Election/Restrictions
In response to a restriction requirement dated May 11, 2026, the Applicants elected Group I of claims 1-7 and 15-20 without traverse in a reply filed on June 12, 2026. The non-elected claims 8-14 are withdrawn.
Pending elected claims 2-5, 7 and 16-20 of which claims 1, 6 and 15 is an independent claim, are examined on their merits, infra.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the claims for domestic priority under 35 U.S. C. 119 (e) to provisional patent application 62734389, which was filed September 21, 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statements filed have been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted September 26, 2024.
Drawings
The drawings filed September 26, 2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed September 26, 2024 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
7. Claims 1-7 and 15-20 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Use of the words “a strain gauge that is configured to,
in a claim, such as in claims 1, 6 and 15 with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern et al. (US 20170045961 A1) in view of Yoneoka (US 20160188013 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Stern et al. discloses a stylus (Stern, see Abstract, where Stern discloses a pressure sensitive stylus for operation with a digitizer sensor includes a housing, a writing tip that is movable in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip, an extremity that is movable together with the writing tip, a switch and an elastomer element positioned around the extremity and in physical contact with at least one of the housing or an element that is fixed to the housing. The switch includes a first element that is fixedly positioned around the extremity and a second element that is fixed to the housing, wherein physical contact between the first element and the second element closes the switch. The writing tip is operable to move in response to the elastomer element compressing against the housing or an element that is fixed to the housing and the switch is operative to toggle at a pre-defined compressed state of the elastomer element), comprising: a housing (Stern, see stylus 100 in figure 3A); a flexible member disposed within the housing (Stern, see 60 in figure 3A and paragraph [0069], where Stern discloses that protrusion 55 engages and compresses elastomer element 60), the flexible member including a portion that is not in direct contact with the housing (Stern, see 52 in figure 3A and paragraph [0069], where Stern discloses that during low contact pressure on tip 10, e.g. small displacements of tip 10, protrusion 55 engages and compresses elastomer element 60, while base 52 does not form direct contact with elastomer element 60); a touch sensor disposed within the housing (Stern, see paragraph [0111], where Stern discloses that circuitry is provided on one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs) 340 positioned in proximity to touch sensor 312); a gauge that is configured to detect movement of the flexible member (Stern, see paragraph [0058], where Stern discloses that the tip pressure detecting system includes an elastomer element that provides a counterbalancing pressure on the tip in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip. Typically, the sensitivity and/or the stiffness of the tip is defined by the properties of the elastomer element as well as an amount of contact area formed between the elastomer element and an interacting element that moves with the writing tip and presses against the elastomer and/or between the elastomer element and wall against which the elastomer is compressed); and a controller that uses one or more signals from the gauge or the touch sensor to determine inputs to the stylus (Stern, see paragraph [0059], where Stern discloses that an optical sensor for monitoring different pressures applied on the tip based on tip displacement).
Stern differs from the claimed subject matter in that Stern discloses a gauge (Stern, see paragraph [0058], where Stern discloses that the tip pressure detecting system includes an elastomer element that provides a counterbalancing pressure on the tip in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip. Typically, the sensitivity and/or the stiffness of the tip is defined by the properties of the elastomer element as well as an amount of contact area formed between the elastomer element and an interacting element that moves with the writing tip and presses against the elastomer and/or between the elastomer element and wall against which the elastomer is compressed), Stern does not explicitly disclose strain gauge.
However in an analogous art, Yoneoka discloses a strain gauge (Yoneoka, see paragraph [0036], where Yoneoka discloses that a strain gauge assembly 23 is shown surrounding hollow core portion 24. In one embodiment, strain gauge assembly 23 may have a diameter from about 5 mm to about 20 mm. An exterior surface 25 of strain gauge assembly 23 is affixed to the interior housing surface of stylus 14. Hollow core portion 24 allows electrical connections to be made from tip 16 to strain gauge assembly 23 and, in some embodiments, to a transmitter or other components of portable electronic device 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Stern with Yoneoka. One would be motivated to modify Stern by disclosing strain gauge as taught by Yoneoka thereby allowing for a number and variety of inputs that may be provided to an electronic device (Yoneoka, paragraph [0005]).
As to Claim 2:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 1, wherein: the strain gauge is operable to provide a force signal in response to a force applied to a portion of the housing (Yoneoka, see paragraph [0008], where Yoneoka discloses that a strain gauge in a stylus to sense force exerted by a user using a stylus in both axial and radial vectors); and the touch sensor is operable to provide a touch signal in response to a touch to the portion of the housing (Yoneoka, see paragraph [0007], where Yoneoka discloses that a stylus is disclosed which includes an apparatus and system for detecting the amount of force exerted by a user on a touch-sensitive surface or other surface and, in particular, with respect to a portable electronic device. The stylus may include a force sensor contained within or attached to the stylus which senses the force exerted by a user in three dimensions on a surface over which the stylus is moved. The sensor may be contained within the stylus or may otherwise be associated with the stylus).
