DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 18/898,434 filed on September 26th, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and herein considered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,028.
Instant Application 18/898,434
U.S. Patent No. 12,125,028
Claim 1:
A system for configuring access tokens with Uniform Resource Locator (URL) parameters to authorize web-browser-initiated network operations, the system comprising:
one or more memory devices storing instructions; and
one or more processors executing computer program instructions that, when executed, cause operations comprising:
detecting, based on a monitoring of web browsing interactions, a user input associated with a first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website;
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token at a web browsing application, based on user account information associated with a user, wherein the access token is associated with (i) an authentication credential and (ii) one or more network operation parameters;
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters related to the request to access the resources associated with the first website;
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first URL domain network operation parameter associated with the first website, wherein subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first URL domain network operation parameter;
receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website, the second network operation parameters comprising a respective second network operation parameter that does not correspond to the first URL domain network operation parameter; and
in response to the respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters not corresponding to the first URL domain network operation parameter, denying the second authorization request.
Claim 3:
A method comprising:
generating an access token based on user specific information associated with a user to access one or more resources, wherein the access token is associated with one or more network operation parameters;
receiving an authorization request to authorize a first network operation associated with accessing resources associated with a first website, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters, the first network operation being successfully authorized based on the authorization request;
in response to the successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first identifier parameter associated with the first website;
receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website, the second network operation parameters comprising a respective second network operation parameter that corresponds to the first identifier parameter; and
in response to the respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters corresponding to the first identifier parameter, approving the second authorization request.
Claim 12:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising:
generating an access token associated with (i) one or more token parameters and (ii) user specific information associated with a user;
receiving an authorization request to authorize a first network operation associated with a first website, wherein the authorization request comprises the access token; and
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first identifier associated with the first website, wherein, in connection with the binding, subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first identifier.
Claim 1:
A system for configuring access tokens with Uniform Resource Locator (URL) parameters to authorize web-browser-initiated network operations, the system comprising:
one or more memory devices storing instructions; and
one or more processors executing computer program instructions that, when executed, cause operations comprising:
monitoring web browsing interactions with a web browsing application on a user device associated with a user accessing a first website;
detecting, based on the monitoring of the web browsing interactions, a user input at a data exchange gateway associated with the first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website;
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token at the web browsing application, based on user account information associated with the user, wherein the access token is associated with (i) an authentication credential and (ii) one or more network operation parameters;
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters related to the request to access the resources associated with the first website;
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first URL domain network operation parameter associated with the first website, wherein subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first URL domain network operation parameter;
receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website, the second network operation parameters comprising a respective second network operation parameter that does not match the first URL domain network operation parameter; and
in response to a lack of a match between the respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters and the first URL domain network operation parameter, denying the second authorization request, wherein the respective second network operation parameter lacks the match to the first URL domain network operation parameter.
Claim 3:
A method comprising:
detecting a user input from a user at a data exchange gateway associated with a first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website;
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token based on user specific information associated with the user, wherein the access token is associated with one or more network operation parameters;
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters, the first network operation being successfully authorized based on the authorization request;
in response to the successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first URL identifier parameter associated with the first website;
receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website, the second network operation parameters comprising a respective second network operation parameter that matches the first URL identifier parameter; and
in response to a matching between the respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters and the first URL identifier parameter, approving the second authorization request, wherein the respective second network operation parameter matches the first URL identifier parameter.
Claim 12:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising:
detecting a user input from a user at a first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website;
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token, wherein the access token is associated with one or more token parameters, wherein generating the access token further comprises receiving the user input from the user, wherein the user input indicates an intent to generate the access token, comparing a first identifier associated with the first website to a set of predetermined identifiers, and generating the access token in response to the first identifier failing to match at least one of the predetermined identifiers of the set of predetermined identifiers;
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises the access token; and
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first website identifier associated with the first website, wherein, in connection with the binding, subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first website identifier.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,757,896.
