DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 11/26/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986), and in view of LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), and CHEN (US 2017/0159922).
Regarding claim 1, ZHANG’986 discloses a highly waterproof lamp without a lamp holder, comprising
a lampshade (1, Fig.2), a waterproof base (5, Fig.2), and a wick assembly (7, Fig.2), wherein the waterproof base is arranged on an inner side of an opening part of the lampshade (as seen in Fig.2, the waterproof base 5 is insider the opening part of the lampshade 1);
a waterproof threaded base (as seen in para[0040], the lampshade 1 has external threads) is formed on an outer side of the opening part of the lampshade; the waterproof threaded base seals the opening part of the lampshade (as seen in Fig.2, when the lampshade 1 and the electric connection base 3 are threaded, the waterproof threaded base of the lampshade 1 seals the opening of the lampshade 1); an external thread portion is provided on an outer circumferential side of the waterproof threaded base (as seen in Fig.2 and para[0040], the lampshade 1 has external threads); a plugging slot is further provided in a middle part of the waterproof threaded base (as seen in Fig.2, the “plugging slot” was considered to be the opening of the lampshade 1);
the wick assembly is arranged in the lampshade (as seen in Fig.2, the wick assembly 7 is inside the lampshade 1); the wick assembly at least comprises a light source member (7, Fig.7);
the highly waterproof lamp further comprises a branch power cable (13, Fig.2); the branch power cable is provided with an electric connection base (3, Fig.2); the branch power cable is sleeved with a threaded cap (as seen in Fig.2, the branch power cable 13 has internal threads).
ZHANG’986 fails to disclose a waterproof rubber base, the waterproof rubber base is provided with at least two wire guide holes; a waterproof threaded base… through injection molding; the wick assembly at least comprises a first metal wire and a second metal wire which are electrically connected with each other in sequence; the other end of the first metal wire and the other end of the second metal wire pass through the wire guide holes, extend into the plugging slot, and form a first conductive plugging column and a second conductive plugging column; the branch power cable (5) is movably sleeved with a threaded cap (52); the electric connection base (51) is plugged into the plugging slot (42), and the electric connection base (51) is provided with a plugging hole (511) adapted to the conductive plugging columns; an internal thread portion is provided on an inner wall of the threaded cap (52); and the threaded cap (52) is in threaded connection with the external thread portion (41) through the internal thread portion.
However, LI discloses a waterproof rubber base (31, Fig.4; para[0026]) is provided with at least two wire guide holes (35, Fig.6), a wick assembly includes a first metal wire (34, Fig.4) and a second metal wire (32, Fig.4) electrically connected with each other in sequence, and the other end of the first metal wire and the other end of the second metal wire pass through the wire guide holes (Fig.4).
However, ZHANG’278 discloses the other end of a first metal wire (1021, Figs.2 and 4) and the other end of a second metal wire (1021, Figs.2 and 4) pass through a base (106, Fig.4), extend into a plugging slot (as seen in Fig.3, the other end of the first and second metal wire 1021 extend into a plugging slot of the lampshade 101), and form a first conductive plugging column and a second conductive plugging column (as seen in Fig.3, the “first and second conductive plugging column” was considered to be the portion of the electrical connector extending from the base 106).
However, YU discloses a branch power cable (60, Figs,1-2) is movably sleeved with a threaded cap (90, Figs.1-2), an internal thread portion is provided on an inner wall of the threaded cap (para[0015]), and the threaded cap is in threaded connection with an external thread portion (10, 30, 31, Fig.2) through the internal thread portion.
However, CHEN discloses an electric connection base (4, Fig.1) is plugged into a plugging slot (as seen in Fig.2, the electric connection base 4 inserts into the base 2) of a base (2, Fig.1), and the electric connection base is provided with a plugging hole (43, Figs.1-2) adapted to conductive plugging columns (21, Figs.1-2).
Therefore, in view of LI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a rubber base and a first and second metal wire passing through the wire guide holes of the rubber base as taught by LI to the base of ZHANG’986 in order to provide a tight seal to minimize water entering into the lampshade.
