DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a groove defend" in line 2. This limitation is unclear. It is noted that the specification also recited the term “groove defend” in page 4, line 17. It is also noted that page 9, line 2 of the specification recites “wherein the first top face 11 has a groove 111 defined thereon, and a profile of the groove 111 of the first top face 11 corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board 100, a cross section of the groove 111 is semicircular”. It is unclear if “defend” or “defined” was intended, but it appears that “defined” was intended because page 4, line 17, appears to be a copy and paste section of the claims that was potentially added after drafting of the claims, and thus, the term “defend” is a misspelling of “defined” that propagated throughout the application drafting process.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the groove" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of this limitation in either claim 4 or parent claim 1. It is noted that claim 2 introduces “a groove”, however, claim 2 is not a parent claim to claim 4. The examiner suggests amending claim 4 to recite “a groove”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by LeBoeuf (US 20040154729 A1).
LeBouef discloses a multiple composite-layer chopping board (see paragraph 0161, disclosing “the top surface reduces slippage of food while cutting;”) made from heterogeneous materials (“multi layers of the same or different polymers, blends and recycled polymers”), comprising: at least one top face and a connection face; wherein the at least one top face (one of layer 16 and 20) is formed on a top or a bottom of the multiple composite-layer chopping board and made of raw plastic granules with bacteria and impact resistances (paragraph 0048, disclosing “the sheet 10 also includes a cut-resistant, liquid-permeable top or upper portion or layer 16”; paragraph 0050, disclosing “a bottom portion or layer 20, which is preferably made of a slip-resistant, liquid, and bacteria impervious material to prevent slipping of the sheet 10 and leakage of liquids and transfer of bacteria onto or from a work surface (such as a countertop, a cutting board, or the like) during use.”); and the connection face (layer 18, see paragraph 0057, disclosing “The layer 20 may be formed of any of the materials described above in connection with the layer 16 including polyolefins such as PE or PP, polyesters such as PET, PS, PVA, PVC, nylon, PAN, ABS, EVA, etc. In alternative embodiments, a suitable coating material may be applied by a sprayer and mechanically processed by a doctor blade or a portion of the material of the layer 18 may be melted or otherwise differentially processed as noted above so that a sealed portion is obtained (if the material of the layer 18 so permits).”) is defined between the top and the bottom of the multiple composite-layer chopping board or on the bottom of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, wherein the connection face is made of recycled plastic granules.
See paragraph 0053, disclosing “The various layers 16, 18 and 20 are secured or formed together in any suitable fashion taking the various materials of the layers into account. For example, two or more of the layers 16, 18, and 20 may be heated to fuse the layers together or the layers may be laminated as part of an extrusion process.”. See paragraph 0064, which discloses that “the cut resistant top layer 16” is a film, wherein “The film can be made of virgin polymer or blends of virgin and recycled materials or from recycled materials alone.” See also paragraph 0069, which discloses that the “bottom layer 20” is a film, wherein “Like the layer 16, the film can be made of virgin polymer or blends of virgin and recycled materials or from recycled materials alone.”
See paragraphs 0053-58, below:
[0048] Referring also to FIG. 3, according to one embodiment, the sheet 10 also includes a cut-resistant, liquid-permeable top or upper portion or layer 16, which substantially prevents the integrity of the sheet 10 as a whole (and, in particular, the layer 16) from being compromised during cutting while at the same time allowing passage of juices and liquids through the layer 16. Preferably, the upper portion or layer 16 is made of a material sufficiently durable to withstand aggressive cutting of meats, vegetables and other food items by a serrated or non-serrated blade, particularly in the situation where a cutting motion is applied to meats, poultry or fish (or any other fibrous protein material) that results in the application of cutting force components in multiple directions to the item. A serrated blade presents a series of equally or non-equally spaced points or tips to the upper surface of the layer 16 that can snag or otherwise catch on edges of the material used for the top layer 16. Because of this it is generally preferred (although not necessarily the case) that the top layer 16 have irregularly or randomly spaced openings therein that prevent any points or tips from contacting material below the layer 16 during cutting. In this way, the possibility that the integrity of the sheet 10 would be compromised is reduced.
