DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on August 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
5. Claims 1-13 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite Cissus quadrangularis in liquid form or an ethanolic extract from C. quadrangularis. C. quadrangularis is a natural plant and liquids from the plant and its fruit are naturally occurring. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature and claims 1, 2, 3, 5-9, and 11-13 are considered to read directly on a product of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-13 read directly on a product of nature; thus, there is no markedly distinct characteristic. The claimed amounts of the plants also do not create a marked distinction because it simply indicates the natural products are present in an amount. In regards to the ethanolic extract in claims 4 and 10, extraction of plants only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a mixture of ingredients which are naturally-found in the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or “man-made.” Thus, the claims are drawn to mixtures of naturally occurring products.
There is no indication that the specified extract changes the structure, function, or other properties of the extract in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for the extract is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the extract. Because, as discussed above, each plant extract is only a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds found in the plant. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with an intended use of reducing blood lipids and providing the extract for at least two weeks. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is intended uses which are also not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patell (WO 2008/081233).
This reference teaches an oral pharmaceutical composition comprising C. quadrangularis. The reference teaches that the composition is formulated with a 500 mg dosage of the C. quadrangularis in the form of an capsule, liquid, lozenge or tablet. The reference teaches that the plant material is dried and extracted with a solvent such as ethanol. In addition, the reference teaches that any part of the plant including the whole plant is used (see pages 7, 10, 15, 17, and 19). An artisan would readily appreciate that the whole plant and any part of the plant would include the fruit pods of the plant. In addition, the 500 mg dosage taught by the reference encompasses 2.6 mg/kg in a subject weighing 192 kg.
The reference does not teach that the composition has the same effects as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
8. Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deepthi (International Journal of Current Research and Review (2022), vol. 14, no. 13, pp. 52-59).
This reference teaches a liquid formulation containing an ethanolic extract from powdered C. quadrangularis fruits. The formulation is provided for two weeks (see pages 53 and 54).
The reference does not teach that the composition has the same effects as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
9. Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kothari (US 2009/0035397).
This reference teaches a capsule with 300 mg of C. quadrangularis extract useful for reducing blood lipids. The composition is provided for eight weeks (see Table 1, paragraphs 104, and claims 7-9).
Double Patenting
10. Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/898,665 OR claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/898,648 OR claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/898,601 OR claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/898,533 OR claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/898,575 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are structurally identical despite a different intended use. A differing intended use is not considered to create a patentably distinct composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
11. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655