DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 18-36 are pending in this Office Action.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 09/26/2024 have been entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 10412186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are obvious variant of claims of U.S. Patent No. US 10412186.
Claims 18-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 11457089. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are obvious variant of claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11457089.
Claims 18-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11700318. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are obvious variant of claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11700318.
Claims 18-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12132803. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are obvious variant of claims of US 12132803.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesketh (US 20120198043) in view of Nanduri (US 20060155869).
36. Hesketh teaches:
A computer system comprising: – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (A computer system 800 upon which embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented and carried out.)
a bus; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The computer system 800 includes a bus 801.)
a main memory coupled to the bus, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (Bus 901 communicatively couples processor(s) 902 with the other memory, storage and communications blocks. During operation of one embodiment, processor(s) 902 accesses main memory 904 via the use of bus 901 in order to launch, run, execute, interpret or otherwise perform the logic instructions of the application 950-1.)
a mass storage coupled to the bus; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (Bus 901 communicatively couples processor(s) 902 with the other memory, storage and communications blocks.)
one or more communication ports coupled to the bus; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The computer system 800 includes a bus 801 (i.e., interconnect), at least one processor 902, at least one communications port 903, a main memory 904, a removable storage media 905, a read-only memory 906, and a mass storage 907.)
a first processor; and a second processor. – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The computer system 800 includes a bus 801 (i.e., interconnect), at least one processor 902, at least one communications port 903, a main memory 904, a removable storage media 905, a read-only memory 906, and a mass storage 907.)
Hesketh does not explicitly teach:
wherein the main memory is encoded with application comprising a client application and an optimization support mechanism, wherein the optimization support mechanism comprises a decompression mechanism for decompressing a compressed resource, and wherein the optimization support mechanism is customized for the client.
However, Nanduri teaches:
wherein the main memory is encoded with application comprising a client application and an optimization support mechanism, wherein the optimization support mechanism comprises a decompression mechanism for decompressing a compressed resource, and – in paragraphs [0055]-[0108] (The BPAHDP enabled web-browser (WBA) is used to modify the outgoing HTTP request headers to indicate to the BPAHDP enabled web-server (WSA) that the requesting WBA is capable of carrying out certain custom data processing (e.g. ability to decompress data that is compressed using a certain data compression algorithm called `X").)
wherein the optimization support mechanism is customized for the client; – in paragraphs [0055]-[0108] (If the WSA receives the indication from a WBA about being BPAHDP enabled and its associated capabilities, the WSA sends the HTTP response data to WBA in a form that can only be processed by a WBA that possesses the indicated capabilities. For example, if the WBA indicated that it is capable of decompressing data that has been compressed using a certain data compression algorithm called `X`, then WSA compresses its HTTP payload data using the algorithm `X`.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hesketh with Nanduri to include wherein the main memory is encoded with application comprising a client application and an optimization support mechanism, wherein the optimization support mechanism comprises a decompression mechanism for decompressing a compressed resource, and wherein the optimization support mechanism is customized for the client, as taught by Nanduri, in paragraphs [0002]-[0015], to provide for a standard interface or mechanism to facilitate custom data transformation in order to reduce the volume of data transmission.
Claim(s) 18, 20, 22-33, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesketh (US 20120198043) in view of Nanduri (US 20060155869), and further in view of Martin (US 2014/0092904).
