DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 3, 4, 5, and 6 are objected to because they do not comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l) because the lines, numbers, and characters do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics and/or do not permit adequate reproduction, and are not durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “20” and “20’” has been used to designate both molten steel and cast steel. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “26” and “26’” has been used to designate both sheer station and sheering station. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “26” and “26’” has been used to designate two separate objects in the drawings, specifically Figure 1 shows two separate devices indicated as 26. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “30” and “30’” has been used to designate roll of steel, steel coil, coil, and steel roll. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “36” and “36’” has been used to designate both hot-rolled steel and steel. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuo et al. (JP 2001200339 A, hereinafter “Tatsuo”).
The Examiner is providing a machine translation of JP 2001-200339 A and all citations within this action refers to this translation.
Regarding claim 1, Tatsuo teaches a hot-rolled steel sheet comprising the following composition (Tatsuo, [0012]):
Element
Present Invention wt.%
Tatsuo mass%
Overlap
C
0.04-0.06
0.01-0.10
0.04-0.06
Mn
1.20-1.50
0.05-2.00
1.20-1.50
Al
0.02-0.15
0.005-1.00
.02-0.15
Ti
0.09-0.15
0.05-0.50
0.09-0.15
Si
0.15-0.40
0.01-2.00
0.15-0.40
Cu
0.00-0.20
0.20-1.20
0.20
Balance
Fe and Impurities
Fe and Impurities
Fe
The ranges of Tatsuo overlap, encompass, or fall within the ranges of Claim 1.
Tatsuo also teaches the tensile strength can be 640MPa or more (Tatsuo, [0010]), which overlaps with the presently claimed range of 780MPa or more. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Tatsuo teaches a hot-rolled steel sheet has a hole expansion ratio of 12-110% (Tatsuo, Table 2 from the foreign document), which overlaps with the claimed range of at least 40%. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Tatsuo teaches a hot-rolled steel sheet can be rolled to a plate thickness 1.2-5.4mm (Tatsuo, [0046]), which overlaps with the claimed range of less than 1.4mm. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ariga et al. (US 2014305550 A1, hereinafter “Ariga”).
Regarding claim 1, Ariga teaches a hot-rolled steel sheet comprising the following composition (Ariga, [0050-0074]):
Element
Present Invention wt.%
Ariga mass%
Overlap
C
0.04-0.06
0.05-0.13
0.05-0.06
Mn
1.20-1.50
0.50-2.00
1.20-1.50
Al
0.02-0.15
0.00-0.10
0.02-0.10
Ti
0.09-0.15
0.07-0.18
0.09-0.15
Si
0.15-0.40
0.00-0.30
0.15-0.30
Cu
0.00-0.20
0.00-1.00
0.00-0.20
Balance
Fe and Impurities
Fe and Impurities
Fe
The ranges of Ariga overlap, encompass, or fall within the ranges of Claim 1.
Ariga also teaches the tensile strength can be 980MPa or more (Ariga, [0087]), which overlaps with the presently claimed range of 780MPa or more. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Ariga teaches a hot-rolled steel sheet has a hole expansion ratio of 27-97% (Ariga, Table 3 from the foreign document), which overlaps with the claimed range of at least 40%. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokoi et al. (WO 2018179388 A1, hereinafter “Yokoi”) teaches a primarily ferritic hot-rolled steel sheet. The chemical composition for the steel sheet of Yokoi overlaps with the claimed composition of the present invention (Yokoi, [0017]). The tensile strength of the steel in Yokoi ranges from 541-940MPa (Yokoi, Table 3 from the foreign document). Yokoi also teaches a plate thickness of 1.0-4.0mm (Yokoi, [0177]).
The Examiner is providing a machine translation of WO 2018179388 A1 and all citations within this action refers to this translation.
/B.B.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738