DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 09/26/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “at least a portion of an airflow passageway” in lines 1-2, which should recite “at least the portion of the airflow passageway” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites “at least a portion of an airflow passageway” in lines 1-2, which should recite “at least the portion of the airflow passageway” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites “an exhaust aperture” in line 1, which should recite “the exhaust aperture” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites “an intake port end” in lines 2-3, which should recite “the intake port end” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations “means for enabling an airflow” and “means for fluidically coupling an airflow within a chassis” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “enabling an airflow” and “coupling an airflow within a chassis” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 20 has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Paragraph 0063 recites “An apparatus for dissipating heat from electronics may have means for enabling an airflow to flow through an airflow passageway, spanning between an intake port end and an exhaust port end with an aperture of great cross-sectional area than an aperture of the intake port end, with sufficient volume to contain at least a portion of the electronics and means for fluidically coupling the airflow within a chassis of a system with internal convection cooling to influence at least in part the airflow in the airflow passageway”. The Examiner notes this is merely the language of Claim 20. The disclosure lacks reciting corresponding structure for “means for enabling an airflow” and “means for fluidically coupling the airflow within a chassis”.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) by reciting “means for enabling an airflow” and “means for fluidically coupling the airflow within a chassis”. Please see the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) discussion above.
Since the corresponding structure that achieves the claimed function is not recited in the disclosure, but the “means” clause meets the three-prong test evoking interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Accordingly, the “means” subject matter was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 20 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) by reciting “means for enabling an airflow” and “means for fluidically coupling the airflow within a chassis”. Please see the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) discussion above.
Since the corresponding structure that achieves the claimed function is not recited in the disclosure, but the “means” clause meets the three-prong test evoking interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
This yields the claim indefinite.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,573,712) in view of Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,742,296).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
An apparatus (airflow guiding duct, title) for dissipating heat (“for dissipating heat generated by electronic components in the electronic device”, Col. 1, lines 11-14) from electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64), comprising:
an intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) defining at least a portion of a boundary (as illustrated in Figure 1, the smaller upstream end of 30 defines the entire boundary of 32) of an intake aperture (32);
an exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) defining at least a portion of a boundary (as illustrated in Figure 1, the expanded upstream end of 30 defines the entire boundary of 36) of an exhaust aperture (36) with a cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of 36; “third opening 36 is defined by top wall 31 and sidewalls 33 and 37 of the expanded portion”, Col. 2, lines 33-36) greater than (as illustrated in Figure 1, the cross-sectional area of 36 is greater than the cross-sectional area of 32) a cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the intake port aperture (32), the exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) configured to couple fluidically (via 139 and 313, as illustrated in Figure 3) with an element (13) of a chassis (10) of a system (“computer or server”, Col. 1, line 64) with internal convection cooling (convection cooling by the airflow in the duct which thermally transfers and removes heat from the heat dissipating assemblies), the element (13) being permeable (via 131) to an airflow (airflow through 10; it is inherent a fan/blower with 10 is used to create a pressure gradient within 10 to cause the airflow; without the pressure gradient established by a fan/blower within 10, there would be no airflow) between (it is inherent cool air from the exterior of 10 is drawn into 10, across the heat dissipating assemblies, and exhausted from 10 to provide the internal convection cooling through the duct) an external environment (the environment external to 10) and an internal volume (the internal volume of 10) of the chassis (10); and
a drafted air duct (30) spanning between (as illustrated in Figure 1) the intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) and the exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) and defining at least a portion of (30 defines the entire portion of the passageway between 32 and 36) an airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36), from the intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) to the exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36), with sufficient volume (the volume within 30 is sufficient to contain at least a portion of the heat dissipating assemblies; “the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) to contain therein (“the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) at least a portion of (the portion of the heat dissipating assemblies covered by 30) the electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64), the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) arranged to (as illustrated in Figure 3) dissipate heat (heat produced by the heat dissipating assemblies) from the electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) along a direction (direction of airflow from 32 to 36) of the airflow (airflow through 10) created by the convection cooling (convection cooling by the airflow in the duct which thermally transfers and removes heat from the heat dissipating assemblies).
