DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 recites wherein the sub-devices are connected in a “non-overlapping manner” but the original disclosure shows that the sub-devices are connected side by side left to right so that they have a common area and therefore they overlap at least from the left to right. Therefore, the limitation of non-overlapping is new matter.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites a “common longitudinal plane”. It is unclear if this plane is common to the longitudinal and transverse direction or common to the sub-devices and displacement body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (US-5887616-A).
Ikeda discloses:
1. A fuel tank structure comprising a frame bay (1); a liner segment system for the frame bay (Fig. 8), the liner segment system comprising: a liner segment base body (13), wherein the liner segment base body is adapted to float on fuel in the fuel tank structure, a displacement body (17), wherein the displacement body is arranged next to a lowest point of the liner segment base body (Fig. 8), wherein a remaining portion of a fuel within the fuel tank structure is reduced by displacing the fuel at the lowest point of the liner segment base body (col. 6, lines 20-29), wherein the displacement body comprises a multitude of detachable (at 17a) displacement sub-devices (upper and lower 17), wherein the sub-devices are connected in a form-fit manner (Fig. 8) such that the sub-devices expand the displacement body in both longitudinal and transverse directions (the sub-devices have a height and width so they expand the body in this manner).
2. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the liner segment base body comprises an upper side and the displacement body is arranged on the upper side of the liner segment base body (Fig. 8).
3. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the liner segment base body comprises a lower side and the displacement body is arranged on the lower side of the liner segment base body (Fig. 8).
4. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the displacement body is connected to the liner segment base body via integral construction (Fig. 9).
5. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the displacement body is connected to the liner segment base body via integral construction (Fig. 9).
9. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the displacement body comprises a layer (Fig. 8).
10. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein a density of the displacement body is less than 90% of a density of a fuel to be displaced (intended use based on the material in the tank).
11. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the displacement body substantially follows a contour of the fuel tank structure (Fig. 14).
15. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the sub-devices are connected in a non-overlapping manner (Fig. 8, the sub-devices are located above and below 13, so they overlap 13 not each other) .
16. The fuel tank structure according to claim 1, wherein the sub-devices are connected in the form-fit manner such that sub-devices expand the displacement body in both longitudinal and transverse directions in a common longitudinal plane(Fig. 8, the sub-devices have a length and width so they expand the displacement body in the plane the sub-devices are located in).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US-5887616-A) in view of Ramsay (US-20090078705-A1).
Ikeda disclose all the claimed limitations as shown above but fails to teach wherein the displacement body comprises at least material selected from a group consisting of: polyethylene, polypropylene, and polyvinyl chloride.
Ramsey teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture displacement bodies wherein the displacement body comprises at least material selected from a group consisting of: polyethylene, polypropylene, and polyvinyl chloride.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the displacement body of Ikeda with the material taught by Ramsey in order to alter the buoyancy or price of the components and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US-5887616-A) in view of Chun (US-20110278305-A1).
Ikeda disclose all the claimed limitations as shown above but fails to teach wherein the displacement body comprises a foam, or wherein the displacement body comprises a hollow body.
Chun teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture displacement bodies with foam (par. 0037) or with a hollow body (par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the displacement body of Ikeda with structure taught by Chun in order to alter the buoyancy or price of the components and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (US-5887616-A) in view of Crowell (US-2320913-A) and Ramsay (US-20090078705-A1).
The modified tank of Ikeda fails to teach an airplane.
Crowell teaches that it is known in the art to use a tank in an airplane (pg. 2, lines 34-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have placed the tank in an airplane, since such a modification would be the use of a known tank structure in a known environment to store fuel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Ikeda does not expand the width of the supplementary plate. It is noted that without the sub-devices, the width in the plane above 17 is zero, but when a sub-device is added the structure now has a width in this plane. Therefore, the width can be considered to be expanded. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant’s remaining arguments have been addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733