DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2025 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claim 47, recites the limitation of “A computer-readable storage medium", in paragraphs [00158-00159, 00169, 00180, 00461,00509, 00530, 00546, and 00632] provide various discussions of computer-readable storage media that covers both non-transitory and transitory. However, there is no explicit disavowal to indicate that “A computer-readable storage medium” does not include transitory signals. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 47, it appears to include transitory signals per se which is not patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 18-19, 21, 32, 36, 41-43, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Faulkner et al. (US 2022/0091722 A1 hereinafter Faulkner).
Referring to claim 1, Faulkner discloses a method, comprising:
at a computer system (Fig. 1; 101) that is in communication with one or more display generation components (Fig. 1; 120) and one or more input devices (Fig. 1; 125) ([0043]; In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 1, the CGR experience is provided to the user via an operating environment 100 that includes a computer system 101. The computer system 101 includes a controller 110 (e.g., processors of a portable electronic device or a remote server), a display generation component 120 (e.g., a head-mounted device (HMD), a display, a projector, a touch-screen, etc.), one or more input devices 125 (e.g., an eye tracking device 130, a hand tracking device 140, other input devices 150), one or more output devices 155 (e.g., speakers 160, tactile output generators 170, and other output devices 180), one or more sensors 190 (e.g., image sensors, light sensors, depth sensors, tactile sensors, orientation sensors, proximity sensors, temperature sensors, location sensors, motion sensors, velocity sensors, etc.), and optionally one or more peripheral devices 195 (e.g., home appliances, wearable devices, etc.). In some embodiments, one or more of the input devices 125, output devices 155, sensors 190, and peripheral devices 195 are integrated with the display generation component 120 (e.g., in a head-mounted device or a handheld device).):
while a view of an environment (Fig. 7A-7F; 7106) is visible via the one or more display generation components (Fig. 7A-7F; 7100), detecting, via the one or more input devices (Fig. 1; 125), that attention of a user is directed toward a location of a hand of the user ([0144]; In some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand moves in a preset manner while a user's gaze input is directed to the user's hand. Additional variations of the first preset criteria are described with respect to FIG. 9, in accordance with various embodiments…. and [0145]; In FIG. 7F, in response to detecting the user's hand 7202 making the required movement to meet the first preset criteria, the computer system displays a user interface object 7334 at a position that corresponds to the location of the user's hand 7202 (e.g., at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202). In some embodiments, the user interface object 7334 overlays, replaces display of, or blocks the view of at least a portion of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202, depending on the particular ways that virtual content and representation of the physical environment (e.g., using camera view, using a transparent display, etc.) are displayed or made visible via the display generation component 7100. In some embodiments, the user interface object 7334 includes one or more interactive elements (e.g., selectable objects 7336, 7338, 7340, 7342, 7344 that correspond to different functions or operations of the computer system or a currently displayed application or experience, etc.)); and
in response to detecting that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand:
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while first criteria are met, wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand is in a respective pose and oriented with a palm of the hand facing toward a viewpoint of the user in order for the first criteria to be met, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a control corresponding to the location of the hand ([0146]; In some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334 in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object 7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g., a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.); and
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while the first criteria are not met, forgoing displaying the control ([0146]; In some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334 in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object 7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g., a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 2, Faulkner discloses wherein the requirement that the hand is in the respective pose includes a requirement that an orientation of the hand is within a first angular range with respect to the viewpoint of the user ([0129]; In some embodiments, the user interface object 7300 is displayed at a location in the mixed reality environment that corresponds to a predefined portion of the user's hand (e.g., the tip of the thumb, the palm of the hand, etc.) and having an orientation that corresponds to the orientation of the user's hand (e.g., orientation of the thumb, orientation of the palm, etc.). In some embodiments, when the user's hand moves (e.g., laterally moves or rotates) relative to the physical environment (and/or relative to the camera that captures the user's hand, or the user's eyes, or a physical object or wall surrounding the user), the user interface object 7300 is shown to move in the mixed reality environment with the user's hand. In some embodiments, the user interface object 7300 moves in accordance with movement of the user's body, but not with the movement of the user's head or the user's gaze directed to the mixed reality environment. In some embodiments, the user interface object 7300 is displayed at a fixed location on the display, irrespective of the view of the physical environment shown on the display (e.g., when the view changes with movement of the user's head or torso).).
