DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 22-23, 25-30, 32-37, and 39-41 are pending. Claims 22, 29, and 36 are in independent forms. Claims 22, 29, and 36 has been amended. Claims 1-21, 24, 31, and 38 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 September 2026 have been fully considered however they are moot due to new grounds of rejection below initiated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 22-23, 25, 27-30, 32, 34-37, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0014776 (hereinafter Patil) in view of Seok US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0271137 (hereinafter Seok) in further view of Asterjadhi et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0124704 (hereinafter Asterjadhi).
Regarding claim 22, Patil discloses a method for communicating over a wireless network, the method comprising:
“configuring, by a Multi-Link Device (MLD) device, a data frame that includes per-link address update information for a remote device in a subframe header field, (see Patil par. 0034, the frame may also include a field containing an indication of a presence or absence of each of the common attributes indicated in the second portion of the frame, the common attributes including at least one of an indication of an authentication scheme, an address of the AP MLD, or a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the AP MLD. In some other instances, the frame may also indicate whether the AP MLD supports simultaneous transmit-and-receive (STR) operations across multiple links of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links. In addition, or in the alternative, the frame may also include an indication of one or more critical updates corresponding to one or more of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs, where the critical updates include a change in operating channels or a change in basic service set (BSS) parameters for at least one AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary Aps, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422); and “sending, to the remote device, the data frame to update a communication link between the MLD device and the remote device with the per-link address update information” (see Patil par. 0077, The BSS may be identified to users by a service set identifier (SSID), as well as to other devices by a basic service set identifier (BSSID), which may be a medium access control (MAC) address of the AP 102. The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 108 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 108, with the AP 102. For example, the beacons can include an identification of a primary channel used by the respective AP 102 as well as a timing synchronization function for establishing or maintaining timing synchronization with the AP 102. The AP 102 may provide access to external networks to various STAs 104 in the WLAN via respective communication links 108);
Patil does not explicitly discloses the subframe header field being encrypted, the per-link address update information representing a change of an association address for the remote device once an association is completed.
However, in analogues art, Seok discloses the subframe header field being encrypted, the per-link address update information representing a change of an association address for the remote device once an association is completed (see Seok pars. 0247, 0200-0207, As previously stated in FIG. 18, an encrypted MPDU corresponding to the encrypted result of the plaintext MPDU may be comprised of a MAC header (MAC header of the plaintext MPDU of FIG. 18) shown in FIG. 22, a CCMP header (CCMP header generated on the basis of PN and KeyID shown in FIG. 18) shown in FIG. 22, encrypted data generated in FIG. 22, and MIC and FCS (Frame Check Sequence). If the MAC address of the STA is replaced with an AID in the MAC header, the STA having received the frame changes (or maps) the AID contained in the MAC header of the frame to the MAC address, and the STA stores the changed (or mapped) MAC address in a memory (or cache memory) along with a sequence number. Since the STA AID is allocated by the AP, the AP recognizes the MAC address (i.e., the mapping relationship between STA AID and STA MAC addresses) to which the corresponding AID is allocated. Accordingly, the AP may recognize the STA MAC address on the basis of the STA AID contained in the address field (i.e., Address 2 field) of the UL frame. after a first STA transmits a first frame in which the compressed MAC header is used to a second STA, a normal MAC header may be used in a second frame transmitted to the second STA. Here, the first frame and a second frame are configured to transmit different MPDUs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Seok into the system of Patil to transmit, by a first station (STA), a frame including a short MAC header to a second STA, wherein one of a receiver address (RA) field and a transmitter address (TA) field contained in the short MAC header includes an associated identifier (AID) value according to whether a transmission direction of the frame is an uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) direction, and if the RA field includes the AID value, the sequence number for the frame is assigned based on a station (STA) MAC address identified by the AID value (see Seok par. 0007).
Patil in view of Seok does not explicitly discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include the per-link address update information.
