DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 9/3/2026 wherein the examiner acknowledges that claims 1 & 8 have been amended, no additional claims have been added and no claims have been canceled. Consequently, claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/21/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yee et al. (US Patent Pub. 20160267746; referred to hereinafter as Yee), and further in view of Connelly et al. (US Patent Pub. 20250118147; referred to hereinafter as Connelly).
Claim 1: Yee discloses a hybrid card gaming table (abstract), comprising, a cabinet comprising a playing surface defining a gaming area (figure 6), a plurality of player stations physically connected to the cabinet, wherein each of the plurality of player stations comprises a player station display, and wherein each of the plurality of player stations are arranged to enable a player to view the gaming area (figure 6, which discloses plurality of player stations with display & 0076), a dealer console comprising an interactive user interface configured to receive bet information from the plurality of player stations, provide dealer assistance, and manage payouts related to gaming events (figure 6, elements 418 and 0026 & 0078-0079, dealer console), a dealer display in communication with the dealer console, wherein the dealer display provides card information related gaming events (0077-0079), a card shoe configured to shuffle and deal cards (0065-0067) and a gaming interface provided at a first player station display, wherein the gaming interface communicates with the dealer console, and wherein the gaming interface is configured to enable a player to participate in live gaming events (0055-0056, 0075-0078 & 0082). Yee, however, fails to disclose gaming interface comprises a picture-in-picture display providing, on the first player station and overlaid on a betting layout of the gaming interface, a live video feed of the gaming area in real time, the live video feed showing cards dealt in the gaming area. In an analogous art, Connelly teaches card table comprising a picture-in-picture display on a playing surface defining at least one gaming area, at least one camera capturing a live feed of the at least one gaming area, a dealer console provided at the card table, and a gaming interface provided at a player display. The dealer console includes an interactive user interface to enable a dealer to manage aspects of gaming events at the card table (0006-0007, Connelly). Connelly, further teaches a gaming interface which includes a picture-in-picture display, on the first player station and overlaid on a betting layout of the gaming interface, a live video feed of the gaming area in real time, the live video feed showing cards dealt in the gaming area (0032, 0046 & 0060, Connelly). It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the gaming table disclosed by Yee to include a picture-in-picture display providing, on the first player station and overlaid on a betting layout of the gaming interface, as taught by Connelly, to attract and retain players, maintain profitability, and improve player experience (0005, Connelly).
Claim 2: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the card shoe is a smart shoe in communication with the dealer console, and wherein a card drawn from the smart shoe is automatically read and displayed on at least one of the dealer display and the gaming interface (0056-0057 & 0078, Yee).
Claim 3: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein a selection at the dealer console defines a betting window indicating at least one of: a time left to accept bets, no more bets being accepted (Yee, 0153 disclose different time factors implementable during game play), and at least one gaming event result, wherein information relating to the betting window is reflected on the gaming interface (0070, Yee).
Claim 4: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the gaming interface at the player station is configured to accept a bet during the betting window defined at the dealer console (0064 & 0068, Yee).
Claim 5: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the gaming interface is configured to provide real-time card information associated with at least one of a dealer hand and a player hand (0076-0078, Yee).
Claim 6: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the plurality of player stations include five player stations, each comprising a player display, and arranged in a semi-circle around a perimeter of the gaming area (0076 & figure 7, Yee).
Claim 7: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the gaming interface comprises a plurality of selections representing at least one type of bet and an amount to bet (figure 3, Yee).
Claim 8: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the betting layout further comprises a plurality of areas representing individual hands playable against a dealer hand (0052, Yee).
Claim 9: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the dealer display displays, in real time, a current bet status for each of the plurality of player stations (0055, Yee).
Claim 10: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein during a gaming event, the dealer display provides instructions regarding an action to be performed at the dealer console to operate the gaming event (0076, Yee).
Claim 11: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the action comprises a selection to cause at least one of: dealing a card, confirming a result of a hand, resolve a bet, open a betting window, close a betting window, and provide a notification to at least one player station (0065, Yee).
Claim 12: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein, during a gaming event, the dealer display provides information related to each of the plurality of player stations actively playing (0079, Yee).
Claim 14: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the cabinet comprises an interior portion for housing electronic components (0076-0078, Yee).
Claim 15: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach wherein the playing surface is a felt surface comprising a design to play blackjack, baccarat, dai bacc, or another card game (0086, Yee).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yee and Connelly as applied to claims above, and further in view of Piazza et al. (US Patent Pub. 20220366759; referred to hereinafter as Piazza).
Claim 13: The combination of Yee and Connelly teach a hybrid card gaming table (abstract), comprising, a cabinet comprising a playing surface defining a gaming area (figure 6), a plurality of player stations physically connected to the cabinet, wherein each of the plurality of player stations comprises a player station display, and wherein each of the plurality of player stations are arranged to enable a player to view the gaming area (figure 6, which discloses plurality of player stations with display & 0076), a dealer console comprising an interactive user interface configured to receive bet information from the plurality of player stations, provide dealer assistance, and manage payouts related to gaming events (figure 6, elements 418 and 0026 & 0078-0079, dealer console), a dealer display in communication with the dealer console, wherein the dealer display provides card information related gaming events (0077-0079). The combination of Yee and Connelly, however, fails to clearly disclose the dealer display highlights an area associated with a player station requiring an action to be taken. In an analogous art, Piazza teaches a game table system which includes one or more player devices physically coupled and provides a player user interface for playing a game at the game table. Piazza further teaches that the system includes a dealer device coupled to the game table that provides a dealer user-interface for playing the game at the game table, wherein the one or more player devices and the dealer device are communicatively coupled. Piazza, additional teaches the dealer display highlights an area associated with a player station requiring an action to be taken (00179-0181 & 0194 wherein the dealer game controls can select and further be visually distinguished, e.g. color, highlighting, flashing graphics, etc.). It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the gaming table disclosed by the combination of Yee and Connelly, to include dealer display highlighting an area associated with a player station requiring an action to be taken by the player, as taught by Piazza, thus improve game efficiency by allowing dealers to monitor players and when actions needs to be taken.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNIT PANDYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715