DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/18/24 and 5/27/25 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nubis Communications Inc. (WO 2022/061160 A1), cited in the IDS filed 5/27/25, hereinafter Nubis.
Re. Claim 1, Nubis discloses an optical-electrical co-package structure (Fig. 17 and 28; [0368]-[0374] and [0458]-[0468]), comprising:
a carrier circuit board 454 or 730;
an optical-electrical conversion module 450 and 464, or 726 ([0371]);
a package circuit board 442 ([0467]); and
an electrical chip 444 or 722, wherein
the carrier circuit board comprises a first side surface, and a second side surface opposite to the first side surface (Figs. 17 and 28),
the package circuit board is located on the first side surface (Figs. 17 and 28; [0467]),
the electrical chip is disposed on, and electrically connected to, the package circuit board, the optical-electrical conversion module is disposed on the second side surface (Figs. 17 and 28; [0467]),
the carrier circuit board is provided with a first conductive via 742 (Figs. 17 and 28), and
the optical-electrical conversion module is electrically connected to the package circuit board through the first conductive via 115 (Figs. 17 and 28; [0371] and [0460]).
Re. Claim 2, Nubis discloses a vertical projection of the optical-electrical conversion module onto the carrier circuit board is a first projection, a vertical projection of the package circuit board onto the carrier circuit board is a second projection, and at least a part of the first projection overlaps the second projection (Figs. 17 and 28).
Re. Claim 3, Nubis discloses a first pin is disposed on a surface of the package circuit board facing the carrier circuit board, a second pin is disposed on a surface of the optical-electrical conversion module facing the carrier circuit board, and two ends of the first conductive via are electrically connected to the first pin and the second pin, respectively (Fig. 17).
Re. Claim 4, Nubis a vertical projection, of the first pin, onto the carrier circuit board coincides with a vertical projection, of the second pin, onto the carrier circuit board, and an extension direction of the first conductive via is perpendicular to the carrier circuit board (Fig. 17).
Re. Claim 8, Nubis discloses the first conductive via comprises a through via, a blind via, or a buried via (Fig. 17; [0460]).
Re. Claim 13, Nubis discloses a communication device 2800 (Fig. 28B; [0465]-[0466]), comprising:
a housing 732 (Fig. 28B; [0459]); and an optical-electrical co-package structure as discussed above, wherein the optical-electrical co-package structure is disposed in the housing, and the housing is provided with an optical interface 2806 configured to connect to an external optical fiber 734, and the optical interface is connected to the optical-electrical conversion module (Fig. 28B; [0465]).
Re. Claim 14, Nubis discloses a control circuit board 452, wherein the carrier circuit board is disposed on, and electrically connected to, the control circuit board (Figs. 17 and 28B; [0462]).
Re. Claim 15, Nubis discloses an internal optical fiber 2804 located in the housing, wherein the optical interface is connected to the optical-electrical conversion module through the internal optical fiber (Fig. 28B; [0465]).
Re. Claim 16, Nubis discloses a vertical projection of the optical-electrical conversion module onto the carrier circuit board is a first projection, a vertical projection of the package circuit board onto the carrier circuit board is a second projection, and at least a part of the first projection overlaps the second projection (Fig. 28B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nubis.
Re. Claim 17, Nubis discloses the communication device as discussed above, However, Figure 28B does not disclose an arrangement wherein a first pin is disposed on a surface of the package circuit board facing the carrier circuit board, a second pin is disposed on a surface of the optical-electrical conversion module facing the carrier circuit board, and two ends of the first conductive via are electrically connected to the first pin and the second pin, respectively. In a separate embodiment shown in Figure 17, Nubis discloses a first pin is disposed on a surface of the package circuit board facing the carrier circuit board, a second pin is disposed on a surface of the optical-electrical conversion module facing the carrier circuit board, and two ends of the first conductive via are electrically connected to the first pin and the second pin, respectively. The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the prior art illustrates the claimed pin arrangement provides a suitable method of providing electrical connections within the device. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Re. Claim 18, Nubis renders obvious the communication as discussed above. Figure 28B of Nubis does not disclose an arrangement wherein a vertical projection, of the first pin, onto the carrier circuit board coincides with a vertical projection, of the second pin, onto the carrier circuit board, and an extension direction of the first conductive via is perpendicular to the carrier circuit board. In a separate embodiment shown in Figure 17, Nubis discloses a vertical projection, of the first pin, onto the carrier circuit board coincides with a vertical projection, of the second pin, onto the carrier circuit board, and an extension direction of the first conductive via is perpendicular to the carrier circuit board. The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the prior art illustrates the claimed pin arrangement provides a suitable method of providing electrical connections within the device. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Re. Claims 5 and 19, Nubis discloses the communication device as discussed above, However, Figure 28B does not disclose an arrangement wherein a vertical projection, of the first pin, onto the carrier circuit board is staggered with a vertical projection, of the second pin, onto the carrier circuit board. In a separate embodiment, Nubis discloses a vertical projection, of the first pin, onto the carrier circuit board is staggered with a vertical projection, of the second pin, onto the carrier circuit board (Fig. 3). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the prior art illustrates the claimed pin arrangement provides a suitable method of providing electrical connections within the device. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nubis and Xie (US 2019/0137706 A1).
Re. Claims 6-7 and 20, Nubis renders obvious the optical-electrical co-package structure as discussed above, but fails to disclose the carrier circuit board comprises a plurality of substrates and at least two substrates, from the plurality of substrates, are disposed in a stacked manner, each substrate, from the plurality of substrates, is provided with a connecting via, connecting vias on at least two of the substrates, from the plurality of substrates, are staggered, and connecting vias on two adjacent substrates, from the plurality of substrates, are electrically connected to form the first conductive via, wherein the carrier circuit board further comprises a metal layer disposed between the connecting vias on the two adjacent substrates, and the connecting vias, on the two adjacent substrates, are connected through the metal layer.
Xie discloses a carrier circuit board 2336 (Fig. 6; [0079]) comprising a plurality of substrates 2304 and at least two substrates, from the plurality of substrates, are disposed in a stacked manner, each substrate, from the plurality of substrates, is provided with a connecting via 2308, connecting vias on at least two of the substrates, from the plurality of substrates, are staggered, and connecting vias on two adjacent substrates, from the plurality of substrates, are electrically connected to form the first conductive via, wherein the carrier circuit board further comprises a metal layer 2310 disposed between the connecting vias on the two adjacent substrates, and the connecting vias, on the two adjacent substrates, are connected through the metal layer (Fig. 6; [0040], [0081], [0083]).
The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as Xie discloses the same provides a suitable intervening substrate for the passage of electrical signals between opposing surfaces (Xie: [0081]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re. Claims 9-12, the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest communication device wherein a power supply module electrically connected to the optical-electrical conversion module, wherein the power supply module is disposed on the carrier circuit board.
The most applicable prior art, Nubis, discloses multiple embodiments with an external power source as an improvement over internal power sources, and as such teaches against the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 8/24/26