Although it is inherent that a computer/server chassis has an air inlet, an air outlet, and a fan/blower within the interior volume, Wu lacks explicitly reciting the structure required to produce the convection cooling, creating the airflow between the external environment and the internal volume of the chassis.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Lai teaches (Figure 1, 2, and 3):
It is known in the computer chassis (10) art for the chassis (10) to have an air inlet (112), an air outlet (122), and an element (242), wherein a fan (70) is mounted to (as illustrated in Figure 2) a permeable area (2422) of the element (242) to create the convection cooling (“in use, the fan 70 is operated, and air is drawn into the chassis 10 through the inlet holes 112. A part of the drawn air flows through the heat sink 40 and processors under the heat sink 40 to be guided out of the chassis 10 through the first air passage 935 and the outlet holes 122”, Col. 2, lines 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the chassis and element shown by Wu such that the chassis comprises an air inlet and an air outlet and the element includes a fan attached to the element, as taught by Lai, to provide the structure to dissipate heat from the computer/server. Without such structure, the heat dissipating elements within the chassis would overheat and malfunction.
Regarding Claim 2, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) is configured to couple fluidically (as illustrated in Figure 3, the expanded downstream end of 30 couples to 13, therefore the airflow fluidly travels from 30 through 13) with the element (13) of the chassis (10), the element (13) being a flat faceplate (as illustrated in Figure 3, 13 is a flat panel of 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) defines at least at least the portion of (30 defines the entire portion of the passageway between 32 and 36) the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) with volume sufficient (the volume within 30 is sufficient to contain at least a portion of the heat dissipating assemblies; “the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) to contain (“the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) at least a portion of (the portion of the heat dissipating assemblies covered by 30) an individual or plurality of electronic components (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) and any heatsinks thermally coupled thereto (it is noted Wu is silent to any heatsinks provided on motherboard 15, therefore no heatsinks are required to be contained within the volume of the drafted air duct).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) defines the exhaust aperture (36) of the same shape and pf greater respective dimensions (as illustrated in Figures 1 and 3, both 36 and 32 are rectangles, but the rectangle of 36 has greater respective dimensions than the rectangle of 32, resulting in a greater cross-sectional area) than the intake aperture (32) defined by the intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu shows (Figures 1, 2, and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) is formed of a plurality of flat panels (31, 33, 37, 38, 39) coupled together (each panel is coupled to the adjacent panel at the edge, as illustrated in Figures 1, 2, and 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu shows (Figures 1, 2, and 3):
At least one (37 and 39) of the plurality of flat panels (31, 33, 37, 38, 39) is tapered (as illustrated in Figure 2, 37 and 39 are tapered).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) is configured to be assembled onto (as illustrated in Figure 1, 30 is assembled onto 15) the electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64).
Regarding Claim 11, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) is configured to be assembled onto (via 313 and 139, as illustrated in Figure 1) the chassis (10) of the system (“computer or server”, Col. 1, line 64) with the internal convection cooling (convection cooling by the airflow in the duct which thermally transfers and removes heat from the heat dissipating assemblies), including onto (as illustrated in Figure 3) the element (13) permeable to (via 131) the airflow (the airflow from 32 to 36).
Regarding Claim 12, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) is an integrated component (as illustrated in Figure 3, 30 is joined to 15) of the electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64).
Regarding Claim 13, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) is an integrated component (as illustrated in Figure 3, 30 is joined to 13) of the chassis (as illustrated in Figure 3, 30 is linked to 10 via 13) or element (13) of the chassis (10).
