TAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL EventWarden: A Decentralized Event-driven Proxy Service for Outsourcing Arbitrary Transactions in Ethereum-like Blockchains to Chao Li and Balaji Palanisamy (hereafter referenced as Li) in further view of
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses “a smart contract automation system comprising: one or more processors configured by machine-readable instructions (Event warden architecture consist of blockchain nodes executing smart contract logic, i.e., processors executing machine readable instructions) to: receive, by the smart contract automation system, a log data (event warden employs…smart contracts and blockchains [Abstract]); “provide, by an upkeep provider, an upkeep payload to a workflow, the upkeep payload comprising one or more active upkeeps” (event warden allows a user to create a proxy smart contract that specifies an interested event and … reserves a transaction to release [Abstract], i.e. the reserved transaction + event specification corresponds to the task payload(upkeep definition) supplied by a user) ; “determine, by the proposal workflow, whether the one or more active upkeeps is an eligible upkeep”(the reserved transaction can only get released…when the prescribed event has taken place [Abstract]), i.e. The system evaluates whether the event condition has occurred before execution, also corresponding to determining whether the upkeep task is eligible).
Li does not explicitly disclose “determine, by the smart contract automation system, a reportable result based on the eligible upkeep and the log data; and transmit, by the smart contract automation system, the reportable result to a
blockchain.”
However, Keiser in an analogous art discloses “determine, by the smart contract automation system, a reportable result based on the eligible upkeep and the log data” (a POSITA would have applied the data processing techniques of Keiser, where a processor determines results from collected data to control system operations( e.g. restoring data and actuating components), to determine a reportable result from the monitored event/log (keiser [par.0044] also see Keiser[Fig.5]) ; and transmit, by the smart contract automation system, the reportable result to a blockchain.”(Keiser teaches a computing system transmitting processed data or instructions over a network after determining results from sensor data Keiser[par.0033, and Keiser [par.0045]. A POSITA would therefore have been motivated to transmit the determined reportable result to the blockchain as a transaction or update in the Li system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Li’s decentralized event driven proxy with Keiser’s enhanced data compression in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the would have been motivated to combine Li’s event blockchain event-triggered transaction framework with Keiser’s data processing and result determination techniques to improve automated decision making based on monitored data events before submitting results to a blockchain network, yielding predictable results in automated smart contract workflows .
Regarding claim 2 in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: receive, by a log event provider, the log data”(i.e. receive collected data from sensors via a vehicle network, corresponding to receiving log data Keiser[par.0032]) ; “provide, by the log event provider, the log data to a trigger workflow; and determine, by the trigger workflow”(i.e. the computer processes the received sensor data through programmed operations such as identifying samples and determining differences, thereby providing data to a processing workflow (Keiser [psr.0039 -0041]) , “an eligible result, the eligible result based on the log data” (i.e. system determined results from the processed data and actuates vehicle components based on restored data [par.0044] also see fig.5]).
Regarding claim 3, in view of claim 2, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: receive, by a results store, the eligible result; and determine, by the results store, the reportable result based on the eligible result” (store differences in subspaces Keiser[Fig.5/item 520]).
Regarding claim 4, in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the determining the reportable result further comprises agreeing, by two or more nodes, an eligible result, wherein each of the two or more nodes determines the eligible result” (determine polynomial approximation Keiser[Fig.5/item 530]).
Regarding claim 5, in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: check, by smart contract automation system (system check and verification Li[pg.13]) , a condition associated with the blockchain; trigger, by smart contract automation system, a conditional trigger based on the condition; and execute, by smart contract automation system, a transaction based on the conditional trigger” (network can call the proxy contract to earn the service fee reserved in the contract by proving to the contract that the event has been recorded into blockchain logs, which then automatically triggers the proxy contract to release the reserved transaction Li[pg.10]).