Referring to claim 3, Faulkner discloses wherein the requirement that the hand is in the respective pose includes a requirement that the palm of the hand is open ([0146]; For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 5, Faulkner discloses wherein the requirement that the hand is in the respective pose includes a requirement that the hand is not holding an object in order for the first criteria to be met ([0146]; For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 8, Faulkner discloses wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand has a movement speed that is less than a speed threshold in order for the first criteria to be met ([0273]; In some embodiments, the first criteria optionally include a movement criterion that requires the first movement of the first hand to meet movement criteria (e.g., upward movement of the first hand and/or movement of the hand that is less than a threshold speed) in conjunction with posture criteria (e.g., with the palm open and facing toward the user or facing away from the user, and/or includes a pose criterion that requires the first hand to have a predetermined pose such as the hand having its index finger extended in a pointing posture or clenched in a fist with a thumb on top or some other predetermined pose), in order for the first criteria to be met).
Referring to claim 9, Faulkner discloses wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the location of the hand is greater than a threshold distance from a selectable user interface element and the location of the hand is not moving toward the selectable user interface element in order for the first criteria to be met ([0277]; In some embodiments, detecting the second movement of the first hand includes detecting a push gesture by the first hand. In some embodiments, the second movement include moving the first hand or a portion of the first hand away from the user and towards a location in the physical environment that corresponds to the position of a selectable control in the first virtual object in the view of the three-dimensional environment, optionally, while the first hand is in a predefined configuration such as a single finger pointing forward, two fingers pointing forward, thumb pointing forward, etc. In some embodiments, displaying the movement of the representation of the first hand in the view of the at least the portion of the three-dimensional environment includes displaying the representation of the first hand moving towards one or more selectable controls in the first virtual object (e.g., the representation of the first hand in the virtual environment is moving towards the one or more selectable controls but not moving past the one or more selectable controls) in accordance with the second movement of the first hand (e.g., the displacement, direction, and speed of movement of the first hand in the physical environment is translated into a corresponding displacement, direction, and speed of movement of the representation of the first hand in the virtual environment. In some embodiments, in response to detecting the push gesture by the first hand and in accordance with a determination that the push gesture meets activation criteria (e.g., a representation of the first hand or a portion thereof has moved within a first distance from at least one of the selectable controls in the first virtual object, or the movement speed of the hand exceeds a threshold speed (e.g., the representation of the first hand is touching, or close to touching, or is quickly approaching one of the selectable controls in the three-dimensional environment), the computer system selects a respective selectable control of the first plurality of selectable controls in the first virtual object (e.g., placing the focus selector over the selectable controls and/or activate corresponding functions of the one or more selectable controls.).
Referring to claim 11, Faulkner discloses wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand of the user is not interacting with the one or more input devices in order for the first criteria to be met ([0143]; As shown in FIG. 7E, before the user's hand makes the movement to meet first preset criteria (e.g., moving into a preset posture or enter into a ready state for providing the gestures to interact with the three-dimensional environment (e.g., the user's hand 7202′ is in a relaxed state, not in a preset posture or ready state, not moving or changing posture, not facing a required direction, etc.), making a required movement as a whole, etc.), there is no user interface object displayed on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202. In fact, in some embodiments, the representation 7202′ may be outside of the field of view provided via the display generation component 7100 at this time. At this stage, if the display generation component 7100 (e.g., in the hand 7204, or on the user's head, etc.) is moved relative to the physical environment, the computer system will move the viewpoint corresponding to the currently displayed view of the three-dimensional environment 7106, such that the three-dimensional environment can be viewed from a different vantage point in the three-dimensional environment, in accordance with some embodiments. If movement of the user's hand 7202 is detected, but the movement does not meet the first preset criteria, the computer system also does not display an interactive user interface object with selectable options (e.g., the user interface object 7334, in this example) at or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's hand, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 13, Faulkner discloses wherein the control corresponding to the location of the hand is a simulated three-dimensional object ([0138]; Accordingly, the user can influence the initial position of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment by choosing the location of his/her hand when providing the required movement of the hand to trigger display of the virtual object).