As to Claim 3:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 1, wherein the touch sensor is operable to provide touch signals corresponding to a touch moving along the housing (Stern, see paragraph [0059], where Stern discloses that an optical sensor for monitoring different pressures applied on the tip based on tip displacement).
As to Claim 4:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 1, wherein the strain gauge is operable to provide force signals corresponding to forces applied to opposing sides of the housing (Yoneoka, see paragraph [0008], where Yoneoka discloses utilizing a strain gauge in a stylus to sense force exerted by a user using a stylus in both axial and radial vectors. By sensing the force vectors, the amount of force sensed by the touch-sensitive surface in a portable electronic device may be adjusted such that the quality of a line made by the user with the stylus may be adjusted to be uniform. That is, the force sensor may compensate for uneven force vectors so as to make the touch-sensitive surface sensors generate a uniform line image on the touch-sensitive surface).
As to Claim 5:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 1, wherein the touch sensor is a capacitance touch sensor (Stern, see paragraph [0073], where Stern discloses that tip pressure detecting system 100 includes one of a capacitive or resistive based sensor).
As to Claim 6:
Stern et al. discloses a stylus (Stern, see Abstract, where Stern discloses a pressure sensitive stylus for operation with a digitizer sensor includes a housing, a writing tip that is movable in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip, an extremity that is movable together with the writing tip, a switch and an elastomer element positioned around the extremity and in physical contact with at least one of the housing or an element that is fixed to the housing. The switch includes a first element that is fixedly positioned around the extremity and a second element that is fixed to the housing, wherein physical contact between the first element and the second element closes the switch. The writing tip is operable to move in response to the elastomer element compressing against the housing or an element that is fixed to the housing and the switch is operative to toggle at a pre-defined compressed state of the elastomer element), comprising: a housing (Stern, see stylus 100 in figure 3A); a flexible member disposed within the housing (Stern, see 60 in figure 3A and paragraph [0069], where Stern discloses that protrusion 55 engages and compresses elastomer element 60); a touch sensor disposed within the housing (Stern, see paragraph [0111], where Stern discloses that circuitry is provided on one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs) 340 positioned in proximity to touch sensor 312); a gauge that is configured to detect movement of the flexible member (Stern, see paragraph [0058], where Stern discloses that the tip pressure detecting system includes an elastomer element that provides a counterbalancing pressure on the tip in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip. Typically, the sensitivity and/or the stiffness of the tip is defined by the properties of the elastomer element as well as an amount of contact area formed between the elastomer element and an interacting element that moves with the writing tip and presses against the elastomer and/or between the elastomer element and wall against which the elastomer is compressed); and a controller that uses one or more signals from the gauge or the touch sensor to determine inputs to the stylus (Stern, see paragraph [0059], where Stern discloses that an optical sensor for monitoring different pressures applied on the tip based on tip displacement) wherein the gauge (Stern, see 28 and 29 in figure 8A) is coupled to a support (Stern, see paragraph [0102], where Stern discloses that reference is now made to FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C showing simplified schematic drawings of a movable tip system and optical sensor for reporting a switch in an operational state of a stylus in accordance with some embodiments of the present invention. According to some embodiments of the present invention, displacement of a stylus tip 10 is detected with an optical sensor 210 that typically includes an emitter 29 emitting an optical signal, e.g. light rays 27 across an area 22, and a detector 28 that detects the optical signal emitted from the emitter 29 across area 22 (FIG. SA). A measuring rod 240 of a tip holder 11 includes an aperture 245 through which the optical signal from emitter 29 can be received by the detector 28 of sensor 240). that extends through a central axis of the housing (Stern, see 29, 28 and 240 in figures 8A through 8C).
Stern differs from the claimed subject matter in that Stern discloses a gauge (Stern, see paragraph [0058], where Stern discloses that the tip pressure detecting system includes an elastomer element that provides a counterbalancing pressure on the tip in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip. Typically, the sensitivity and/or the stiffness of the tip is defined by the properties of the elastomer element as well as an amount of contact area formed between the elastomer element and an interacting element that moves with the writing tip and presses against the elastomer and/or between the elastomer element and wall against which the elastomer is compressed), Stern does not explicitly disclose strain gauge.
