DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalyanam et al (US Patent 10860051).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses an apparatus comprising:
a processing engine [Figure 1A; column 5 lines 30-35]
a digital filter coupled to the processing engine, the digital filter configured to model a power delivery network (PDN) for voltage overshoot mitigation for the processing engine [230; column 8 lines 50-55; column 9 lines 25-30]
a controller coupled to the digital filter, the controller configured to transfer a plurality of digital filter parameters to the digital filter [299; column 10 lines 50-60]
Regarding claim 2, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses a table of instructions to be executed by the processing engine to generate a plurality of energy estimates for the digital filter [column 6 lines 15-35].
Regarding claim 3, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the digital filter is further configured to generate a predicted voltage output based on the plurality of energy estimates [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 4, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses a proactive voltage overshoot mitigation (PVM) module comprising of the digital filter, the PVM module configured to generate a voltage overshoot control signal based on the predicted voltage output [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 5, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the PVM module is further configured to apply the voltage overshoot control signal to the processing engine [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 6, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses an apparatus comprising:
means for configuring a digital filter to model a power delivery network (PDN) for voltage overshoot mitigation for a processing engine [Figure 1A; column 5 lines 30-35; 230; column 8 lines 50-55; column 9 lines 25-30]
means for configuring a plurality of energy estimates for the digital filter [230; column 8 lines 50-55; column 9 lines 25-30]
means for generating a predicted voltage output based on the plurality of energy estimates [299; column 10 lines 50-60]
Regarding claim 7, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the digital filter is a second order digital infinite impulse response (IIR) bandpass filter [column 8 lines 50-60].
Regarding claim 8, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses means for generating a voltage overshoot control signal based on the predicted voltage output to adapt instruction issue control; and means for applying the voltage overshoot control signal to the processing engine [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 9, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses means for transferring a plurality of digital filter parameters when configuring the digital filter, and wherein the plurality of digital filter parameters depends on filter coefficients [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 10, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses means for generating the plurality of energy estimates from an instruction issue sequence, and wherein the plurality of energy estimates is a plurality of energy per clock cycle estimates [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 11, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses a method comprising:
configuring a digital filter to model a power delivery network (PDN) for voltage overshoot mitigation for a processing engine [Figure 1A; column 5 lines 30-35; 230; column 8 lines 50-55; column 9 lines 25-30]
configuring with a plurality of energy estimates for the digital filter [230; column 8 lines 50-55; column 9 lines 25-30]
generating a predicted voltage output based on the plurality of energy estimates [299; column 10 lines 50-60]
Regarding claim 12, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the digital filter is an Nth order digital infinite impulse response (IIR) bandpass filter [column 8 lines 50-60].
Regarding claim 13, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the digital filter is a second order digital infinite impulse response (IIR) bandpass filter [column 8 lines 50-60].
Regarding claim 14, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses transferring a plurality of digital filter parameters when configuring the digital filter [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 15, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the plurality of digital filter parameters depends on filter coefficients [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 16, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses generating a voltage overshoot control signal based on the predicted voltage output to adapt instruction issue control [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 17, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses applying the voltage overshoot control signal to the processing engine [column 9 lines 15-55].
Regarding claim 18, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the plurality of energy estimates is a plurality of energy per cycle per clock cycle estimates [column 7 lines 45-67 and column 8 lines 1-10].
Regarding claim 19, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses wherein the plurality of energy estimates is a plurality of maximum energy per cycle per clock cycle estimates [column 7 lines 45-67 and column 8 lines 1-10].
Regarding claim 20, Figure 2B of Kalyanam discloses generating the plurality of energy estimates from an instruction issue sequence [column 7 lines 45-67 and column 8 lines 1-10].
Conclusion
/TOMI SKIBINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836