Instant Application 18/898,434
U.S. Patent No. 11,757,896
Claim 1:
A system for configuring access tokens with Uniform Resource Locator (URL) parameters to authorize web-browser-initiated network operations, the system comprising:
one or more memory devices storing instructions; and
one or more processors executing computer program instructions that, when executed, cause operations comprising:
detecting, based on a monitoring of web browsing interactions, a user input associated with a first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website;
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token at a web browsing application, based on user account information associated with a user, wherein the access token is associated with (i) an authentication credential and (ii) one or more network operation parameters;
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters related to the request to access the resources associated with the first website;
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first URL domain network operation parameter associated with the first website, wherein subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first URL domain network operation parameter;
receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website, the second network operation parameters comprising a respective second network operation parameter that does not correspond to the first URL domain network operation parameter; and
in response to the respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters not corresponding to the first URL domain network operation parameter, denying the second authorization request.
Claim 1:
A system for configuring access tokens with Uniform Resource Locator (URL) parameters to authorize web-browser-initiated network operations, the system comprising:
one or more memory devices storing instructions; and
one or more processors executing computer program instructions that, when executed, cause operations comprising: monitoring web browsing interactions with a web browsing application on a user device associated with a user accessing a first website;
detecting, based on the monitoring of the web browsing interactions, a user input at a data exchange gateway associated with the first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website;
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token at the web browsing application, based on user account information associated with the user, wherein the access token is associated with (i) an authentication credential and (ii) one or more network operation parameters;
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters related to the request to access the resources associated with the first website;
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request, binding the access token to a first URL domain network operation parameter associated with the first website, wherein subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first URL domain network operation parameter;
detecting, based on the monitoring, a second user input at a second data exchange gateway associated with a second website to perform a second network operation, wherein the second network operation is associated with a request to access second resources associated with the second website;
receiving a second authorization request to authorize the second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to the request to access the second resources associated with the second website;
comparing the second network operation parameters associated with the second network operation to the first URL domain network operation parameter associated with the access token; and
in response to the comparison failing to indicate a match between a respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters with the first URL domain network operation parameter, invalidating the authorization request.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Helander et al. (Helander), U.S. Pub. Number 2011/0154130.
Regarding claim 12; Helander discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause operations comprising:
generating an access token associated with (i) one or more token parameters and (ii) user specific information associated with a user (pars. 0056 & 0062; figs. 5 & 6; the control logic 205 can be a means to generate a token based on the secure user identifier and a random element (e.g., a time stamp); the service API 113 generates a token to associate the developer key, user information, and/or initiated session; the token includes random element (e.g., based on a time stamp or other selected information) to facilitate generation of unique tokens.);
receiving an authorization request to authorize a first network operation associated with a first website, wherein the authorization request comprises the access token (pars. 0059 & 0062; fig. 6; the service portal 201 provides the authentication information to an account manager 203 that has access to a database including the authentication credentials for the user, other user information, and what services the user has access to; the web browser 109 receives an instruction to create another iframe to the callback resource identifier with the token included.); and
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request (par. 0059; fig. 6; based on the authentication credentials, the account manager 203 generates a secure user identifier (e.g., a hash of the user authentication information and a key (e.g., based on a time stamp).), binding the access token to a first identifier associated with the first website, wherein, in connection with the binding, subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first identifier (par. 0060; fig. 6; the web browser 109 initiates the creation of an inline iframe using a developer key, then sets up XSS; the XSS in the browser 109 for API use may be the inline frame associated with the domain of the service API 113; the web browser sends a request to initiate, with the developer key, a communication channel with the service API 113; the request may be a web URL executed by the web browser in the iframe, the web URL including the developer key.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Helander et al. (Helander), U.S. Pub. Number 2011/0154130, in view of Effing, U.S. Pub. Number US 2021/0352072.
