DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/623,498 (US Patent No. 12,146,734), filed on 12/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/24; 10/11/24; 02/27/25; 03/17/25; 05/21/25; 09/15/25; & 10/21/25 has been acknowledged and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malek et al (US 2009/0078620 hereinafter “Malek” submitted by IDS) in view of Iddan et al (US Patent No. 7,224,384 hereinafter “Iddan”).
Regarding claims 1 and 10; Malek discloses a machine-vision system/method (400D @ figure 4D) having a detachable second apparatus (402 @ figures 4D and 13B) coupled to a first apparatus (403, 404 @ figures 4D and 13B) that determines a first three-dimensional shape of an object (97 @ figure 5A and paragraph [0097]: e.g., pattern that allows measurements (e.g., three measurements at three different phases of pattern 494) to determine 3D geometric measurements of part 99) located on a reference plane (figures 4D, 5A, 13B), and configured to determine an angle of an upper surface of the object (figure 5A and paragraph [0112]: e.g., pattern projector 402 at a forty-five (45)-degree angle 510 to the direction of motion 90 (other embodiments use an angle a 510 (see FIG. 5) of between about 45 degrees and about 50 degrees)... the angle of incidence equals the angle of reflection, the center of the specular reflection 528 on a spherical solder ball will be about 23 degrees from the top of the ball, thus away from the top of the ball where the measurements most critical to accurately measuring the height and position of the top of the ball are made) with respect to the reference plane (90 @ figure 4D, 5A, 13B), the second apparatus (402 @ figures 4D and 13B) comprising:
a first light source (418 @ figure 13B) configured to sequentially irradiate one or more first pattern lights (499 @ figure 13B) having one phase range (figure 6 and paragraph [0117]: e.g., projector 602A projects a light pattern 499A that includes, for example, phase s (i.e., phase angles of a sine wave) a1, a2, a3, a4, and a5);
a beam splitter (1312 @ figure 13B) and one or more lenses (414, 410 @ figure 13B) configured to change optical paths of the one or more first pattern lights (499 @ figure 13B) so that a beam of light corresponding to a respective phase of the phase range spreads (paragraphs [0014], [0019], [0094], and [0121]: e.g., the Z dimension is derived from the three phase measurements made for each point, since each point's height has a unique intersection with the various phases projected. In one embodiment) and arrives at each point of a partial region (520, 522, 524, 526 @ figure 5A) of the upper surface of the object (97 @ figure 5А);
communication interface (imager interface 122 @ figure 2) configured to communicate with the first apparatus (403, 404 @ figure 4D); and
a first processor (128 @ figure 2) that is electrically connected to the first light source (418 @ figure 4D) of the second apparatus (402 @ figure 4D) and the communication interface (122 @ figure 2), and that is configured to:
obtain, from trilinear array of a detector (422, 423 @ figure 4D) of the first apparatus (403, 404 @ figure 4D), first information (paragraph [0073]: e.g., the digital output of the CCD represents a 2D image of device 99. In another embodiment, a 3D scanning Moire interferometry sensor such as sensor 400A of FIG. 4A is used to acquire 3D dimensions (i.e., the X, Y, and Z dimensions of various features of device 99), and/or intensity measurements (i.e., the brightness, color, or reflectivity of various features of device 99)) on one or more first reflected lights (paragraph [0079]: e.g., project a sine-wave "Moire" pattern onto an object or device 99 and to measure each point at three places along the scan, for example, obtaining three reflected intensities with a tri-linear CCD (without the typical red/green/blue color filters)) generated by reflecting the one or more first pattern lights (499 @ figure 4D) from the partial region (99 @ figure 4D); and
determine the angle of the upper surface (512 @ figure 5A) with respect to the reference plane (90 @ figure 5A) based on the first information (figure 5A and paragraph [0112]: e.g., pattern projector 402 at a forty-five (45)-degree angle 510 to the direction of motion 90 (other embodiments use an angle a 510 (see FIG. 5) of between about 45 degrees and about 50 degrees)... the angle of incidence equals the angle of reflection, the center of the specular reflection 528 on a spherical solder ball will be about 23 degrees from the top of the ball, thus away from the top of the ball where the measurements most critical to accurately measuring the height and position of the top of the ball are made). See figures 1-21