[0049] In addition to the foregoing, the upper portion or layer 16 preferably has an upper surface 17 that is textured or otherwise formed to prevent slippage of items thereon during processing.
[0050] The sheet 10 further includes a middle or intermediate portion or layer 18 that may be made of a liquid absorbent material that retains the juices and liquids passed by the upper layer 16, as well as a bottom portion or layer 20, which is preferably made of a slip-resistant, liquid, and bacteria impervious material to prevent slipping of the sheet 10 and leakage of liquids and transfer of bacteria onto or from a work surface (such as a countertop, a cutting board, or the like) during use.
[0051] The upper layer 16 may be of a length and width substantially equal to the length and width of the middle layer 18. Alternatively, the upper layer may be of a smaller size than the size of the layer 18, thereby providing a cutting surface that is partially or fully surrounded by portions of the middle layer 18. As a further alternative, the top and bottom layers 16, 20 may be of the same size and the middle layer may be of a smaller size and so arranged relative to the layers 16 and 20 such that the middle layer 18 is surrounded by the joined outer margins of the layers 16 and 20.
[0052] If desired, the sheet 10 may instead include a different number of layers or portions each imparting one or more desired characteristic(s) to the sheet 10. In addition, the sheet 10 may comprise a single layer or portion or multiple layers or portions wherein each layer or portion is made of material that is differentially treated during production to obtain multiple desired characteristics. Still further, the sheet 10 may include one or more layers or portions that are not differentially treated during production in combination with one or more layers that are differentially treated during production. For example, the sheet 10 could comprise a single layer that is liquid absorbent, but which has a first surface that is treated (by any suitable process, such as the application of heat or a chemical additive) during production to produce a cut-resistant, liquid-permeable surface. The sheet 10 may further have a second surface opposite the first surface that may be treated by any suitable process (for example, as noted above) during production to produce a slip-resistant barrier surface. Alternatively, the sheet 10 could comprise two layers, a first of which provides a slip-resistant barrier surface, and a second of which provides a cut-resistant surface. In this case, the liquid absorbent layer may be omitted, or the liquid-absorbent material may be provided as part of one of the first or second layers or as a separate layer. Still further, the slip-resistant surface and/or the cut-resistant, liquid-permeable surface could be omitted, if desired.
[0053] The various layers 16, 18 and 20 are secured or formed together in any suitable fashion taking the various materials of the layers into account. For example, two or more of the layers 16, 18, and 20 may be heated to fuse the layers together or the layers may be laminated as part of an extrusion process. Two or more of the layers could instead be secured together by an adhesive including a hot melt adhesive as well as a solvent or water based adhesive, as long as the adhesive is approved for food contact and compatible with the layers. Alternatively, two or more of the layers 16, 18, and 20 may be formed using materials and/or a manufacturing process which result in simultaneous formation and bonding of such layers. Still further, the layer 16 may be bonded or otherwise secured to the layer 20 at selected locations, thereby capturing the layer 18 therebetween. In this case, the layer 18 may have one or more voids therein to facilitate the joinder of the layers 16 and 20 at the location(s) of the void(s). Still further, the layer 18 may be omitted and the layers 16 and 20 may be joined at spaced locations to create voids between the layers 16, 20 which serve to attract and retain liquid(s) therein by capillary action.