Referring to claim 14, Faulkner discloses further including: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input; and in response to detecting the first input: in accordance with a determination that second criteria are met, performing a system operation ([0219]; FIG. 7Y and 7Z illustrate that, the computer system detects interaction with the object (e.g., the representation 7400′, the physical object 7400, the virtual object 7404, etc.) that is associated with the computer-generated experience or interaction with the preview. In accordance with a determination that the interaction meets preset criteria for triggering display of the computer-generated experience (e.g., experience 7116), the computer system ceases to display the preview and displays the computer-generated experience. In some embodiments, the preset criteria for triggering display of the computer-generated experience include a preset direct interaction with the object (e.g., the physical object 7400) or a physical object represented by the object (e.g., representation 7400′) in the physical environment (e.g., opening the physical object, swiping on the physical object, flipping the physical object to the side, etc.). In some embodiments, the preset criteria for triggering display of the computer-generated experience includes a preset interaction with (e.g., via gaze, gesture, pointer device, etc.) a representation (e.g., representation 7400′) of the object (e.g., the physical object 7400) or the preview (e.g., preview 7412) in the three-dimensional environment that displays the representation of the object or the preview of the object. In some embodiments, the preset criteria for triggering display of the computer-generated experience includes a second preset interaction (e.g., a user's gaze input directed to the virtual object or preview associated with the computer-generated experience for a preset threshold amount of time, a hand gesture detected at a position of the virtual object or preview, a hand gesture performed remote from a location corresponding to the virtual object in conjunction with a user's gaze directed to the virtual object or preview, etc.) with a virtual object (e.g., the virtual object 7404, a virtual object without a corresponding physical object, etc.) or the preview in the three-dimensional environment (e.g., environment 7112) that displays the virtual object and the preview.).
Referring to claim 18, Faulkner discloses wherein, in accordance with a determination that the first input includes an air long pinch gesture, performing the system operation includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a control for adjusting a respective volume level of the computer system ([0209]; For example, the controls include volume controls for changing an output volume of the media player (e.g., in response to a thumb swipe gesture or pinch and twist gesture in a first direction, etc.), decreasing the output volume (e.g., in response to a thumb swipe gesture or pinch and twist gesture in a second direction opposite the first direction, etc.), toggling playback of the media (e.g., playing or pausing the playback in response to a thumb tap gesture, etc.), fast-forwarding, rewinding, browsing through media for playback (e.g., in response to multiple consecutive thumb swipe gestures in the same direction, etc.), or otherwise controlling media playback (e.g., performing menu navigation in response to thumb flick gesture followed by thumb swipe gestures, etc.).).
Referring to claim 19, Faulkner discloses wherein, in accordance with a determination that the first input includes the air long pinch gesture followed by movement of the hand, performing the system operation includes changing the respective volume level in accordance with the movement of the hand ([0209]; For example, the controls include volume controls for changing an output volume of the media player (e.g., in response to a thumb swipe gesture or pinch and twist gesture in a first direction, etc.), decreasing the output volume (e.g., in response to a thumb swipe gesture or pinch and twist gesture in a second direction opposite the first direction, etc.), toggling playback of the media (e.g., playing or pausing the playback in response to a thumb tap gesture, etc.), fast-forwarding, rewinding, browsing through media for playback (e.g., in response to multiple consecutive thumb swipe gestures in the same direction, etc.), or otherwise controlling media playback (e.g., performing menu navigation in response to thumb flick gesture followed by thumb swipe gestures, etc.).).
Referring to claim 21, Faulkner discloses including:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, termination of the first input; and
in response to detecting the termination of the first input, ceasing to display a visual indication of the respective volume level ([0209]; For example, the controls include volume controls for changing an output volume of the media player (e.g., in response to a thumb swipe gesture or pinch and twist gesture in a first direction, etc.), decreasing the output volume (e.g., in response to a thumb swipe gesture or pinch and twist gesture in a second direction opposite the first direction, etc.), toggling playback of the media (e.g., playing or pausing the playback in response to a thumb tap gesture, etc.), fast-forwarding, rewinding, browsing through media for playback (e.g., in response to multiple consecutive thumb swipe gestures in the same direction, etc.), or otherwise controlling media playback (e.g., performing menu navigation in response to thumb flick gesture followed by thumb swipe gestures, etc.).).
