DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0049286 (hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong discloses a wireless communication method (disclosed is a communication method for sidelink (SL) UEs, according to [0088], Fig. 9) comprising:
detecting, by a first wireless communication terminal, a consistent listen-before-talk (LBT) failure for a sidelink transmission (an SL UE’s MAC layer detects a consistent LBT failure, according to [0098]); and
performing, by the first wireless communication terminal, at least one of the following operations in response to the consistent LBT failure for the sidelink transmission being detected: reselecting a sidelink resource for the sidelink transmission; transmitting, to a second wireless communication terminal, a request of a channel occupancy time (COT) message; resetting one or more sidelink consecutive Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) counters for one or more destination identifiers (IDs) associated to at least one of a failed sidelink resource or a failed sidelink carrier; or resetting or restarting one or more radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration related timers for one or more destination IDs associated to at least one of a failed sidelink resource or a failed sidelink carrier (in response to the detected consistent LBT failure, the SL UE performs SL resource reselection [“reselecting a sidelink resource for the sidelink transmission”], according to [0098]).
Claim 13 recites the wireless communication terminal, comprising: a communication unit; and a processor (the SL UE comprises a processor and a transceiver, according to [0005]) that performs the method recited in claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink resource comprises at least one of: a sidelink resource pool, a sidelink resource block (RB) set, or a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) (SL resource reselection is performed on a transmission resource pool, according to [0089]).
Regarding claim 3, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 4, Jeong discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein reselecting the sidelink resource comprises at least one of: switching a sidelink resource pool from a current or source sidelink resource pool to a reselected or target sidelink resource pool; or switching a sidelink RB set from a current or source sidelink RB set to a reselected or target sidelink RB set (the SL UE switches to a selected transmission resource pool, according to [0089]).
Claims 14-16 do not differ substantively from claims 2-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same grounds as claims 2-4, respectively.
5. Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Talarico et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0247858 (hereinafter Talarico).
Regarding claim 5, Talarico discloses a wireless communication method (disclosed is an SL communication method, according to [0057]) comprising:
receiving, by a second wireless communication terminal from a first wireless communication terminal, consistent listen-before-talk (LBT) failure indication information indicating a consistent LBT failure for a sidelink communication (a UE receives, from another UE, an indication of a consistent LBT failure for an intended SL transmission, according to [0057], [0069], [0076]); and
performing, by the second wireless communication terminal, at least one of the following operations according to the consistent LBT failure indication information: reselecting a sidelink resource for a sidelink transmission; transmitting, to the first wireless communication terminal, cannel occupancy time (COT) information; resetting one or more sidelink consecutive Discontinuous Transmission (DTX) counters for one or more destination identifiers (IDs) associated to at least one of a failed sidelink resource or a failed sidelink carrier; or resetting or restarting one or more radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration related timers for one or more destination IDs associated to at least one of a failed sidelink resource or a failed sidelink carrier (in response to the consistent LBT failure indication, a scheduling change is made (whereby a scheduling change prompted by LBT failure entails a reselection of SL transmission resources to be used by the UE, according to [0018]-[0020]) [“reselecting a sidelink resource for a sidelink transmission”], according to [0057], [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Talarico discloses the wireless communication method of claim 5, wherein the sidelink resource comprises at least one of: a sidelink resource pool, a sidelink resource block (RB) set, or a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) (the sidelink resources comprise a resource pool, according to [0022], [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Regarding claim 8, Talarico discloses the wireless communication method of claim 5, wherein reselecting the sidelink resource comprises at least one of: switching a sidelink resource pool from a failed sidelink resource pool to a reselected sidelink resource pool; or switching a sidelink RB set from a failed sidelink RB set to a reselected sidelink RB set (the UE switches to a selected resource pool for SL communication, according to [0022], [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, since the claim upon which this claim depends recites options for a step written in the alterative and the option to which this claim is directed is not the one for which prior art is cited, no art need be cited in the rejection of this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talarico as applied to claim 5 above, in view of Ji et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0159500 (hereinafter Ji).
Regarding claim 10, Talarico discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Talarico does not expressly disclose that the second wireless communication terminal receives information of reselected sidelink resource from the first wireless communication terminal.
Ji discloses that the second wireless communication terminal receives information of reselected sidelink resource from the first wireless communication terminal (a first terminal allocates a sidelink resource to a second terminal, according to [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Talarico with Ji such that the second wireless communication terminal receives information of reselected sidelink resource from the first wireless communication terminal.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to avoid sidelink transmission adjustment errors and sidelink data transmission failures (Ji: [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Talarico and Ji discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Talarico does not expressly disclose that the reselected sidelink resource is received via SCI or a sidelink medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a sidelink RRC message.
Ji does not expressly disclose that the reselected sidelink resource is received via SCI or a sidelink medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a sidelink RRC message (the first terminal allocates the sidelink resource to the second terminal via an SCI, a MAC CE, or RRC, according to [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Talarico as modified by Ji with Ji such that the reselected sidelink resource is received via SCI or a sidelink medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a sidelink RRC message.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to avoid sidelink transmission adjustment errors and sidelink data transmission failures (Ji: [0038]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form (along with the deletion of the alternative steps of independent claim 5) including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645