DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carl, JR. et al. (US 2013/0044430 A1).
Re. claims 1 and 10: Carl discloses an electronic device (10) comprising:
an electronic unit (26, 28); (see fig. 1; para. 0004)
two airflow generating units (34, 124) disposed with respect to the electronic unit; and (see fig. 1, 2; para. 0004, 0022-0024)
an airflow guiding mechanism (110) disposed between the electronic unit and the two airflow generating units,
the airflow guiding mechanism comprising:
a casing (168, 178, 180, 182); and (see fig. 3, 4; para. 0030-0034)
an airflow guiding member (218) rotatably disposed in the casing, the airflow guiding member being able to rotate between a first position (right side position) and a second position (center position); (see fig. 9; para. 0037)
wherein, when the airflow guiding member is located at the first position, the airflow guiding member separates two airflow passages (blocks passage containing 124c from passage containing 124d) at opposite sides of the airflow guiding member from each other; (see fig. 9; para. 0036-0037)
when the airflow guiding member is located at the second position (centered position), the two airflow passages (air from passage containing 124a combined with air from passage containing 124b) communicate with each other. (see fig. 9; para. 0036-0037)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carl, JR. et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Heard (US 6,680,847 B2).
Re. claims 9 and 18: Carl fails to disclose:
a porous structure disposed at an air inlet side of the casing between the electronic unit and the casing.
However, Heard discloses:
An airflow guiding mechanism (100) comprising:
a porous structure (102, 103) disposed at an air inlet side of the casing between the electronic unit and the casing. (see fig. 1, 3; col. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a porous aluminum vent structure at an inlet side of the casing of Carl as taught by Herd. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to provide electromagnetic interference suppression for the casing. (Herd col. 1)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re. claims 2 and 11: the limitations of “wherein the airflow guiding member comprises … a first blade and two second blades, the rotating shaft is pivotally connected to the casing, the first blade and the two second blades extend from the rotating shaft” in combination with the remaining limitations in the claim cannot be found in the prior art. The first blade and two second blades are not taught by the prior art. Only a single blade or a first blade and a second blade are taught by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (US 6,478,082 B1) discloses a porous vent structure in a air inlet side of a casing. Gatti (US 6,181,557 B1) discloses a rotating shaft with a first blade and a second blade in an airflow guiding mechanism.
September 19, 2026
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841