[0054] FIG. 4 illustrates an apparatus that may be used to produce a number of cutting surfaces as shown in FIG. 1A. An extrusion die or other delivery device 40 deposits thin streams of molten thermoplastic onto a web 42 of liquid-absorbent material, such as cellulosic tissue or batting. The material deposited on the web 42 is chosen from but not limited to polyolefins, such as polyethylene (PE), polyolefin metallocenes, metallocene polypropylene (mPP) or polypropylene (PP) including homopolymers and copolymers thereof, polyester, such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polystyrene (PS), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), nylon (such as nylon 6 or nylon 66), polyacrylonitrile (PAN), acrylonirile-butadiene-styrene (ABS), ethylene-vinyl acetate (EVA) copolymer, multi layers of the same or different polymers, blends and recycled polymers (including polymers that are cured by ultraviolet or visible light, an electron beam, water or other curing agent). Addition of one or more filler(s) may be advantageous both from a cost advantage as well as improvement of modulus, heat distortion and cut resistance. Preferably, each stream is approximately on the order of 1-100 thousandths inch (0.0254 mm-2.54 mm) wide and are deposited at equally-spaced locations on the web 42 approximately 1-500 (0.025 mm-12.7 mm) thousandths inch apart. Alternatively, the streams may be deposited at non-equally spaced locations on the web 42 and/or may be of differing widths and/or may be deposited at different points of time. Still further, different stream shapes (e.g., a wavy, curved, discontinuous or interrupted stream as opposed to the linear continuous stream extent described above and/or a different cross-sectional shape) and/or different materials could be sequentially deposited on the web 42. In other words, a single stream may comprise a first portion of a first material, a second portion deposited after the first portion of a second material, a third portion deposited after the second portion of a third material or the first material, etc. In an alternative embodiment, adjacent streams may be of differing materials. In a general sense, N different materials may be deposited or otherwise formed in situ on the web 42 in a repeating or non-repeating sequence or pattern or in a random fashion. In the case of a repeating sequence or pattern, the repetition frequency may be established at a value less than or equal to N. In any event, the choice of materials, sequence or pattern, and the like affect the physical characteristics of the resulting surface.
[0055] If the upper layer 16 is to be smaller than the size of the layer 18, then the streams are deposited only on a center portion of the web 42. In addition, the flow of thermoplastic resin is periodically interrupted so that discrete portions of web are formed having thermoplastic thereon wherein such portions are separated by further web portions not having thermoplastic deposited thereon. The web 42 then passes between a pair of rolls 44a, 44b. Preferably, the roll 44a is smooth and the roll 44b has a plurality of diamond-shaped or other shaped protrusions 46 on the surface thereof. The protrusions 46 deform and spread out the still molten thermoplastic streams to transform the linear streams into a desired two or three dimensional pattern of thermoplastic resin on the web 42. The web 42 then passes between one or more additional pairs of rolls 48 that further spread out and/or flatten the thermoplastic streams and impart a desired texture thereto. The resulting surface provides cut resistance and prevents food from sliding thereon
[0056] If desired, any pattern can be created on the web 42, for example, a random pattern or a crisscross pattern could be created by drizzling, spraying or otherwise applying the material thereto.
[0057] Thereafter, the web 42 is inverted (i.e., turned over) and the layer 20 is formed in situ by lamination or other delivery of a thermoplastic or other material onto an undersurface 50 by an extrusion die or other delivery apparatus. The layer 20 may alternatively be formed without first inverting the web 42 by any suitable process. The layer 20 may be formed of any of the materials described above in connection with the layer 16 including polyolefins such as PE or PP, polyesters such as PET, PS, PVA, PVC, nylon, PAN, ABS, EVA, etc. In alternative embodiments, a suitable coating material may be applied by a sprayer and mechanically processed by a doctor blade or a portion of the material of the layer 18 may be melted or otherwise differentially processed as noted above so that a sealed portion is obtained (if the material of the layer 18 so permits). Still further, a barrier layer of TYVEK.RTM. (sold by E. I. Du Pont de Nemours and Company of Wilmington, Del.) may alternatively be secured to the underside of the web 42 by any suitable means.
[0058] The layer 20 may be formed with a pattern or texture by embossing and/or may be coated or laminated or otherwise formed with a slip-controlling (such as slip resistant) or adhesive material. The slip control may be provided by a continuous or discontinuous surface of the layer 20, as desired. The resulting coated web is then cut at appropriate locations to form the cutting sheets.
See Figure 3, below:
The LeBouef document does not recite using plastic granules. However, the end product of the LeBouef method appears to be identical to the claimed product and therefore LeBouef appears to anticipate claim 1 because the films can be made of virgin polymer or blends of virgin and recycled materials or from recycled materials alone and because two or more of the layers 16, 18, and 20 may be heated to fuse the layers together or the layers may be laminated as part of an extrusion process.
