DETAIL ACTION
Notice on Prior Art Rejections
Status of Claims
3. This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's application filed September 26, 2024. Claims 1-22 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 9-11, 13-17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al, US 2022/0364870, in view of Hansen et al. US 8,942,918, hereinafter referred to as Wang and Hansen, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 154, 75, 115, 116, 37, “FIG. 2, therein is shown an example of a display interface of the navigation system 100. The navigation system 100 can include a user profile 202 corresponding to the system user 108”):
while presenting directional information corresponding to navigation directions from a first location to a second location, wherein the navigation directions are based on a determined route from the first location to the second location, detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, “The navigation system 100 can include a system for searching or providing guidance or information associated with geographic locations, a regulatory system for enabling access to a device or a vehicle, or a combination thereof”), (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, “The condition change 446 can cause an update route 444. An update route 444 can be a segment of the travel path 436, the deviation path 426 or a combination thereof, changing from a previously planned route”); and
in response to detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “The revision path 438 incorporates a portion of the travel route 436, and the deviation route to form a path between the point of interest 418, the current location 440 along the travel route, and the travel route 436”):
in accordance with a determination that contextual data, other than a location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, does not satisfy one or more criteria, presenting the directional information directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route from the first location to the second location (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “the revision path 438 can take the system user 108 of FIG. 1 from the current location 440 to the point of interest 418, and then from the point of interest 418 back to a point on the travel route 436 that takes the system user 108 of FIG. 1 to the ending point 406”); and
in accordance with a determination that the contextual data satisfies the one or more criteria, forgoing presenting the directional information directing the user of the electronic device back to the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, “The navigation system 100 can determine one or more contextual parameters 244 associated with the user selections. The contextual parameters 244 can include a representation of a situation, an environment, a purpose, a significance, or a combination thereof regarding geographical movement or travel of an end user”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route.
However, Hansen teaches directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route (See at least fig 1-5, Col 3, lines 35-46, “when a driver deviates from a predetermined route 40 calculated by a navigation system, the system will announce that it is recalculating the route in an attempt to direct the driver back to the original route”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route as taught by Hansen because it would allow indicating to the driver when a given route segment really should be followed (Hansen Col 3, lines 47-60).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the contextual data includes information from a plurality of applications (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 23, 61, 120, 308, 309, 235, “the context module 626 can identify the subsequent event 304 of FIG. 3, the preceding event 306 of FIG. 3, the user message set 310, or a combination thereof from memory locations associated with corresponding applications, such as calendar or scheduling applications or communications applications”).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route and in accordance with the determination that the contextual data satisfies the one or more criteria, presenting updated navigation information directing the user of the electronic device to an updated location not included in the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, “The navigation system 100 can include a system for searching or providing guidance or information associated with geographic locations, a regulatory system for enabling access to a device or a vehicle, or a combination thereof”), (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, “The condition change 446 can cause an update route 444. An update route 444 can be a segment of the travel path 436, the deviation path 426 or a combination thereof, changing from a previously planned route”).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the updated navigation information includes voice navigation instructions directing the user to the updated location (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, 192, “Continuing with the example, the recognition module 618 can recognize the system user 108, the one or more of the further participants 110, or a combination thereof based on matching signals or information incoming to the navigation system 100, such as visual or audio information through the first user interface 518 of FIG. 5,”).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the electronic device uses pre-mapped data to direct the user to the updated location (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, 192, 244, 134, “deviation route 426 can be used with the point of interest 418, and the travel route 436 to develop the revision path 438. The revision path 438 can be depicted using coordinates
as shown in FIG. 4, as a graphical depiction on a map”).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating along the determined route, providing audio feedback that indicates a location of the electronic device relative to the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, 192, “Continuing with the example, the recognition module 618 can recognize the system user 108, the one or more of the further participants 110, or a combination thereof based on matching signals or information incoming to the navigation system 100, such as visual or audio information through the first user interface 518 of FIG. 5,”).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while presenting the directional information corresponding to the navigation directions from the first location to the second location; in accordance with a determination that the electronic device is following the determined route, generating voice navigation instructions directing the user along the determined route; and in accordance with a determination that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route, ceasing generating voice navigation instructions (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, 192, “Continuing with the example, the recognition module 618 can recognize the system user 108, the one or more of the further participants 110, or a combination thereof based on matching signals or information incoming to the navigation system 100, such as visual or audio information through the first user interface 518 of FIG. 5,”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising: after detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route and ceasing generating voice navigation instructions, detecting that the electronic device has returned to the determined route; and in response to detecting that the electronic device has returned to the determined route, reactivating the voice navigation instructions directing the user along the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, 192, “Continuing with the example, the recognition module 618 can recognize the system user 108, the one or more of the further participants 110, or a combination thereof based on matching signals or information incoming to the navigation system 100, such as visual or audio information through the first user interface 518 of FIG. 5,”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose detecting that the electronic device has returned to the determined route.
