DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 22-41 are pending on this application. Claims 22, 29, and 36 are in independent forms. Claims 1-21 has been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 12/06/2024 and 08/15/2025 are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings filed on 09/26/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 22-25, 27-32, 34-39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0014776 (hereinafter Patil) in view of Lee et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0187724 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 22, Patil discloses a method for communicating over a wireless network, the method comprising:
“configuring, by a Multi-Link Device (MLD) device, a data frame that includes per-link address update information for a remote device in a subframe header field, (see Patil par. 0034, the frame may also include a field containing an indication of a presence or absence of each of the common attributes indicated in the second portion of the frame, the common attributes including at least one of an indication of an authentication scheme, an address of the AP MLD, or a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the AP MLD. In some other instances, the frame may also indicate whether the AP MLD supports simultaneous transmit-and-receive (STR) operations across multiple links of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links. In addition, or in the alternative, the frame may also include an indication of one or more critical updates corresponding to one or more of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs, where the critical updates include a change in operating channels or a change in basic service set (BSS) parameters for at least one AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary Aps, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422); and
“broadcasting, to the remote device, the data frame to update a communication link between the MLD device and the remote device with the per-link address update information” (see Patil par. 0077, The BSS may be identified to users by a service set identifier (SSID), as well as to other devices by a basic service set identifier (BSSID), which may be a medium access control (MAC) address of the AP 102. The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 108 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 108, with the AP 102. For example, the beacons can include an identification of a primary channel used by the respective AP 102 as well as a timing synchronization function for establishing or maintaining timing synchronization with the AP 102. The AP 102 may provide access to external networks to various STAs 104 in the WLAN via respective communication links 108);
Patil does not explicitly discloses the subframe header field being encrypted.
However, in analogues art, Lee discloses subframe header field being encrypted (see Lee par. 0112-0113, The aggregated data frame payload 830 may be generated based on the integrity code field 780 and the secure payload field 790 described with reference to FIG. 7. For example, the processor 220 of the transmitting terminal 200 may encrypt a payload of each subframe in an aggregated data frame consists of plurality of subframes which include a subheader, a payload, and a frame check sequence (FCS) and on which secure processing is not performed. The processor 220 may include a secure payload generated for each subframe in the aggregated data frame, in lieu of an original payload that is not encrypted).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the system of Patil to include a processor of a transmitting terminal to generate a secure data by encrypting data using a key and a unique nonce for a frame or a subframe (see Lee par. 0108).
Regarding claims 23, 30, and 37, Patil in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil further discloses completing a security association with the remote device using a first medium access control (MAC) address, wherein the per-link address update information includes a second MAC address, and wherein the first MAC address is updated to the second MAC address responsive to completion of the security association. (see Patil par. 0071, a single ML association context for a plurality of communication links shared between multiple devices that form a multi-link device (MLD). Each MLD may have a unique medium access control (MAC) address, which is also referred to as a MAC service access point (MAC-SAP) endpoint. One example of an MLD device is an AP MLD, which includes multiple APs each capable of communicating on multiple communication links and establishing a BSS on the multiple communication links. Another example of an MLD device is a STA MLD device, which includes multiple STAs capable of communicating with other devices (such as an AP MLD device) on multiple communication links. The STA MLD device may have one medium access control physical layer (MAC-PHY) instance for each of the multiple communication links, and the MAC address of each MAC-PHY instance may be the same or different).
Regarding claims 24, 31, and 38, Patil in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil further discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a repurposed destination address (DA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the DA field is repurposed to include per-link address update information (see Patil par. 0095, the A-MPDU subframe 406, the MAC header 412 may include a number of fields containing information that defines or indicates characteristics or attributes of data encapsulated within the frame body 414. The MAC header 412 also includes a number of fields indicating addresses for the data encapsulated within the frame body 414. For example, the MAC header 412 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address, or a destination address. The MAC header 412 may include a frame control field containing control information. The frame control field specifies the frame type, for example, a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame).
Regarding claims 25, 32, and 39, Patil in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil further discloses wherein the subframe header field includes a repurposed source address (SA) field, and wherein a multicast indicator bit indicates that the SA field is repurposed to include per-link address update information (see Patil par. 0095, the A-MPDU subframe 406, the MAC header 412 may include a number of fields containing information that defines or indicates characteristics or attributes of data encapsulated within the frame body 414. The MAC header 412 also includes a number of fields indicating addresses for the data encapsulated within the frame body 414. For example, the MAC header 412 may include a combination of a source address, a transmitter address, a receiver address, or a destination address. The MAC header 412 may include a frame control field containing control information. The frame control field specifies the frame type, for example, a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame).
Regarding claims 27, 34, and 41, Patil in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29,
Patil further discloses wherein the per-link address update information includes a multi-layer (ML) MAC address (see Patil par. 0071, The STA MLD device may have one medium access control physical layer (MAC-PHY) instance for each of the multiple communication links, and the MAC address of each MAC-PHY instance may be the same or different).
Regarding claims 28 and 35, Patil in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29,
Patil further discloses wherein the data frame includes an Aggregated MAC Service Data Unit (A-MSDU) data packet of a medium access control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU) packet (see Patil par. 0094, Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422).
Regarding claim 29, Patil discloses one or more processors (Fig. 5, processor 506) configured for communicating over a wireless network by performing operations comprising:
“configuring a data frame that includes per-link address update information for a remote device in a subframe header field, (see Patil par. 0034, the frame may also include a field containing an indication of a presence or absence of each of the common attributes indicated in the second portion of the frame, the common attributes including at least one of an indication of an authentication scheme, an address of the AP MLD, or a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the AP MLD. In some other instances, the frame may also indicate whether the AP MLD supports simultaneous transmit-and-receive (STR) operations across multiple links of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links. In addition, or in the alternative, the frame may also include an indication of one or more critical updates corresponding to one or more of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs, where the critical updates include a change in operating channels or a change in basic service set (BSS) parameters for at least one AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary Aps, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422); and
“broadcasting, to the remote device, the data frame to update a communication link with the remote device” (see Patil par. 0077, The BSS may be identified to users by a service set identifier (SSID), as well as to other devices by a basic service set identifier (BSSID), which may be a medium access control (MAC) address of the AP 102. The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 108 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 108, with the AP 102. For example, the beacons can include an identification of a primary channel used by the respective AP 102 as well as a timing synchronization function for establishing or maintaining timing synchronization with the AP 102. The AP 102 may provide access to external networks to various STAs 104 in the WLAN via respective communication links 108);
Patil does not explicitly discloses the subframe header field being encrypted.
However, in analogues art, Lee discloses subframe header field being encrypted (see Lee par. 0112-0113, The aggregated data frame payload 830 may be generated based on the integrity code field 780 and the secure payload field 790 described with reference to FIG. 7. For example, the processor 220 of the transmitting terminal 200 may encrypt a payload of each subframe in an aggregated data frame consists of plurality of subframes which include a subheader, a payload, and a frame check sequence (FCS) and on which secure processing is not performed. The processor 220 may include a secure payload generated for each subframe in the aggregated data frame, in lieu of an original payload that is not encrypted).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the system of Patil to include a processor of a transmitting terminal to generate a secure data by encrypting data using a key and a unique nonce for a frame or a subframe (see Lee par. 0108).