However, in analogues art, Asterjadhi discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include the per-link address update information (see Asterjadhi pars. 0148-0151, The dynamic A-MPDU frame 1000 includes a plurality of dynamic A-MSDU sub-frames, including sub-frame 1005a, sub-frame 1005b, and sub-frame 1005c. the sub-frame 1005 may correspond to one or more of the sub-frames 1005a-c shown in FIG. 10A. The sub-frame 1005 includes a sub-frame control field 1006, a destination address field 1010, a source address field 1015, an MSDU field 1020, and one or more padding bytes 1025. The sub-frame control field 1006 includes a length field 1030, a destination address present field 1040 and a source address present field 1050. The length field 1030 may indicate a length of the sub-frame of which the sub-frame control field is a part. the presence of the destination address field 1010, which is optional, is indicated by the DA present sub-field 1040 and the presence of source address field 1015, which is also optional, is indicated by the SA present sub-field 1050. In some aspects, when the destination address field 1010 is not present, the destination address is stored at the recipient of the frame. In some aspects, when the source address field 1015 is not present, the source address is stored at the recipient of the frame. One or more of the destination address and source address may be updated at a destination by transmitting a sub-frame 1005 that includes a DA field 1010, or SA field 1015 after the destination has agreed to store one or more of the DA fields 1010 or SA fields 1015 via a header compression request/reply exchange as described below with respect to information element 1300).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Seok into the system of Patil and Seok to include one or more of the destination address and source address may be updated at a destination by transmitting a sub-frame that includes a DA field, or SA field after the destination has agreed to store one or more of the DA fields or SA fields via a header compression request/reply exchange (see Asterjadhi par. 0151).
Regarding claims 23, 30, and 37, Patil in view of Seok in further view of Asterjadhi discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil further discloses completing a security association with the remote device using a first medium access control (MAC) address, wherein the per-link address update information includes a second MAC address, and wherein the first MAC address is updated to the second MAC address responsive to completion of the security association. (see Patil par. 0071, a single ML association context for a plurality of communication links shared between multiple devices that form a multi-link device (MLD). Each MLD may have a unique medium access control (MAC) address, which is also referred to as a MAC service access point (MAC-SAP) endpoint. One example of an MLD device is an AP MLD, which includes multiple APs each capable of communicating on multiple communication links and establishing a BSS on the multiple communication links. Another example of an MLD device is a STA MLD device, which includes multiple STAs capable of communicating with other devices (such as an AP MLD device) on multiple communication links. The STA MLD device may have one medium access control physical layer (MAC-PHY) instance for each of the multiple communication links, and the MAC address of each MAC-PHY instance may be the same or different).
Regarding claims 25, 32, and 39, Patil in view of Seok in further view of Asterjadhi discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil further discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a repurposed source address (SA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the SA field is repurposed to include per-link address update information (see Patil par. 0095, the A-MPDU subframe 406, the MAC header 412 may include a number of fields containing information that defines or indicates characteristics or attributes of data encapsulated within the frame body 414. The MAC header 412 also includes a number of fields indicating addresses for the data encapsulated within the frame body 414. For example, the MAC header 412 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address, or a destination address. The MAC header 412 may include a frame control field containing control information. The frame control field specifies the frame type, for example, a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame).
Regarding claims 27, 34, and 41, Patil in view of Seok in further view of Asterjadhi discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29,
Patil further discloses wherein the per-link address update information includes a multi-layer (ML) MAC address (see Patil par. 0071, The STA MLD device may have one medium access control physical layer (MAC-PHY) instance for each of the multiple communication links, and the MAC address of each MAC-PHY instance may be the same or different).
Regarding claims 28 and 35, Patil in view of Seok in further view of Asterjadhi discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29,
Patil further discloses wherein the data frame includes an Aggregated MAC Service Data Unit (A-MSDU) data packet of a medium access control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU) packet (see Patil par. 0094, Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422).