Regarding Claim 17, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
A method (by using the airflow guiding duct, “opening 32 for air flowing into the airflow guiding duct. Opening 36… for air flowing out of the airflow guiding duct 30”, Col. 2, lines 31-36; method for assembling described in Col. 2, line 55 – Col. 3, line 5) for dissipating heat (“for dissipating heat generated by electronic components in the electronic device”, Col. 1, lines 11-14) from electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, line 62-64), comprising:
enabling (via 30; it is inherent a fan/blower with 10 is enabled to create a pressure gradient within 10 to cause the airflow; without the pressure gradient established by a fan/blower within 10, there would be no airflow) an airflow (airflow from 32 to 36) to flow along (“opening 32 for air flowing into the airflow guiding duct. Opening 36… for air flowing out of the airflow guiding duct 30”, Col. 2, lines 31-36) an airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) spanning from an intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) to an exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36), the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) defined by part by (as illustrated in Figure 1) a cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of 36; “third opening 36 is defined by top wall 31 and sidewalls 33 and 37 of the expanded portion”, Col. 2, lines 33-36) at the exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) that is greater than (as illustrated in Figure 1, the cross-sectional area of 36 is greater than the cross-sectional area of 32) a cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) and encompassing sufficient volume (the volume within 30 is sufficient to contain at least a portion of the heat dissipating assemblies; “the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) to contain therein (“the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) at least a portion of (the portion of the heat dissipating assemblies covered by 30) the electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64); and
retaining (via 313 and 139, which secure 30 in place within 10) spatial proximity (the spatial proximity of 30 within 10) to a chassis (10) of a system (“computer or server”, Col. 1, line 64) with internal convection cooling (convection cooling by the airflow in the duct which thermally transfers and removes heat from the heat dissipating assemblies), the spatial proximity (the spatial proximity of 30 within 10) enabling (as illustrated in Figure 3) fluidic coupling (as illustrated in Figure 3, the expanded downstream end of 30 couples to 13, therefore the airflow fluidly travels from 30 through 13) of airflow (airflow within 10) in the chassis (10) with the airflow (airflow from 32 to 36) in the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36).
Although it is inherent that a computer/server chassis has an air inlet, an air outlet, and a fan/blower within the interior volume, Wu lacks explicitly reciting the structure required to enable the airflow to produce the convection cooling, creating the airflow between the external environment and the internal volume of the chassis.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Lai teaches (Figure 1, 2, and 3):
It is known in the computer chassis (10) art for the chassis (10) to have an air inlet (112), an air outlet (122), and an element (242), wherein a fan (70) is mounted to (as illustrated in Figure 2) a permeable area (2422) of the element (242) to create the convection cooling (“in use, the fan 70 is operated, and air is drawn into the chassis 10 through the inlet holes 112. A part of the drawn air flows through the heat sink 40 and processors under the heat sink 40 to be guided out of the chassis 10 through the first air passage 935 and the outlet holes 122”, Col. 2, lines 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the chassis and the flat plate (13) to which the airflow passageway attaches shown by Wu such that the chassis comprises an air inlet and an air outlet and the flat plate includes a fan attached to the element, as taught by Lai, to provide the structure to dissipate heat from the computer/server. Without such structure, the heat dissipating elements within the chassis would overheat and malfunction.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Wu (Figures 1 and 3) and Lai (Figures 1, 2, and 3) teaches:
Causing (Lai: via operation of 70) the convectional cooling (Wu: convection cooling by the airflow in the duct which thermally transfers and removes heat from the heat dissipating assemblies) to commence (in combination, the operation of the fan creates the airflow in the duct that dissipates the heat produced by the heat dissipating assemblies) within the chassis (Wu: 10).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Wu (Figures 1 and 3) and Lai (Figures 1, 2, and 3) teaches:
Enabling (Wu: via 30; Lai: via operation of 70, which creates the airflow) additional airflow (Wu: additional airflow entering 34; “opening 34 for air flowing into the airflow guiding duct”, Col. 2, lines 31-33) through apertures (Wu: 34; as illustrated in Figure 1, 34 is formed of two perpendicular apertures) located adjacent (Wu: as illustrated in Figure 1) to the intake port end (Wu: the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
An apparatus (airflow guiding duct, title) for dissipating heat (“for dissipating heat generated by electronic components in the electronic device”, Col. 1, lines 11-14) from electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64), comprising:
means for enabling (via 30; it is inherent a fan/blower with 10 is enabled to create a pressure gradient within 10 to cause the airflow; without the pressure gradient established by a fan/blower within 10, there would be no airflow) an airflow (airflow from 32 to 36) to flow along (“opening 32 for air flowing into the airflow guiding duct. Opening 36… for air flowing out of the airflow guiding duct 30”, Col. 2, lines 31-36) an airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) spanning from an intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) to an exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36), the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) defined by part by (as illustrated in Figure 1) a cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of 36; “third opening 36 is defined by top wall 31 and sidewalls 33 and 37 of the expanded portion”, Col. 2, lines 33-36) at the exhaust port end (the expanded downstream end of 30, which defines 36) that is greater than (as illustrated in Figure 1, the cross-sectional area of 36 is greater than the cross-sectional area of 32) a cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the intake port end (the smaller upstream end of 30, which defines 32, as illustrated in Figure 1) and encompassing sufficient volume (the volume within 30 is sufficient to contain at least a portion of the heat dissipating assemblies; “the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) to contain therein (“the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) at least a portion of (the portion of the heat dissipating assemblies covered by 30) the electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64); and
means for fluidically coupling (via 313 and 139, which secure 30 in place within 10) an airflow (the airflow within 10) within a chassis (10) of a system (“computer or server”, Col. 1, line 64) with internal convection cooling (convection cooling by the airflow in the duct which thermally transfers and removes heat from the heat dissipating assemblies) to influence at least in part (as illustrated in Figure 3, the expanded downstream end of 30 couples to 13, therefore the airflow fluidly travels from 30 through 13) the airflow (the airflow from 32 to 36) in the airflow passageway (as illustrated in Figure 3) fluidic coupling (of airflow (airflow within 10) in the chassis (10) with the airflow (airflow from 32 to 36) in the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36).
