DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action in response to U.S. application 18/898,757. All claims are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 6-11, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakakibara (US 20210141388).
Regarding claim 1, Sakakibara teaches a method for navigating a self-driving vehicle comprising a vehicle processor in communication with at least one vehicle sensor ([0063] discusses the control unit of the autonomous travel device in communication with the sensors of the travel device), the method comprising operating the vehicle processor to:
control the vehicle, using input data from the at least one vehicle sensor, to follow guiding infrastructure ([0041]-[0043] discuss using input data from the vehicle sensor to control the vehicle based on the detected line (guiding infrastructure));
detect, using the at least one vehicle sensor, a proximity indicator indicating proximity of the vehicle to a waypoint ([0057]-[0058] discuss detecting a marker with the detection sensor where the marker indicates proximity of the travel device to a line 1 where the point along the trajectory at line 1 is interpreted as a waypoint);
determine if a trigger condition is satisfied for responding to the detected proximity indicator ([0058] discusses the autonomous travel device communicating with the RFID marker with [0059] discussing this communication including obtaining operation control information related to the waypoint);
in response to determining the trigger condition is satisfied, assess a feature of the proximity indicator to determine a distance between a current position of the vehicle and the waypoint ([0084] discusses the RFID marker being a predetermined distance away from the line waypoint where when the sensor detects the presence of the RFID marker it determines the distance between the current position of the vehicle and the line waypoint); and
adjust at least one vehicle operating attribute based on the determined distance ([0059] discusses the marker providing operation control information including the required change in the vehicle operation at the waypoint where [0084] discusses this marker being a predetermined distance from the waypoint allowing the autonomous travel device to know at what point to perform the vehicle operation).
Regarding claim 6, Sakakibara teaches wherein the feature assessed is at least one of a signal strength or a signal frequency ([0057] discusses the marker as an RFID signal).
Regarding claim 7, Sakakibara teaches wherein the signal is at least one of a frequency signal or an optical light signal ([0057] discusses the marker as an RFID signal with [0058] discussing the autonomous device sensor communicating with the RFID marker).
Regarding claim 8, Sakakibara teaches wherein the trigger condition comprises determining that the waypoint corresponds to the location of a vehicle task requiring execution ([0058] discusses the autonomous travel device communicating with the RFID marker with [0059] discussing this communication including obtaining operation control information related to the waypoint).
Regarding claim 9, Sakakibara teaches wherein operating the vehicle processor to adjust the at least one vehicle attribute comprises operating the vehicle processor to control a vehicle drive system to reduce a vehicle travelling speed ([0044] discusses changing the predetermined operation including changing the speed of the travel device where it is interpreted that this would include reducing the travelling speed).
Regarding claim 10, Sakakibara teaches wherein the at least one vehicle sensor comprises a first vehicle sensor and a second vehicle sensor, the first vehicle sensor being used to follow the guiding infrastructure, and the second vehicle sensor being used to detect the proximity indicator ([0079] discusses the travel device including a first sensor to follow the line guiding infrastructure and a second sensor to detect markings).
Regarding claim 11, Sakakibara teaches a system for navigating a self-driving vehicle, the system comprising a vehicle processor in communication with at least one vehicle sensor ([0063] discusses the control unit of the autonomous travel device in communication with the sensors of the travel device), the vehicle processor being operable to:
control the vehicle, using input data from the at least one vehicle sensor, to follow guiding infrastructure ([0041]-[0043] discuss using input data from the vehicle sensor to control the vehicle based on the detected line (guiding infrastructure));
detect, using the at least one vehicle sensor, a proximity indicator indicating proximity of the vehicle to a waypoint ([0057]-[0058] discuss detecting a marker with the detection sensor where the marker indicates proximity of the travel device to a line 1 where the point along the trajectory at line 1 is interpreted as a waypoint);
determine if a trigger condition is satisfied for responding to the detected proximity indicator ([0058] discusses the autonomous travel device communicating with the RFID marker with [0059] discussing this communication including obtaining operation control information related to the waypoint);
in response to determining the trigger condition is satisfied, assess a feature of the proximity indicator to determine a distance between a current position of the vehicle and the waypoint ([0084] discusses the RFID marker being a predetermined distance away from the line waypoint where when the sensor detects the presence of the RFID marker it determines the distance between the current position of the vehicle and the line waypoint); and
adjust at least one vehicle attribute based on the determined distance ([0059] discusses the marker providing operation control information including the required change in the vehicle operation at the waypoint where [0084] discusses this marker being a predetermined distance from the waypoint allowing the autonomous travel device to know at what point to perform the vehicle operation).
Regarding claim 16, Sakakibara teaches wherein the feature assessed is at least one of a signal strength or a signal frequency ([0057] discusses the marker as an RFID signal).
Regarding claim 17, Sakakibara teaches wherein the signal is at least one of a frequency signal or an optical light signal ([0057] discusses the marker as an RFID signal with [0058] discussing the autonomous device sensor communicating with the RFID marker).
Regarding claim 18, Sakakibara teaches wherein the trigger condition comprises determining that the waypoint corresponds to the location of a vehicle task requiring execution ([0058] discusses the autonomous travel device communicating with the RFID marker with [0059] discussing this communication including obtaining operation control information related to the waypoint).