18. Hesketh teaches:
A computer-implemented method, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (Programs that implement such methods (as well as other types of data) may be stored and transmitted using a variety of media (e.g., computer readable media) in a number of manners.)
operable on one or more devices in a content delivery network (CDN), – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The content delivery network 602 comprises a DNS 608 made up of one or more CDN name servers 610. CDN 602 comprises one or more edge caches/servers 612, one or more mid-tier and/or parent caches/servers 614, and origin cache/server(s) 616 associated with the content provider specified in the customized domain name.)
wherein the CDN delivers content on behalf of at least one content provider, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (A primary purpose of a CDN is to distribute resources efficiently to client machines on behalf of one or more content providers.)
the one or more devices implementing a content delivery (CD) service, – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (CDN name server 610 can select an edge cache server 612 to serve or deliver the requested movie.)
the method comprising, by the CD service on the one or more devices: – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The content delivery network 602 comprises a DNS 608 made up of one or more CDN name servers 610. CDN 602 comprises one or more edge caches/servers 612, one or more mid-tier and/or parent caches/servers 614, and origin cache/server(s) 616 associated with the content provider specified in the customized domain name)
receiving a request for a particular resource from a client operatively connected to the CDN via a connection; – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The client then makes the request from a server associated with one of the address or domain. These CDN name servers 610 are part of the CDN's rendezvous system 606 and are configured to receive and process, for example, requests to resolve domain names. If a customizable domain name comprises information and/or attributes related to the particular content that is being requested, the CDN's rendezvous system 606, using CDN name server 610, can determine a respective popularity value or metric associated with the requested content and redirect the request within CDN 602 accordingly.)
wherein the request is an HTTP request and – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The client makes an HTTP request using a first URL.)
wherein the information provided with the request is included in one or more HTTP headers provided with the HTTP request. – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (Customized domain names can include any information that could be included in an HTTP header (including the URI) and any information that could be known/available at the time of the HTTP request.)
Hesketh does not explicitly teach:
customizing the optimization support mechanism for the client: providing optimized content supported by a combined client and optimization support mechanism; providing optimized content supported by a combined client and optimization support mechanism.
However, Nanduri teaches:
customizing the optimization support mechanism for the client: providing optimized content supported by a combined client and optimization support mechanism; – in paragraphs [0055]-[0108] (The BPAHDP enabled web-browser (WBA) is used to modify the outgoing HTTP request headers to indicate to the BPAHDP enabled web-server (WSA) that the requesting WBA is capable of carrying out certain custom data processing (e.g. ability to decompress data that is compressed using a certain data compression algorithm called `X").)
providing optimized content supported by a combined client and optimization support mechanism; – in paragraphs [0055]-[0108] (If the WSA receives the indication from a WBA about being BPAHDP enabled and its associated capabilities, the WSA sends the HTTP response data to WBA in a form that can only be processed by a WBA that possesses the indicated capabilities. For example, if the WBA indicated that it is capable of decompressing data that has been compressed using a certain data compression algorithm called `X`, then WSA compresses its HTTP payload data using the algorithm `X`.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hesketh with Nanduri to include customizing the optimization support mechanism for the client: providing optimized content supported by a combined client and optimization support mechanism; providing optimized content supported by a combined client and optimization support mechanism, as taught by Nanduri, in paragraphs [0002]-[0015], to provide for a standard interface or mechanism to facilitate custom data transformation in order to reduce the volume of data transmission.
Combination of Hesketh and Nanduri does not explicitly teach:
determining that the client includes an optimization support mechanism using a modified user-agent string included in the request, wherein the optimization support mechanism comprises a decompression mechanism for decompressing a compressed resource; responsive to determining that the client includes the optimization support mechanism, determining whether to provide the client with a first version of the particular resource, the first version of the particular resource being optimized, at least in part, for the client in combination with the optimization support mechanism, wherein determining whether to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource is based on a delay caused by optimization of the first version; and based on determining whether to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource, providing the client with the first version of the particular resource or providing the client with either (i) an un-optimized version of the particular resource, or (ii) a version of the particular resource optimized, at least in part, for the client without the optimization support mechanism.