As to claim 5, LeBouef discloses further comprising a protection layer formed on the at least one top face. See, for example, paragraph 0148, disclosing “the sheet provides cut resistance, i.e., it helps reduce any cut damage to the kitchen or other work surface;”, paragraph 0152, disclosing “the sheet reduces slippage, by providing a skid-resistant contact with the work surface;” and paragraph 0165, disclosing “the sheet offers superior food/surface protection for non-cutting food preparation applications;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeBoeuf (US 20040154729 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Mathews (US 20220202258 A1).
As to claim 2, LeBoeuf does not disclose wherein the at least one top face has a groove defend thereon, a profile of the groove corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, and a cross section of the groove is semicircular.
Mathews, however, makes obvious wherein the at least one top face has a groove defend thereon, a profile of the groove corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, and a cross section of the groove is semicircular. See Figures 1A and 1B, showing semicircular grooves.
See also paragraph 0018-19 and 0065, disclosing:
[0018] In other words, around the periphery of the top surface of the upper body, the nested, coaxial, double ball milled, drain-grooves may be double ball milled by a Computer Numerical Control (CNC) vertical milling machine, or formed by an additive process such as 3 Dimensional (3D) printing (also known as additive manufacturing), injection molding, or lost wax casting of a metal cutting board are formed with the narrower, deeper drain-groove in the center of the wider shallower drain-groove.
[0019] As a result, the narrower, deeper drain-groove which is free of larger debris provides improved drainage of juices which flow unencumbered via the drain hole through the main body down into the hollow of the drain pan housed in the drain pan space below the cutting board.
…
[0065] FIG. 1B is a fragmentary sectional view showing the cross section of the peripheral drain ring 12 taken along section line 1B-1B in FIG. 1A. Drain ring 12 comprises a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S of the upper body 11 inside the narrow border 15 of the top surface 11S. The narrow deep groove 12DG is nested and superimposed, deep inside the bottom of the shallow the wide groove 12WG and concentric therewith. In other words, the dual-grooves comprise a narrow deep groove 12DG nested deep inside the bottom of a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S.
Additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the at least one top face has a groove defend thereon, a profile of the groove corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, and a cross section of the groove is semicircular as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and to provides improved drainage of juices as taught by Mathews.
As to claim 3, LeBoeuf discloses wherein a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board is rectangle.
LeBoeuf does not disclose that the four corners of the multiple composite-layer chopping board are machined by using a milling machine to be arcuate.
However, Mathews discloses milling grooves through the corners of the chopping board which are arcuate.
See also paragraph 0018-19 and 0065, disclosing:
[0018] In other words, around the periphery of the top surface of the upper body, the nested, coaxial, double ball milled, drain-grooves may be double ball milled by a Computer Numerical Control (CNC) vertical milling machine, or formed by an additive process such as 3 Dimensional (3D) printing (also known as additive manufacturing), injection molding, or lost wax casting of a metal cutting board are formed with the narrower, deeper drain-groove in the center of the wider shallower drain-groove.
[0019] As a result, the narrower, deeper drain-groove which is free of larger debris provides improved drainage of juices which flow unencumbered via the drain hole through the main body down into the hollow of the drain pan housed in the drain pan space below the cutting board.
…
[0065] FIG. 1B is a fragmentary sectional view showing the cross section of the peripheral drain ring 12 taken along section line 1B-1B in FIG. 1A. Drain ring 12 comprises a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S of the upper body 11 inside the narrow border 15 of the top surface 11S. The narrow deep groove 12DG is nested and superimposed, deep inside the bottom of the shallow the wide groove 12WG and concentric therewith. In other words, the dual-grooves comprise a narrow deep groove 12DG nested deep inside the bottom of a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S.
Additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the four corners of the multiple composite-layer chopping board are machined by using a milling machine to be arcuate as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and to provides improved drainage of juices as taught by Mathews, and to additionally mill any other structure including outside corners.
As to claim 4, LeBoeuf does not disclose wherein a depth of the groove is more than a thickness of the at least one top face.