Malek discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a first iris configured to pass the one or more first pattern lights irradiated from the first light source and a second iris configured to pass the one or more first reflected lights, generated by the reflection of the one or more first pattern lights from the partial region, to an image sensor of the shape determination device. However, Iddan teaches that it is known in the art to provide a first iris (67 @ figure 1) configured to pass the one or more first pattern lights irradiated from the first light source (38 @ figure 1) and a second iris (64 @ figure 1) configured to pass the one or more first reflected lights (60 @ figure 1), generated by the reflection of the one or more first pattern lights from the partial region (40 @ figure 1), to an image sensor (camera 32 @ figure 1) of the shape determination device (20, 22 @ figure 1 and col.7 lines 34-40: e.g., a 3D imager 20 comprising a 3D module 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine detachable angle determination device and method of Malek with a first iris configured to pass the one or more first pattern lights irradiated from the first light source and a second iris configured to pass the one or more first reflected lights, generated by the reflection of the one or more first pattern lights from the partial region, to an image sensor of the shape determination device as taught by Iddan for the purpose of improving optical system of 3D camera for acquiring maps and picture of a scene.
Regarding claims 2 and 11; Malek discloses the first information (paragraph [0073]) includes information indicating each light amount value of the one or more first reflected lights (paragraph [0079]), and wherein the first processor (128 @ figure 2) is further configured to: determine the angle of the upper surface (512 @ figure 5A) with respect to the reference plane (90 @ figure 5A) based on the each light amount value of the one or more the first reflected lights (paragraphs [0079] and [0112]).
Regarding claim 3; Malek discloses memory (a memory in a mass storage unit 123 @ figure 2 as timing control 1344 @ figure 13B) configured to store reference information (1320 @ figure 13B) indicating a relationship between the angle of the upper surface (figures 5A, 6, 13B) with respect to the reference plane (90 @ figures 5A, 6, 13B) and the each light amount value of the one or more first reflected lights (paragraph [0079]), wherein the first processor (128 @ figure 2) is further configured to determine the angle of the upper surface (510, 512 @ figure 5A) of the object (79 @ figure 5A) with respect to the reference plane (99 @ figure 5A) based on the each light amount value of the one or more first reflected lights and the reference information (figure 14B and paragraph [0201]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12; Malek discloses the first processor (128 @ figure 2) is further configured to control the communication interface (122 @ figure 2) to transmit second information (494 @ figure 4D) indicating the angle of the upper surface (510, 512 @ figure 5A) to the detector (422 @ figure 4D) of the first apparatus (403, 404 @ figures 4D and 13B), and wherein the second information (494 @ figure 4D) is used for the first apparatus (403, 404 @ figures 4D and 13B) to determine a second three-dimensional shape of the object (79 @ figure 5A) by correcting the upper surface of the object indicated by the first three-dimensional shape (paragraph [0096]: e.g., Thus light 499 is imparted with a spatial modulation pattern 494 that varies as a sine wave in intensity in one transverse direction (parallel to line 475), and that is substantially constant along lines parallel to lines 473 that are perpendicular to line 475 (see FIG. 4E). It is this pattern that allows measurements (e.g., three measurements at three different phases of pattern 494) to determine 3D geometric measurements of part 99).
Regarding claim 6; Malek discloses the first light source (602A, 602B @ figure 6) is further configured to irradiate a monochromatic light (paragraph [0119]: e.g., the light from projector 602A is filtered or from a monochromatic light source (e.g., red color), and is at a different color (frequency) than the light from projector 602B which is filtered or from a monochromatic light source at a different color (e.g., blue light)), and wherein the beam splitter (1312 @ figure 13В) and the one or more lenses (414, 410 @ figure 13B) are further configured to change an optical path of the monochromatic light so that the monochromatic light arrives at the upper surface of the object (99 @ figure 13B).