Regarding claim 29, Patil discloses one or more processors (Fig. 5, processor 506) configured for communicating over a wireless network by performing operations comprising:
“configuring a data frame that includes per-link address update information for a remote device in a subframe header field, (see Patil par. 0034, the frame may also include a field containing an indication of a presence or absence of each of the common attributes indicated in the second portion of the frame, the common attributes including at least one of an indication of an authentication scheme, an address of the AP MLD, or a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the AP MLD. In some other instances, the frame may also indicate whether the AP MLD supports simultaneous transmit-and-receive (STR) operations across multiple links of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links. In addition, or in the alternative, the frame may also include an indication of one or more critical updates corresponding to one or more of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs, where the critical updates include a change in operating channels or a change in basic service set (BSS) parameters for at least one AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary Aps, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422); and
“sending, to the remote device, the data frame to update a communication link with the remote device based on the per-link address update information” (see Patil par. 0077, The BSS may be identified to users by a service set identifier (SSID), as well as to other devices by a basic service set identifier (BSSID), which may be a medium access control (MAC) address of the AP 102. The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 108 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 108, with the AP 102. For example, the beacons can include an identification of a primary channel used by the respective AP 102 as well as a timing synchronization function for establishing or maintaining timing synchronization with the AP 102. The AP 102 may provide access to external networks to various STAs 104 in the WLAN via respective communication links 108);
Patil does not explicitly discloses the subframe header field being encrypted, the per-link address update information representing a change of an association address for the remote device once an association is completed.
However, in analogues art, Seok discloses the subframe header field being encrypted, the per-link address update information representing a change of an association address for the remote device once an association is completed (see Seok pars. 0247, 0200-0207, As previously stated in FIG. 18, an encrypted MPDU corresponding to the encrypted result of the plaintext MPDU may be comprised of a MAC header (MAC header of the plaintext MPDU of FIG. 18) shown in FIG. 22, a CCMP header (CCMP header generated on the basis of PN and KeyID shown in FIG. 18) shown in FIG. 22, encrypted data generated in FIG. 22, and MIC and FCS (Frame Check Sequence). If the MAC address of the STA is replaced with an AID in the MAC header, the STA having received the frame changes (or maps) the AID contained in the MAC header of the frame to the MAC address, and the STA stores the changed (or mapped) MAC address in a memory (or cache memory) along with a sequence number. Since the STA AID is allocated by the AP, the AP recognizes the MAC address (i.e., the mapping relationship between STA AID and STA MAC addresses) to which the corresponding AID is allocated. Accordingly, the AP may recognize the STA MAC address on the basis of the STA AID contained in the address field (i.e., Address 2 field) of the UL frame. after a first STA transmits a first frame in which the compressed MAC header is used to a second STA, a normal MAC header may be used in a second frame transmitted to the second STA. Here, the first frame and a second frame are configured to transmit different MPDUs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Seok into the system of Patil to transmit, by a first station (STA), a frame including a short MAC header to a second STA, wherein one of a receiver address (RA) field and a transmitter address (TA) field contained in the short MAC header includes an associated identifier (AID) value according to whether a transmission direction of the frame is an uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) direction, and if the RA field includes the AID value, the sequence number for the frame is assigned based on a station (STA) MAC address identified by the AID value (see Seok par. 0007).
Patil in view of Seok does not explicitly discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include the per-link address update information.
However, in analogues art, Asterjadhi discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include the per-link address update information (see Asterjadhi pars. 0148-0151, The dynamic A-MPDU frame 1000 includes a plurality of dynamic A-MSDU sub-frames, including sub-frame 1005a, sub-frame 1005b, and sub-frame 1005c. the sub-frame 1005 may correspond to one or more of the sub-frames 1005a-c shown in FIG. 10A. The sub-frame 1005 includes a sub-frame control field 1006, a destination address field 1010, a source address field 1015, an MSDU field 1020, and one or more padding bytes 1025. The sub-frame control field 1006 includes a length field 1030, a destination address present field 1040 and a source address present field 1050. The length field 1030 may indicate a length of the sub-frame of which the sub-frame control field is a part. the presence of the destination address field 1010, which is optional, is indicated by the DA present sub-field 1040 and the presence of source address field 1015, which is also optional, is indicated by the SA present sub-field 1050. In some aspects, when the destination address field 1010 is not present, the destination address is stored at the recipient of the frame. In some aspects, when the source address field 1015 is not present, the source address is stored at the recipient of the frame. One or more of the destination address and source address may be updated at a destination by transmitting a sub-frame 1005 that includes a DA field 1010, or SA field 1015 after the destination has agreed to store one or more of the DA fields 1010 or SA fields 1015 via a header compression request/reply exchange as described below with respect to information element 1300).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Seok into the system of Patil and Seok to include one or more of the destination address and source address may be updated at a destination by transmitting a sub-frame that includes a DA field, or SA field after the destination has agreed to store one or more of the DA fields or SA fields via a header compression request/reply exchange (see Asterjadhi par. 0151).