Mathews, however, makes obvious wherein a depth of the groove is more than a thickness of the at least one top face. See Figures 1A and 1B, showing semicircular grooves.
See also paragraph 0018-19 and 0065, disclosing:
[0018] In other words, around the periphery of the top surface of the upper body, the nested, coaxial, double ball milled, drain-grooves may be double ball milled by a Computer Numerical Control (CNC) vertical milling machine, or formed by an additive process such as 3 Dimensional (3D) printing (also known as additive manufacturing), injection molding, or lost wax casting of a metal cutting board are formed with the narrower, deeper drain-groove in the center of the wider shallower drain-groove.
[0019] As a result, the narrower, deeper drain-groove which is free of larger debris provides improved drainage of juices which flow unencumbered via the drain hole through the main body down into the hollow of the drain pan housed in the drain pan space below the cutting board.
…
[0065] FIG. 1B is a fragmentary sectional view showing the cross section of the peripheral drain ring 12 taken along section line 1B-1B in FIG. 1A. Drain ring 12 comprises a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S of the upper body 11 inside the narrow border 15 of the top surface 11S. The narrow deep groove 12DG is nested and superimposed, deep inside the bottom of the shallow the wide groove 12WG and concentric therewith. In other words, the dual-grooves comprise a narrow deep groove 12DG nested deep inside the bottom of a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S.
Additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein a depth of the groove is more than a thickness of the at least one top face as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and to provides improved drainage of juices as taught by Mathews.
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN 110353539 A) in view of Cheng (CN 113715352 A) and LeBoeuf (US 20040154729 A1).
As to claim 1, Lin discloses a multiple composite-layer chopping board (from the title, “Plastic Multi-layered Chopping Board”) made from heterogeneous materials, comprising:
at least one top face (either the cutting layer 1 or skid proof/anti sliding layer 4) and a connection face (structure layer 4); wherein the at least one top face is formed on a top or a bottom of the multiple composite-layer chopping board and made of raw plastic granules (see the abstract, disclosing “providing multiple groups of thermoplastic plastic of granular raw material to hot-melt, the raw material liquid, then respectively performing extrusion forming the multiple groups of liquefied raw material to form the corresponding flexible sheet structure”; see the translation, disclosing “S1, providing a plurality of thermoplastic plastic of granular raw material to hot-melt, the raw material liquid;”) with impact resistances (see the translation, disclosing “can avoid abrasion caused by the cutter”); and
the connection face is defined between the top and the bottom of the multiple composite-layer chopping board or on the bottom of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, wherein the connection face is made of plastic granules (see the abstract, disclosing “providing multiple groups of thermoplastic plastic of granular raw material to hot-melt, the raw material liquid, then respectively performing extrusion forming the multiple groups of liquefied raw material to form the corresponding flexible sheet structure”; see the translation, disclosing “S1, providing a plurality of thermoplastic plastic of granular raw material to hot-melt, the raw material liquid;”).
See the translation, below:
combining graph shown in FIG. 2, the plastic multi-layered chopping board of the present invention once comprises four layers of structure:
1. A cutting layer
i.e., a layer directly contacting with the cutter tool. using PP (polypropylene) or PE (polyethylene) material, characteristics which has light weight and firm, can avoid abrasion caused by the cutter. according to the actual condition, also can be selected from ABS, SAN, Tritan, etc. can be formed by extruding thermoplastic plastic, material selection is not limited by this patent document. colour, preferably made of transparent color (i.e., the color of the material itself, there is no need to add other pigments), removing the pattern under the second layer can emerge on the stained paper. in addition to providing the necessary hardness and elastically matched with the cutter to cut food, also stained the underlying protected, solves the problem mentioned in the background technology, the problem of cutter back and forth friction damage paper, reducing the life of the product.
The technique does not limit the second layer must be applied decal, if the product is not designed with stained paper layer, the surface colour of the cutting layer 1 can be transparent or opaque solid colour, the cutting layer 1 does not limit the color. it is not intended to limit the thickness of the cutting layer 1, only the actual operation surface if cutting layer 1 is too thin, the product bearing the times of cutting will be reduced, which reduces the service life or when the thickness of the cutting layer 1 is too large, the pattern paper is not too clear, affect the product appearance.