However, Martin teaches:
determining that the client includes an optimization support mechanism using a modified user-agent string included in the request, – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. Each HTTP request includes a URL request line, followed by headers which contain information that a web server may use to respond appropriately to the request. Other headers include "Accept" for specifying certain media types which are acceptable for the response, "Accept-Encoding" for specifying certain compression formats which are acceptable for the response, and "User-Agent" for specifying the user agent (i.e. web browser) used by the mobile device 200 making the request. The mobile device 200 can set the Accept-Encoding header to request that content sent in response to the HTTP request be compressed, prior to its transmission. The mobile device 200 may set the Accept-Encoding header to null so that the server 142 does not compress data sent to the mobile device 200. The update header module 604 has also added the Accept-Encoding header to request that data be compress in the response to the SLOW HTTP request and modified the User-Agent to a mobile browser to request the mobile version of the website in the response to the SLOW HTTP.)
wherein the optimization support mechanism comprises a decompression mechanism for decompressing a compressed resource; – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (The steps of uncompressing or compressing data.)
responsive to determining that the client includes the optimization support mechanism, determining whether to provide the client with a first version of the particular resource, the first version of the particular resource being optimized, at least in part, for the client in combination with the optimization support mechanism, – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. In this example FAST HTTP request, the update header module 604 has modified the User-Agent to a non-mobile browser so that the response to the FAST HTTP request will include the non-mobile version of the website. The update header module 604 has also added the Accept-Encoding header to request that data be compress in the response to the SLOW HTTP request and modified the User-Agent to a mobile browser to request the mobile version of the website in the response to the SLOW HTTP.)
wherein determining whether to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource is based on a delay caused by optimization of the first version; and – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (The mobile device 200 may set the Accept-Encoding header to null so that the server 142 does not compress data sent to the mobile device 200. This can reduce the computational load of the mobile device 200 and/or server 142 by unnecessarily avoiding the steps of uncompressing or compressing data, respectively, when the network connection can handle increased data transfers.)
based on determining whether to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource, providing the client with the first version of the particular resource or providing the client with either (i) an un-optimized version of the particular resource, or (ii) a version of the particular resource optimized, at least in part, for the client without the optimization support mechanism, – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (When the update header module 604 identifies a FAST network connection, the update module 604 may perform a different set of header formatting, such as updating the User-Agent to a non-mobile web browser and accepting rich media types. In this example FAST HTTP request, the update header module 604 has modified the User-Agent to a non-mobile browser so that the response to the FAST HTTP request will include the non-mobile version of the website. When the update header module 604 identifies a SLOW network connection, the update header module 604 may format the header to minimize the size of the content to be requested by updating the User-Agent header to a mobile web browser, requesting compression of the data to be received, limiting the content to basic media types, etc. In this example SLOW HTTP request, the update header module 604 modified the Accept header to accept images in the .gif format instead of the .jpeg format, which is typically smaller in size. The update header module 604 has also added the Accept-Encoding header to request that data be compress in the response to the SLOW HTTP request and modified the User-Agent to a mobile browser to request the mobile version of the website in the response to the SLOW HTTP.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hesketh and Nanduri with Martin to include determining that the client includes an optimization support mechanism using a modified user-agent string included in the request, wherein the optimization support mechanism comprises a decompression mechanism for decompressing a compressed resource; responsive to determining that the client includes the optimization support mechanism, determining whether to provide the client with a first version of the particular resource, the first version of the particular resource being optimized, at least in part, for the client in combination with the optimization support mechanism, wherein determining whether to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource is based on a delay caused by optimization of the first version; and based on determining whether to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource, providing the client with the first version of the particular resource or providing the client with either (i) an un-optimized version of the particular resource, or (ii) a version of the particular resource optimized, at least in part, for the client without the optimization support mechanism, as taught by Martin, in paragraph [0039], to provide "proxy services" or "proxy service" which refers to any tool for improving browsing experience by caching, image transcoding, filtering, JavaScript compilation, pre-fetching, code reduction, video stream decoding, or compression, and may be referred to as web accelerators, compression services, or other terms known in the background for decreasing bandwidth or latency of web content delivered to a client browser.
