DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the empty boxes (e.g. 101-105/105A, 106-108, 109-111, 130, 131, 134, 136, 137 and 139-141) in figures 1-4 should contain symbols or text indicating their functionality. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11, line 12 recites “a first switching converter”, which should be --the first switching converter -- because this term was previously presented in the claim; Claim 11, line 13 recites “a second switching converter”, which should be --the second switching converter -- because this term was previously presented in the claim; Claim 11, line 20 recites “a second power supply mode“, which should be --the second power supply mode -- because this term was previously presented in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (US 2021/0223838), hereinafter Yeh.
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) a multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800), comprising: a first switching converter (figure 8, part 231) configured to receive an input voltage (figure 8, part input voltage at PI from 102), to convert the input voltage (figure 8, part input voltage at PI from 102) to a first output voltage (figure 8, part first output voltage at PO1), and to provide the first output voltage (figure 8, part first output voltage at PO1) to a first output terminal and a second output terminal (figure 8, part upper and lower output terminals from 231); a second switching converter (figure 8, part 232) configured to receive the input voltage (figure 8, part input voltage at PI from 102), to convert the input voltage (figure 8, part input voltage at PI from 102) to a second output voltage (figure 8, part second output voltage at PO2), and to provide the second output voltage (figure 8, part second output voltage at PO2) to a third output terminal and a fourth output terminal (figure 8, part upper and lower output terminals from 232), wherein the second output terminal (figure 8, part lower output terminal from 231) is coupled to the fourth output terminal (figure 8, part lower output terminal from 232; through ground) (paragraphs [0027]-[0031]; multi-port power delivery systems capable of delivering power supplied by multiple power supply units (PSUs) to one of multiple ports thereof); a first port (figure 8, part C1) having a first bus terminal (figure 8, part upper bus terminal of C1) for receiving a first voltage (figure 8, part first voltage at C1 from P1) and a first ground terminal (figure 8, part lower ground terminal of C1) coupled to the second output terminal (figure 8, part lower output terminal from 231; through ground); a second port (figure 8, part C2) having a second bus terminal (figure 8, part lower bus terminal of C2) for receiving a second voltage (figure 8, part second voltage at C2 from P2) and a second ground terminal (figure 8, part upper ground terminal of C2) coupled to the fourth output terminal (figure 8, part lower output terminal from 232; through ground) (paragraph [0029]; The multi-port power delivery system 100 may include a plurality of USB ports C1 and C2, a plurality of power supply units (PSUs) 111 and 112, a switch circuit 120 and a power delivery control circuit 130. The USB port C1 is configured to output power delivered through a power path P1, and the USB port C2 is configured to output power delivered through a power path P2 different from the power path P1. Each of the USB ports C1 and C2 can be referred to as a USB connector. In the present embodiment, each of the USB ports C1 and C2 can be implemented as a USB-C port or a USB-C connector); and an integrated control circuit (figure 8, part integrated control circuit generated by 253/254, 271/272 and 241/242) comprising: a first pin (figure 8, part first pin at 253 connected to FB1) configured to receive a first feedback signal (figure 8, part FB1) representing the first output voltage (figure 8, part first output voltage at PO1); a second pin (figure 8, part second pin at 254 connected to FB2) configured to receive a second feedback signal (figure 8, part FB2) representing the second output voltage (figure 8, part second output voltage at PO2); a third pin (figure 8, part third pin at 253/254 connected to 233/234) configured to receive a mode signal (figure 8, part mode signal generated by 233/234), wherein the mode signal (figure 8, part mode signal generated by 233/234) is configured to control the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) to operate in a first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device) or a second power supply mode (figure 8, part second power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is attached to an electronic device) (paragraphs [0033]-[0046]; The power delivery control circuit 130 can detect the USB port C1 and the USB port C2 to obtain the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2, respectively. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that two electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 1) are attached to the USB ports C1 and C2, respectively, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to uncouple the output terminal TO1 from the output terminal TO2. As a result, when the switch SW1 is switched on, the power output PO1 supplied by the PSU 111 can be delivered to the USB port C1 through the power path P1 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C1. When the switch SW2 is switched on, the power output PO2 supplied by the PSU 112 can delivered to the USB port C2 through the power path P2 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C2. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that only one of the USB ports C1 and C2 is attached to an electronic device, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to couple the output terminal TO1 to the output terminal TO2 and operations of the PSU 111 and the PSU 112 may further be synchronized. As a result, each of the power outputs PO1 and PO2 can be delivered to the same power path coupled to the one of the USB ports C1 and C2) and a switching control circuit (figure 8, part switching control circuit generated by 253/254 and 241/242) configured to control the first switching converter (figure 8, part 231) and the second switching converter (figure 8, part 232), wherein when the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) operates in the first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device), the first output terminal (figure 8, part upper output terminal from 231) and the third output terminal (figure 8, part upper output terminals from 232) are both coupled (figure 8, part through turn-on connection of 120) to the first bus terminal (figure 8, part upper bus terminal of C1) (paragraph [0035]; when the switch circuit 120 is configured to couple the output terminal TO1 to the output terminal TO2 according to the switch control signal CS0, one of the USB port C1 and the USB port C2 is coupled to each of the output terminal TO1 and the output terminal TO2, and the other of the USB port C1 and the USB port C2 is uncoupled from each of the output terminal TO1 and the output terminal TO2), the switching control circuit (figure 8, part switching control circuit generated by 253/254 and 241/242) is configured to control the first switching converter (figure 8, part 231) and the second switching converter (figure 8, part 232) to operate interleaved with each other based on the first feedback signal (figure 8, part FB1) (paragraph [0046]; When the switch circuit 120 is switched on to couple the output terminal TO1 to the output terminal TO2, the PSU 211 and the PSU 212 can be synchronized by the power delivery control circuit 130… the power conversion unit 231 can send a control signal CC1 to the power conversion unit 232, such that the power conversion unit 232 can be synchronized with the power conversion unit 231. Each of the power conversion unit 231 and the power conversion unit 232 can use the control signal CC1 to adjust a corresponding power output, i.e. the power output PO1 or the power output PO2. The PSU 211 and the PSU 212 can be synchronized accordingly); when the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) operates in the second power supply mode (figure 8, part second power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is attached to an electronic device), the first output terminal (figure 8, part upper output terminal from 231) is coupled to the first bus terminal (figure 8, part upper bus terminal of C1; through P1), the third output terminal (figure 8, part upper output terminals from 232) is coupled to the second bus terminal (figure 8, part lower bus terminal of C2; through P2), the switching control circuit (figure 8, part switching control circuit generated by 253/254 and 241/242) is configured to control the first switching converter (figure 8, part 231) to provide the first voltage (figure 8, part first voltage at C1 from P1) based on the first feedback signal (figure 8, part FB1), and the switching control circuit (figure 8, part switching control circuit generated by 253/254 and 241/242) is further configured to control the second switching converter (figure 8, part 232) to provide the second voltage (figure 8, part second voltage at C2 from P2) based on the second feedback signal (figure 8, part FB2) (paragraphs [0036]-[0048]; When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that two electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 1) are attached to the USB ports C1 and C2, respectively, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to uncouple the output terminal TO1 from the output terminal TO2. As a result, when the switch SW1 is switched on, the power output PO1 supplied by the PSU 111 can be delivered to the USB port C1 through the power path P1 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C1. When the switch SW2 is switched on, the power output PO2 supplied by the PSU 112 can delivered to the USB port C2 through the power path P2 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C2… When the switch circuit 120 is configured to uncouple the output terminal TO1 from the output terminal TO2 according to the switch control signal CS0, the power conversion unit 231 will not send the control signal CC1 to the power conversion unit 232, and the power conversion unit 232 will not send the control signal CC2 to the power conversion unit 231, either. As a result, the PSUs 211 and 212 can operate independently).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) when the first port (figure 8, part C1; coupled) is coupled to a first electronic device (figure 8, part first electronic device connected to C1), while the second port is floating (figure 8, part C2; floating), the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) is controlled to operate in the first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device); and wherein when the first port is coupled (figure 8, part C1; coupled) to the first electronic device (figure 8, part first electronic device connected to C1) and the second port is coupled (figure 8, part C2; coupled) to a second electronic device (figure 8, part second electronic device connected to C2), the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) is controlled to operate in the second power supply mode (figure 8, part second power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is attached to an electronic device) (paragraphs [0033]-[0046]; The power delivery control circuit 130 can detect the USB port C1 and the USB port C2 to obtain the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2, respectively. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that two electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 1) are attached to the USB ports C1 and C2, respectively, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to uncouple the output terminal TO1 from the output terminal TO2. As a result, when the switch SW1 is switched on, the power output PO1 supplied by the PSU 111 can be delivered to the USB port C1 through the power path P1 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C1. When the switch SW2 is switched on, the power output PO2 supplied by the PSU 112 can delivered to the USB port C2 through the power path P2 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C2. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that only one of the USB ports C1 and C2 is attached to an electronic device, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to couple the output terminal TO1 to the output terminal TO2 and operations of the PSU 111 and the PSU 112 may further be synchronized. As a result, each of the power outputs PO1 and PO2 can be delivered to the same power path coupled to the one of the USB ports C1 and C2).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) a power delivery controller converter (figure 8, part 130) having a first terminal (figure 8, part right terminal of 130 connected to C1) and a second terminal (figure 8, part right terminal of 130 connected to C2), wherein the first terminal of the power delivery controller (figure 8, part right terminal of 130 connected to C1) is coupled to the first port (figure 8, part C1) and the second terminal of the power delivery controller (figure 8, part right terminal of 130 connected to C2) is coupled to the second port (figure 8, part C2), and wherein the power delivery controller (figure 8, part 130) is configured to detect whether the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) should operate in the first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device) or the second power supply mode (figure 8, part second power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is attached to an electronic device) (paragraphs [0033]-[0046]; The power delivery control circuit 130 can detect the USB port C1 and the USB port C2 to obtain the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2, respectively. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that two electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 1) are attached to the USB ports C1 and C2, respectively, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to uncouple the output terminal TO1 from the output terminal TO2. As a result, when the switch SW1 is switched on, the power output PO1 supplied by the PSU 111 can be delivered to the USB port C1 through the power path P1 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C1. When the switch SW2 is switched on, the power output PO2 supplied by the PSU 112 can delivered to the USB port C2 through the power path P2 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C2. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that only one of the USB ports C1 and C2 is attached to an electronic device, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to couple the output terminal TO1 to the output terminal TO2 and operations of the PSU 111 and the PSU 112 may further be synchronized. As a result, each of the power outputs PO1 and PO2 can be delivered to the same power path coupled to the one of the USB ports C1 and C2).
Regarding claim 6, Yeh discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) a load switch (figure 8, part 120) having a first terminal (figure 8, part 120; upper terminal), a second terminal (figure 8, part 120; lower terminal), and a control terminal (figure 8, part 120; right terminal connected to CS0), wherein the first terminal of the load switch (figure 8, part 120; upper terminal) is coupled to the first output terminal (figure 8, part upper terminal from 231), the second terminal of the load switch (figure 8, part 120; lower terminal) is coupled to the third output terminal (figure 8, part upper output terminal from 232), and the control terminal of the load switch (figure 8, part 120; right terminal connected to CS0) is coupled to a third terminal of the power delivery controller (figure 8, part 130; left terminal connected to 120), wherein the load switch is turned on (figure 8, part 120; turned on) when the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) operates in the first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device), and the load switch is turned off (figure 8, part 120; turned off) when the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) operates in the second power supply mode (figure 8, part second power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is attached to an electronic device) (paragraphs [0033]-[0046]; The power delivery control circuit 130 can detect the USB port C1 and the USB port C2 to obtain the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2, respectively. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that two electronic devices (not shown in FIG. 1) are attached to the USB ports C1 and C2, respectively, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to uncouple the output terminal TO1 from the output terminal TO2. As a result, when the switch SW1 is switched on, the power output PO1 supplied by the PSU 111 can be delivered to the USB port C1 through the power path P1 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C1. When the switch SW2 is switched on, the power output PO2 supplied by the PSU 112 can delivered to the USB port C2 through the power path P2 to thereby charge an electronic device attached to the USB port C2. When the connection information CI1 and the connection information CI2 indicate that only one of the USB ports C1 and C2 is attached to an electronic device, the power delivery control circuit 130 can generate the switch control signal CS0 for controlling the switch circuit 120 to couple the output terminal TO1 to the output terminal TO2 and operations of the PSU 111 and the PSU 112 may further be synchronized. As a result, each of the power outputs PO1 and PO2 can be delivered to the same power path coupled to the one of the USB ports C1 and C2).