Regarding claim 1; Helander discloses a system (par. 0065; fig. 7; a computer system 700.) for configuring access tokens with Uniform Resource Locator (URL) parameters to authorize web-browser-initiated network operations, the system comprising:
one or more memory devices storing instructions (par. 0068; fig. 7; a memory 704.); and
one or more processors (par. 0066; fig. 7; one or more processors 702.) executing computer program instructions (par. 0067; fig. 7; the computer program code is a set of instructions or statements providing instructions.) that, when executed, cause operations comprising:
detecting, based on a monitoring of web browsing interactions, a user input associated with a first website to perform a first network operation, wherein the first network operation is associated with a request to access resources associated with the first website (pars. 0026 & 0059; fig. 6; the web browser utilizes to receive input via the UE 101; the web browser 109 provides authentication information to the service portal 201 associated with the user; the authentication information includes a user name and password the user has with the web services platform 111.);
in response to the detected user input, generating an access token at a web browsing application, based on user account information associated with a user, wherein the access token is associated with (i) an authentication credential and (ii) one or more network operation parameters (pars. 0056 & 0062; figs. 5 & 6; the control logic 205 can be a means to generate a token based on the secure user identifier and a random element (e.g., a time stamp); the service API 113 generates a token to associate the developer key, user information, and/or initiated session; the token includes random element (e.g., based on a time stamp or other selected information) to facilitate generation of unique tokens.);
receiving an authorization request to authorize the first network operation, wherein the authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) first network operation parameters related to the request to access the resources associated with the first website (pars. 0059 & 0062; fig. 6; the service portal 201 provides the authentication information to an account manager 203 that has access to a database including the authentication credentials for the user, other user information, and what services the user has access to; the web browser 109 receives an instruction to create another iframe to the callback resource identifier with the token included.);
in response to a successful authorization of the first network operation based on the authorization request (par. 0059; fig. 6; based on the authentication credentials, the account manager 203 generates a secure user identifier (e.g., a hash of the user authentication information and a key (e.g., based on a time stamp).), binding the access token to a first URL domain network operation parameter associated with the first website (par. 0060; fig. 6; the web browser 109 initiates the creation of an inline iframe using a developer key, then sets up XSS; the XSS in the browser 109 for API use may be the inline frame associated with the domain of the service API 113; the web browser sends a request to initiate, with the developer key, a communication channel with the service API 113; the request may be a web URL executed by the web browser in the iframe, the web URL including the developer key.), wherein subsequent use of the access token is restricted to websites associated with the first URL domain network operation parameter (par. 0062; fig. 6; the resource identifier include a [root domain], a bridge, and fragment data to provide the communication information; for instance, the resource identifier may be [root domain]/bridge/#{JSONDATA}; the JSONDATA includes the service data, the token, and other content that may be transferred from the domain of the service API 113 to the domain of the web page (the first domain); the JSONDATA may be split into smaller fragments and sent in multiple data transfers; this can be useful in data transfers because web browsers may have restrictions to the length of URLs.);
the second network operation parameters comprising a respective second network operation parameter that does not correspond to the first URL domain network operation parameter; and in response to the respective second network operation parameter of the second network operation parameters not corresponding to the first URL domain network operation parameter, denying the second authorization request (par. 0049; fig. 4; the received service data including an authentication token generated by the web services platform 111.).
Helander fails to explicitly disclose receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Effing discloses web access control method comprising receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website (Effing: pars. 0056 & 0059; the subsequent browser ID access can be checked against this timestamp and rejected if expired; QR-reader apps send an HTTP request and open a separate browser when scanning a web URL; as the first request already registers a browser ID using the QR-reader app identification, the subsequent browser request might be unduly rejected.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Effing into the method and apparatus of Helander comprising receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) second network operation parameters related to second resources associated with a second website to ensure that the content is accessed by the allowed number of users without requiring the introduction and sharing of passwords, nor the supervision of an administrator of the web (Effing: par. 0001).
Regarding claim 2; Helander and Effing disclose the system of claim 1, Helander further discloses the operations comprising: receiving a third authorization request to authorize a third network operation, wherein the third authorization request comprises (i) the access token and (ii) third network operation parameters related to third resources associated with a third website; and in response to a respective third network operation parameter of the third network operation parameters corresponding to the first URL domain network operation parameter, approving the third authorization request (Helander: pars. 0059 & 0062; fig. 6; the service portal 201 provides the authentication information to an account manager 203 that has access to a database including the authentication credentials for the user, other user information, and what services the user has access to; the web browser 109 receives an instruction to create another iframe to the callback resource identifier with the token included.).