However in an analogous art, Yoneoka discloses a strain gauge (Yoneoka, see paragraph [0036], where Yoneoka discloses that a strain gauge assembly 23 is shown surrounding hollow core portion 24. In one embodiment, strain gauge assembly 23 may have a diameter from about 5 mm to about 20 mm. An exterior surface 25 of strain gauge assembly 23 is affixed to the interior housing surface of stylus 14. Hollow core portion 24 allows electrical connections to be made from tip 16 to strain gauge assembly 23 and, in some embodiments, to a transmitter or other components of portable electronic device 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Stern with Yoneoka. One would be motivated to modify Stern by disclosing strain gauge as taught by Yoneoka thereby allowing for a number and variety of inputs that may be provided to an electronic device (Yoneoka, paragraph [0005]).
As to Claim 7:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 6, wherein the flexible member comprises metal (Stern, see 656 in figure 12 and paragraph [0124], where Stern discloses that protruding elements 656 provide for separating conductive ring 260 from plate 270 during a hover operational mode of stylus 410 (FIG. llA).According to some embodiments of the present invention, during a touch operational mode, protruding elements 656 collapse and/or compress against plate 270 in response to movement of tip holder 11 and conductive ring 260 comes into contact with conductive elements 275 and shorts terminals 279 (FIG. llB). According to some embodiments of the present invention, protruding elements 656 provides a defined resilient force that prevents movement of tip holder 11 while stylus 420 is held upside down and releases contact between ring 260 and plate 270 when pressure on tip 10 is released. Typically, openings 262 are defined to be larger in diameter than protruding elements 656 to accommodate for deformation of protruding elements 656 during compression).
As to Claim 15:
Stern et al. discloses a stylus (Stern, see Abstract, where Stern discloses a pressure sensitive stylus for operation with a digitizer sensor includes a housing, a writing tip that is movable in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip, an extremity that is movable together with the writing tip, a switch and an elastomer element positioned around the extremity and in physical contact with at least one of the housing or an element that is fixed to the housing. The switch includes a first element that is fixedly positioned around the extremity and a second element that is fixed to the housing, wherein physical contact between the first element and the second element closes the switch. The writing tip is operable to move in response to the elastomer element compressing against the housing or an element that is fixed to the housing and the switch is operative to toggle at a pre-defined compressed state of the elastomer element), comprising: a housing (Stern, see stylus 100 in figure 3A); a touch sensor coupled to the housing (Stern, see paragraph [0111], where Stern discloses that circuitry is provided on one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs) 340 positioned in proximity to touch sensor 312); a gauge coupled to the touch sensor (Stern, see paragraph [0058], where Stern discloses that the tip pressure detecting system includes an elastomer element that provides a counterbalancing pressure on the tip in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip. Typically, the sensitivity and/or the stiffness of the tip is defined by the properties of the elastomer element as well as an amount of contact area formed between the elastomer element and an interacting element that moves with the writing tip and presses against the elastomer and/or between the elastomer element and wall against which the elastomer is compressed); and a controller that determines one or more inputs using the gauge or the touch sensor wherein the gauge is configured to detect a force applied to the housing through the touch sensor (Stern, see paragraph [0059], where Stern discloses that an optical sensor for monitoring different pressures applied on the tip based on tip displacement).
Stern differs from the claimed subject matter in that Stern discloses a gauge (Stern, see paragraph [0058], where Stern discloses that the tip pressure detecting system includes an elastomer element that provides a counterbalancing pressure on the tip in response to contact pressure applied on the writing tip. Typically, the sensitivity and/or the stiffness of the tip is defined by the properties of the elastomer element as well as an amount of contact area formed between the elastomer element and an interacting element that moves with the writing tip and presses against the elastomer and/or between the elastomer element and wall against which the elastomer is compressed), Stern does not explicitly disclose strain gauge.
However in an analogous art, Yoneoka discloses a strain gauge (Yoneoka, see paragraph [0036], where Yoneoka discloses that a strain gauge assembly 23 is shown surrounding hollow core portion 24. In one embodiment, strain gauge assembly 23 may have a diameter from about 5 mm to about 20 mm. An exterior surface 25 of strain gauge assembly 23 is affixed to the interior housing surface of stylus 14. Hollow core portion 24 allows electrical connections to be made from tip 16 to strain gauge assembly 23 and, in some embodiments, to a transmitter or other components of portable electronic device 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Stern with Yoneoka. One would be motivated to modify Stern by disclosing strain gauge as taught by Yoneoka thereby allowing for a number and variety of inputs that may be provided to an electronic device (Yoneoka, paragraph [0005]).
As to Claim 16:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 15, wherein the strain gauge is laminated to the touch sensor (Yoneoka, see 26 in figures 8 and 9 and paragraph [0044], where Yoneoka discloses that a capacitive strain gauge could be used with top membrane 26 and bottom membrane 27 separated by resilient members such as springs or a gel material. The distance 28 between membranes 26 and 27 is known and any change in that distance can be measured by a change in capacitance measured between membranes 26 and 27).
