechanism of claim 11, further comprising a synchronization gear group (left 312 + right 312; figure 12) disposed on the main shaft, located between (see figure 12) the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod configured to couple the first gear part to the second gear part in a third transmission (see figure 12) connection manner, and comprising an even (left 312 and right 312; figure 12) number of transmission gears that are sequentially coupled in a fourth transmission (see figure 12) connection manner to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. U.S. patent 10,036,188 in view of Kim et al. U.S. Patent 12,549,023.
Regarding claim 13, Yao et al. teaches an electronic device comprising:
a hinge mechanism comprising:
a main shaft (21; figure 4), comprising:
a first side (see above annotated figure 10); and
a second side (see above annotated figure 10) opposite to the first side;
a first housing support (see above annotated figure 10) disposed on the first side;
a second housing support (see above annotated figure 10) disposed on the second side, wherein the first housing support and the second housing support are configured to rotate synchronously away (see figure 9) from or toward (see figure 14) each other relative to the main shaft while the electronic device is unfolded or folded; and
a flatness stop mechanism (4 + 5; figure 4) comprising:
a first stop structure (left 4) comprising:
a first connecting rod (left 422 + 41 + 42) rotatably coupled to the main shaft, slidably (see figures 8-10) coupled to the first housing support, and configured to:
slide (see figures 8-10) relative to the first housing support while the electronic device is unfolded or folded;
slide (see figures 9-10) in a first direction away (see figures 9-10) from the first housing support while the electronic device is changing from an unfolded state (see figure 10) to a flattened state (see figure 9); and
a first stop block (left 5; figures 4, 9-10) fastened to the first housing support and disposed opposite to the first connecting rod; and
a second stop structure (right 4; figure 4) comprising:
a second connecting rod (right 422 + 41 + 42; figure 4) rotatably coupled to the main shaft, slidably (see figures 8-10) coupled to the second housing support, further coupled to the first connecting rod in a first transmission (see figure 4) connection manner, and configured to:
slide (see figures 8-10) relative to the second housing support while the electronic device is unfolded or folded;
rotate synchronously away (see figure 9) from or toward (see figures 13-14) with the first connecting rod relative to the main shaft while the electronic device is unfolded or folded; and
slide in a second direction (see figure 9) away from the second housing support while the electronic device is changing from the unfolded state to the flattened state; and
a second stop block (right; figures 4, 9-10) is fastened to the second housing support and disposed opposite to the second connecting rod, wherein the first connecting rod is further configured to press (see figure 9) against the first stop block, and the second connecting rod is further configured to press (see figure 9) against the second stop block when the electronic device is in the flattened state;
a first housing (left 10; figure 1) fastened to the first housing support;
a second housing (right 10; figure 1) fastened to the second housing support;
and a foldable part (top portion 111; figure 2), wherein the hinge mechanism is disposed opposite (hinge mechanism is disposed in space 113, which is opposite of top portion 111) to the foldable part.
However, Yao et al. does not specifically teach a flexible display fastened to the first housing and the second housing, configured to continuously cover the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge mechanism.
Kim et al., in the same field of endeavor, teaches a flexible display fastened to a first housing and a second housing, configured to continuously cover the first housing, the second housing, and a hinge mechanism.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further substitute the display of Yao et al. with a flexible display, as suggested by Kim et al., such that the flexible display would be fastened to the first housing and the second housing, configured to continuously cover the first housing, the second housing, and the hinge mechanism, to achieve a durable lightweight, shatter-reduced display.
Regarding claim 14, Yao et al./Kim et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first sliding slot (left 52; figure 4 of Yao et al.) disposed on the first housing support and extending in a third direction (see figure 4) away from the main shaft, wherein the first connecting rod (left 422 + 41 + 42) is slidably (see figures 9-10 of Yao et al.) disposed in the first sliding slot and is further configured to slide relative to the first housing support in the first direction or a fourth direction (see figures 9-14) towards the first housing support while the electronic device is unfolded or folded; and
a second sliding slot (right 52; figure 4) disposed on the second housing support and extending in a fifth direction (see figure 4) away from the main shaft, wherein the second connecting rod is slidably (see figures 9-14) disposed in the second sliding slot and is further configured to slide relative to the second housing support in the second direction or a sixth direction towards the second housing support while the electronic device is unfolded or folded (see figures 9-14).
Regarding claim 15, Yao et al./Kim et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first sliding slot comprises a first side wall (left 521; figures 4 and 9 of Yao et al.) located in a seventh direction perpendicular (see figure 9) to a rotation axial direction (see figure 9) of the hinge mechanism, wherein the second sliding slot comprises a second side wall (right 521; figures 4 and 9 of Yao et al.) located in the seventh direction, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first avoidance (space inside left 52; figure 4 of Yao et al.) slot disposed in the first sliding slot and on the first side wall; and
a second avoidance (space inside right 52; figure 4) slot disposed in the second sliding slot and on the second side wall.