2. Decorative layer
the traditional technique if the plastic cutting board surface plus a unique pattern design, can only be produced by means of a film. that is stained paper in-mould film technology, printing the pattern on the surface of the injection molding die, and then the plastic into the mould cavity, the plastic heel stained fusion. Due to the restriction of process on, stained only can be stuck on the surface of the plastic, that is, cutting surface of the cutting board, long-time tool after the cutting surface cutting, inevitably will scratch the flower paper, even the stained, only hindrance to problem of beautiful, more will greatly reduce the service life of the product.
In the technical solution of the invention, through between the cutting layer and the structure layer is provided with a decorative layer, wherein the decorative layer is a piece of paper thickness of 0.018-0.04mm, caused by PP (polypropylene) material, applied between the first and the third layer when producing, it can use at most seven printing process printing colors and patterns, provide a unique novelty is the product, increases the interesting, attractive to consumers, can avoid the cutter direct damage to the decorative layer
3, the structure layer
thermoplastic plastic layer with large thickness, providing strength required for chopping. It is followed by cutting the surface layer of the first layer 1 using the same material, not color limit, can be transparent or non-transparent colour. this layer needs a certain thickness to provide the necessary strength is chopping.
If the design does not include the second layer paper layer, a structure reinforcing layer can be combined with surface cutting layer 1, causing a double-faced cutting, surface cutting, bottom cutting vegetables. or skid-proof chopping board can be the structure enhancing layer of adding a layer of skid-proof layer 4 to cause a piece of multi-color layers.
thickness of the structural reinforcement layer is not limited to the process, only if the actual operation if the thickness is not enough, the finished product will be very soft, affecting the use feeling.
4. An anti-sliding layer
anti-slide layer caused by a layer of thermoplastic elastomer similar to rubber of 4, extrusion molding, using the material with high friction coefficient and contact with the desktop is product provides skid-proof function and the said layers are mentioned. anti-slip layer 4 can be transparent (material added) or the colour pigment to make it opaque colour. on the mould face of the anti-slide layer 4 contact with the desktop, can be the product of applying a specific texture or pattern, which further increases the skid-proof function. surface of the skid-proof layer 4 further provided with patterns, improved skid-proof effect, the anti-slip layer 4 composed by the thermoplastic elastic materials.
In addition, due to design requirements, the decorative layer 2 and the structure layer 3 can be cancelled, the cutting layer 1 can be connected with the anti-skidding layer at bottom 4 directly fusion molding, causing a double layer of skid-proof cutting board. Such a layer of thermoplastic elastomer not limited thickness, because of material cost and practical application to determine the thickness.
See Figure 2, below:
Lin does not disclose that the top face has bacteria resistances, and does not wherein the connection face is made of recycled plastic granules.
However, Cheng discloses using bacteria resistances in chopping boards. See the translation, disclosing:
Contents of the Invention
In order to overcome the deficiency of the existing technology, one of the purpose of the present invention is to provide a manufacturing method of antibacterial chopping block pad capable of effectively inhibiting bacteria growth.
In order to overcome the deficiency of the existing technology, the purpose of the invention is to provide an antibacterial chopping block pad capable of effectively inhibiting bacteria growth.
One of the objectives of the present invention is achieved by the following technical schemes.
A manufacturing method of antibacterial chopping block pad, comprising the following steps: metering and feeding according to the preset component proportion to form a mixed material; the mixed material contains 2 % to -4 % of antibacterial mildew preventive; stirring the mixture; extruding the mixed material by a casting machine to form a sheet-shaped base band; cooling and embossing the sheet-shaped base band; rewinding sheet-shaped base band; and forming an antibacterial chopping block pad on the sheet-shaped base band for cutting work.
…
The second object of the present invention is achieved by the following technical schemes.
An antibacterial chopping block pad made according to the manufacturing method of the antibacterial chopping block pad, wherein the antibacterial chopping block pad comprises the following parts by weight: 80-85 % of ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer; the mass part is 10-20 % of polyethylene; the mass part is 2-3% antibacterial master batch.