Although it is inherent that a computer/server chassis has an air inlet, an air outlet, and a fan/blower within the interior volume, Wu lacks explicitly reciting the structure required to enable the airflow to produce the convection cooling, creating the airflow between the external environment and the internal volume of the chassis.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Lai teaches (Figure 1, 2, and 3):
It is known in the computer chassis (10) art for the chassis (10) to have an air inlet (112), an air outlet (122), and an element (242), wherein a fan (70) is mounted to (as illustrated in Figure 2) a permeable area (2422) of the element (242) to create the convection cooling (“in use, the fan 70 is operated, and air is drawn into the chassis 10 through the inlet holes 112. A part of the drawn air flows through the heat sink 40 and processors under the heat sink 40 to be guided out of the chassis 10 through the first air passage 935 and the outlet holes 122”, Col. 2, lines 43-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the chassis and the flat plate (13) to which the airflow passageway attaches shown by Wu such that the chassis comprises an air inlet and an air outlet and the flat plate includes a fan attached to the element, as taught by Lai, to provide the structure to dissipate heat from the computer/server. Without such structure, the heat dissipating elements within the chassis would overheat and malfunction.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,573,712) and Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,742,296), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of Tsai et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0014861).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The drafted air duct (30) defines at least at least the portion of (30 defines the entire portion of the passageway between 32 and 36) the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36) around an individual or a plurality of electronic components (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64).
However, Wu lacks showing a plurality of drafted air ducts defines at least a portion of an airflow passageway around a plurality of electronic components, the plurality of drafted air ducts being interconnected with respect to one another or having at least two adjacent air ducts coupled to each other.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Tsai teaches (Figures 1, 2, and 4):
It is known in the computer chassis (10) art for there to be a plurality of drafted air ducts (31, 33, 35) defining at least a portion of an airflow passageway (airflow passageway within 10 over 15, 15, 17, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 4) around a plurality of electronic components (15, 18, 17), each drafted air duct (each of 31, 33, 35) defining at least a portion of an airflow passageway (each individual airflow passageway through 31, 33, and 35) around an individual electronic component (15, 18, and 17, respectively), the plurality of drafted air ducts (31, 33, 35) being interconnected (as illustrated in Figure 4) with respect to one another or having at least two adjacent air ducts (as illustrated, there are three adjacent air ducts) coupled to each other (as illustrated in Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the single drafted air duct shown by Wu to be a plurality of drafted air ducts being interconnected with respect to one another or having at least two adjacent air ducts coupled to each other, as taught by Tsai, to improve heat dissipation of the chassis by covering all the electronic components with a dedicated drafted air duct.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,573,712) and Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,742,296), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of Chen (U.S. Patent No. 7,643,292).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Wu and Lai teaches the claimed invention except the drafted air duct defines an arrangement of perforations at a location adjacent to the intake port end.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Chen teaches (Figures 3 and 4):
It is known in the computer chassis (3) art for a draft air duct (1, 2) to define (as illustrated in Figure 4) an arrangement of perforations (the arrangement of 321) at a location (the location of 32) adjacent to (as illustrated in Figure 4) the intake port end (the end of 10, 20 at 33, as illustrated in Figure 3), a fan (33) being attached to (as illustrated in Figure 4) the arrangement of perforations (the arrangement of 321).
