Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakhnini et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20210349179 A1), hereinafter Sakhnini
Regarding claim 1, Sakhnini teaches a radar control method, comprising:
after completing an emission and reception of a frame of signal, adjusting a scanning order of a LiDAR, so that a scanning order of a current frame of the LiDAR is not all the same as a scanning order of a previous frame of signal ([0053] The active time intervals of a radar unit 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 may as a general rule re-occur with a certain time period, corresponding to a frame rate of the radar unit. This time period is preferably the same for all the radar units 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 of the system 100; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.); and
controlling the LiDAR to perform an operation of emission and reception on a next frame signal, according to the adjusted scanning order ([Fig. 3]; [0057] In particular, the controller 210 may be configured to activate the radar unit during those time intervals, for example by activating the synthesizer 202 to produce a sequence of signals which is then transmitted by the transmit antenna 204.).
Regarding claim 2, Sakhnini teaches the radar control method according to claim 1, wherein
after adjusting the scanning order of the LiDAR, the method comprises: adjusting a scanning time interval ([0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.); and
controlling the LiDAR to perform the operation of emission and reception on the next frame signal comprises: controlling the LiDAR to perform the operation of emission and reception on the next frame signal, according to the adjusted scanning order and the adjusted scanning time interval ([Fig. 3]; [0066] In step S502, the controller 210 receives one or more radar frames corresponding to one or more respective time intervals. The one or more radar frames may be subsequent radar frames produced by the radar unit 102-1.).
Regarding claim 3, Sakhnini teaches the radar control method according to claim 1, wherein after adjusting the scanning order of the LiDAR, the method comprises:
adjusting time intervals of multiple emissions and receptions within frames of the LiDAR, so that the time intervals of multiple emissions and receptions are partially or all different ([Fig. 3]; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3; [0066] In step S502, the controller 210 receives one or more radar frames corresponding to one or more respective time intervals. The one or more radar frames may be subsequent radar frames produced by the radar unit 102-1.).
Regarding claim 4, Sakhnini teaches the radar control method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the scanning order of the LiDAR comprises at least one of the following: adjusting an emission order of an emitting unit of the LiDAR, or adjusting a reception order of a receiving unit of the LiDAR ([Fig. 3] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the synthesizer 202 may cause the transmit antenna 204 of radar unit 102-1 to send out a sequence of signals during a first time interval t11. The synthesizer 202 may then be silent for a while before causing the transmit antenna 204 to send out a further sequence of signals during a second time interval t12; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.).
Regarding claim 5, Sakhnini teaches the radar control method according to claim 2, wherein adjusting the scanning time interval comprises at least one of the following: adjusting an emission time interval between frames, or adjusting an emission and reception time interval within each frame ([Fig. 3] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the synthesizer 202 may cause the transmit antenna 204 of radar unit 102-1 to send out a sequence of signals during a first time interval t11. The synthesizer 202 may then be silent for a while before causing the transmit antenna 204 to send out a further sequence of signals during a second time interval t12; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.).
Regarding claim 6, Sakhnini teaches the radar control method according to claim 5, wherein adjusting the emission and reception time interval within each frame comprises at least one of the following: adjusting the emission time interval between two emit blocks in each frame, or adjusting the reception time interval between two receive blocks in each frame ([Fig. 3] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the synthesizer 202 may cause the transmit antenna 204 of radar unit 102-1 to send out a sequence of signals during a first time interval t11. The synthesizer 202 may then be silent for a while before causing the transmit antenna 204 to send out a further sequence of signals during a second time interval t12; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.).
Regarding claim 7, Sakhnini teaches the radar control method according to claim 5, wherein adjusting the emission time interval between frames comprises at least one of the following: adjusting a start emission time of each frame, or adjusting a start emission time of part of the frames, so that start emission time intervals between two frames are different ([Fig. 3] As illustrated in FIG. 3, the synthesizer 202 may cause the transmit antenna 204 of radar unit 102-1 to send out a sequence of signals during a first time interval t11. The synthesizer 202 may then be silent for a while before causing the transmit antenna 204 to send out a further sequence of signals during a second time interval t12; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.).
Regarding claim 8, Sakhnini teaches a terminal device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when readable instructions of the computer program are executed ([0088] In a software implementation, the circuitry may instead be in the form of a processor, such as a microprocessor, which in association with computer code instructions stored on a (non-transitory) computer-readable medium,), the processor performs a radar control method comprising:
after completing an emission and reception of a frame of signal, adjusting a scanning order of a LiDAR, so that a scanning order of a current frame of the LiDAR is not all the same as a scanning order of a previous frame of signal ([0053] The active time intervals of a radar unit 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 may as a general rule re-occur with a certain time period, corresponding to a frame rate of the radar unit. This time period is preferably the same for all the radar units 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 of the system 100; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.); and
controlling the LiDAR to perform an operation of emission and reception on a next frame signal, according to the adjusted scanning order ([Fig. 3]; [0057] In particular, the controller 210 may be configured to activate the radar unit during those time intervals, for example by activating the synthesizer 202 to produce a sequence of signals which is then transmitted by the transmit antenna 204.).
Regarding claim 9, Sakhnini teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor ([0039] According to a fourth aspect, a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer code instructions is adapted to carry out the method of the first aspect when executed by a device having processing capability.), causes the processor to perform a radar control method comprising:
after completing an emission and reception of a frame of signal, adjusting a scanning order of a LiDAR, so that a scanning order of a current frame of the LiDAR is not all the same as a scanning order of a previous frame of signal ([0053] The active time intervals of a radar unit 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 may as a general rule re-occur with a certain time period, corresponding to a frame rate of the radar unit. This time period is preferably the same for all the radar units 102-1, 102-2, 102-3 of the system 100; [0057] However, as will be described in more detail below, the controller 210 may adjust the start time of an upcoming time interval, such as time interval t13, when the radar unit 102-1 is scheduled to be active so as to reduce interferences from the other radar units 102-2, 102-3.); and
controlling the LiDAR to perform an operation of emission and reception on a next frame signal, according to the adjusted scanning order ([Fig. 3]; [0057] In particular, the controller 210 may be configured to activate the radar unit during those time intervals, for example by activating the synthesizer 202 to produce a sequence of signals which is then transmitted by the transmit antenna 204.).
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645