Further, the mass parts of the polyethylene in the antibacterial master batch is 85-95 %; the mass part of the antibacterial mildew-proof agent is 5-15 %; the mass parts of the zinc oxide in the antibacterial mildew-proof agent is 80-90 %; the mass part of the zeolite is 10-20 %; the mass part of the silver ion is 0.1-0.5 %.
Compared with the existing technology, the preparation method of antibacterial chopping block pad of the invention in the mixed material contains 2 % to -4 % of antibacterial mildew preventive; the prepared chopping block pad can effectively inhibit bacteria growth.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein to use plastic with bacteria resistances as suggested by Cheng because the result is that “the prepared chopping block pad can effectively inhibit bacteria growth.”
LeBoeuf discloses that it is known to manufacture cutting surfaces using raw (or “virgin”) plastic and recycled plastic using an extrusion process, wherein the first top face is made of the raw plastic, and thus makes obvious wherein the connection face is made of recycled plastic granules. See paragraph 0053, disclosing “The various layers 16, 18 and 20 are secured or formed together in any suitable fashion taking the various materials of the layers into account. For example, two or more of the layers 16, 18, and 20 may be heated to fuse the layers together or the layers may be laminated as part of an extrusion process.”. See paragraph 0064, which discloses that “the cut resistant top layer 16” is a film, wherein “The film can be made of virgin polymer or blends of virgin and recycled materials or from recycled materials alone.” See also paragraph 0069, which discloses that the “bottom layer 20” is a film, wherein “Like the layer 16, the film can be made of virgin polymer or blends of virgin and recycled materials or from recycled materials alone.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the connection face is made of recycled plastic granules as suggested by the combination of Lin’s plastic granules and LeBoeuf’s use of recycled material in order to enable the use of recycled materials in the internal components and expand the range of input materials that can used for manufacturing chopping blocks.
As to claim 3, Lin disclose chopping block wherein a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board is rectangle, and four corners of the multiple composite-layer chopping board are arcuate. See Figure 2, cited above. The result is that Lin discloses a structure identical to that wherein a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board is rectangle, and four corners of the multiple composite-layer chopping board are machined by using a milling machine to be arcuate.
As to claim 5, Lin discloses further comprising a protection layer formed on the at least one top face. See the translation, disclosing both for the cutting layer “a layer directly contacting with the cutter tool. using PP (polypropylene) or PE (polyethylene) material, characteristics which has light weight and firm, can avoid abrasion caused by the cutter” and the anti skid/slide layer that “anti-slide layer caused by a layer of thermoplastic elastomer similar to rubber of 4, extrusion molding, using the material with high friction coefficient and contact with the desktop is product provides skid-proof function and the said layers are mentioned. anti-slip layer 4 can be transparent (material added) or the colour pigment to make it opaque colour.”
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (CN 110353539 A) in view of Cheng (CN 113715352 A) and LeBoeuf (US 20040154729 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3 and 5 above, and further in view of Mathews (US 20220202258 A1).
As to claim 2, Lin discloses a groove, but does not disclose wherein the at least one top face has a groove defend thereon, a profile of the groove corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, and a cross section of the groove is semicircular.
Mathews, however, makes obvious wherein the at least one top face has a groove defend thereon, a profile of the groove corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, and a cross section of the groove is semicircular. See Figures 1A and 1B, showing semicircular grooves.
See also paragraph 0018-19 and 0065, disclosing:
[0018] In other words, around the periphery of the top surface of the upper body, the nested, coaxial, double ball milled, drain-grooves may be double ball milled by a Computer Numerical Control (CNC) vertical milling machine, or formed by an additive process such as 3 Dimensional (3D) printing (also known as additive manufacturing), injection molding, or lost wax casting of a metal cutting board are formed with the narrower, deeper drain-groove in the center of the wider shallower drain-groove.
[0019] As a result, the narrower, deeper drain-groove which is free of larger debris provides improved drainage of juices which flow unencumbered via the drain hole through the main body down into the hollow of the drain pan housed in the drain pan space below the cutting board.
