DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claims
Claim(s) 1, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992) in view of Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312).
As to claim 1, 10: Changlani teaches a wireless network access device comprising: a memory device that stores instructions; and a processing device operatively coupled to the memory device and WLAN radio, wherein the processing device is configured to execute the instructions to: … , the signal causing the first neighboring AP to update a reduced neighbor report information element (RNR IE) of a transmission to include information associated with the wireless network access device ([0057, 64, 69, 78, 79, 122] Thus, if radio metric m4 is less than radio metric m6, in accordance with various embodiments, the radio metric information of 6 GHz radio R(1,2) may be included in the RNR IEs); and connect to a wireless device on the third frequency band responsive to the wireless device receiving an updated transmission from the first neighboring AP ([0028] Client devices that are capable of operating in the 6 GHz band can parse this RNR IE, and switch directly to the 6 GHz channel being advertised in the RNR IE, and connect directly to the corresponding service set ID(s) (SSID(s)) of the radio operating on that channel instead of spending time scanning the 6 GHz channels), the updated transmission having an RNR IE comprising the information ([0028, 32, 122] allowing an AP to advertise a Reduced Neighborhood Report Information Element (RNR IE) in its beacons, as well as probe responses (to the RNR IE-populated beacons)).
Changlani may not explicitly teach a wireless local area network (WLAN) radio configured to transmit and receive on a first frequency band, a second frequency band, and a third frequency band. However, Vellore teaches a wireless local area network (WLAN) radio configured to transmit and receive on a first frequency band, a second frequency band, and a third frequency band ([0002, 12] the new Wi-Fi® 6E standard can be configured as tri-band APs that communicate over all three frequency bands, e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz frequency bands).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement tri-band AP, taught by Vellore, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and compatibility and coverage. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Vellore and Changlani in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Changlani may not explicitly teach send a signal on the first frequency band and the second frequency band to a first neighboring access point (AP). However, Kang teaches send a signal on the first frequency band and the second frequency band to a first neighboring access point (AP) ([0060, 72, 74, 119] when AP1 and AP2 using service set ID (SSID) 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands transmit all information of both bands through the beacon signals in the bands of 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement transmit over multiple bands, taught by Kang, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve discovery. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Kang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 16: Changlani teaches a system comprising: a wireless device; … receive a request from the wireless device on the first frequency band or the second frequency band ([0027, 65] receive frames like probe responses, probe requests, and any other frames used for scanning or discovery); … update a reduced neighbor report information element (RNR IE) of a transmission to include information associated with the wireless network access device ([0032, 78, 79, 122] dynamically modifying the set of advertised 6 GHz radios (in the RNR IE on non-6 GHz channels)); and send an updated transmission to the wireless device, the updated transmission having an RNR IE comprising the information, wherein sending the updated transmission causes the wireless device to connect to the wireless network access device on the third frequency band ([0028, 32, 122] allowing an AP to advertise a Reduced Neighborhood Report Information Element (RNR IE) in its beacons, as well as probe responses (to the RNR IE-populated beacons) on the non-6 GHz radio).
Changlani may not explicitly teach a wireless network access device configured to transmit and receive on a first frequency band, a second frequency band, and a third frequency band. However, Vellore teaches a wireless network access device configured to transmit and receive on a first frequency band, a second frequency band, and a third frequency band ([0002, 12] the new Wi-Fi® 6E standard can be configured as tri-band APs that communicate over all three frequency bands, e.g., 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 6 GHz frequency bands).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement tri-band AP, taught by Vellore, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and compatibility and coverage. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Vellore and Changlani in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Changlani may not explicitly teach and one or more neighboring access points (APs) comprising a first neighboring AP, the first neighboring AP configured to: … receive a signal on the first frequency band or the second frequency band from the wireless network access device. However, Kang teaches and one or more neighboring access points (APs) comprising a first neighboring AP ([0008] AP1 and AP2), the first neighboring AP configured to: … receive a signal on the first frequency band or the second frequency band from the wireless network access device ([0008, 119] both APs may detect mutual beacon signals).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement transmit over multiple bands, taught by Kang, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve discovery. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Kang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 2, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992) in view of Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312).