Further, “to enhance heat dissipation efficiency, an air director may be used with fans in a computer… a first fan that blows air into the air direction and a second fan that draws air out of the air director… therefore waste heat is carried away from the CPU and the chip modules to the outside of the computer quickly”, Col. 1, lines 31-45.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the intake port end of the drafted air duct to define an arrangement of perforations at a location adjacent to the intake port end for purposes of attaching a fan, as taught by Chen, to enhance heat dissipation efficiency by using a fan to blow air into the drafted air duct, thus carrying away waste heat quickly.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,573,712) and Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,742,296), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of Scott et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,244,661).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Wu and Lai teaches the claimed invention except the drafted air duct is formed of a single continuous material molded to form the drafted air duct.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Scott teaches (Figure 2):
It is known in the computer chassis (chassis of 100) art for a drafted air duct (106) to be formed of a single continuous material (plastic, Col. 7, lines 3-6) molded to form (“airflow manifold structure 106 can each be made from one piece that are formed by injection molding a plastic material”, Col. 7, lines 3-6) the drafted air duct (106).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to specify the drafted air duct shown by Wu is formed of a single continuous material molded to form the drafted air duct, as taught by Scott, to reduce installation costs of putting together multiple parts to form the drafted air duct, by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,573,712) and Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,742,296), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of McClellan et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2008/0239661).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Wu and Lai teaches the claimed invention except a heatsink with fins thermally coupled to the electronics, and wherein the fins of the heatsink form at least a portion of the drafted air duct.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, McClellan teaches (Figures 3 and 5):
It is known in the computer chassis (302) art for a heatsink (307) with fins (fins of 307 illustrated in Figures 3 and 5; “the fins have a large surface area and effectively increase the surface area of heat dissipation”, Paragraph 0006) thermally coupled (as illustrated in Figure 5, 307 is thermally coupled to 506) to the electronics (506 and 304), wherein the fins (fins of 307 illustrated in Figures 3 and 5) of the heatsink (307) form at least a portion of (as illustrated in Figure 3, the fins of 307 form a portion of the interior of 100) of a drafted air duct (100).
Further, “to increase the surface area available to dissipate heat, a heat sink is often attached to these types of electronic chips”, Paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the drafted air duct shown by Wu to include a heatsink with fins thermally coupled to the electronics, and wherein the fins of the heatsink form at least a portion of the drafted air duct, as taught by McClellan, to increase the surface area available to dissipate heat.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,573,712) and Lai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,742,296), as recited in Claim 1 above, further in view of Lima et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,279,601).
Regarding Claim 15, Wu shows (Figures 1 and 3):
The electronics (“heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) at least in part within (“the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) the airflow passageway (the airflow passageway from 32 to 36).
However, Wu lacks reciting the heat dissipating assembly is a quad small form-factor pluggable optical transceiver module.
In the same field of endeavor of computer chassis, Lima teaches (Figure 14):
It is known in the computer chassis (chassis of 100) art for a heat dissipating assembly (322A) to be a quad small form-factor pluggable optical transceiver module (“pluggable optical transceivers such as quad small form factor pluggable standard”, as recited in Col. 4, lines 4-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to specify the heat dissipating assembly within the airflow passageway shown by Wu to be a quad small form-factor pluggable optical transceiver module, as taught by Lima, because a quad small form-factor pluggable optical transceiver module is well known to be a heat dissipating assembly in a computer chassis, by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable computer heat dissipating assemblies with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Wu (Figures 1 and 3) and Lima (Figure 1) teaches:
The optical transceiver module (Lima: 322A) includes (as illustrated in Figure 14, “optical transceivers include heat sink 329”, Col. 7, lines 26-30) an integrated heatsink (Lima: 329) “each optical transceiver assembly , and wherein the drafted air duct (Wu: 3) is configured to at least partially contain (Wu: “the airflow guiding duct 30 is pressed down to cover heat dissipating assemblies mounted on the motherboard 15”, Col. 2, lines 62-64) the optical transceiver module (Lima: 124A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related apparatuses for dissipating heat from electronics:
Mohanasundaram et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,956,916): see Figure 5
Chiang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,925,183): see Figure 2
Odisho et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,908,657): see Figure 3
Chou et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,243,437): see Figures 1 and 3
Chen et. al (U.S. Patent No. 7,310,228): see Figures 3 and 4
Brovald et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,970,353): see Figure 1
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762