As to Claim 17:
Stern in view of Yoneoka discloses that the stylus of claim 15, wherein the touch sensor is coupled to the housing via a mounting member (Yoneoka, see 26 in figures 8 and 9 and paragraph [0044], where Yoneoka discloses that a capacitive strain gauge could be used with top membrane 26 and bottom membrane 27 separated by resilient members such as springs or a gel material. The distance 28 between membranes 26 and 27 is known and any change in that distance can be measured by a change in capacitance measured between membranes 26 and 27).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern et al. (US 20170045961 A1) in view of Yoneoka et al. (US 20160188013 A1) in further view of Bernstein et al. (US 20160364027 Al)
As to Claim 18:
Stern in view of Yoneoka differ from the claimed subject matter in that Stern in view of Yoneoka does not explicitly disclose that the stylus of claim 15, wherein the strain gauge comprises piezoresistive material. However in an analogous art, Bernstein discloses wherein the strain gauge comprises piezoresistive material (Bernstein, see figure 4 and paragraph [0220], where Bernstein discloses stylus 203 optionally also includes one or more contact intensity sensors 465 . FIG. 4 shows a contact intensity sensor coupled with intensity sensor controller 459 in I/O subsystem 406. Contact intensity sensor(s) 465 optionally include one or more piezoresistive strain gauges, capacitive force sensors, electric force sensors, piezoelectric force sensors, optical force sensors, capacitive touch-sensitive surfaces, or other intensity sensors (e.g., sensors used to measure the force (or pressure) of a contact on a surface). Contact intensity sensor(s) 465 receive contact intensity information (e.g., pressure information or a proxy for pressure information) from the environment. In some embodiments, at least one contact intensity sensor is collocated with, or proximate to, a tip of stylus 203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Stern and Yoneoka with Bernstein. One would be motivated to modify Stern and Yoneoka by disclosing wherein the strain gauge comprises piezoresistive material as taught by Bernstein thereby allowing for an improved manner for a user interface to be manipulated with stylus inputs (Bernstein, paragraph [0004]).
As to Claim 19:
Stern in view of Yoneoka differ from the claimed subject matter in that Stern in view of Yoneoka does not explicitly disclose that the stylus of claim 15, wherein the touch sensor and the strain gauge are components of a same module. However in an analogous art, Bernstein discloses wherein the touch sensor and the strain gauge are components of a same module (Bernstein, see figure 4 and paragraph [0220], where Bernstein discloses stylus 203 optionally also includes one or more contact intensity sensors 465 . FIG. 4 shows a contact intensity sensor coupled with intensity sensor controller 459 in I/O subsystem 406. Contact intensity sensor(s) 465 optionally include one or more piezoresistive strain gauges, capacitive force sensors, electric force sensors, piezoelectric force sensors, optical force sensors, capacitive touch-sensitive surfaces, or other intensity sensors (e.g., sensors used to measure the force (or pressure) of a contact on a surface). Contact intensity sensor(s) 465 receive contact intensity information (e.g., pressure information or a proxy for pressure information) from the environment. In some embodiments, at least one contact intensity sensor is collocated with, or proximate to, a tip of stylus 203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Stern and Yoneoka with Bernstein. One would be motivated to modify Stern and Yoneoka by disclosing wherein the touch sensor and the strain gauge are components of a same module as taught by Bernstein thereby allowing for an improved manner for a user interface to be manipulated with stylus inputs (Bernstein, paragraph [0004]).
As to Claim 20:
Stern in view of Yoneoka in further view of Bernstein disclose that the stylus of claim 19, wherein the touch sensor and the strain gauge are positioned on opposing sides of the same module (Bernstein, see figure 4 and paragraph [0220], where Bernstein discloses stylus 203 optionally also includes one or more contact intensity sensors 465 . FIG. 4 shows a contact intensity sensor coupled with intensity sensor controller 459 in I/O subsystem 406. Contact intensity sensor(s) 465 optionally include one or more piezoresistive strain gauges, capacitive force sensors, electric force sensors, piezoelectric force sensors, optical force sensors, capacitive touch-sensitive surfaces, or other intensity sensors (e.g., sensors used to measure the force (or pressure) of a contact on a surface). Contact intensity sensor(s) 465 receive contact intensity information (e.g., pressure information or a proxy for pressure information) from the environment. In some embodiments, at least one contact intensity sensor is collocated with, or proximate to, a tip of stylus 203. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange parts on opposing sides of the same module, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Perez (US 10379670 B1) discloses increasing low-force accuracy at a device, such as a pen or a stylus which are used for communicating with a digitizer. An example method describes detecting an amount of force at the tip of the device and generating a voltage associated with the amount of force. The example method further includes logarithmically sampling the voltage to produce a digital value associated with the amount of force and determining whether the device is operating in an inking state based on the digital value.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624