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, claim 2 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, claim 2 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 7, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 2021/0223838), hereinafter Yeh, in view of Busch et al. (US 2017/0104413), hereinafter Busch.
Regarding claim 3, Yeh discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). Further, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) when the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) operates in the first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device), the first pin of the integrated control circuit (figure 8, part first pin at 253 connected to FB1) receives the first feedback signal (figure 8, part FB1). However, Yeh does not expressly disclose a first isolated delivery path, wherein the first feedback signal is an error amplifying signal of the first output voltage.
Busch teaches (figures 1-5) the first pin of the integrated control circuit (figure 1, part lower first pin at 11 connected to U3) receives the first feedback signal via a first isolated delivery path (figure 1, part first feedback signal from U3 to 11), wherein the first feedback signal (figure 1, part first feedback signal from U3 to 11) is an error amplifying signal (figure 1, part error amplifying signal from U1) of the first output voltage (figure 1, part DC_out1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the control circuit of Yeh with the isolated delivery path features as taught by Busch and obtain when the multi-converter switching power supply operates in the first power supply mode, the first pin of the integrated control circuit receives the first feedback signal via a first isolated delivery path, wherein the first feedback signal is an error amplifying signal of the first output voltage, because it provides more efficient and reliable control with more isolation between stages of the converter circuit (paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh and Busch teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). Further, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) when the multi-converter switching power supply (figure 8, part 800) operates in the first power supply mode (figure 8, part first power supply mode when first port C1 is attached to an electronic device and the second port C2 is detached from an electronic device), the second pin of the integrated control circuit (figure 8, part second pin at 254 connected to FB2) receives the second feedback signal (figure 8, part second pin at 254 connected to FB2). However, Yeh does not expressly disclose a second isolated delivery path, wherein the second feedback signal is an error amplifying signal of the second output voltage.
Busch teaches (figures 1-5) the second pin of the integrated control circuit (figure 1, part lower second pin at 12 connected to U4) receives the second feedback signal (figure 1, part second feedback signal from U4 to 12) via a second isolated delivery path (figure 1, part U4), wherein the second feedback signal (figure 1, part second feedback signal from U4 to 12) is an error amplifying signal (figure 1, part error amplifying signal from U2) of the second output voltage (figure 1, part DC_out2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the control circuit of Yeh with the isolated delivery path features as taught by Busch and obtain when the multi-converter switching power supply operates in the first power supply mode, the second pin of the integrated control circuit receives the second feedback signal via a second isolated delivery path, wherein the second feedback signal is an error amplifying signal of the second output voltage, because it provides more efficient and reliable control with more isolation between stages of the converter circuit (paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 7, Yeh discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). Further, Yeh discloses (see figures 1-17) the third output terminal (figure 8, part upper output terminal from 232), a fourth terminal of the power delivery controller (figure 8, part left fourth terminal from 130 connected to 233/234), and the second output voltage (figure 8, part second output voltage at PO2); and the third pin of the integrated control circuit (figure 8, part third pin at 253/254 connected to 233/234), and provide the mode signal (figure 8, part mode signal generated by 233/234). However, Yeh does not expressly disclose a third isolated delivery path, wherein the third isolated delivery path comprises: a photosensitive diode having an anode and a cathode, wherein the anode is coupled to the third output terminal via a feedback resistor, the cathode is coupled to a fourth terminal of the power delivery controller, and the photosensitive diode is configured to convert a signal related to the second output voltage to a current flowing through the photosensitive diode; and a photosensitive transistor coupled to the third pin of the integrated control circuit, wherein the photosensitive transistor is configured to provide the mode signal in response to the current flowing through the photosensitive diode.