…
[0065] FIG. 1B is a fragmentary sectional view showing the cross section of the peripheral drain ring 12 taken along section line 1B-1B in FIG. 1A. Drain ring 12 comprises a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S of the upper body 11 inside the narrow border 15 of the top surface 11S. The narrow deep groove 12DG is nested and superimposed, deep inside the bottom of the shallow the wide groove 12WG and concentric therewith. In other words, the dual-grooves comprise a narrow deep groove 12DG nested deep inside the bottom of a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S.
Additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein the at least one top face has a groove defend thereon, a profile of the groove corresponds to a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board, and a cross section of the groove is semicircular as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and to provides improved drainage of juices as taught by Mathews.
As to claim 3, Lin disclose wherein a profile of the multiple composite-layer chopping board is rectangle, and arcuate.
In any event, Lin does not disclose that the four corners of the multiple composite-layer chopping board are machined by using a milling machine to be arcuate.
However, Mathews discloses milling grooves through the corners of the chopping board which are arcuate.
See also paragraph 0018-19 and 0065, disclosing:
[0018] In other words, around the periphery of the top surface of the upper body, the nested, coaxial, double ball milled, drain-grooves may be double ball milled by a Computer Numerical Control (CNC) vertical milling machine, or formed by an additive process such as 3 Dimensional (3D) printing (also known as additive manufacturing), injection molding, or lost wax casting of a metal cutting board are formed with the narrower, deeper drain-groove in the center of the wider shallower drain-groove.
[0019] As a result, the narrower, deeper drain-groove which is free of larger debris provides improved drainage of juices which flow unencumbered via the drain hole through the main body down into the hollow of the drain pan housed in the drain pan space below the cutting board.
…
[0065] FIG. 1B is a fragmentary sectional view showing the cross section of the peripheral drain ring 12 taken along section line 1B-1B in FIG. 1A. Drain ring 12 comprises a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S of the upper body 11 inside the narrow border 15 of the top surface 11S. The narrow deep groove 12DG is nested and superimposed, deep inside the bottom of the shallow the wide groove 12WG and concentric therewith. In other words, the dual-grooves comprise a narrow deep groove 12DG nested deep inside the bottom of a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S.
Additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the four corners of the multiple composite-layer chopping board are machined by using a milling machine to be arcuate as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and to provides improved drainage of juices as taught by Mathews, and to additionally mill any other structure including outside corners.
As to claim 4, Lin does not disclose wherein a depth of the groove is more than a thickness of the at least one top face.
Mathews, however, makes obvious wherein a depth of the groove is more than a thickness of the at least one top face. See Figures 1A and 1B, showing semicircular grooves.
See also paragraph 0018-19 and 0065, disclosing:
[0018] In other words, around the periphery of the top surface of the upper body, the nested, coaxial, double ball milled, drain-grooves may be double ball milled by a Computer Numerical Control (CNC) vertical milling machine, or formed by an additive process such as 3 Dimensional (3D) printing (also known as additive manufacturing), injection molding, or lost wax casting of a metal cutting board are formed with the narrower, deeper drain-groove in the center of the wider shallower drain-groove.
[0019] As a result, the narrower, deeper drain-groove which is free of larger debris provides improved drainage of juices which flow unencumbered via the drain hole through the main body down into the hollow of the drain pan housed in the drain pan space below the cutting board.
…
[0065] FIG. 1B is a fragmentary sectional view showing the cross section of the peripheral drain ring 12 taken along section line 1B-1B in FIG. 1A. Drain ring 12 comprises a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S of the upper body 11 inside the narrow border 15 of the top surface 11S. The narrow deep groove 12DG is nested and superimposed, deep inside the bottom of the shallow the wide groove 12WG and concentric therewith. In other words, the dual-grooves comprise a narrow deep groove 12DG nested deep inside the bottom of a shallow wide groove 12WG formed in the top surface 11S.
Additionally, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention wherein a depth of the groove is more than a thickness of the at least one top face as an obvious changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts and to provides improved drainage of juices as taught by Mathews.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK