DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 09/27/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US 2023/0144103 A1) hereinafter “Gao.”
Regarding Claim 1, Gao teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Gao: paragraph 0023 & Figs 1-2, terminal device or user equipment (UE)), one or more messages (Gao: paragraph 0081, receive control information) comprising:
a repetition scheme parameter (Gao: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 2, control information to schedule a number of repetitions) indicating a time domain scheme or a frequency domain scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with TDM scheme or FDM scheme); and
a downlink-or-joint transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list parameter (Gao: paragraph 0055, M TCI-State configurations list);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Gao: paragraphs 0081, 0084 & Fig. 2, downlink control information including a Transmission configuration indication);
determining to apply two TCI states to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Gao: paragraphs 0069-0070, two different TCI states applied to the PDSCH) based on:
an absence of a TCI selection field in the DCI; or
a value, of the TCI selection field in the DCI (Gao: paragraph 0084, number of TCI states indicated by the DCI field (Transmission configuration indication), indicating to apply two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, number of TCI states indicated is 2; see also paragraph 0164);
determining, based on the determining to apply two TCI states to the PDSCH (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085 & 0164, said number of TCI states indicated is 2), a transport block size (TBS) (Gao: paragraph 0164, TBS determination) of a first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, UE determined TBS of the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
performing PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0082, communicate the repetitions based on the determined one or more configurations) using the determined TBS via both:
the first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, UE determined TBS of the (first) PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
a second PDSCH transmission (Gao: paragraph 0164, second PDSCH transmission occasion) occasion associated with a second TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, determined TBS of PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state is also applied to the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 2, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI comprises an antenna port field indicating one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports within one code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Gao: paragraph 0165, DM-RS port within one CDM group in the DCI field (Antenna Port)), and wherein the performing the PDSCH reception comprises receiving a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) (Gao: paragraph 0165, UE receives a single PT-RS port) associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the one or more DM-RS ports assigned for the PDSCH (Gao: paragraph 0165, UE receive as single PT-RS port which is associated with the lowest indexed DM-RS antenna port among the DM-RS antenna ports assigned for the PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 3, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the determining the TBS is based on one or more of:
the one or more messages comprising the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter;
the DCI indicating one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports within one code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Gao: paragraph 0085, indicated DMRS port(s) within one CDM group in the DCI field “Antenna Port(s));
a total quantity of allocated physical resource blocks corresponding to the first TCI state (Gao: paragraph 0164, total number of allocated PRBs corresponding to the first TCI state); or
a quantity of allocated symbols corresponding to the first TCI state.
Regarding Claim 4, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the performing the PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0082, communicate the repetitions based on the determined one or more configurations) using the determined TBS comprises:
receiving, via the first PDSCH transmission occasion, at least one first transport block having a size corresponding to the TBS (Gao: paragraph 0164, said TBS of the (first) PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
receiving, via the second PDSCH transmission occasion, at least one second transport block having a size corresponding to the TBS (Gao: paragraph 0164, said TBS of PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state is also applied to the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 5, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the repetition scheme parameter indicates a frequency domain scheme that is a frequency domain multiplexing (FDM) scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with FDM scheme).
Regarding Claim 6, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the repetition scheme parameter indicates a time domain scheme that is a time domain multiplexing (TDM) scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with TDM scheme).
Regarding Claim 7, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving one or more second messages comprising a second repetition scheme parameter indicating the time domain scheme or the frequency domain scheme (Gao: paragraph 0069, FDMSchemeB or TDMSchemeA);
receiving second DCI configured to schedule a second PDSCH reception, wherein the second DCI comprises a TCI field indicating second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0106, TCI state C and TCI state D applied to third and/or fourth transmission occasions);
based on the second DCI indicating the second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception, determining a second TBS for a third PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first TCI state of the second two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0106-0108, TCI state C applied to third transmission occasion); and
performing the second PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0082, communicate the repetitions based on the determined one or more configurations) using the determined second TBS via both:
the third PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state of the second two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0106-0108, TCI state C is applied to the third transmission); and
a fourth PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a second TCI state of the second two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0106-0108, TCI state D is applied to the fourth transmission).
