DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 12-20, in the reply filed on June 30, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the sensor claim (claim 12) is specifically defined by its processor being configured to perform the exact steps of the method claim (claim 1), so the claims of Groups I and II form a single inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are distinct since the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another materially different process such as measuring analytes in a urine sample.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on June 30, 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 13, “the measuring chambers” should read “the at least two measuring chambers”.
In line 16, “the first three-electrode arrangement” should read “the first voltammetric three-electrode arrangement”.
In line 19, “the second three-electrode arrangement” should read “the second voltammetric three-electrode arrangement”.
In line 37, “the analyte concentration” should read “the plasma-related analyte concentration”.
In lines 37-38, “the hematocrit- and temperature-corrected interference concentration” should read “the plasma-related hematocrit- and temperature-corrected interference concentration”.
In lines 38-39, “the hematocrit- and temperature-corrected analyte concentration” should read “the plasma-related hematocrit- and temperature-corrected analyte concentration”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 14, 16, 18, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 of each claim, “wherein” should read “wherein the at least two measuring chambers comprise a first measuring chamber and a second measuring chamber, wherein”.
In lines 5-6 of each claim, “the first three-electrode arrangement” should read “the first voltammetric three-electrode arrangement”.
In line 7 of each claim, “ionic conductivity” should read “the ionic conductivity”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 15 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of each claim, “a carrier portion” should read “a of the carrier”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “the measuring chambers” should read “the at least two measuring chambers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasqua et al. (US 2016/0187291 A1) (listed in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 26, 2024) in view of Ainger et al. (US 2015/0068926 A1) and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2010/0267161 A1) (listed in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 26, 2024) and further in view of Chu et al. (CN 111366624 A) (provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 26, 2024) (references herein made with respect to English Machine Translation provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 12, Pasqua teaches a sensor for determination of plasma-related analyte concentration in whole blood (an integrated test strip 200 for measuring a glucose analyte in a blood sample, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0004], [0041], [0043]) comprising:
at least two measuring chambers that are fillable with a whole blood sample via a sample-receiving zone of the sensor (a capillary chamber 220 that receives the blood sample via a first opening at a proximal end 212 of the test strip 200, Pasqua, Figs. 1-2B, para. [0042]-[0044]; Examiner interprets a first portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprising the electrodes 222, 224, 226, 228 to read on a first measuring chamber, and a second portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprising the electrodes 217, 219 to read on a second measuring chamber), wherein the at least two measuring chambers are formed on a carrier and comprise a first voltammetric electrode arrangement, an electrode conductivity arrangement, and a second voltammetric electrode arrangement (the first and second measuring chambers of the capillary chamber 220 are formed on a base layer 216 and comprise a set of interference electrodes 222, 224, a set of hematocrit/conductivity electrodes 226, 228, and a set of glucose electrodes 217, 219, wherein the interference electrodes and the glucose electrode have a voltage applied thereto and current measured, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0009], [0011], [0041], [0043]).
Pasqua teaches the set of two hematocrit/conductivity electrodes 226, 228 (Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0041], [0043]), and therefore fails to teach a four-electrode conductivity arrangement.
Ainger teaches a sampling plate 1 comprising a sample zone 2 with four electrode terminals 3, 4, 5, 6 exposed for contact with a blood sample (Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0062]). Ainger teaches that these four electrodes are used to determine a hematocrit value HCT in the blood sample (Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0070]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the two-electrode hematocrit/conductivity arrangement of Pasqua to be a four-electrode arrangement as taught by Ainger in order to yield the predictable result of measuring hematocrit in a blood sample.
Modified Pasqua teaches the set of two interference electrodes 222, 224 and the set of two glucose electrodes 217, 219 which are working electrodes and counter electrodes (Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0043]), and therefore fails to teach that they are each three-electrode arrangements.