Referring to claim 32, Faulkner discloses wherein the first criteria include a requirement that an immersive application user interface is not displayed in the environment in order for the first criteria to be met ([0304]; In some embodiments, while displaying the first application or computer-generated experience at the respective position that corresponds to a location of the hand in the physical environment, the computer system detects, by the one or more input devices, a fifth input that meets fifth criteria (e.g., application immersion criteria), wherein the fifth criteria include at least an eighth criterion that is met when the fifth input includes movement of the hand in the physical environment in a first direction in order for the fifth criteria to be met. In accordance with a determination that the fifth input meets the fifth criteria, the computer system expands display of the first application or computer-generated experience in three dimensions in the three-dimensional environment (e.g., launching an immersive view of the first application). In some embodiments, the fifth criteria have a first directional criterion (e.g., requiring upward movement of the whole hand, or movement of a finger (e.g., thumb, index finger, etc.) relative to other parts of the hand (e.g., another finger, palm, side of hand, etc.), etc.), a first velocity criterion (e.g., requiring the speed of the hand movement to exceed a first threshold speed, etc.), a location criterion requiring that the hand movement starts at a location corresponding to the position of the input device and moving toward the location of the virtual menu, and/or a first time criterion (e.g., requiring that the hand movement be maintained for at least a threshold amount of time, etc.) to prevent accidentally launching the application.).
Referring to claim 36, Faulkner discloses including: while displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand, detecting, via the one or more input devices, that the attention of the user is not directed toward the location of the hand; and
in response to detecting that the attention of the user is not directed toward the location of the hand, ceasing to display the control corresponding to the location of the hand ([0155]; In some embodiments, the computer system ceases to display the user interface object 7334 in response to detecting the user's hand movement that corresponds to a request to dismiss the user interface object (e.g., moving the user's hand 7202 to cause the representation 7202′ out of the field of view of the display generation component, hand movement with a posture that neither in the ready state posture (e.g., thumb resting on the side of the index finger, palm open, etc.) or an interaction posture (e.g., index finger extended out, thumb resting on the side of the index finger, etc.), a hand wave that swipes away the user interface object, etc.).).
Referring to claim 41, Faulkner discloses including: while the view of the environment is visible via the one or more display generation components: in accordance with a determination that hand view criteria are met, displaying a view of the hand of the user at the location of the hand of the user ([0138]; In some embodiments, the computer system displays a virtual object (e.g., user interface object 7334, or another virtual object, etc.) that includes multiple selectable controls (e.g., controls 7336, 7338, 7340, 7342, 7344, or other controls, etc.) (e.g., application icons for launching applications, menu options for displaying submenus or performing operations, selectable objects for triggering performance application functions, device functions, adjustment of device settings, etc.) in a three-dimensional environment (e.g., environment 7106, or another three-dimensional environment) (e.g., a virtual environment, an augmented reality environment, etc.) in response to a user input that includes movement of a user's hand that meets preset criteria (e.g., dock display criteria, menu display criteria, etc.). The computer system selects the initial position of the virtual object based on the location of the user's hand (e.g., hand 7202, or another hand, etc.) at the conclusion of the movement that met the preset criteria. Accordingly, the user can influence the initial position of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment by choosing the location of his/her hand when providing the required movement of the hand to trigger display of the virtual object. Subsequently, the computer system decouples the position of the virtual object from the location of the user's hand, so that the user can use the same hand (and optionally, using a different hand, or a combination of both hands, etc.) to provide gestures to interact with the virtual object and the controls contained therein. In some embodiments, different types of gestures (e.g., swipe, flick, tap, push, etc.) that involve small movements of one part of a hand relative to another part of the hand are used to interact with (e.g., scrolling, switching input focus, making selection, adjusting value, etc.) the virtual object and the controls contained therein (e.g., while the whole hand is not raised up (e.g., resting on the table, lowered on the side of the user's body, resting on the user's lap, etc.), while the hand is raised to a location that corresponds to the current position of the virtual object, etc.). In some embodiments, movement of the hand as a whole while in various preset hand postures cause a different set of operations to be performed with respect to the virtual object than those caused by different types of small movements within the same hand. In some embodiments, after the computer system decouples the position of the virtual object from the location of the user's hand following the initial display of the virtual object in the three-dimensional environment (e.g., displayed in response to the movement of the user's hand that met the preset criteria, as shown in FIG. 7F), the computer system optionally couples the position of the virtual object to the viewpoint of the currently displayed view of the three-dimensional environment (e.g., as shown in FIG. 7G), such that the virtual object maintains a spatial relationship between the virtual object and the viewpoint of the currently displayed view of the three-dimensional environment during movement of the viewpoint (e.g., as caused by the movement of the user carrying the display generation component, movement of the user's head wearing the HMD, etc.) relative to the three-dimensional environment. Allowing the virtual object containing selectable controls to be displayed at a position that corresponds to the location of the user's hand when the display of the virtual object is invoked by preset movement of the user's hand, and then subsequently decoupling the position of the virtual object from the location of the user's hand make it possible for the user to influence the display position of the virtual object (e.g., selecting which portion of the field of view the virtual object should be displayed in, selecting how far away the virtual object should be displayed from the viewpoint, selecting which orientation the virtual object should be displayed relative to the viewpoint, etc.), without unnecessarily tying the virtual object to the user's hand to prevent the user from utilizing the same hand to provide gestures to interact with the virtual object. This makes user interaction with the virtual object more efficient, and reduces the number, extent, and/or nature of the inputs from a user to achieve a desired outcome, thereby creating a more efficient human-machine interface.).
