Response to Amendment
The submission entered January 28, 2026 in response to an Office Action mailed October 2, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are pending. Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 is/are currently amended.
The objections to the drawings presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
The drawings were received on January 28, 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112 as presented in the Office Action listed above are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments towards the rejections under 35 USC 112 are persuasive and the rejections are withdrawn.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lisec fails to teach an automated rack indexing assembly because the toothed belt drive moves glass sheets instead of racks. However, at Col. 6:1-8, Lisec discloses “For displacing the rack cart 20 in the direction of double arrow 30, the undercarriage 27 is coupled with a drive mechanism, not shown. This drive mechanism can be a rack-and-pinion drive or an endless belt drive, preferably a toothed belt drive” (bold emphasis added). Therefore, Lisec discloses the toothed belt drive is used to move the rack cart. As the belt drive is used to move the rack cart, the belt drive is considered be an automated rack indexing assembly, as the rack cart is not manually moved.
In view of the above remarks, the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lisec (USPN 5209627).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Lisec (USPN 5209627) teaches a method for producing glass panels comprising: providing a rack (rack cart 20) having a plurality of slots (racks 21 are considered slots), wherein each of the slots is dimensioned to receive a glass panel [Col. 5:37-39, “slots are used to individually storing glass offcuts”]; moving the rack along a travel path (on rails) to a first position using an automated rack indexing assembly [Col. 6:1-8, “toothed belt drive”], said travel path associated with processing equipment (conveying table 1) for a glass panel production line; loading a first glass panel onto the rack (using rollers 11 of lifting device 4); moving the rack along the travel path to a second position using the automated rack indexing assembly; and loading a second glass panel onto the rack. The rack cart is moved to align each slot with the lifting device [Col. 5:45-50]. Therefore, the rack would be moved to a second position before loading a second panel onto the rack. The apparatus of Lisec would, therefore, perform the claimed steps during normal operation.
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Lisec teaches the loading of the first and second glass panels onto the rack uses motorized rollers (drivable conveying rollers 11).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Lisec teaches monolithic glass (implied by “glass”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisec in view of Mercure (USPN 7878754).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Lisec teaches a method for producing glass panels comprising: providing a rack (20) having a plurality of slots (21), wherein each of the slots is dimensioned to receive a glass panel [Col. 5:37-39, “slots are used to individually storing glass offcuts”]; loading said rack with at least first and second glass panels (as described above); moving the rack along a travel path to a first position using an automated rack indexing assembly [Col. 6:1-8, “toothed belt drive”], said travel path associated with processing equipment for a glass panel production line (as described above). Lisec fails to teach unloading the first glass panel from the rack onto the processing equipment; moving the rack along the travel path to a second position using the automated rack indexing assembly; and unloading the second glass panel from the rack onto the processing equipment. Mercure (USPN 7878754) teaches a rack (70) that is used to store panels, the rack having a similar structure to that of Lisec. Mercure discloses receiving panels, storing the panels and unloading the panels when needed [Col. 6:39-52]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to unload the first glass panel from the rack onto the processing equipment; move the rack along the travel path to a second position using the automated rack indexing assembly; and unload the second glass panel from the rack onto the processing equipment. In this way the rack would act as storage to hold panels until needed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest loading the first glass panel onto the rack after processing thereof and a second glass panel onto the rack after processing thereof, combined with the rest of the claim language.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653