DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendment
The preliminary amendment to the claim filed on 03/07/2025 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim [5] is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim [5] recites the limitation the one or more structure of interest comprises “text” , However the current disclosure does not explicitly disclose the recited “text”, thus constitutes a new matter. Appropriate correction consistent to applicant’s disclosure is required.
Double Patenting
Claim [2] is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim [1] of U.S. Patent No. [11, 563,885] . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim [2] of the current application .is an obvious variant and encompassed by claim [1] U.S. Patent No. [11, 563,885].
Claims [2, 8-10 and 12] are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims [1, 9, 12-13 and 15] of U.S. Patent No. [12, 132, 984] . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims [2, 8-10 and 12] of the current application .is an obvious variant and encompassed by claims [1, 9, 12-13 and 15] of U.S. Patent No. [12, 132, 984]
Below are tables showing the conflicting claims
US. 18/898,388
US. PAT. No. 11, 563,885
2. A method of presenting images to a user of a visual aid device, comprising the steps of: capturing real-time video images of a scene with a camera of the visual aid device; inputting at least one of the real-time video images into a machine learning system of the visual aid device; in the machine learning system, analyzing the at least one of the real-time video images to select image processing parameters that are appropriate for the scene; in a processor of the visual aid device, applying the image processing parameters that accompany to the real-time video images to produce modified images; and presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device.
1. A method of presenting images to a user of a visual aid device, comprising the steps of: capturing real-time video images of a scene with a camera of the visual aid device; inputting at least one of the real-time video images into a first machine learning system of the visual aid device; in the first machine learning system, analyzing the at least one of the real-time video images to select a wide display state template that is appropriate for the scene; in a processor of the visual aid device, applying parameters that accompany the wide display state template to the real-time video images to produce modified images that apply no magnification to the real-time video images; and presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device.
US. 18/898,388
US. PAT. No. 12, 132, 984
2. A method of presenting images to a user of a visual aid device, comprising the steps of: capturing real-time video images of a scene with a camera of the visual aid device; inputting at least one of the real-time video images into a machine learning system of the visual aid device; in the machine learning system, analyzing the at least one of the real-time video images to select image processing parameters that are appropriate for the scene; in a processor of the visual aid device, applying the image processing parameters that accompany to the real-time video images to produce modified images; and presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device.
1. A method of presenting images to a user of a visual aid device, comprising the steps of: capturing real-time video images of a scene with a camera of the visual aid device; inputting at least one of the real-time video images into a classifier of the visual aid device; in the classifier, analyzing the at least one of the real-time video images to select a display state template that is appropriate for the scene; inputting the display state template and at least one of the real-time video images into a machine learning system of the visual aid device; in the machine learning system, determining if a user-preferred device configuration exists for the scene and, if the user-preferred device configuration exists, modifying the display state template based on the user-preferred device configuration; applying parameters that accompany the display state template to the real-time video images to produce modified images; presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device.
8. The method of claim 4, wherein the moderate magnification is tapered from a central portion of the real-time images to neutral at edges of the real-time video images.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising tapering the central magnification to neutral at edges of the real-time video images.
9. The method of claim 2, further comprising receiving an input from the user to provide an immediate but temporary learning in a second machine learning system of an association between the scene and the image processing parameters.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving an input from the user to provide an immediate but temporary learning in a second machine learning system of an association between the scene and the display state template.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the input is received by a button on the visual aid device.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the input is received by a button on the visual aid device.
12. The method of claim 2, further comprising: evaluating real-time sensor data of the visual aid device with the processor; and presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device only if the visual aid device is not being subjected to significant rotation or acceleration.
15. The method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to the presenting step: evaluating real-time sensor data of the visual aid device with the processor; and wherein presenting the modified images to the user further comprises presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device only if the visual aid device is not being subjected to significant rotation or acceleration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) [2-3, 6-7 and 11] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a2) as being anticipated by Wang (US. 2017/0347110).
Reclaim [2], Wang discloses a method of presenting images to a user of a visual aid device (see figs. 5 and 27), comprising the steps of: capturing real-time video images of a scene with a camera of the visual aid device (see fig. 27 and ¶0440, Original video data 2740 can be provided into the method or system of the embodiment using a camera 2735 ); inputting at least one of the real-time video images into a machine learning system of the visual aid device (see fig. 5, ¶¶0254 and 0453, these embodiments, input data to be processed by a trained machine learning process can have a tailored model, [by the virtue of processing the input video date in order to apply reconstruction model on the low resolution portion of the image]); in the machine learning system, analyzing the at least one of the real-time video images to select image processing parameters that are appropriate for the scene (see ¶¶00254 and 0453, In such embodiments, the selection of the one or more most similar pre-trained model(s) can be done based on one or more metrics associated with the pre-trained models compared to the input data, [by the virtue of selecting low quality or low resolution image for reconstruction]); in a processor of the visual aid device, applying the image processing parameters that accompany to the real-time video images to produce modified images (see ¶¶0436 and 0454, At step 170, each of the segments of video are output from the reconstruction process as higher-resolution frames at the same resolution as the original video 70. The quality of the output video 180 is substantially similar to that of the original video 70); and presenting the modified images to the user on a display of the visual aid device (see ¶¶0437 and 0458, At step 180, the segments of video are combined such that the video can be displayed)..
Reclaim [3], Wang further discloses wherein analyzing the at least one of the real-time video images further comprises identifying one or more structures of interest (see ¶0453, This step comprises separating the low-resolution video).
Reclaim[6]Wang further discloses, wherein the image processing parameters are applied to a portion of the real-time video images (see ¶0453, comprises separating the low-resolution video [to the low-resolution video]).
Reclaim[7] Wang further discloses, wherein the image processing parameters are applied to most of the real-time video images (see ¶0453, low-resolution video, [a majority portion of the live video from the camera can be low resolution or low-quality data]).
Reclaim[11] Wang further discloses, wherein the machine learning system identifies individual image features useful for selecting the image processing parameters (see ¶0453, separating the low-resolution video).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims [4] is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner note: claim [5] will be objected as an allowable if applicant overcomes the above 112(a) rejection.
Conclusion
/AHMED A BERHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639