Referring to claim 42, Faulkner discloses wherein the hand view criteria include a requirement that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand of the user in order for the hand view criteria to be met ([0146]; In some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334 in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object 7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g., a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 43, Faulkner discloses wherein the hand view criteria include a requirement that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand of the user while the first criteria are met in order for the hand view criteria to be met ([0146]; In some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334 in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object 7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g., a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 46, Faulkner discloses a computer system (Fig. 1; 101) that is in communication with one or more display generation components (Fig. 1; 120) and one or more input devices (Fig. 1; 125) ([0043]; In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 1, the CGR experience is provided to the user via an operating environment 100 that includes a computer system 101. The computer system 101 includes a controller 110 (e.g., processors of a portable electronic device or a remote server), a display generation component 120 (e.g., a head-mounted device (HMD), a display, a projector, a touchscreen, etc.), one or more input devices 125 (e.g., an eye tracking device 130, a hand tracking device 140, other input devices 150), one or more output devices 155 (e.g., speakers 160, tactile output generators 170, and other output devices 180), one or more sensors 190 (e.g., image sensors, light sensors, depth sensors, tactile sensors, orientation sensors, proximity sensors, temperature sensors, location sensors, motion sensors, velocity sensors, etc.), and optionally one or more peripheral devices 195 (e.g., home appliances, wearable devices, etc.). In some embodiments, one or more of the input devices 125, output devices 155, sensors 190, and peripheral devices 195 are integrated with the display generation component 120 (e.g., in a head-mounted device or a handheld device).), the computer system comprising:
one or more processors ([0068], Fig. 3; 302); and
memory (Fig. 3; 320) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors ([0072]; The memory 320 includes high-speed random-access memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM, or other random-access solid-state memory devices. In some embodiments, the memory 320 includes non-volatile memory, such as one or more magnetic disk storage devices, optical disk storage devices, flash memory devices, or other non-volatile solid-state storage devices. The memory 320 optionally includes one or more storage devices remotely located from the one or more processing units 302. The memory 320 comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. In some embodiments, the memory 320 or the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of the memory 320 stores the following programs, modules and data structures, or a subset thereof including an optional operating system 330 and a CGR presentation module 340.), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while a view of an environment (Fig. 7A-7F; 7106) is visible via the one or more display generation components (Fig. 7A-7F; 7100), detecting, via the one or more input devices (Fig. 1; 125), that attention of a user is directed toward a location of a hand of the user ([0144]; In some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand moves in a preset manner while a user's gaze input is directed to the user's hand. Additional variations of the first preset criteria are described with respect to FIG. 9, in accordance with various embodiments…. and [0145]; In FIG. 7F, in response to detecting the user's hand 7202 making the required movement to meet the first preset criteria, the computer system displays a user interface object 7334 at a position that corresponds to the location of the user's hand 7202 (e.g., at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202). In some embodiments, the user interface object 7334 overlays, replaces display of, or blocks the view of at least a portion of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202, depending on the particular ways that virtual content and representation of the physical environment (e.g., using camera view, using a transparent display, etc.) are displayed or made visible via the display generation component 7100. In some embodiments, the user interface object 7334 includes one or more interactive elements (e.g., selectable objects 7336, 7338, 7340, 7342, 7344 that correspond to different
functions or operations of the computer system or a currently displayed application or experience, etc.); and
in response to detecting that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand: in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while first criteria are met, wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand is in a respective pose and oriented with a palm of the hand facing toward a viewpoint of the user in order for the first criteria to be met, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a control corresponding to the location of the hand ([0146]; In some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334 in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object 7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g., a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the
computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the
representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.); and
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while the first criteria are not met, forgoing displaying the control ([0146]; In some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334 in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object 7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g., a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the
computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the
representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Referring to claim 47, Faulkner discloses a computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system (Fig. 1; 101) that is in communication with one or more display generation components (Fig. 1; 120) and one or more input devices (Fig. 1; 125) ([0043]; In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 1, the CGR experience is provided to the user via an operating environment 100 that includes a computer system 101. The computer system 101 includes a controller 110 (e.g., processors of a portable electronic device or a remote server), a display generation component 120 (e.g., a head-mounted device (HMD), a display, a projector, a touchscreen, etc.), one or more input devices 125 (e.g., an eye tracking device 130, a hand tracking device 140, other input devices 150), one or more output devices 155 (e.g., speakers 160, tactile output generators 170, and other output devices 180), one or more sensors 190 (e.g., image sensors, light sensors, depth sensors, tactile sensors, orientation sensors, proximity sensors, temperature sensors, location sensors, motion sensors, velocity sensors, etc.), and optionally one or more peripheral devices 195 (e.g., home appliances, wearable devices, etc.). In some embodiments, one or more of the input devices 125, output devices 155, sensors 190, and peripheral devices 195 are integrated with the display generation component 120 (e.g., in a head-mounted device or a handheld device)…. And ([0072]; The memory 320 includes high-speed random-access memory, such as DRAM, SRAM, DDR RAM, or other random-access solid-state memory devices. In some embodiments, the memory 320 includes non-volatile memory, such as one or more magnetic disk storage devices, optical disk storage devices, flash memory devices, or other non-volatile solid-state storage devices. The memory 320 optionally includes one or more storage devices remotely located from the one or more processing units 302. The memory 320 comprises a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. In some embodiments, the memory 320 or the non-transitory computer readable
storage medium of the memory 320 stores the following programs, modules and data
structures, or a subset thereof including an optional operating system 330 and a CGR
presentation module 340.), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while a view of an environment (Fig. 7A-7F; 7106) is visible via the one or more display generation components (Fig. 7A-7F; 7100), detecting, via the one or more input devices (Fig. 1; 125), that attention of a user is directed toward a location of a hand of the user ([0144]; In some
embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand moves in a preset manner while a user's gaze input is directed to the user's hand. Additional variations of the first preset criteria are described with respect to FIG. 9, in accordance with various embodiments…. and [0145]; In FIG. 7F, in response to detecting the user's hand 7202 making the required movement to meet the first preset criteria, the computer system displays a user interface object 7334 at a position that corresponds to the location of the user's hand 7202 (e.g., at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202). In some embodiments, the user interface object 7334 overlays, replaces display of, or blocks the view of at least a portion of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202, depending on the particular ways that virtual content and representation of the physical environment (e.g., using camera view, using a transparent display, etc.) are displayed or made visible via the display generation component 7100. In some embodiments, the user interface object 7334 includes one or more interactive elements (e.g., selectable objects 7336, 7338, 7340, 7342, 7344 that correspond to different
functions or operations of the computer system or a currently displayed application or
experience, etc.); and
in response to detecting that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand:
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while first criteria are met, wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand is in a respective pose and oriented with a palm of the hand facing toward a viewpoint of the user in order for the first criteria to be met, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a control corresponding to the location of the hand ([0146]; In
some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334
in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object
7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement
of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g.,
a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required
posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset
criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334,
and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with
movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in
some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the
palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to
determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and
looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the
computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the
representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves
the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation
7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm
facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface
object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no
longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.); and
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while the first criteria are not met, forgoing displaying the control ([0146]; In
some embodiments, the computer system does not move the user interface object 7334
in accordance with further movement of the user's hand 7202 after user interface object
7334 is displayed in accordance with the first preset criteria being met by the movement
of the user's hand. In some embodiments, while the first preset criteria are still met (e.g.,
a user's gaze is still on the user's hand 7202 while the user's hand maintains the required
posture, or the user's hand is still in the preset posture required by the first preset criteria, etc.), the computer system maintains display of the user interface object 7334, and optionally, moves the user interface object 7334 as a whole in accordance with movement of the user's hand as a whole in the physical environment. For example, in some embodiments, the first preset criteria require that the user's hand is open with the palm side facing the user and a user's gaze directed to the palm; in response to determining that the first preset criteria are met by the user opening his hand and looking at the representation of the hand via the display generation component, the computer system displays the user interface object 7334 at a position on or next to the representation 7202′ of the user's open hand. Subsequently, the computer system moves
the user interface object 7334 in accordance with the movement of the representation 7202′ of the user's hand 7202 as long as the user's hand remains open with the palm facing toward the user's face. The computer system ceases to move the user interface object 7334 when the user closes his hand or turns his hand such that the palm is no longer facing the user's face, in accordance with some embodiments.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faulkner et al. (US 2022/0091722 A1 hereinafter Faulkner) in view of PASTRANA VICENTE et al. (US 2022/0121344 A1 hereinafter PASTRANA).
Referring to claim 4, Faulkner as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the requirement that the palm of the hand is open includes a requirement that two fingers of the hand for performing an air pinch gesture have a gap that satisfies a threshold distance in order for the first criteria to be met.
In an analogous art, PASTRANA discloses wherein the requirement that the palm of the hand is open includes a requirement that two fingers of the hand for performing an air pinch gesture have a gap that satisfies a threshold distance in order for the first criteria to be met ([0144]; In some embodiments, while the respective user interface element (e.g., 708a) has the second appearance, the electronic device (e.g., 101) detects (820a), via a hand tracking device in communication with the electronic device, that a hand (e.g., 704) of the user of the electronic device is at a respective location that corresponds to a location for interacting with the respective user interface element (e.g., 708a), such as in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the hand is within a threshold distance (e.g., 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 40, etc. centimeters) of the respective user interface element in the three-dimensional environment while in a predetermined pose (e.g., one or more fingers extended in a pointing gesture, the thumb within a threshold (e.g., 0.5, 1, 2, etc. centimeters) from another finger in a near-pinch gesture).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Faulkner to the system of PASTRANA in order to provide computer generated experiences to users that makes interaction with the computer systems more efficient and intuitive for a user.
Referring to claim 10, Faulkner as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand has not interacted with a user interface element within a threshold time in order for the first criteria to be met.
In an analogous art, PASTRANA discloses wherein the first criteria include a requirement that the hand has not interacted with a user interface element within a threshold time in order for the first criteria to be met ([0227]; In some embodiments, the first user input corresponds to a request to move the first virtual object in the user interface if the user input includes selection of the respective user interface element followed by a directional input. In some embodiments, the directional input is detected within a threshold time (e.g., 0.02, 0.05, 0.1, 0.2, 0.25, 0.3, 0.5, 1 second, etc.) of detecting the selection of the respective user interface element. For example, the electronic device detects, via an eye tracking device, that the user looks at the respective user interface element and detects, via a hand tracking device, that the user makes a pinching gesture while looking at the respective user interface element, and moves their hand. In this example, in response to the user input, the electronic device moves the first virtual object and the respective user interface element in accordance with the movement of the user's hand. In some embodiments, the electronic device maintains the position of the respective user interface element relative to the first virtual object while moving the first virtual object and the respective user interface element. In some embodiments, in response to detecting the first user input directed to the respective user interface element (e.g., 1180a) (1202c), such as in FIG. 11A, in accordance with a determination that the first user input satisfies one or more criteria, including a criterion that is satisfied when the first user input is an input other than an input to move the first virtual object (e.g., 1106a) in the user interface, the electronic device (e.g., 101) updates (1202e) display of the respective user interface element (e.g., 1180a) to include one or more selectable options (e.g., 1110a-e) that are selectable to perform one or more corresponding operations associated with the first virtual object (e.g., 1106a), such as in FIG. 11B.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Faulkner to the system of PASTRANA in order to provide computer generated experiences to users that makes interaction with the computer systems more efficient and intuitive for a user.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faulkner et al. (US 2022/0091722 A1 hereinafter Faulkner) in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0085828 A1 hereinafter Liu).
Referring to claim 6, Faulkner as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the requirement that the hand is in the respective pose includes a requirement that the hand is more than a threshold distance away from a head of the user in order for the first criteria to be met.