20. The computer-implemented method of claim 18, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the CD service determines whether the client includes an optimization support mechanism based on information provided with the request. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. Each HTTP request includes a URL request line, followed by headers which contain information that a web server may use to respond appropriately to the request. Other headers include "Accept" for specifying certain media types which are acceptable for the response, "Accept-Encoding" for specifying certain compression formats which are acceptable for the response, and "User-Agent" for specifying the user agent (i.e. web browser) used by the mobile device 200 making the request. The mobile device 200 can set the Accept-Encoding header to request that content sent in response to the HTTP request be compressed, prior to its transmission. The mobile device 200 may set the Accept-Encoding header to null so that the server 142 does not compress data sent to the mobile device 200.)
22. The computer-implemented method of claim 18, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the optimization support mechanism causes the request to be made via a proxy. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. In this example FAST HTTP request, the update header module 604 has modified the User-Agent to a non-mobile browser so that the response to the FAST HTTP request will include the non-mobile version of the website. The update header module 604 has also added the Accept-Encoding header to request that data be compress in the response to the SLOW HTTP request and modified the User-Agent to a mobile browser to request the mobile version of the website in the response to the SLOW HTTP.)
23. The computer-implemented method of claim 18, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Hesketh teaches:
further comprising attempting to obtain the first version of the particular resource from another location. – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The cache(s) in the CDN origin tier obtain content from the content providers'/subscribers' origin servers, either on an as needed basis (a pull) or in advance (via a push). If, on the other hand, the requested movie is deemed to be relatively unpopular, then CDN name server 610 can select a cache server configured in one or more intermediate tiers between edge servers and origin servers), or even origin servers to serve the requested movie.)
24. The computer-implemented method of claim 23, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Hesketh teaches:
wherein the another location comprises an origin CD service. – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (The cache(s) in the CDN origin tier obtain content from the content providers'/subscribers' origin servers, either on an as needed basis (a pull) or in advance (via a push).)
25. The computer-implemented method of claim 18, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
further comprising: generating at least some of the first version of the particular resource. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. Each HTTP request includes a URL request line, followed by headers which contain information that a web server may use to respond appropriately to the request. Other headers include "Accept" for specifying certain media types which are acceptable for the response, "Accept-Encoding" for specifying certain compression formats which are acceptable for the response, and "User-Agent" for specifying the user agent (i.e. web browser) used by the mobile device 200 making the request. The mobile device 200 can set the Accept-Encoding header to request that content sent in response to the HTTP request be compressed, prior to its transmission. The mobile device 200 may set the Accept-Encoding header to null so that the server 142 does not compress data sent to the mobile device 200.)
26. The computer-implemented method of claim 25, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein generating at least some of the first version of the particular resource comprises: causing at least some optimizations to be performed on the particular resource to produce the first version of the particular resource. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. In this example FAST HTTP request, the update header module 604 has modified the User-Agent to a non-mobile browser so that the response to the FAST HTTP request will include the non-mobile version of the website. The update header module 604 has also added the Accept-Encoding header to request that data be compress in the response to the SLOW HTTP request and modified the User-Agent to a mobile browser to request the mobile version of the website in the response to the SLOW HTTP.)
27. The computer-implemented method of claim 26, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the at least some optimizations are performed by one or more optimization services. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] ("Proxy services" or "proxy service" refers to any tool for improving browsing experience by caching, image transcoding, filtering, JavaScript compilation, pre-fetching, code reduction, video stream decoding, or compression, and may be referred to as web accelerators, compression services, or other terms known in the background for decreasing bandwidth or latency of web content delivered to a client browser.)
28. The computer-implemented method of claim 26, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the at least some optimizations are performed by one or more optimization services running on the one or more devices. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] ("Proxy services" or "proxy service" refers to any tool for improving browsing experience by caching, image transcoding, filtering, JavaScript compilation, pre-fetching, code reduction, video stream decoding, or compression, and may be referred to as web accelerators, compression services, or other terms known in the background for decreasing bandwidth or latency of web content delivered to a client browser.)