Regarding Claim 8, Gao teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Gao: paragraph 0023 & Figs 1-2, terminal device or user equipment (UE)), one or more messages (Gao: paragraph 0081, receive control information) comprising:
a repetition scheme parameter (Gao: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 2, control information to schedule a number of repetitions) indicating a time domain scheme or a frequency domain scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with TDM scheme or FDM scheme); and
a downlink-or-joint transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list parameter (Gao: paragraph 0055, M TCI-State configurations list);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Gao: paragraphs 0081, 0084 & Fig. 2, downlink control information including a Transmission configuration indication);
determining to apply two TCI states to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Gao: paragraphs 0069-0070, two different TCI states applied to the PDSCH) based on:
an absence of a TCI selection field in the DCI; or
a value, of the TCI selection field in the DCI (Gao: paragraph 0084, number of TCI states indicated by the DCI field (Transmission configuration indication), indicating to apply two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, number of TCI states indicated is 2; see also paragraph 0164);
determining, based on the determining to apply two TCI states to the PDSCH (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085 & 0164, said number of TCI states indicated is 2), a transport block size (TBS) (Gao: paragraph 0164, TBS determination) of a first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, UE determined TBS of the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
applying the determined TBS of the first PDSCH transmission occasion (Gao: paragraph 0164, UE determined TBS of the (first) PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state) to a second PDSCH transmission occasion (Gao: paragraph 0164, second PDSCH transmission occasion) associated with a second TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, determined TBS of PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state is also applied to the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 9, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI comprises an antenna port field indicating one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports within one code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Gao: paragraph 0165, DM-RS port within one CDM group in the DCI field (Antenna Port)), and the method further comprises receiving a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) (Gao: paragraph 0165, UE receives a single PT-RS port) associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the one or more DM-RS ports assigned for the PDSCH (Gao: paragraph 0165, UE receive as single PT-RS port which is associated with the lowest indexed DM-RS antenna port among the DM-RS antenna ports assigned for the PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 10, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the determining the TBS is based on one or more of:
the one or more messages comprising the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter;
the DCI indicating one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports within one code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Gao: paragraph 0085, indicated DMRS port(s) within one CDM group in the DCI field “Antenna Port(s));
a total quantity of allocated physical resource blocks corresponding to the first TCI state (Gao: paragraph 0164, total number of allocated PRBs corresponding to the first TCI state); or
a quantity of allocated symbols corresponding to the first TCI state.
Regarding Claim 11, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving, via the first PDSCH transmission occasion, at least one first transport block having a size corresponding to the TBS (Gao: paragraph 0164, said TBS of the (first) PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
receiving, via the second PDSCH transmission occasion, at least one second transport block having a size corresponding to the TBS (Gao: paragraph 0164, said TBS of PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state is also applied to the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 12, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the repetition scheme parameter indicates a frequency domain scheme that is a frequency domain multiplexing (FDM) scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with FDM scheme).
Regarding Claim 13, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the repetition scheme parameter indicates a time domain scheme that is a time domain multiplexing (TDM) scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with TDM scheme).
Regarding Claim 14, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving one or more second messages comprising a second repetition scheme parameter indicating the time domain scheme or the frequency domain scheme (Gao: paragraph 0106, second set of parameters of the TCI states);
receiving second DCI configured to schedule a second PDSCH reception, wherein the second DCI comprises a TCI field indicating second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0106, TCI state C and TCI state D applied to third and/or fourth transmission occasions);
based on the second DCI indicating the second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception, determining a second TBS for a third PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first TCI state of the second two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0106-0108, TCI state C applied to third transmission occasion); and
applying the determined second TBS of the third PDSCH transmission occasion (Gao: paragraphs 0106-0108, TCI state C is applied to the third transmission) to a fourth PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a second TCI state of the second two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0106-0108, TCI state D is applied to the fourth transmission).