In analogous art, Liu discloses wherein the requirement that the hand is in the respective pose includes a requirement that the hand is more than a threshold distance away from a head of the user in order for the first criteria to be met ([0071]; If the hand of the user is detected to render a menu-triggering gesture, and the posture of the head relative to the hand meets the preset triggering condition, the user can be considered to have the intent to trigger the menu.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Liu to the system of Faulkner in order to reduce false triggering, improve triggering accuracy, make triggering process consistent to intuition of a user, and eliminate need to change gestures during whole process, thus reducing burden of the user to remember combined gestures and effectively improving user experience.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 12, 15-17, 20, 22-31, 33-35, 37-40, and 44-45 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 7, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “wherein displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand includes displaying a view of the hand at the location of the hand and displaying the control at a location between two fingers of the view of the hand and offset from a center of a palm of the view of the hand”.
Referring to claim 12, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “further including:
while displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand, detecting, via the one or more input devices, movement of the location of the hand to a first position; and in response to detecting the movement of the location of the hand to the first position:
in accordance with a determination that movement criteria are met, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the control at an updated location corresponding to the location of the hand being at the first position”.
Referring to claim 15, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “wherein: the second criteria include a requirement that the first input is detected while the control corresponding to the location of the hand is displayed in order for the second criteria to be met; and in accordance with a determination that the first input includes an air pinch gesture, performing the system operation includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a system user interface”.
Referring to claims 16-17 are objected upon dependent on the claim 15.
Referring to claim 20, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “including:
while detecting the movement of the hand, and while changing the respective volume level in accordance with the movement of the hand, detecting that the attention of the user is directed away from the location of the hand of the user; and
in response to detecting the movement of the hand while the attention of the user is directed away from the location of the hand of the user, continuing to change the respective volume level in accordance with the movement of the hand”.
Referring to claim 22, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “wherein, in accordance with a determination that the first input includes a change in orientation of the hand from a first orientation with the palm of the hand facing toward the viewpoint of the user to a second orientation, performing the system operation includes displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a status user interface”.
Referring to claims 23-29 are objected upon dependent on the claim 22.
Referring to claim 30, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “including:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input that includes attention of the user directed toward the location of the hand;
in response to detecting the second input:
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while the first criteria are met and that an immersive application user interface of an immersive application is displayed in the environment with an application setting corresponding to the immersive application having a first state, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the control corresponding to the location of the hand; and
in accordance with a determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while the first criteria are met and that the immersive application user interface is displayed in the environment with the application setting having a second state different from the first state, forgoing displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand”.
Referring to claim 31 is objected upon dependent on the claim 30.
Referring to claim 33, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “wherein:
the first selection gesture is detected while the attention of the user is directed toward a first region corresponding to the location of the hand;
the second selection gesture is detected while the attention of the user is directed toward a second region corresponding to the location of the hand; and
the first region is larger than the second region”.
Referring to claim 34 is objected upon dependent on the claim 33.
Referring to claim 35, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “including:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a subsequent input;
in response to detecting the subsequent input:
in accordance with a determination that the subsequent input is detected while an immersive application user interface is not displayed in the environment and while displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand, performing an operation associated with the control; and in accordance with a determination that the subsequent input is detected while an immersive application user interface is displayed in the environment, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the control corresponding to the location of the hand without performing an operation associated with the control”.
Referring to claim 37, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “wherein while the control corresponding to the location of the hand 1s not displayed, detecting, via the one or more input devices, that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand; and in response to detecting that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand: in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are met, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the control corresponding to the location of the hand; and in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are not met, forgoing displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand”.
Referring to claim 38, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “including: in response to detecting that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand: in accordance with the determination that the attention of the user is directed toward the location of the hand while the first criteria are met, outputting, via one or more audio output devices that are in communication with the computer system, first audio; and while displaying the control corresponding to the location of the hand, detecting a fourth input; in response to detecting the fourth input: in accordance with the determination that the fourth input meets third criteria, ceasing to display the control without outputting the first audio”.
Referring to claims 39-40 are objected upon dependent on the claim 38.
Referring to claim 44, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest “wherein displaying the view of the hand of the user includes:
in accordance with a determination that the view of the environment includes a virtual environment having a first level of immersion, displaying the view of the hand with a first appearance; and in accordance with a determination that the view of the environment includes the virtual environment having a second level of immersion that is different from the first level of immersion, displaying the view of the hand with a second appearance, wherein the second appearance of the view of the hand has a different degree of visual prominence than a degree of visual prominence of the first appearance of the view of the hand”.
Referring to claim 45 is objected upon dependent on the claim 44.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624