Regarding claim 6, in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: store, by the smart contract automation system, the log data in a database; and transmit, by the database, the log data to one or more workflows, the workflows including the proposal workflow.”( Ethereum [2] and smart contracts [3] provides significant potential for new security designs that support a decentralized implementation of ET to overcome the single point of trust issues associated with centralized approaches. Li[pg.10])
Regarding claim 7, in view of claim 1, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: receive, by a results store, the eligible result and a block reference; and
store, by the results store, the eligible result and the block reference”(the LOG opcodes in Ethereum virtual machine store the event in the transaction’s log, as a part of the transaction receipt [pg.12]).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses “A method of smart contract automation, comprising: triggering, by a processor, a conditional trigger based on a condition of a blockchain; receiving, by the processor, a verifiable data in response to the conditional trigger”( Upon detecting the occurrence of the event specified in Cproxy, executor E can invoke Cproxy with a function invocation transaction to trigger the release of the reserved transaction in the form of a message [Fig.2]).
Li does not explicitly disclose “determining, by the processor, a recordable transaction based on the verifiable data; agreeing, by the processor and a processor of one or more nodes in a network of nodes, the recordable transaction is agreed to; and executing, by the processor, a smart contract, wherein the smart contract is based on the recordable transaction.
However, Keiser in an analogous art discloses “determining, by the processor, a recordable transaction based on the verifiable data; agreeing, by the processor and a processor of one or more nodes in a network of node” (a POSITA would have applied the data processing techniques of Keiser, where a processor determines results from collected data to control system operations( e.g. restoring data and actuating components), to determine a reportable result from the monitored event/log (keiser [par.0044] also see Keiser[Fig.5]) ; the recordable transaction is agreed to; and executing, by the processor, a smart contract, wherein the smart contract is based on the recordable transaction.”(Keiser teaches a computing system transmitting processed data or instructions over a network after determining results from sensor data Keiser[par.0033, and Keiser [par.0045]. A POSITA would therefore have been motivated to transmit the determined reportable result to the blockchain as a transaction or update in the Li system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Li’s decentralized event driven proxy with Keiser’s enhanced data compression in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the would have been motivated to combine Li’s event blockchain event-triggered transaction framework with Keiser’s data processing and result determination techniques to improve automated decision making based on monitored data events before submitting results to a blockchain network, yielding predictable results in automated smart contract workflows
Regarding claim 9 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the verifiable data comprises a data log” ”(i.e. receive collected data from sensors via a vehicle network, corresponding to receiving log data Keiser[par.0032])
Regarding claim 10 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “ further comprising: identifying, by the processor, whether an active upkeep is eligible; and
proving, by the processor, an eligible upkeep, wherein the eligible upkeep is based on the verifiable data” (system check and verification Li[pg.13]),
Regarding claim 11 in view of claim 8, the references combined disclose “wherein the agreeing, by the processor and a processor of one or more nodes, the recordable transaction is agreed to, is based on consensus across the one or more nodes” (determine polynomial approximation Keiser[Fig.5/item 530]).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses “A smart contract automation system, comprising: a processor, and a tangible, non-transitory memory configured to communicate with the processor, the tangible, non-transitory memory having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: polling, by a log poller” (i.e. monitoring blockchain event logs generated by smart contracts to detect when predefined conditions occur [Li event monitoring pg.14]), a log data associated with a blockchain; storing, by the log poller”(i.e. Li disclose that detected blockchain events and related information are maintained by the proxy service for processing and coordination of outsourced transactions , [Concretely, the protocol employs a service hub contract (Chub) to manage all ET service requests, so executors only need to track events released from Chub to get notified about new ET service requests. We next describe the two-phase process in detail.pg.14),
Li does not explicitly disclose “the log data in a database; determining, by one or more workflows, a performable event based on the log data; agreeing, by one or more nodes, a reportable result based on the performable event; and recording the reportable result on the blockchain.”
