Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esquivel-Upshaw et al. (USPGPub 2023/0066453) in view of Hsieh (USPGPub 2018/0187310).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Esquivel-Upshaw teaches that it is known to treat the surface of 3Y-TZP zirconia (see Aspect 3) with a plasma of ammonia for the purpose of adding nitrogen atoms to the substrate (see Aspects 16-17). Esquivel-Upshaw fails to teach the use of a carrier gas or general aspects of plasma treatment in general including basic treatment conditions. However, Hsieh teaches that when providing ammonia gas as a reactive gas for plasma treatment it is known to provide argon, nitrogen or combinations thereof as a carrier gas (see claim 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the nitrogen, argon or combination of gases of Hsieh in the ammonia plasma method of Esquivel-Upshaw as an application of a known carrier gas provision technique employed in an ammonia plasma treatment process applied to the known ammonia plasma treatment process of Esquivel-Upshaw wherein the application would have been predictable based upon the similarity in application of Hsieh and Esquivel-Upshaw and wherein there would be an expectation of an improved system due to the ability to control total gas flow using a carrier gas without increasing the amount of reactant gas in the chamber as is commonly provided by carrier gases in this field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 11, Esquivel-Upshaw teaches wherein the zirconia is used for dental purposes (see Background section).
Regarding claim 13, Hsieh generally teaches the use of vacuum conditions [0038].
Regarding claim 14, Hsieh further teaches treatment times in the range claimed [0065].
Regarding claims 15-16, Esquivel-Upshaw teaches that it is known to treat the surface of 3Y-TZP zirconia (see Aspect 3) with a plasma of ammonia for the purpose of adding nitrogen atoms to the substrate (see Aspects 16-17). Esquivel-Upshaw fails to teach the use of a carrier gas or general aspects of plasma treatment in general including basic treatment conditions. However, Hsieh teaches that when providing ammonia gas as a reactive gas for plasma treatment it is known to provide argon, nitrogen or combinations thereof as a carrier gas (see claim 21). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the nitrogen, argon or combination of gases of Hsieh in the ammonia plasma method of Esquivel-Upshaw as an application of a known carrier gas provision technique employed in an ammonia plasma treatment process applied to the known ammonia plasma treatment process of Esquivel-Upshaw wherein the application would have been predictable based upon the similarity in application of Hsieh and Esquivel-Upshaw and wherein there would be an expectation of an improved system due to the ability to control total gas flow using a carrier gas without increasing the amount of reactant gas in the chamber as is commonly provided by carrier gases in this field of endeavor. Further Esquivel-Upshaw teaches wherein the zirconia is used for dental implant purposes (see Background section).
Regarding claim 17, Hsieh further teaches frequency ranges in the range claimed. The teachings of Esquivel-Upshaw in view of Hsieh are as shown above. Esquivel-Upshaw in view of Hsieh fails to teach the voltage in terms of supply voltage. Hsieh discusses voltage in terms of applied field density [0051]. However, the applied field is directly controlled by the supplied voltage wherein Hsieh teaches that it is known to control the field density in order to control the hydrophobicity/hydrophilicity of the product formed. Therefore, in the absence of criticality of the specific voltage of the current claims, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the voltage generated in the invention of Esquivel-Upshaw in view of Hsieh thereby directly controlling the applied charge density in order to optimize the hydrophobicity/hydrophilicity of the product of Esquivel-Upshaw in view of Hsieh. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 18, Hsieh generally teaches the use of vacuum conditions [0038].
Regarding claim 19, Hsieh further teaches treatment times in the range claimed [0065].
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717