DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are presented for examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soliman (US Patent Application 20170308148).
As per claim 1, Soliman teaches an information processing apparatus [100, fig. 1] comprising:
a computer system [102, fig. 1].
a power supply circuit [128, fig. 1] [0016, energy storage 128 with battery that supply power to the system].
wherein the power supply circuit is configured to supply power supplied from an external power source or a battery [battery: 0016] to the computer system [0016, as pointed out, an energy storage device system 128 having one or multiple energy storage devices (e.g., batteries) that operate as described above and below, where the power manager 126 may assess system-wide power management considerations and manage availability of energy storage devices, processors, and/or processing cores based on the assessment].
the computer system is configured to switch a system state among a normal state [high-performance/active states: 0017], a first low power state [standby state: 0017], and a second low power state [hibernation state: 0017] [0017, as pointed out the system includes multiple power states that can be transitioning such as: transition the computing device 102 between device states such as high performance, active, wake, standby, hibernate, and off].
the first low power state is a state in which power consumption is lower than power consumption in the normal state [0019, standby state conserves power during low activity. For example, the standby state is a low-power state used to conserve power during low user activity or a period of inactivity].
the second low power state is a state in which power consumption is lower than the power consumption in the first low power state [0019, hibernation state consumes less power in which some devices are in in power off modes, for example, hibernate represents an even deeper power conservation state in which the interaction context is migrated to longer term storage, such as hard disk memory, and most system components may be turned off].
the computer system [102, fig. 1] is configured to
determine a setting value for a decrease in remaining capacity such that the setting value increases as the remaining capacity of the battery increases when starting the first low power state [0033, 0035, as pointed out the standby budget represents a configurable budget parameter that controls the amount of power available over a period of time where the amount of power can be increased to allows user to perform tasks for example control the screen as pointed out. The reserve screen on time provide at least some amount of time such as 10-20 minutes in which a user may be able to use the device and take action before power is completely drained. The reserve screen on time is mapped to an amount of battery power to reserve to accommodate the reserved usage time].
change the system state to the second low power state when the first low power state continues until a decrease amount from the remaining capacity at the start of the first low power state reaches the setting value [0033, as pointed out the hibernation states include multiple states where after the first state such as standby state, the system can transition to a second hibernation state which enable to conserve more power. For example, after the budget is depleted the system may skip past the standby state and enter hibernate more quickly, where the standby budget may be expressed as a percentage usage over a time period such as 10% battery usage of 24 hours].
As per claim 2, Soliman teaches wherein the computer system is configured to determine the setting value to be equal to or greater than a predetermined lower limit value [0034, as pointed out, the minimum standby time is a configurable time parameter that specifies an amount of time (for example 5 to 10 minutes) to stay in standby state, or the current state, before transitioning to hibernate, or a different selected state, is enabled].
As per claim 3, Soliman teaches the computer system is configured to determine, as the setting value, a larger value out of a difference between the remaining capacity at the start of the first low power state and a predetermined target, and the lower limit value [0033-0035, as pointed out, the standby budget may be expressed as a percentage usage over a time period such as 10% battery usage of 24 hours. The budget may be replenished for the next period when the time period passes and/or when the device is plugged in and recharged to a threshold level of charge. For example, value parameter adjustment, an initial/default value may be defined (for example 5 to 10%) and then this value may be adjusted based on the user's particular behaviors, habits, and power consumption levels for activities the user engages in].
As per claim 4, Soliman teaches the first low power state is modern standby [standby state: 0017], and the second low power state is hibernation [hibernation state: 0017].
As per claim 5, Soliman teaches wherein the power supply circuit is configured to, when power is supplied from the external power source, store surplus power left unconsumed out of the power in the battery [0018, 0033 plugin power availability or battery power availability where the battery can be recharged as pointed out].
when power is not supplied from the external power source, power discharged from the battery is supplied to the computer system [0018, 0033 as pointed out power form the batter can be drained when there is no plugin power or AC power and charge when there is AC power].
As per claim 6, Soliman teaches a control method [500, fig. 5] for an information processing apparatus including a computer system [102, fig. 1].
a power supply circuit [128, fig. 1] configured to supply power supplied from an external power source or a battery [battery: 0016] to the computer system [0016, as pointed out, an energy storage device system 128 having one or multiple energy storage devices (e.g., batteries) that operate as described above and below, where the power manager 126 may assess system-wide power management considerations and manage availability of energy storage devices, processors, and/or processing cores based on the assessment].
in which the computer system is configured to switch a system state among a normal state, a first low power state and a second low power state [0017, as pointed out the system includes multiple power states that can be transitioning such as: transition the computing device 102 between device states such as high performance, active, wake, standby, hibernate, and off]
the first low power state is a state in which power consumption is lower than power consumption in the normal state [0019, standby state conserves power during low activity: the standby state is a low-power state used to conserve power during low user activity or a period of inactivity].
the second low power state is a state in which power consumption is lower than the power consumption in the first low power state, the control method comprising causing the information processing apparatus to execute [0019, hibernation state consumes less power in which some devices are in in power off modes: hibernate represents an even deeper power conservation state in which the interaction context is migrated to longer term storage, such as hard disk memory, and most system components may be turned off]:
a step of determining a setting value for a decrease in remaining capacity such that the setting value increases as the remaining capacity of the battery increases when starting the first low power state [0033, 0035, as pointed out the standby budget represents a configurable budget parameter that controls the amount of power available over a period of time where the amount of power can be increased to allow user to perform tasks for example control the screen as pointed out. The reserve screen on time provide at least some amount of time such as 10-20 minutes in which a user may be able to use the device and take action before power is completely drained. The reserve screen on time is mapped to an amount of battery power to reserve to accommodate the reserved usage time
a step of changing the system state to the second low power state when the first low power state continues until a decrease amount from the remaining capacity at the start of the first low power state reaches the setting value [0033, as pointed out the hibernation states include multiple states where after the first state such as standby state, the system can transition to a second hibernation state which enable to conserve more power. For example, after the budget is depleted the system may skip past the standby state and enter hibernate more quickly, where the standby budget may be expressed as a percentage usage over a time period such as 10% battery usage of 24 hours].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seto (US 20200409443) teaches information processing apparatus and controlling method.
Tsuji (US 20070204181) teaches information processing apparatus and power consumption method.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176