As to claim 2, 11: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1.
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the updated transmission from the first neighboring AP is received by a second neighboring AP. However, Kang teaches wherein the updated transmission from the first neighboring AP is received by a second neighboring AP ([0107] Since AP2 and AP3 mutually exist in the cell coverage area, AP2 and AP3 may mutually receive the beacon signals and since AP2 and AP3 may discover mutual existence through the channel scanning).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement beacon signals, taught by Kang, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and improve discovery. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Kang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 9: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1, wherein the transmission from the first neighboring AP is one of a beacon frame or a probe response ([0028]).
Claim(s) 3, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992), Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312) in view of Wang (US-20140010223).
As to claim 3, 17: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1.
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the information comprises a public action frame, the public action frame comprising: an operating class; an operating channel; a basic service set identifier (BSSID); and a service set identifier (SSID). However, Wang teaches wherein the information comprises a public action frame, the public action frame comprising: an operating class; an operating channel; a basic service set identifier (BSSID); and a service set identifier (SSID) ([0159, 171-173] BSSID, SSID, operating class, channel number).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement ID fields, taught by Wang, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Wang in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992), Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312), Wang (US-20140010223) in view of Zhou (US-20220201596).
As to claim 4: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 3.
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the operating class is associated with the third frequency band. However, Zhou teaches wherein the operating class is associated with the third frequency band ([0028, 37] The RNR elements may comprise a channel number, operating class, Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) Offset, short SSID, BSSID, and Basic Service Sets (BSS) that aid in the discovery of the co-located 6 GHz BSS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement operating class frequency, taught by Zhou, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and determine the operating class. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Changlani in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992), Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312) in view of Jung (US-20160037444), Zhou (US-20220201596)
As to claim 5: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1,
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the information comprises a private action frame, the private action frame further … a BSSID; a SSID; and a proprietary protocol. However, Jung teaches wherein the information comprises a private action frame, the private action frame further ([0056, 69] IBSS mode vendor specific action frame) … a BSSID; a SSID; and a proprietary protocol ([0043, 56, 63, 69-72]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement BSSID, SSID, proprietary protocol, taught by Jung, into the communication system, taught by Jung, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable proprietary features. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Jung and Zhou in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Changlani may not explicitly teach comprising: an operating class associated with the third frequency band; an operating channel associated with the third frequency band and the operating class. However, Zhou teaches comprising: an operating class associated with the third frequency band; an operating channel associated with the third frequency band and the operating class ([0028, 37]);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement operating class frequency, taught by Zhou, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and determine the operating class. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Changlani in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992), Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312) in view of Batra (US-20030171115).
As to claim 6, 13, 18: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1.
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the first frequency band comprises frequencies from 2.400 gigahertz (GHz) through 2.4835 GHz. However, Batra teaches wherein the first frequency band comprises frequencies from 2.400 gigahertz (GHz) through 2.4835 GHz ([0004, 9, 13]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement 2.4-2.4835 GHz, taught by Batra, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and compatibility. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Batra in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 7, 14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992), Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312) in view of Wong (US-20130257660).
As to claim 7, 14, 19: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1.
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the second frequency band comprises frequencies from 5.150 GHz through 5.825 GHz. However, Wong teaches wherein the second frequency band comprises frequencies from 5.150 GHz through 5.825 GHz ([0010]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement 5.15-5.825 GHz, taught by Wong, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and increase throughput and compatibility. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Wong in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 8, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Changlani (US-20220345992), Vellore (US-20230180105), Kang (US-20170347312) in view of Hareuveni (US-20220408374).
As to claim 8, 15, 20: Changlani teaches the wireless network access device of claim 1.
Changlani may not explicitly teach wherein the third frequency band comprises frequencies from 5.925 GHz through 7.125 GHz. However, Hareuveni teaches wherein the third frequency band comprises frequencies from 5.925 GHz through 7.125 GHz ([0002]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement 5.925-7.125 GHz, taught by Hareuveni, into the communication system, taught by Changlani, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and increased throughput and compatibility. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine Changlani and Hareuveni in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466