29. The computer-implemented method of claim 26, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the one or more optimization services comprise an optimization services network. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] ("Proxy services" or "proxy service" refers to any tool for improving browsing experience by caching, image transcoding, filtering, JavaScript compilation, pre-fetching, code reduction, video stream decoding, or compression, and may be referred to as web accelerators, compression services, or other terms known in the background for decreasing bandwidth or latency of web content delivered to a client browser.)
30. The computer-implemented method of claim 29, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the optimizations include one or more of: (i) file compression, (ii) code minimization or reduction. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] ("Proxy services" or "proxy service" refers to any tool for improving browsing experience by caching, image transcoding, filtering, JavaScript compilation, pre-fetching, code reduction, video stream decoding, or compression, and may be referred to as web accelerators, compression services, or other terms known in the background for decreasing bandwidth or latency of web content delivered to a client browser.)
31. The computer-implemented method of claim 29, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the optimizations include one or more of: (i) image optimization or compression, and (ii) manipulation of the caching policy as provided to the client. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (The mobile device 200 can select a variant of the requested content from a plurality of variants available from a server 142 (e.g. mobile format or non-mobile format of a webpage, different qualities of an image, etc.). "Proxy services" or "proxy service" refers to any tool for improving browsing experience by caching, image transcoding, filtering, JavaScript compilation, pre-fetching, code reduction, video stream decoding, or compression, and may be referred to as web accelerators, compression services, or other terms known in the background for decreasing bandwidth or latency of web content delivered to a client browser. For example, a proxy service may be implemented to retrieve one of several versions of an image for delivery to a client browser or to send a mobile format or a non-mobile format of a file or webpage.)
32. Claims 32 is substantially similar to claims 18, 36.
33. Claims 33 is substantially similar to claims 18, 36, 36 except for the following limitations:
Martin teaches:
determine at least one of a cost of the connection or a speed of the connection; – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (When the update header module 604 identifies a SLOW network connection, the update header module 604 may format the header to minimize the size of the content to be requested by updating the User-Agent header to a mobile web browser, requesting compression of the data to be received, limiting the content to basic media types, etc.)
wherein determining to provide the client with the first version of the particular resource is determined based on (i) the at least one of the cost of the connection and the speed of the connection and (ii) a delay caused by optimization of the first version; and – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (When the update header module 604 identifies a SLOW network connection, the update header module 604 may format the header to minimize the size of the content to be requested by updating the User-Agent header to a mobile web browser, requesting compression of the data to be received, limiting the content to basic media types, etc. When the network connection used by the mobile device 200 has a maximum data transfer rate above a threshold data transfer capacity, the mobile device 200 can set one or more header to enable greater amounts of data to be sent to the mobile device 200. For example, the Accept header may be set to accept rich media types and/or a non-mobile formats (i.e. full or regular format) of a webpage so that the Internet browsing experience on the mobile device 200 is similar to that using a desktop or laptop computer. The mobile device 200 may set the Accept-Encoding header to null so that the server 142 does not compress data sent to the mobile device 200. This can reduce the computational load of the mobile device 200 and/or server 142 by unnecessarily avoiding the steps of uncompressing or compressing data, respectively, when the network connection can handle increased data transfers.)
35. The tangible device in a CDN of claim 33, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Martin teaches:
wherein the CD service determines whether the client includes an optimization support mechanism based, at least in part, on information provided with at least one header of the request. – in paragraphs [0011]-[0086] (A proxy server may be configured to perform a number of proxy services to configure the protocol response to satisfy one or more properties regarding the content requested, as indicated in the header of the protocol request. Each HTTP request includes a URL request line, followed by headers which contain information that a web server may use to respond appropriately to the request. Other headers include "Accept" for specifying certain media types which are acceptable for the response, "Accept-Encoding" for specifying certain compression formats which are acceptable for the response, and "User-Agent" for specifying the user agent (i.e. web browser) used by the mobile device 200 making the request. The mobile device 200 can set the Accept-Encoding header to request that content sent in response to the HTTP request be compressed, prior to its transmission. The mobile device 200 may set the Accept-Encoding header to null so that the server 142 does not compress data sent to the mobile device 200.)