However, Hansen teaches detecting that the electronic device has returned to the determined route (See at least fig 1-5, Col 3, lines 35-46, “when a driver deviates from a predetermined route 40 calculated by a navigation system, the system will announce that it is recalculating the route in an attempt to direct the driver back to the original route”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include detecting that the electronic device has returned to the determined route as taught by Hansen because it would allow indicating to the driver when a given route segment really should be followed (Hansen Col 3, lines 47-60).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating along the determined route, generating feedback that is based on determining that the electronic device is following the determined route wherein the feedback indicates that the electronic device is following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, 192, “Continuing with the example, the recognition module 618 can recognize the system user 108, the one or more of the further participants 110, or a combination thereof based on matching signals or information incoming to the navigation system 100, such as visual or audio information through the first user interface 518 of FIG. 5,”).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: in response to detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route, ceasing the generation of the feedback (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, “The navigation system 100 can include a system for searching or providing guidance or information associated with geographic locations, a regulatory system for enabling access to a device or a vehicle, or a combination thereof”), (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, “The condition change 446 can cause an update route 444. An update route 444 can be a segment of the travel path 436, the deviation path 426 or a combination thereof, changing from a previously planned route”).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the contextual data includes information related to an environment associated with the determined route, present weather conditions, a time of day, historical data associated with the user, information related to past behavior of the user, information related to current behavior of the user, or any combination thereof (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, “The navigation system 100 can determine one or more contextual parameters 244 associated with the user selections. The contextual parameters 244 can include a representation of a situation, an environment, a purpose, a significance, or a combination thereofregarding geographical movement or travel of an end user”).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the contextual data includes information related to one or more current behaviors of one or more people, other than the user of the electronic device, in an environment of the user (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, “The navigation system 100 can determine one or more contextual parameters 244 associated with the user selections. The contextual parameters 244 can include a representation of a situation, an environment, a purpose, a significance, or a combination thereofregarding geographical movement or travel of an end user”).
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses an electronic device that is in communication with one or more input devices and a display generation component, the electronic device comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and are configured to be executed by the one or more processors (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 75, 115, 116, 37, “FIG. 2, therein is shown an example of a display interface of the navigation system 100. The navigation system 100 can include a user profile 202 corresponding to the system user 108”), the one or more programs including instructions for:
while presenting directional information corresponding to navigation directions from a first location to a second location, wherein the navigation directions are based on a determined route from the first location to the second location, detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, “The navigation system 100 can include a system for searching or providing guidance or information associated with geographic locations, a regulatory system for enabling access to a device or a vehicle, or a combination thereof”), (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, “The condition change 446 can cause an update route 444. An update route 444 can be a segment of the travel path 436, the deviation path 426 or a combination thereof, changing from a previously planned route”); and
in response to detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “The revision path 438 incorporates a portion of the travel route 436, and the deviation route to form a path between the point of interest 418, the current location 440 along the travel route, and the travel route 436”):
in accordance with a determination that contextual data, other than a location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, does not satisfy one or more criteria, presenting the directional information directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route from the first location to the second location (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “the revision path 438 can take the system user 108 of FIG. 1 from the current location 440 to the point of interest 418, and then from the point of interest 418 back to a point on the travel route 436 that takes the system user 108 of FIG. 1 to the ending point 406”); and
in accordance with a determination that the contextual data satisfies the one or more criteria, forgoing presenting the directional information directing the user of the electronic device back to the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, “The navigation system 100 can determine one or more contextual parameters 244 associated with the user selections. The contextual parameters 244 can include a representation of a situation, an environment, a purpose, a significance, or a combination thereofregarding geographical movement or travel of an end user”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route.
However, Hansen teaches directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route (See at least fig 1-5, Col 3, lines 35-46, “when a driver deviates from a predetermined route 40 calculated by a navigation system, the system will announce that it is recalculating the route in an attempt to direct the driver back to the original route”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang and include directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route as taught by Hansen because it would allow indicating to the driver when a given route segment really should be followed (Hansen Col 3, lines 47-60).