Claims 5, 8-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malek in view of Iddan as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Jeon (US 2018/0156606 submitted by IDS).
Regarding claims 5 and 13; Malek in view of Iddan combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first processor is configured to control the communication interface to obtain third information indicating the first three-dimensional shape of the object from the first apparatus; and determine a second three-dimensional shape of the object by correcting the upper surface of the object indicated by the first three-dimensional shape based on the angle of the upper surface. However, Jeon teaches that it is known in the art to provide the three-dimensional shape measurement apparatus (100 @ figures 1-2) comprises the first processor (control part 130 @ figure 1) is further configured to control the communication interface to obtain third information indicating the first three-dimensional shape of the object from the first apparatus (plurality of main pattern illumination parts 110a, a plurality of main image-capturing parts 120a of figures 1-4 and paragraph [0080]: e.g., a three-dimensional shape measurement apparatus 101 according to another exemplary embodiment of the present invention may include a plurality of main pattern illumination parts 1100, a plurality of main image-capturing parts 120a, a control part 130 (refer to FIG. 1), a plurality of beam-splitting parts (not shown)); and determine a second three-dimensional shape of the object (10 @ figure 1) by correcting the upper surface of the object indicated by the first three-dimensional shape based on the angle of the upper surface (paragraphs [0084]-[0085]: e.g., In the three-dimensional shape measurement apparatus 101, since the main pattern illumination part 110a, the main image-capturing part 1200 and the beam-splitting part are formed to correspond to each other, more compact arrangement of the apparatus and more effective three-dimensional shape measurement of the measurement target 10 may be available). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine method and detachable second apparatus coupled to first apparatus of Malek with limitation above as taught by Jeon for the purpose of improving quality and yield of the manufacturing system for achieving an improved light-intensity dynamic range such as a dimly lighted view and a brightly lighted view of the same device.
Regarding claim 8; Malek in view of Iddan combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for each of the one or more first pattern lights is a pattern light generated by phase-shifting a pattern light having a pattern in a first direction or in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction by an integer multiple of a preset phase interval. However, Jeon teaches that it is known in the art to provide each of the one or more first pattern lights (paragraph [0047]-[0048]: e.g., the four main pattern illumination parts 110a and the four main image-capturing parts 1200 may be alternately and equally spaced apart from each other at eight positions around the circumference, when the measurement target 10 is viewed in a plan view) is a pattern light generated by phase-shifting a pattern light (paragraph [0040]: e.g., the main pattern illumination parts 1100 may illuminate the grating pattern light PL toward the measurement target 10 by N times, and a grating pattern may be transferred N times by using a grating transfer instrument or by using a pattern image of a liquid crystal display (LCD) device to illuminate a phase-shifted grating pattern light) having a pattern in a first direction or in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction by an integer multiple of a preset phase interval (claims 7-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine method and detachable second apparatus coupled to first apparatus of Malek with limitation above as taught by Jeon for the purpose of improving quality and yield of the manufacturing system for achieving an improved light-intensity dynamic range such as a dimly lighted view and a brightly lighted view of the same device.