Wu teaches a test sensor having at least three independently addressable analysis regions (Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0058]). Wu teaches the working and counter electrodes may form an electrode pair, or may include the addition of a reference electrode 170 to provide a non-variant potential to each analysis as common in conventional systems (Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0058], [0060]-[0063]). Wu teaches that the use of the reference electrodes provides for increased accuracy and precision of the determined analyte concentrations in biological fluid (Wu, para. [0064]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the two-electrode interference arrangement and the two-electrode glucose arrangement of Modified Pasqua to further include a reference electrode to form three-electrode arrangements as taught by Wu because it would provide for increased accuracy and precision of the determined analyte concentrations in biological fluid.
Modified Pasqua teaches measuring the ambient temperature (Pasqua, Fig. 11A, para. [0074]). Modified Pasqua fails to teach a temperature-measuring resistor applied to the carrier.
Chu teaches a test paper with a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature near a reaction zone of the test paper to achieve the purpose of automatic temperature compensation and make the measurement result more accurate (Chu, para. [0013], [0035], [0105]-[0106]). Chu teaches that the test paper includes a substrate layer 1, and electrochemical metal electrode layer 2, a covering layer 3, and an upper spacer layer 5 laminated from bottom to top (Chu, Fig. 1, para. [0062]-[0063]). Chu teaches that the electrochemical metal electrode layer 2 includes an electrochemical working electrode 2-1, an electrochemical counter electrode 2-2, a temperature measuring electrode 2-5, and a serpentine temperature sensor 2-6 (Chu, Fig. 3, para. [0064]). Chu teaches that the temperature measuring electrode 2-5 is used to measure the resistance of the temperature sensor 2-6, so as to know the temperature of the reaction area 3-2 after blood enters the reaction area 3-2 (Chu, Figs. 3-5, para. [0068], [0086]-[0087]). Chu teaches that the measured temperature is used for temperature compensation of the measured analyte concentration in blood (Chu, para. [0086]-[0087]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base layer of Modified Pasqua to further include a serpentine temperature sensor thereon as taught by Chu because it would allow for temperature compensation of the measured analyte concentration in blood and make the measurement result more accurate. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Modified Pasqua teaches at least one processor unit that is reversibly connected to the sensor via an electrical contacting means or is integrated on the carrier (a meter configured to accept the test strip and in electrical communication with the test strip when the test strip is inserted into the meter via a meter connector, Pasqua, Figs. 5A-6B, para. [0004], [0009], [0011], [0063]-[0065]), and is set up to:
control the temperature-measuring resistor in order to determine the ambient temperature after filling of the measuring chambers (the meter measures the temperature near the capillary chamber 220 using the serpentine temperature sensor on the base layer 216 after blood enters the capillary chamber 220, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B & 11A-12, para. [0074], Chu, Fig. 3, para. [0068], [0086]-[0087], see modification supra);
control the four-electrode conductivity arrangement in order to determine an ionic conductivity of the whole blood sample (the meter measures the level of hematocrit 1111 in the blood sample using the four-electrode hematocrit/conductivity arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B & 11B-12, para. [0041], [0043], [0076], Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0070]-[0074], see modification supra);
control the first three-electrode arrangement in order to voltammetrically determine an interference charge of electrochemically active substances in the whole blood sample (the meter voltammetrically measures the level of interference 1111 in the blood sample using the three-electrode interference arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B & 11B-12, para. [0043], [0076], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], see modification supra);
control the second three-electrode arrangement in order to enzymatic-voltammetrically determine an analyte charge of the whole blood sample (the meter enzymatic-voltammetrically measures the glucose concentration 1113 in the blood sample using the three-electrode glucose arrangement and glucose oxidase, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B & 11B-12, para. [0043], [0080], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], see modification supra);
determine a temperature-corrected analyte concentration using prestored calibration curves, the determined ambient temperature, and the determined analyte charge (the meter temperature-corrects the glucose measurement based on calibration data, the measured temperature, and the measured current related to glucose concentration, Pasqua, Figs. 11A-13, para. [0080]-[0088]); determine a temperature-corrected interference concentration using prestored calibration curves, the determined ambient temperature, and the determined interference charge (the meter temperature-corrects the interference current based on calibration data, the measured temperature, and the measured interference current, Pasqua, Figs. 11A-13, para. [0076], [0080]-[0088]); and determine a temperature-corrected hematocrit value using prestored calibration curves, the determined ambient temperature, and the determined ionic conductivity (the meter temperature-corrects the hematocrit current based on calibration data, the measured temperature, and the measured hematocrit/conductivity current, Pasqua, Figs. 11A-13, para. [0041], [0076], [0080]-[0088]);