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device that is in communication with one or more input devices and a display generation component (See at least fig 1-7, ¶ 75, 115, 116, 37, “FIG. 2, therein is shown an example of a display interface of the navigation system 100. The navigation system 100 can include a user profile 202 corresponding to the system user 108”), cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising:
while presenting directional information corresponding to navigation directions from a first location to a second location, wherein the navigation directions are based on a determined route from the first location to the second location, detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 46, 56, 26, “The navigation system 100 can include a system for searching or providing guidance or information associated with geographic locations, a regulatory system for enabling access to a device or a vehicle, or a combination thereof”), (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, “The condition change 446 can cause an update route 444. An update route 444 can be a segment of the travel path 436, the deviation path 426 or a combination thereof, changing from a previously planned route”); and
in response to detecting that the electronic device is no longer following the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “The revision path 438 incorporates a portion of the travel route 436, and the deviation route to form a path between the point of interest 418, the current location 440 along the travel route, and the travel route 436”):
in accordance with a determination that contextual data, other than a location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, does not satisfy one or more criteria, presenting the directional information directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route from the first location to the second location (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “the revision path 438 can take the system user 108 of FIG. 1 from the current location 440 to the point of interest 418, and then from the point of interest 418 back to a point on the travel route 436 that takes the system user 108 of FIG. 1 to the ending point 406”); and
in accordance with a determination that the contextual data satisfies the one or more criteria, forgoing presenting the directional information directing the user of the electronic device back to the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, “The navigation system 100 can determine one or more contextual parameters 244 associated with the user selections. The contextual parameters 244 can include a representation of a situation, an environment, a purpose, a significance, or a combination thereofregarding geographical movement or travel of an end user”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route.
However, Hansen teaches directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route (See at least fig 1-5, Col 3, lines 35-46, “when a driver deviates from a predetermined route 40 calculated by a navigation system, the system will announce that it is recalculating the route in an attempt to direct the driver back to the original route”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang and include directing a user of the electronic device back to the determined route as taught by Hansen because it would allow indicating to the driver when a given route segment really should be followed (Hansen Col 3, lines 47-60).
6. Claims 3-8, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al, in view of Yalla et al. US 2019/0146500, hereinafter referred to as Wang and Yalla, respectively.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a visual sensor, an inertial sensor, an odometry sensor, an inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof, are included in one or more headphone devices worn by the user and determining a respective location of the electronic device relative to the determined route is based on data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 144, 154, 168, 183 24, “the hardware can be gates, circuitry, processor, computer, integrated circuit, integrated circuit cores, a pressure sensor, an inertial sensor, a microelectromechanical system (MEMS), passive devices, physical non-transitory memory medium having instructions for performing the software function”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose an odometry sensor.
However, Yalla teaches an odometry sensor (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, “The odometry sensor and/or system 316 may include one or more components that is configured to determine a change in position of the vehicle 100 over time. In some embodiments, the odometry system 316 may utilize data from one or more other sensors and/or systems 304 in determining a position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include an odometry sensor as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the method of claim 3.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the odometry sensor is configured to be used to determine a change in position relative to a known respective position relative to the determined route.
However, Yalla teaches wherein the odometry sensor is configured to be used to determine a change in position relative to a known respective position relative to the determined route (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, “The odometry sensor and/or system 316 may include one or more components that is configured to determine a change in position of the vehicle 100 over time. In some embodiments, the odometry system 316 may utilize data from one or more other sensors and/or systems 304 in determining a position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include wherein the odometry sensor is configured to be used to determine a change in position relative to a known respective position relative to the determined route as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the method of claim 3.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route is indoors, data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof is used to determine the respective location of the electronic device along the determined route.
However, Yalla teaches wherein in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route is indoors, data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof is used to determine the respective location of the electronic device along the determined route (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, “The odometry sensor and/or system 316 may include one or more components that is configured to determine a change in position of the vehicle 100 over time. In some embodiments, the odometry system 316 may utilize data from one or more other sensors and/or systems 304 in determining a position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include wherein in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route is indoors, data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof is used to determine the respective location of the electronic device along the determined route as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the method of claim 3.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose wherein: in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route corresponds to a waypoint along the determined route, data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof is used for determining the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route does not correspond to a waypoint along the determined route, data from the visual sensor and the odometry sensor is not used for determining the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route.