Regarding claim 36, Patil discloses an apparatus comprising a Multi-Link Device (MLD) device, the MLD device comprising one or more processors configured for communicating over a wireless network by performing operations comprising:
“configuring, by a, a data frame that includes per-link address update information for a remote device in a subframe header field, (see Patil par. 0034, the frame may also include a field containing an indication of a presence or absence of each of the common attributes indicated in the second portion of the frame, the common attributes including at least one of an indication of an authentication scheme, an address of the AP MLD, or a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the AP MLD. In some other instances, the frame may also indicate whether the AP MLD supports simultaneous transmit-and-receive (STR) operations across multiple links of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links. In addition, or in the alternative, the frame may also include an indication of one or more critical updates corresponding to one or more of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs, where the critical updates include a change in operating channels or a change in basic service set (BSS) parameters for at least one AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary Aps, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422); and
“preparing, for transmission to the remote device, the data frame to update a communication link with the remote device based on the per-link address update information” (see Patil par. 0077, The BSS may be identified to users by a service set identifier (SSID), as well as to other devices by a basic service set identifier (BSSID), which may be a medium access control (MAC) address of the AP 102. The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 108 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 108, with the AP 102. For example, the beacons can include an identification of a primary channel used by the respective AP 102 as well as a timing synchronization function for establishing or maintaining timing synchronization with the AP 102. The AP 102 may provide access to external networks to various STAs 104 in the WLAN via respective communication links 108);
Patil does not explicitly discloses the subframe header field being encrypted, the per-link address update information representing a change of an association address for the remote device once an association is completed.
However, in analogues art, Seok discloses the subframe header field being encrypted, the per-link address update information representing a change of an association address for the remote device once an association is completed (see Seok pars. 0247, 0200-0207, As previously stated in FIG. 18, an encrypted MPDU corresponding to the encrypted result of the plaintext MPDU may be comprised of a MAC header (MAC header of the plaintext MPDU of FIG. 18) shown in FIG. 22, a CCMP header (CCMP header generated on the basis of PN and KeyID shown in FIG. 18) shown in FIG. 22, encrypted data generated in FIG. 22, and MIC and FCS (Frame Check Sequence). If the MAC address of the STA is replaced with an AID in the MAC header, the STA having received the frame changes (or maps) the AID contained in the MAC header of the frame to the MAC address, and the STA stores the changed (or mapped) MAC address in a memory (or cache memory) along with a sequence number. Since the STA AID is allocated by the AP, the AP recognizes the MAC address (i.e., the mapping relationship between STA AID and STA MAC addresses) to which the corresponding AID is allocated. Accordingly, the AP may recognize the STA MAC address on the basis of the STA AID contained in the address field (i.e., Address 2 field) of the UL frame. after a first STA transmits a first frame in which the compressed MAC header is used to a second STA, a normal MAC header may be used in a second frame transmitted to the second STA. Here, the first frame and a second frame are configured to transmit different MPDUs).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Seok into the system of Patil to transmit, by a first station (STA), a frame including a short MAC header to a second STA, wherein one of a receiver address (RA) field and a transmitter address (TA) field contained in the short MAC header includes an associated identifier (AID) value according to whether a transmission direction of the frame is an uplink (UL) or downlink (DL) direction, and if the RA field includes the AID value, the sequence number for the frame is assigned based on a station (STA) MAC address identified by the AID value (see Seok par. 0007).