correct the temperature-corrected analyte concentration and the temperature-corrected interference concentration to a plasma-related hematocrit- and temperature-corrected analyte concentration and a plasma-related hematocrit- and temperature-corrected interference concentration, in each case using prestored calibration curves and the previously determined temperature-corrected hematocrit value (the meter corrects the temperature-corrected glucose concentration and the temperature-corrected interference concentration using calibration data and the temperature-corrected hematocrit current, Pasqua, Figs. 11A-13, para. [0076], [0080]-[0088]); and
determine the analyte concentration by subtracting the hematocrit- and temperature-corrected interference concentration from the hematocrit- and temperature-corrected analyte concentration (the meter determines the corrected glucose concentration by subtracting the hematocrit- and temperature-corrected interference concentration from the hematocrit- and temperature-corrected analyte concentration, Pasqua, Figs. 11A-13, para. [0076], [0080]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the temperature-measuring resistor is a serpentine conductor structure that is applied to the carrier of the sensor (the metal serpentine temperature sensor is applied to the base layer 216 of the test strip 200, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0043], Chu, Figs. 1-6, para. [0063]-[0068], see modification supra).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the first measuring chamber comprises the first voltammetric three-electrode arrangement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement (the first portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode interference arrangement and the four-electrode hematocrit/conductivity arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0041], [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0070]-[0074], see modifications supra), and the second measuring chamber comprises the second voltammetric three-electrode arrangement (the second portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode glucose arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], see modification supra), wherein the at least one processor unit is set up to switch electrodes in the first measuring chamber between the first three-electrode arrangement for voltammetric measurement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement for measurement of ionic conductivity (the hematocrit/conductivity test may be done at a different time than the interference test using the meter, Pasqua, para. [0041], [0060], [0066]).
Modified Pasqua fails to teach using an integrated or reversibly connected analog switch array.
Ainger teaches an embodiment with two sets 31, 32 of electrodes (Ainger, Fig. 4, para. [0098]). Ainger teaches an analogue switch unit 69 arranged to be controlled by the microcontroller to switch between the two sets 31, 32 of electrodes to selectively input/output a signal (Ainger, Fig. 6, para. [0106]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the meter of Modified Pasqua to further include an analogue switch unit as taught by Ainger in order to yield the predictable result of switching between electrodes for selectively conducting tests. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the serpentine conductor structure is positioned in a carrier portion that is less than one fifth of the total length of the carrier (the serpentine temperature sensor is near the reaction area with the electrodes and is positioned on a portion of the base layer that is less than one fifth of the total length of the base layer, Chu, Figs. 1-5, para. [0063]-[0068], see modification supra). While patent drawings are not to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). Furthermore, it has been held that the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). MPEP § 2125(II).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the first measuring chamber comprises the first voltammetric three-electrode arrangement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement (the first portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode interference arrangement and the four-electrode hematocrit/conductivity arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0041], [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0070]-[0074], see modifications supra), and the second measuring chamber comprises the second voltammetric three-electrode arrangement (the second portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode glucose arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], see modification supra), wherein the at least one processor unit is set up to switch electrodes in the first measuring chamber between the first three-electrode arrangement for voltammetric measurement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement for measurement of ionic conductivity (the hematocrit/conductivity test may be done at a different time than the interference test using the meter, Pasqua, para. [0041], [0060], [0066]).