Busch teaches (figures 1-5) a third isolated delivery path (figure 8, part U4), wherein the third isolated delivery path (figure 8, part U4) comprises: a photosensitive diode having an anode and a cathode (figure 8, part diode of U4), wherein the anode (figure 8, part diode of U4; anode) is coupled to the third output terminal (figure 8, part third output terminal 14) via a feedback resistor (figure 8, part R12), the cathode (figure 8, part diode of U4; cathode) is coupled to a fourth terminal (figure 8, part fourth terminal at left side of R11), and the photosensitive diode (figure 8, part diode of U4) is configured to convert a signal related to the second output voltage (figure 8, part DC_out2) to a current flowing through the photosensitive diode (figure 8, part diode of U4); and a photosensitive transistor (figure 8, part transistor of U4) coupled to the third pin of the integrated control circuit (figure 8, part lower third pin at 12), wherein the photosensitive transistor (figure 8, part transistor of U4) is configured to provide the signal (figure 8, part signal from U4) in response to the current flowing through the photosensitive diode (figure 8, part diode of U4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the control circuit of Yeh with the isolated delivery path features as taught by Busch and obtain a third isolated delivery path, wherein the third isolated delivery path comprises: a photosensitive diode having an anode and a cathode, wherein the anode is coupled to the third output terminal via a feedback resistor, the cathode is coupled to a fourth terminal of the power delivery controller, and the photosensitive diode is configured to convert a signal related to the second output voltage to a current flowing through the photosensitive diode; and a photosensitive transistor coupled to the third pin of the integrated control circuit, wherein the photosensitive transistor is configured to provide the mode signal in response to the current flowing through the photosensitive diode, because it provides more efficient and reliable control with more isolation between stages of the converter circuit (paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 17, claim 3 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, claim 4 has the same limitations, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination):
Regarding claim 8, the switching control circuit comprises: a modulation signal generating circuit configured to generate a modulation signal; a first comparison circuit coupled to the modulation signal generating circuit, wherein the first comparison circuit is configured to generate a first comparison signal based on the modulation signal and the first feedback signal; a second comparison circuit configured to generate a second comparison signal based on a first current sense signal representing a current flowing through a first switch in the first switching converter and a first threshold signal; a first logic circuit coupled to the first comparison circuit and the second comparison circuit, wherein the first logic circuit is configured to generate a first control signal based on the first comparison signal and the second comparison signal to control the first switch; a phase shift control circuit coupled to the first logic circuit to receive the first control signal, wherein the phase shift control circuit is configured to phase shift the first control signal to generate a phase shift control signal; a third comparison circuit coupled to the modulation signal generating circuit, wherein the third comparison circuit is configured to generate a third comparison signal based on the modulation signal and the second feedback signal; a selection circuit configured to select one of the phase shift control signal and the third comparison signal as a conduction control signal based on the mode signal; a fourth comparison circuit configured to generate a fourth comparison signal based on a second current sense signal representing a current flowing through a second switch in the second switching converter and a second threshold signal; and a second logic circuit coupled to the selection circuit and the fourth comparison circuit, wherein the second logic circuit is configured to generate a second control signal based on the conduction control signal and the fourth comparison signal to control the second switch;
Regarding claims 9-10, these claims are dependent claims of claim 8 and therefore these claims are objected by the same way presented above;
Regarding claim 13, the switching control circuit comprises: a modulation signal generating circuit configured to generate a modulation signal; a first comparison circuit coupled to the modulation signal generating circuit, wherein the first comparison circuit is configured to generate a first comparison signal based on the modulation signal and the first feedback signal; a second comparison circuit configured to generate a second comparison signal based on a first current sense signal representing a current flowing through a first switch in the first switching converter and a first threshold signal; a first logic circuit coupled to the first comparison circuit and the second comparison circuit, wherein the first logic circuit is configured to generate a first control signal based on the first comparison signal and the second comparison signal to control the first switch; a phase shift control circuit coupled to the first logic circuit to receive the first control signal, wherein the phase shift control circuit is configured to phase shift the first control signal to generate a phase shift control signal; a third comparison circuit coupled to the modulation signal generating circuit, wherein the third comparison circuit is configured to generate a third comparison signal based on the modulation signal and the second feedback signal; a selection circuit configured to select the phase shift control signal or the third comparison signal as a conduction control signal based on the mode signal; a fourth comparison circuit configured to generate a fourth comparison signal based on a second current sense signal representing a current flowing through a second switch in the second switching converter and a second threshold signal; and a second logic circuit coupled to the selection circuit and the fourth comparison circuit, wherein the second logic circuit is configured to generate a second control signal based on the conduction control signal and the fourth comparison signal to control the second switch;
Regarding claims 14-16, these claims are dependent claims of claim 8 and therefore these claims are objected by the same way presented above;
In combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838