Regarding Claim 15, Gao teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Gao: paragraph 0023 & Figs 1-2, terminal device or user equipment (UE)), one or more messages (Gao: paragraph 0081, receive control information) comprising:
a repetition scheme parameter (Gao: paragraph 0081 & Fig. 2, control information to schedule a number of repetitions) indicating a time domain scheme or a frequency domain scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with TDM scheme or FDM scheme); and
a downlink-or-joint transmission configuration indication (TCI) state list parameter (Gao: paragraph 0055, M TCI-State configurations list);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Gao: paragraphs 0081, 0084 & Fig. 2, downlink control information including a Transmission configuration indication), wherein the DCI comprises an antenna port field indicating one or more demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports within one code division multiplexing (CDM) group (Gao: paragraph 0165, DM-RS port within one CDM group in the DCI field (Antenna Port));
determining to apply two TCI states to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Gao: paragraphs 0069-0070, two different TCI states applied to the PDSCH) based on:
an absence of a TCI selection field in the DCI; or
a value, of the TCI selection field in the DCI (Gao: paragraph 0084, number of TCI states indicated by the DCI field (Transmission configuration indication), indicating to apply two TCI states (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, number of TCI states indicated is 2; see also paragraph 0164);
receiving, based on the determining to apply two TCI states to the PDSCH, a phase-tracking reference signal (PT-RS) (Gao: paragraph 0165, UE receives a single PT-RS port) associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the one or more DM-RS ports assigned for the PDSCH (Gao: paragraph 0165, UE receive as single PT-RS port which is associated with the lowest indexed DM-RS antenna port among the DM-RS antenna ports assigned for the PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 16, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches determining, based on the determining to apply two TCI states to the PDSCH, a transport block size (TBS) (Gao: paragraph 0164, TBS determination) of a first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first TCI state of the two TCI states(Gao: paragraph 0164, UE determined TBS of the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
performing PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0082, communicate the repetitions based on the determined one or more configurations) using the determined TBS via both:
the first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, UE determined TBS of the (first) PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
a second PDSCH transmission (Gao: paragraph 0164, second PDSCH transmission occasion) occasion associated with a second TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, determined TBS of PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state is also applied to the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 17, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches determining, based on the determining to apply two TCI states to the PDSCH, a transport block size (TBS) of a first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a first TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, said TBS of the (first) PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state); and
applying the determined TBS of the first PDSCH transmission occasion to a second PDSCH transmission occasion associated with a second TCI state of the two TCI states (Gao: paragraph 0164, said TBS of PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state is also applied to the PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state).
Regarding Claim 18, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the frequency domain scheme is one of:
a first frequency domain multiplexing (FDM) scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with FDM scheme); or
a second FDM scheme different from the first FDM scheme (Gao: paragraphs 0084-0085, UE configured with TDM scheme).
Regarding Claim 19, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the receiving the PT-RS is further based on one or more of:
the one or more messages comprising the downlink-or-joint TCI state list parameter (Gao: paragraph 0055, M TCI-State configurations list);
a codepoint of the TCI selection field in the DCI indicating to apply the two TCI states to the PDSCH reception;
the one or more messages not comprising a TCI selection parameter; or
the DCI indicating the one or more DM-RS ports within one CDM group (Gao: paragraph 0085, indicated DMRS port(s) within one CDM group in the DCI field “Antenna Port(s)).
Regarding Claim 20, Gao teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving one or more second messages comprising a second repetition scheme parameter indicating the time domain scheme or the frequency domain scheme (Gao: paragraph 0069, FDMSchemeB or TDMSchemeA);
receiving second DCI configured to schedule a second PDSCH reception, wherein the second DCI comprises a TCI field indicating second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0106, second set of parameters of the TCI states);
a second antenna port field indicating one or more second DM-RS ports within one CDM group (Gao: paragraph 0043, multiple DMRS ports associated with multiple TCI state); and
a TCI field indicating second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0106, TCI state C and TCI state D applied to third and/or fourth transmission occasions); and
based on the second DCI indicating the second two TCI states for the second PDSCH reception, receiving a second PT-RS associated with a lowest indexed DM-RS port among the one or more second DM-RS ports assigned for the second PDSCH reception (Gao: paragraph 0165, PT-RS port which is associated with the lowest indexed DM-RS antenna port among the DM-RS antenna ports).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukui et al. (US 2026/0223103 A1) teaches in a case that the TDM scheme A is applied, and that two TCI states are indicated, and that DMRS ports in one CDM group are indicated, the terminal apparatus may determine, for PDSCH, the total number of resource elements in one physical resource block. The number of OFDM symbols for PDSCH assignment in one slot may correspond to the first TCI state. The TBS of the first PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the first TCI state may be applied to the second PDSCH transmission occasion associated with the second TCI state (paragraph 0408).
Kim et al. (US 2023/0239864 A1) teaches in order to determine a modulation order in the PDSCH, a target code rate, and a transport block size, the UE may first read a 5-bit MCD field in the DCI and determine the modulation order and the target code rate. In addition, the UE may read a redundancy version field in the DCI and determine a redundancy version. In addition, the UE may determine the transport block size by using the number of layers before rate matching and the total number of allocated PRBs (paragraph 0163).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2463 /ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463