Modified Pasqua fails to teach using an integrated or reversibly connected analog switch array.
Ainger teaches an embodiment with two sets 31, 32 of electrodes (Ainger, Fig. 4, para. [0098]). Ainger teaches an analogue switch unit 69 arranged to be controlled by the microcontroller to switch between the two sets 31, 32 of electrodes to selectively input/output a signal (Ainger, Fig. 6, para. [0106]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the meter of Modified Pasqua to further include an analogue switch unit as taught by Ainger in order to yield the predictable result of switching between electrodes for selectively conducting tests. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the serpentine conductor structure is positioned adjacent to the measuring chambers (the serpentine temperature sensor is positioned adjacent to and near the chamber with the electrodes, Chu, Figs. 1-5, para. [0035], [0063]-[0068], [0105], see modification supra).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the first measuring chamber comprises the first voltammetric three-electrode arrangement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement (the first portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode interference arrangement and the four-electrode hematocrit/conductivity arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0041], [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0070]-[0074], see modifications supra), and the second measuring chamber comprises the second voltammetric three-electrode arrangement (the second portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode glucose arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], see modification supra), wherein the at least one processor unit is set up to switch electrodes in the first measuring chamber between the first three-electrode arrangement for voltammetric measurement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement for measurement of ionic conductivity (the hematocrit/conductivity test may be done at a different time than the interference test using the meter, Pasqua, para. [0041], [0060], [0066]).
Modified Pasqua fails to teach using an integrated or reversibly connected analog switch array.
Ainger teaches an embodiment with two sets 31, 32 of electrodes (Ainger, Fig. 4, para. [0098]). Ainger teaches an analogue switch unit 69 arranged to be controlled by the microcontroller to switch between the two sets 31, 32 of electrodes to selectively input/output a signal (Ainger, Fig. 6, para. [0106]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the meter of Modified Pasqua to further include an analogue switch unit as taught by Ainger in order to yield the predictable result of switching between electrodes for selectively conducting tests. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the serpentine conductor structure is positioned in a carrier portion that is less than one fifth of the total length of the carrier (the serpentine temperature sensor is near the reaction area with the electrodes and is positioned on a portion of the base layer that is less than one fifth of the total length of the base layer, Chu, Figs. 1-5, para. [0063]-[0068], see modification supra). While patent drawings are not to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). Furthermore, it has been held that the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Wright, 569 F.2d 1124, 1127-28, 193 USPQ 332, 335-36 (CCPA 1977). MPEP § 2125(II).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Pasqua teaches wherein the first measuring chamber comprises the first voltammetric three-electrode arrangement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement (the first portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode interference arrangement and the four-electrode hematocrit/conductivity arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0041], [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], Ainger, Fig. 1, para. [0070]-[0074], see modifications supra), and the second measuring chamber comprises the second voltammetric three-electrode arrangement (the second portion of the capillary chamber 220 comprises the three-electrode glucose arrangement, Pasqua, Figs. 2A-2B, para. [0043], Wu, Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0061], [0063], see modification supra), wherein the at least one processor unit is set up to switch electrodes in the first measuring chamber between the first three-electrode arrangement for voltammetric measurement and the four-electrode conductivity arrangement for measurement of ionic conductivity (the hematocrit/conductivity test may be done at a different time than the interference test using the meter, Pasqua, para. [0041], [0060], [0066]).
Modified Pasqua fails to teach using an integrated or reversibly connected analog switch array.
Ainger teaches an embodiment with two sets 31, 32 of electrodes (Ainger, Fig. 4, para. [0098]). Ainger teaches an analogue switch unit 69 arranged to be controlled by the microcontroller to switch between the two sets 31, 32 of electrodes to selectively input/output a signal (Ainger, Fig. 6, para. [0106]).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the meter of Modified Pasqua to further include an analogue switch unit as taught by Ainger in order to yield the predictable result of switching between electrodes for selectively conducting tests. Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/V.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794