Patil in view of Seok does not explicitly discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include the per-link address update information.
However, in analogues art, Asterjadhi discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include the per-link address update information (see Asterjadhi pars. 0148-0151, The dynamic A-MPDU frame 1000 includes a plurality of dynamic A-MSDU sub-frames, including sub-frame 1005a, sub-frame 1005b, and sub-frame 1005c. the sub-frame 1005 may correspond to one or more of the sub-frames 1005a-c shown in FIG. 10A. The sub-frame 1005 includes a sub-frame control field 1006, a destination address field 1010, a source address field 1015, an MSDU field 1020, and one or more padding bytes 1025. The sub-frame control field 1006 includes a length field 1030, a destination address present field 1040 and a source address present field 1050. The length field 1030 may indicate a length of the sub-frame of which the sub-frame control field is a part. the presence of the destination address field 1010, which is optional, is indicated by the DA present sub-field 1040 and the presence of source address field 1015, which is also optional, is indicated by the SA present sub-field 1050. In some aspects, when the destination address field 1010 is not present, the destination address is stored at the recipient of the frame. In some aspects, when the source address field 1015 is not present, the source address is stored at the recipient of the frame. One or more of the destination address and source address may be updated at a destination by transmitting a sub-frame 1005 that includes a DA field 1010, or SA field 1015 after the destination has agreed to store one or more of the DA fields 1010 or SA fields 1015 via a header compression request/reply exchange as described below with respect to information element 1300).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Seok into the system of Patil and Seok to include one or more of the destination address and source address may be updated at a destination by transmitting a sub-frame that includes a DA field, or SA field after the destination has agreed to store one or more of the DA fields or SA fields via a header compression request/reply exchange (see Asterjadhi par. 0151).
6. Claims 26, 33, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0014776 (hereinafter Patil) in view of Seok US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0271137 (hereinafter Seok) in further view of Asterjadhi et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0124704 (hereinafter Asterjadhi)
in further view of Lee et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0135041 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 26, 33, and 40, Patil in view of Seok in further view of Asterjadhi discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil in view of Lee does not explicitly discloses wherein the per-link address update information includes an over-the-air (OTA) MAC address.
However in analogues art, Lee discloses wherein the per-link address update information includes an over-the-air (OTA) MAC address (see Lee Abstract, par. 0091, At block 805, the wireless station 115-c may determine a MAC address for over-the-air (OTA) wireless transmissions. The OTA MAC address may be a random MAC address and, in some aspects, may be different than a permanent MAC address of the wireless station 115-c).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the system of Patil, Seok, and Asterjadhi to provide once an authentication and association process has been completed, another random MAC address may be generated and/or used for an over-the-air (OTA) MAC address to protect privacy of the over-the-air communications between the wireless station and the access point. The OTA MAC address may be same as the random MAC address used for pre-association message exchanges (see Lee par. 0042).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2022/0287122 A1): discloses As disclosed herein, there may be systems, methods, and devices for enabling multi-link wireless local area networks (WLAN). One or more non-AP station (STA) multi-link devices (MLDs) and one or more Access Point (AP) MLD may establish a multi-link association between each other, thereby establishing a multi-link connection that enables improved and more efficient wireless communication.
Zhou et al. (US 2019/0150214 A1): discloses Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communication are described. Wireless devices may support parallel communications over multiple wireless links, which may benefit a wireless system in terms of throughput and latency (among other benefits). However, such systems may experience increased system complexity, which may in some cases mitigate some of the benefits provided by the parallel communication links. The described techniques provide for aggregation architectures that address various such complexities. For example, devices communicating in accordance with the described techniques may format data to be transmitted into a set of data units that are allocated to a communication link based on various factors described herein. Correspondingly, a device that receives the data packets may reorder the packets in accordance with the described techniques.
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433