However, Keiser in an analogous art discloses “the log data in a database; determining, by one or more workflows, a performable event based on the log data” (a POSITA would have applied the data processing techniques of Keiser, where a processor determines results from collected data to control system operations( e.g. restoring data and actuating components), to determine a reportable result from the monitored event/log (keiser [par.0044] also see Keiser[Fig.5]) agreeing, by one or more nodes, a reportable result based on the performable event; and recording the reportable result on the blockchain.”(Keiser teaches a computing system transmitting processed data or instructions over a network after determining results from sensor data Keiser[par.0033, and Keiser [par.0045]. A POSITA would therefore have been motivated to transmit the determined reportable result to the blockchain as a transaction or update in the Li system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Li’s decentralized event driven proxy with Keiser’s enhanced data compression in order to provide additional security. One of ordinary skill in the would have been motivated to combine Li’s event blockchain event-triggered transaction framework with Keiser’s data processing and result determination techniques to improve automated decision making based on monitored data events before submitting results to a blockchain network, yielding predictable results in automated smart contract workflows
Regarding claim 13 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “further comprising: providing, by an upkeep provider, an upkeep payload to one or more of the workflows, the upkeep payload comprising one or more active upkeeps” (event warden allows a user to create a proxy smart contract that specifies an interested event and … reserves a transaction to release Li[Abstract], i.e. the reserved transaction + event specification corresponds to the task payload(upkeep definition) supplied by a user); determine, by one or more workflow, whether the one or more active upkeeps is an eligible upkeep; and determine, by the smart contract automation system, the reportable result further based on the eligible upkeep.” (the reserved transaction can only get released…when the prescribed event has taken place [Abstract]), i.e. The system evaluates whether the event condition has occurred before execution, also corresponding to determining whether the upkeep task is eligible).
Regarding claim 14 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by a log event provider” (i.e. receive collected data from sensors via a vehicle network, corresponding to receiving log data Keiser[par.0032]), the log data; provide, by the log event provider, the log data to a trigger workflow” (i.e. the computer processes the received sensor data through programmed operations such as identifying samples and determining differences, thereby providing data to a processing workflow (Keiser [psr.0039 -0041]); and determine, by the trigger workflow, an eligible result, the eligible result based on the log data, and the reportable result is further based on the eligible result” (i.e. system determined results from the processed data and actuates vehicle components based on restored data [par.0044] also see fig.5]).
Regarding claim 15 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, by a results store, an eligible result; and determine, by the results store, the reportable result based on the eligible result.” (store differences in subspaces Keiser[Fig.5/item 520]).
Regarding claim 16 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: agreeing, by two or more nodes, an eligible result, wherein each of the two or more nodes determines the eligible result independently, the reportable result based on the eligible result” (store differences in subspaces Keiser[Fig.5/item 520]).
Regarding claim 17 in view of claim 16, the references combined disclose “wherein the eligible result is the performable event” (a POSITA would have applied the data processing techniques of Keiser, where a processor determines results from collected data to control system operations( e.g. restoring data and actuating components), to determine a reportable result from the monitored event/log (keiser [par.0044] also see Keiser[Fig.5]).
Regarding claim 18 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose “wherein the one or more processors are further configured by the machine-readable instructions to: check, by smart contract automation system, a condition associated with the blockchain; trigger, by smart contract automation system, a conditional trigger based on the condition; and execute, by smart contract automation system, a transaction based on the conditional trigger.” (network can call the proxy contract to earn the service fee reserved in the contract by proving to the contract that the event has been recorded into blockchain logs, which then automatically triggers the proxy contract to release the reserved transaction Li[pg.10]).
Regarding claim 19 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose
The system of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit the log data from the database to the one or more workflows, the workflows
including a proposal workflow.” (the reserved transaction can only get released…when the prescribed event has taken place [Abstract]), i.e. The system evaluates whether the event condition has occurred before execution, also corresponding to determining whether the upkeep task is eligible).
Regarding claim 20 in view of claim 12, the references combined disclose
“wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: sample, by an upkeep sampler, one or more of the workflows” (event warden allows a user to create a proxy smart contract that specifies an interested event and … reserves a transaction to release Li[Abstract], i.e. the reserved transaction + event specification corresponds to the task payload(upkeep definition) supplied by a user.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433