Claim(s) 19, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesketh (US 20120198043) in view of Nanduri (US 20060155869), and further in view of Martin (US 2014/0092904) and McCanne (US 9407727).
19. The computer-implemented method of claim 18, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Hesketh teaches:
wherein the client comprises a browser mechanism and – in paragraphs [0025]-[0185] (When a client computer requests a resource using a URL (e.g., using a browser or the like), the hostname associated with that URL must be mapped to a computer (or computers) having that resource.)
Combination of Hesketh, Nanduri, and Martin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the optimization support mechanism is a plugin on the client.
However, McCanne teaches:
wherein the optimization support mechanism is a plugin on the client. – on lines 1-67 in columns 3-4 (After receiving the transformed content, the client reconstructs the original content by executing a script or other type of program within a web browser or other application capable of presenting content and downloading and executing scripts. In a further embodiment, content may include binary media data such as images; animation or video; sound or music data; binary document files such as portable document format (PDF) files; or any other type of binary media data associated with an internet media type or MIME type and capable of being handled by a web browser, web browser plug-in module, or standalone application.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hesketh, Nanduri, and Martin with McCanne to include wherein the optimization support mechanism is a plugin on the client, as taught by McCanne, on lines 34-38 in column 10, to provide a content transformation agent that transforms content at the server side of a WAN, such as the internet, to decrease the size of the content, thereby reducing the time and bandwidth required to communicate this content over the WAN to client devices.
34. Claim 34 is substantially similar to claim 19.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hesketh (US 20120198043) in view of Nanduri (US 20060155869), and further in view of Martin (US 2014/0092904), Karasaridis (US 20130262697), and Huang (US 20170187768).
21. The computer-implemented method of claim 18, – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Hesketh, Nanduri, and Martin does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining the speed of the connection is based, at least in part, on a hostname associated with the request.
However, Karasaridis teaches:
wherein determining the speed of the connection is based, at least in part, on a hostname associated with the request. – in paragraphs [0014], [0016], [0018], [0020], [0021], [0023], [0024], [0026]-[0030] (Receiving at a domain name system server a domain name request from the client system, wherein the domain name request includes the load status; in response to receiving the domain name request, determining at the domain name system server that a second cache server can fulfill the content request for a lower network cost than can the first cache server; and returning to the client system a domain name reply for the content request that directs the content request to the second cache server.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hesketh, Nanduri, and Martin with Karasaridis to include wherein determining the speed of the connection is based, at least in part, on a hostname associated with the request, as taught by Karasaridis, in paragraph [0001], to routing content based on real-time feedback.
Combination of Hesketh, Nanduri, Martin, and Karasaridis does not explicitly teach:
wherein the name is a hostname.
However, Huang teaches:
wherein the name is a hostname – in paragraphs [0023], [0024], [0037] (A domain name server includes a data structure (e.g., a lookup table, etc.) that maps host names to a network address (e.g., an IP address) associated with a particular host device. The domain name sever may map host names to a network address associated with a different host device (e.g., Host Device 2). DNS 235 may receive information that identifies a domain name, and may provide information that identifies a network address mapped to the domain name (e.g., a network address of host device 240).)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hesketh, Nanduri, Martin, and Karasaridis with Huang to include wherein the name is a hostname, as taught by Huang, in paragraph [0001], to provide a system of distributed servers that delivers content (e.g., streaming media (audio or video), webpages, etc.) to a user device based on a geographic location of the user device, a content delivery server, and/or an origin of the content, wherein the system decreases latency by providing, to a user device, content using a content delivery server that is nearest to the user device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449