Regarding claim 36, Patil discloses an apparatus comprising a Multi-Link Device (MLD) device, the MLD device comprising one or more processors configured for communicating over a wireless network by performing operations comprising:
“configuring, by a, a data frame that includes per-link address update information for a remote device in a subframe header field, the subframe header field being encrypted” (see Patil par. 0034, the frame may also include a field containing an indication of a presence or absence of each of the common attributes indicated in the second portion of the frame, the common attributes including at least one of an indication of an authentication scheme, an address of the AP MLD, or a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the AP MLD. In some other instances, the frame may also indicate whether the AP MLD supports simultaneous transmit-and-receive (STR) operations across multiple links of the first communication link or the one or more secondary communication links. In addition, or in the alternative, the frame may also include an indication of one or more critical updates corresponding to one or more of the first AP or the one or more secondary APs, where the critical updates include a change in operating channels or a change in basic service set (BSS) parameters for at least one AP of the first AP or the one or more secondary Aps, each PSDU 404 may carry an aggregated MPDU (A-MPDU) 408 that includes an aggregation of multiple A-MPDU subframes 406. Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422) and
“preparing, for transmission to the remote device, the data frame to update a communication link with the remote device” (see Patil par. 0077, The BSS may be identified to users by a service set identifier (SSID), as well as to other devices by a basic service set identifier (BSSID), which may be a medium access control (MAC) address of the AP 102. The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 108 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 108, with the AP 102. For example, the beacons can include an identification of a primary channel used by the respective AP 102 as well as a timing synchronization function for establishing or maintaining timing synchronization with the AP 102. The AP 102 may provide access to external networks to various STAs 104 in the WLAN via respective communication links 108);
Patil does not explicitly discloses the subframe header field being encrypted.
However, in analogues art, Lee discloses subframe header field being encrypted (see Lee par. 0112-0113, The aggregated data frame payload 830 may be generated based on the integrity code field 780 and the secure payload field 790 described with reference to FIG. 7. For example, the processor 220 of the transmitting terminal 200 may encrypt a payload of each subframe in an aggregated data frame consists of plurality of subframes which include a subheader, a payload, and a frame check sequence (FCS) and on which secure processing is not performed. The processor 220 may include a secure payload generated for each subframe in the aggregated data frame, in lieu of an original payload that is not encrypted).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the system of Patil to include a processor of a transmitting terminal to generate a secure data by encrypting data using a key and a unique nonce for a frame or a subframe (see Lee par. 0108).
7. Claims 26, 33, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0014776 (hereinafter Patil) in view of Lee et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0187724 (hereinafter Lee) in further view of Lee et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0135041 (hereinafter Lee2).
Regarding claims 26, 33, and 40, Patil in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 22, the one or more processors of claim 29, the apparatus of claim 36,
Patil in view of Lee does not explicitly discloses wherein the per-link address update information includes an over-the-air (OTA) MAC address.
However in analogues art, Lee2 discloses wherein the per-link address update information includes an over-the-air (OTA) MAC address (see Lee2 Abstract, par. 0091, At block 805, the wireless station 115-c may determine a MAC address for over-the-air (OTA) wireless transmissions. The OTA MAC address may be a random MAC address and, in some aspects, may be different than a permanent MAC address of the wireless station 115-c).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Lee2 into the system of Patil and Lee to provide once an authentication and association process has been completed, another random MAC address may be generated and/or used for an over-the-air (OTA) MAC address to protect privacy of the over-the-air communications between the wireless station and the access point. The OTA MAC address may be same as the random MAC address used for pre-association message exchanges (see Lee2 par. 0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2022/0287122 A1): discloses Each A-MPDU subframe 406 may include a MAC delimiter 410 and a MAC header 412 prior to the accompanying MPDU 414, which comprises the data portion (“payload” or “frame body”) of the A-MPDU subframe 406. The MPDU 414 may carry one or more MAC service data unit (MSDU) subframes 416. For example, the MPDU 414 may carry an aggregated MSDU (A-MSDU) 418 including multiple MSDU subframes 416. Each MSDU subframe 416 contains a corresponding MSDU 420 preceded by a subframe header 422.
Wentink et al. (US 2017/0208472 A1): discloses Certain aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communications and, more particularly, to protecting control frames with power-related subfields. One example apparatus for wireless communications generally includes a processing system configured to generate a control frame comprising one or more power-related subfields and an integrity check value calculated based, at least in part, on the one or more power-related subfields and a transmitter configured to transmit the control frame. In aspects, a power management (PM) subfield, an end-of-service-period (EOSP) subfield, a more data (MD) subfield, or a traffic identifier (TID) subfield can be added to a group of additional authentication data (AAD) and the integrity check value is calculated based on the group of AAD.
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433