Regarding claim 9; Malek et al in view of Iddan combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first apparatus includes: one or more second light sources configured to irradiate one or more second pattern lights to the object; an image sensor configured to capture the one or more first reflected lights and one or more second reflected lights generated by reflecting the one or more second pattern lights from the object; and a second processor configured to: determine the first three-dimensional shape of the object based on the one or more first reflected lights and the one or more second reflected lights; and transmit third information indicating the first three-dimensional shape to the second apparatus. However, Jeon teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first apparatus (100 @ figures 1-2) includes: one or more second light sources (plurality of light sources 110a @ figures 1-2) configured to irradiate one or more second pattern lights to the object (10 @ figure 1); an image sensor (120a @ figures 1-2) configured to capture the one or more first reflected lights (RL @ figure 1) and one or more second reflected lights (RL @ figure 1) generated by reflecting the one or more second pattern lights (PL@ figure 1) from the object (10 @ figure 1); and a second processor (the three-dimensional shape measurement apparatus 100 comprises control part 130 @ figure 1 and paragraph [0076]: e.g., The control part 130 may be a device capable of performing image processing, shape information processing, calculation, and the like, and may include, for example, a computer) configured to: determine the first three-dimensional shape of the object (10 @ figures 1-3 and paragraph [0053]: e.g., a process of measuring the three-dimensional shape by using a stereo method in the control part of the three-dimensional shape measurement apparatus) based on the one or more first reflected lights (RL @ figure 1) and the one or more second reflected lights (RL @ figure 1); and transmit third information (figure 2 and paragraph [0043]: e.g., the three-dimensional shape measurement apparatus 100 may include four main pattern illumination parts 110a, as shown in FIG. 2. The four main pattern illumination parts 1100 may be spaced apart from each other around the measurement target 10 in the circumferential direction or arranged at respective vertexes of a polygon around the measurement target 10, when the measurement target 10 is viewed in a plan view) indicating the first three-dimensional shape to the pattern illumination parts (110a @ figures 1-2) of the second apparatus. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine method and detachable second apparatus coupled to first apparatus of Malek with limitation above as taught by Jeon for the purpose of improving quality and yield of the manufacturing system for achieving an improved light-intensity dynamic range such as a dimly lighted view and a brightly lighted view of the same device.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malek in view of Iddan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuda (US 2010/0209832 submitted by IDS).
Regarding claim 7; Malek et al in view of Iddan combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first processor is configured to control the communication interface to obtain fourth information indicating a reflectance of the upper surface from the first apparatus; and when the reflectance of the upper surface is equal to or greater than a preset reference reflectance, control the first light source so as to sequentially irradiate the one or more first pattern lights. However, Matsuda teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first processor (34 @ figure 1) is configured to control the communication interface to obtain fourth information (paragraph [0087]: e.g., the light intensity of both the measurement light and the reference light are detected, it suffices to detect only one of the light intensity of the measurement light and the light intensity of the reference light) indicating a reflectance of the upper surface (paragraph [0041]: e.g., the incident angle .theta. of the light which enters the substrate SB increases, the reflectance of the upper surface of a thin film (for example, a resist) applied on the substrate SB becomes high relative to that of the lower surface of the thin film (i.e., the interface between the thin film and the substrate SB) from the first apparatus (e.g., detection unit 32 @ figure 1); and when the reflectance of the upper surface is equal to or greater than a preset reference reflectance (paragraph [0087]: e.g., when the reflectance of the measurement target surface is equal to the reflectance of the reference surface, if either the light intensity of the measurement light or of the reference light is detected, the light intensity of the other side can be known. Furthermore, when the reflectance of the measurement target surface is different from that of the reference surface, by obtaining each reflectance of both the measurement target surface and the reference surface in advance), the first processor (34 @ figure 1) is configured to control the first light source (10 @ figure 1) so as to sequentially irradiate the one or more first pattern lights (paragraph [0036]: e.g., splits light from the light source 10 into two light beams). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine method and detachable second apparatus coupled to first apparatus of Malek with limitation above as taught by Matsuda for the purpose of improving the intensity peak and contrast of the interference signal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Fiolka et al (US 2018/0292321) discloses light-sheet fluorescence microscopy (LSFM) affords highly parallelized 3D imaging with optical sectioning capability and minimal light exposure.
2) Dubois et al (US 2006/0132799) discloses a method and device for obtaining a sample with three-dimensional microscopy, in particular a thick biological sample and the fluorescence field emitted by the sample.
/SN/
February 3, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877