Therefore, in view of ZHANG’278, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate extending a first and second metal wire into a plugging slot of the lampshade to form a first and second conductive plugging column as taught by ZANG’278 to the base and lampshade of ZHANG’986 modified by LI in order to electrically connect to the wick assembly.
Therefore, in view of YU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a branch power cable (60, movably sleeved with a threaded cap as taught by YU to the brank power cable of ZHANG’986 modified by LI and ZHANG’278 in order to provide an alternative fastener to attach the lampshade.
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an electric connection base provided with a plugging hole as taught by CHEN to the electric connection base of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, and YU in order to provide an alternative electrical connector to connect the branch power cable and the wick assembly.
Regarding “a waterproof threaded base… through injection molding”, the applicant is advised that, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” (See MPEP § 2113. See also In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, (Fed. Cir. 1985)). The structure necessarily present from the method is given patentable weight. In the instant case, the recited limitations failed to distinguish the structure of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN.
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG’986 further discloses wherein the light source member (7, Fig.2) is a light-emitting diode (LED) light bar or an LED light bead (para[0036]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), and CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and in view of LENZ (US 6,091,200).
Regarding claim 3, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN fails to disclose wherein the plugging slot is provided with a positioning block; and the electric connection base is provided with a positioning slot adapted to the positioning block.
However, LENZ discloses a plugging slot (32, Fig.3) is provided with a positioning slot (37, Fig.3), and the electric connection base (34, Fig.3) is provided with a positioning block (39, Fig.3) adapted to the positioning slot.
Therefore, in view of LENZ, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a plugging slot provided with a positioning slot and the electric connection base provided with a positioning block as taught by LENZ to the lampshade and the electric connection base of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN in order to provide a keying mechanism to connect the lampshade and the electric connection base.
Regarding “a plugging slot is provided with a positioning block, and the electric connection base is provided with a positioning slot”, while LENZ discloses the opposite configuration, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the keying mechanism is interchangeable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a plugging slot provided with a positioning block and the electric connection base provided with a positioning slot to ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN in order to provide an alternative keying mechanism to connect the lampshade and the electric connection base.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and LENZ (US 6,091,200), and in view of HONG (US 2020/0132257)
Regarding claim 4, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and LENZ fails to disclose wherein each of the first metal wire and the second metal wire comprises a conductive wire and a conductive column; a diameter of the conductive column is greater than a diameter of the conductive wire; and the first conductive plugging column and the second conductive plugging column are arranged at tail ends of the conductive columns
However, HONG discloses a first and second metal wire (1, Fig.3c) includes a conductive wire (1, Fig.3c) and a conductive column (3, Fig.3c), a diameter of the conductive column is greater than a diameter of the conductive wire (as seen in Fig.3c, since the first and second metal wire 1 inserts into the conductive column 3, the conductive column 3 was considered to have a greater diameter than the conductive wire 1), and the first and second conductive plugging column are arranged at tail ends of the conductive columns.
Therefore, in view of HONG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a diameter of a conductive column is greater than a diameter of a conductive wire as taught by HONG to the first and second metal wire of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and LENZ in order to attach the wick assembly to the electric connection base.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), and CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and in view of FAN WONG (US 2002/0110001) and LIU’253 (US 2016/0195253).
Regarding claim 5, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN fails to disclose wherein the electric connection base comprises an assembling portion and a plugging portion; the plugging portion is plugged into the plugging slot; a platform portion configured to seal an open end of the plugging slot is provided between the assembling portion and the plugging portion; and a sealing ring is further arranged above the platform portion.
However, FAN WONG discloses an electric connection base (2, Fig.1) includes an assembling portion (as seen in Fig.2, the “assembling portion” was considered to be below the flange 21) and a plugging portion (as seen in Fig.2, the “plugging portion” was considered to be above the flange 21), the plugging portion is plugged into a plugging slot (3, Fig.1), a platform portion (21, Fig.1) configured to seal an open end of the plugging slot is provided between the assembling portion and the plugging portion.
However, LIU’253 discloses a sealing ring (18, Fig.4) is arranged above a platform portion of an electric connection base (15, Fig.4).
Therefore, in view of FAN WONG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an assembling portion and a plugging portion as taught by FAN WONG to the electric connection base of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN in order to provide a type of electrical connector.