Regarding claim 3; Claim 3 is directed to a method which has similar scope as claim 1. Therefore, claim 3 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4; Claim 4 is directed to the method of claim 3 which has similar scope as claim 2. Therefore, claim 4 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 4, wherein Helander further discloses the denying of the third authorization request prevents access to the third resources associated with the third website (Helander: par. 0044; the [hacker root] website is unable to access the authentication key and utilize more services from the web services platform 111.).
Regarding claim 6; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Helander further discloses generating the access token further comprises: receiving a user input from the user, wherein the user input indicates an intent to generate the access token; comparing a first website identifier associated with the first website to a set of predetermined website identifiers, the comparison indicating that the first website identifier fails to match at least one of the predetermined website identifiers of the set of predetermined website identifiers; and generating the access token in response to the first website identifier failing to match the at least one of the predetermined website identifiers of the set of predetermined website identifiers (Helander: pars. 0026 & 0059; fig. 6; the web browser utilizes to receive input via the UE 101; the web browser 109 provides authentication information to the service portal 201 associated with the user; the authentication information includes a user name and password the user has with the web services platform 111.).
Regarding claim 7; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 3, Helander further discloses comprising: receiving a user input from the user, wherein the user input indicates an intent to use a previously generated token; determining that a first website identifier associated with the first website matches at least one network operation parameter of a previously generated access token; and in response to the first website identifier matching the at least one network operation parameter of the previously generated access token, using the previously generated access token to authorize the first network operation (Helander: pars. 0056 & 0062; figs. 5 & 6; the control logic 205 can be a means to generate a token based on the secure user identifier and a random element (e.g., a time stamp); the service API 113 generates a token to associate the developer key, user information, and/or initiated session; the token includes random element (e.g., based on a time stamp or other selected information) to facilitate generation of unique tokens.).
Regarding claim 8; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 3, Helander further discloses comprising: subsequent to the access token being bound to the first identifier parameter, storing the access token bound to the first identifier parameter in a database (Helander: par. 0046; the sign-on information is stored in memory associated with the web browser.).
Regarding claim 9; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Effing further discloses the binding restricts subsequent use of the access token to websites associated with the first identifier parameter (Effing: par. 0058; a failure per IP address rate limiter, to protect against brute force attacks.).
Regarding claim 10; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Effing further discloses the first identifier is a URL identifier (Effing: par. 0058; a failure per IP address rate limiter, to protect against brute force attacks.).
Regarding claim 11; Helander and Effing disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Helander further discloses the first identifier is a merchant identifier (Helander: par. 0031; a user identifier.).
Regarding claim 13; Helander discloses media of claim 12.
Helander fails to explicitly disclose receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises the access token; and in response to a second network operation parameter associated with the second network operation failing to correspond to the first identifier associated with the access token, denying the second authorization request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Effing discloses web access control method comprising receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises the access token; and in response to a second network operation parameter associated with the second network operation failing to correspond to the first identifier associated with the access token, denying the second authorization request (Effing: pars. 0056 & 0059; the subsequent browser ID access can be checked against this timestamp and rejected if expired; QR-reader apps send an HTTP request and open a separate browser when scanning a web URL; as the first request already registers a browser ID using the QR-reader app identification, the subsequent browser request might be unduly rejected.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Effing into the method and apparatus of Helander comprising receiving a second authorization request to authorize a second network operation, wherein the second authorization request comprises the access token; and in response to a second network operation parameter associated with the second network operation failing to correspond to the first identifier associated with the access token, denying the second authorization request to ensure that the content is accessed by the allowed number of users without requiring the introduction and sharing of passwords, nor the supervision of an administrator of the web (Effing: par. 0001).
Regarding claim 14; Claim 14 is directed to the media of claim 13 which has similar scope as claim 5. Therefore, claim 14 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15; Claim 15 is directed to the media of claim 13 which has similar scope as claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16; Claim 16 is directed to the media of claim 15 which has similar scope as claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17; Claim 17 is directed to the media of claim 12 which has similar scope as claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18; Claim 18 is directed to the media of claim 12 which has similar scope as claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19; Claim 19 is directed to the media of claim 12 which has similar scope as claim 9. Therefore, claim 19 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20; Claim 20 is directed to the media of claim 12 which has similar scope as claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 remains un-patentable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/KHOI V LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436