Regarding claim 19, Sakakibara teaches wherein the vehicle processor being operable to adjust the at least one vehicle attribute comprises the vehicle processor being operable to control a vehicle drive system to reduce a vehicle travelling speed ([0044] discusses changing the predetermined operation including changing the speed of the travel device where it is interpreted that this would include reducing the travelling speed).
Regarding claim 20, Sakakibara teaches wherein the at least one vehicle sensor comprises a first vehicle sensor and a second vehicle sensor, the first vehicle sensor being used to follow the guiding infrastructure, and the second vehicle sensor being used to detect the proximity indicator ([0079] discusses the travel device including a first sensor to follow the line guiding infrastructure and a second sensor to detect markings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara in view of Lee (2013 “A Vision-Based Automated Guided Vehicle System with Marker Recognition for Indoor Use”).
Regarding claim 2, Sakakibara teaches wherein the proximity indicator comprises a line segment spaced from the guiding infrastructure.
Lee teaches wherein the proximity indicator comprises a line segment spaced from the guiding infrastructure (p. 10055 discusses the fiduciary marker as a triangle indicating direction where the triangle is interpreted as a converging line segment to indicate direction).
Sakakibara teaches using fiduciary markers to provide information to an autonomous travel device. Lee teaches fiduciary markers for an autonomous vehicle including images such as triangles to indicate direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sakakibara with the fiduciary markers of Lee as Lee teaches that this allows the system to operate with a consumer-grade camera, making the system less expensive.
Regarding claim 3, Sakakibara teaches wherein the line segment is located proximal the waypoint and converges toward the guiding infrastructure toward the waypoint.
Lee teaches wherein the line segment is located proximal the waypoint and converges toward the guiding infrastructure toward the waypoint (p. 10055 discusses the fiduciary marker as a triangle indicating direction where the triangle is interpreted as a converging line segment to indicate direction).
Sakakibara teaches using fiduciary markers to provide information to an autonomous travel device. Lee teaches fiduciary markers for an autonomous vehicle including images such as triangles to indicate direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sakakibara with the fiduciary markers of Lee as Lee teaches that this allows the system to operate with a consumer-grade camera, making the system less expensive.
Regarding claim 5, Sakakibara teaches wherein the feature of the proximity indicator comprises at least one of a thickness of the line segment or a color of the line segment.
Lee teaches wherein the feature of the proximity indicator comprises at least one of a thickness of the line segment or a color of the line segment (p. 10055 discusses the fiduciary marker as a specific color of triangle indicating direction where the triangle is interpreted as a converging line segment.
Sakakibara teaches using fiduciary markers to provide information to an autonomous travel device. Lee teaches fiduciary markers for an autonomous vehicle including images such as triangles to indicate direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sakakibara with the fiduciary markers of Lee as Lee teaches that this allows the system to operate with a consumer-grade camera, making the system less expensive.
Regarding claim 12, Sakakibara teaches wherein the proximity indicator comprises a line segment spaced from the guiding infrastructure.
Lee teaches wherein the proximity indicator comprises a line segment spaced from the guiding infrastructure (p. 10055 discusses the fiduciary marker as a triangle indicating direction where the triangle is interpreted as a converging line segment to indicate direction).
Sakakibara teaches using fiduciary markers to provide information to an autonomous travel device. Lee teaches fiduciary markers for an autonomous vehicle including images such as triangles to indicate direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sakakibara with the fiduciary markers of Lee as Lee teaches that this allows the system to operate with a consumer-grade camera, making the system less expensive.
Regarding claim 13, Sakakibara teaches wherein the line segment is located proximal the waypoint and converges toward the guiding infrastructure toward the waypoint.
Lee teaches wherein the line segment is located proximal the waypoint and converges toward the guiding infrastructure toward the waypoint (p. 10055 discusses the fiduciary marker as a triangle indicating direction where the triangle is interpreted as a converging line segment to indicate direction).
Sakakibara teaches using fiduciary markers to provide information to an autonomous travel device. Lee teaches fiduciary markers for an autonomous vehicle including images such as triangles to indicate direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sakakibara with the fiduciary markers of Lee as Lee teaches that this allows the system to operate with a consumer-grade camera, making the system less expensive.
Regarding claim 15, Sakakibara teaches wherein the feature of the proximity indicator comprises at least one of a thickness of the line segment or a color of the line segment.
Lee teaches wherein the feature of the proximity indicator comprises at least one of a thickness of the line segment or a color of the line segment (p. 10055 discusses the fiduciary marker as a specific color of triangle indicating direction where the triangle is interpreted as a converging line segment.
Sakakibara teaches using fiduciary markers to provide information to an autonomous travel device. Lee teaches fiduciary markers for an autonomous vehicle including images such as triangles to indicate direction. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sakakibara with the fiduciary markers of Lee as Lee teaches that this allows the system to operate with a consumer-grade camera, making the system less expensive.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Holz (US 20180307941) teaches localization of a vehicle based on distance between markers; Ghadiok (US 20180045519) teaches landmark parameters of a robotic system including the distance between landmarks; and Ponader (DE 19908493 A1) teaches orientation markers being used for localization of a robot.
/D.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3657 /ABBY LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657