Therefore, in view of LIU’253, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a sealing ring as taught by LIU’253 to the electric connection base of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN in order to prevent water from entering the electric connection base.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), and CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and in view of LI’516 (US 2019/0191516).
Regarding claim 6, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN fails to disclose wherein several fluorescent filaments are placed in the lampshade.
However, LI’516 discloses several fluorescent filaments (140, Figs.1-2) are placed in a lampshade (120, Fig.1A).
Therefore, in view of LI’516, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate several fluorescent filaments as taught by LI’516 to the lampshade of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN in order to provide an alternative light source.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), and CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and in view of YU’169 (US 2017/0343169).
Regarding claim 7, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN fails to disclose a main power cable, a male plug, a female socket, and a plurality of light string connectors, wherein the male plug and the female socket are respectively arranged at two ends of the main power cable; the plurality of light string connectors are uniformly distributed in a middle part of the main power cable; and the branch power cable extends into the light string connectors and is electrically connected to the main power cable.
However, YU’169 discloses a main power cable (200, Fig.1), a male plug (210, Fig.1), a female socket (220, Fig.1), and a plurality of light string connectors (300, Fig.1), the male plug and the female socket are respectively arranged at two ends of the main power cable, the plurality of light string connectors are uniformly distributed in a middle part of the main power cable, and a branch power cable (60, Figs.1-2) extends into the light string connectors and is electrically connected to the main power cable.
Therefore, in view of YU’169, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a main power cable, a male plug, and a female socket as taught by YU’169 to the branch power cable of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, and CHEN in order to connect the branch power cable to a main power supply.
Regarding claim 8, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and YU’169 as discussed above for claim 7 fails to disclose wherein the light string connectors (7) are provided with hanging lugs (71) for ease of hanging of the lamps.
However, YU’169 further discloses the light string connectors are provided with hanging lugs (310, Fig.1) for ease of hanging of the lamps.
Therefore, in view of YU’169, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate hanging lugs as taught by YU’169 to the light string connectors of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and YU’169 in order to attach the lamps to a structure.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and YU’169 (US 2017/0343169), and in view of CHEN’706 (US 5,021,706).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and YU’169 fails to disclose a hook (8), wherein an elastic clamping portion (81) is arranged at one end of the hook (8); and the elastic clamping portion (81) is clamped into the hanging lugs (71).
However, CHEN’706 discloses a hook (4, Fig.1), an elastic clamping portion (4) is arranged at one end of the hook; and the elastic clamping portion is clamped into a hanging lug (208, Fig.1).
Therefore, in view of CHEN’706, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a hook as taught by CHEN’706 to the hanging lug of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and YU’169 in order to hang the lamps onto a structure.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG’986 (US 2020/0032986) modified by LI (US 2023/0082893), ZHANG’278 (US 2018/0372278), YU (US 2017/0343169), CHEN (US 2017/0159922), and YU’169 (US 2017/0343169), and in view of LEI (US 2023/0151934).
Regarding claim 10, ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and YU’169 fails to disclose wherein the branch power cable at least comprises a first positive wire and a first negative wire; the main power cable at least comprises a second positive wire and a second negative wire; the first positive wire is electrically connected to the second positive wire through butt welding; and the first negative wire is electrically connected to the second negative wire through butt welding.
However, LEI discloses a branch power cable includes a first positive wire (222, Fig.4) and a first negative wire (223, Fig.4), a main power cable includes a second positive wire (11, Fig.4) and a second negative wire (12, Fig.4), and the first positive and negative wire is electrically connected to the second positive and negative wire through welding (as seen in para[0044], the electrical connection is made by welding).
Therefore, in view of LEI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first positive and negative wire is electrically connected to the second positive and negative wire as taught by LEI to the branch power cable and the main power cable of ZHANG’986 modified by LI, ZHANG’278, YU, CHEN, and YU’169 in order to electrically connect the branch power cable and the main power cable.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20170138577, US 20230047982, US 20230258303, US 20210041098, US 20220333747, US 20140340903, US 10718471, US 9845925, US 11662085, US 5649763, US 11747002, US 11788711, and US 5091836 discloses a lampshade, a base, and a wick assembly
Conclusion
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875