Regarding claim 16, Yao et al./Kim et al. teaches The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first opening (space inside left 52; figure 4 of Yao et al.) disposed in the first sliding slot in a seventh direction perpendicular (see figure 4) to a rotation axial direction of the hinge mechanism, wherein the first stop block (left 5; figure 4) is configured to cover the first opening; and
a second opening (space inside right 52; figure 4) disposed in the second sliding slot in the seventh direction, wherein the second stop block (right 5; figure 4) is configured to cover the second opening, wherein a first part (left 422; figure 4) of the first connecting rod is located between the first stop block and the first housing support, and wherein a second part (right 422; figure 4) of the second connecting rod is located between the second stop block and the second housing support.
Regarding claim 17, Yao et al./Kim et al. teaches the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the first sliding slot comprises:
a first side wall (left 521; figure 4 of Yao et al.) located in a third side (see figure 4) of a rotation axial direction (see figure 4) of the hinge mechanism; and
a second side wall (522; figure 4) located in a fourth side (see figure 4) of the rotation axial direction, wherein the fourth side is opposite (see figure 4) to the third side, wherein the second sliding slot (right 52; figure 4) comprises:
a third side wall (right 521; figure 4) located in a fifth side (see figure 4) of the rotation axial direction; and
a fourth side wall (right 522; figure 4) located in a sixth side (see figure 4) of the rotation axial direction, wherein the fifth side is opposite (see figure 4) to the sixth side, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the first sliding slot and on the first side wall;
a second concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the first sliding slot and on the second side wall, wherein the first connecting rod is slidably coupled to the first concave part and the second concave part;
a third concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the second sliding slot and on the third side wall; and
a fourth concave part (see above annotated figure 4) disposed in the second sliding slot and on the fourth side wall, wherein the second connecting rod (right 422 + 41 + 42) is slidably (see figures 4, 9 and 10) coupled to the third concave part and the fourth concave part.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the hinge mechanism of claim 3, in combination with all the positively recited elements of claim 3, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises:
a first sliding part disposed on the third side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the first side wall;
a second sliding part disposed on the fourth side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the first side wall;
a third sliding part disposed on the fifth side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the second side wall; and a fourth sliding part disposed on the sixth side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the second side wall.
Claims 7-8 are dependent from claim 6, and therefore, are objected-but-allowable for at least the same reason.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the hinge mechanism of claim 4, wherein the first stop block comprises a first surface facing the first connecting rod, wherein the second stop block comprises a second surface facing the second connecting rod, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises: a first stop slot disposed on the first connecting rod in a first sliding direction of the first connecting rod and comprising a first end located away from the main shaft; a first stop protrusion disposed on the first surface and extending into the first stop slot; a second stop slot disposed on the second connecting rod in a second sliding direction of the second connecting rod and comprising a second end located away from the main shaft; and a second stop protrusion disposed on the second surface and extending into the second stop slot, and wherein when the foldable electronic device is in the flattened state: the first end is configured to press against the first stop protrusion, and the second end is configured to press against the second stop protrusion.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the hinge mechanism of claim 1, wherein the first connecting rod comprises a third side and a fourth side, wherein the first stop block comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the second connecting rod comprises a fifth side and a sixth side, wherein the second stop block comprises a third end and a fourth end, and wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises: a first mounting slot disposed on the first housing support, located on the third side in a rotation axial direction of the hinge mechanism, and fastened to the first end; a second mounting slot disposed on the first housing support, located on the fourth side in the rotation axial direction, and fastened to the second end; a third mounting slot disposed on the second housing support, located on the fifth side in the rotation axial direction, and fastened to the third end; and a fourth mounting slot disposed on the second housing support, located on the sixth side in the rotation axial direction, and fastened to the fourth end.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the electronic device, in combination with all the positively recited elements of claim 15, wherein the first connecting rod comprises: a third side; and a fourth side opposite to the third side, wherein the second connecting rod comprises: a fifth side; and a sixth side opposite to the fourth side, wherein the hinge mechanism further comprises: a first sliding part disposed on the third side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the first side wall; a second sliding part disposed on the fourth side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the first side wall; a third sliding part disposed on the fifth side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the second side wall; and a fourth sliding part disposed on the sixth side in the rotation axial direction and slidably coupled to the second side wall.
Claims 19-20 are dependent from claim 18, and therefore, are objected-but-allowable for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841