However, Yalla teaches wherein: in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route corresponds to a waypoint along the determined route, data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof is used for determining the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route does not correspond to a waypoint along the determined route, data from the visual sensor and the odometry sensor is not used for determining the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, 83, “Points of interest (waypoints) can also be stored with their geographic coordinates. For example, a point of interest may include speed cameras, fuel stations, public parking, and "parked here" ( or "you parked here") information. The maps database 335 may also include road or street characteristics, for example, speed limits, location of stop lights/stop signs, lane divisions, school locations, etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include wherein: in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route corresponds to a waypoint along the determined route, data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof is used for determining the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route does not correspond to a waypoint along the determined route, data from the visual sensor and the odometry sensor is not used for determining the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein one or more locations of one or more waypoints along the determined route are determined based on data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, the inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof used to determine a current location of the electronic device relative to a starting location of the determined route (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, 157, “The location circuit 520 can generate location information, current heading, current acceleration, and current speed of the first device 102, as examples. The location circuit 520 can be implemented in many ways. For example, the location circuit 520 can function as at least a part of the global positioning system, an inertial navigation system, a cellular-tower location system, a pressure location system, or any combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein while navigating along the determined route: in accordance with a determination that a current portion of the determined route includes a vertical change in position from a first altitude position to a second altitude position, forgoing using data from one or more of the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, or the inertial measurement unit to determine a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and using data from an altimeter to determine the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, wherein data from the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, and/or the inertial measurement unit is used again to determine the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route when the electronic device reaches the second altitude position (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 62, 17, 70, 71, 72, 75, 76, 69, 157, “The location circuit 520 can generate location information, current heading, current acceleration, and current speed of the first device 102, as examples. The location circuit 520 can be implemented in many ways. For example, the location circuit 520 can function as at least a part of the global positioning system, an inertial navigation system, a cellular-tower location system, a pressure location system, or any combination thereof”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose a vertical change in position from a first altitude position to a second altitude position, forgoing using data from one or more of the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, or the inertial measurement unit to determine a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and using data from an altimeter to determine the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route.
However, Yalla teaches a vertical change in position from a first altitude position to a second altitude position, forgoing using data from one or more of the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, or the inertial measurement unit to determine a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and using data from an altimeter to determine the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, 83, 148, “The feature vector 928 can be a location of a feature using latitude, longitude, other GIS information, viewing angle, altitude, etc. Further, the feature vector 928 can describe what the feature looks like or where the feature 852 is located in the view as shown in FIG. SH. This feature vector information 928 can provide a description of angles, types of lines, and also an orientation or arrange of the feature 852 in association with other features 852 within a view 840”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include a vertical change in position from a first altitude position to a second altitude position, forgoing using data from one or more of the visual sensor, the inertial sensor, the odometry sensor, or the inertial measurement unit to determine a current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route, and using data from an altimeter to determine the current location of the electronic device relative to the determined route as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the method of claim 9, wherein data from a visual sensor, an inertial sensor, an odometry sensor, an altimeter, or any combination thereof, is used to direct the user to the updated location (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 120, 125, 126, 129, 132, 121, 133, “the revision path 438 can take the system user 108 of FIG. 1 from the current location 440 to the point of interest 418, and then from the point of interest 418 back to a point on the travel route 436 that takes the system user 108 of FIG. 1 to the ending point 406”)
Wang fails to explicitly disclose an odometry sensor, an altimeter.
However, Yalla teaches an odometry sensor, an altimeter (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, “The odometry sensor and/or system 316 may include one or more components that is configured to determine a change in position of the vehicle 100 over time. In some embodiments, the odometry system 316 may utilize data from one or more other sensors and/or systems 304 in determining a position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include an odometry sensor, an altimeter as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the contextual data includes data from a visual sensor, an inertial sensor, an odometry sensor, an inertial measurement unit, or any combination thereof, that is used for determining a respective direction to which the user is looking (See at least fig 1-8, ¶ 144, 154, 168, 183 24, “the hardware can be gates, circuitry, processor, computer, integrated circuit, integrated circuit cores, a pressure sensor, an inertial sensor, a microelectromechanical system (MEMS), passive devices, physical non-transitory memory medium having instructions for performing the software function”).
Wang fails to explicitly disclose an odometry sensor.
However, Yalla teaches an odometry sensor (See at least fig 1-13, ¶ 33, 37, 49, 32, 52, “The odometry sensor and/or system 316 may include one or more components that is configured to determine a change in position of the vehicle 100 over time. In some embodiments, the odometry system 316 may utilize data from one or more other sensors and/or systems 304 in determining a position”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wang and include an odometry sensor as taught by Yalla because it would allow perform change in position detection and/or determination functions using any known or future-developed standard and/or architecture (Yalla, ¶ 52).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO whose email is luis.martinezborrero@uspto.gov and telephone number is (571)272-4577. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HUNTER LONSBERRY can be reached on (571)272-7298. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUIS A MARTINEZ BORRERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665