DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3). Hatching must be used to indicate section portions of an object, and must be made by regularly spaced oblique parallel lines spaced sufficiently apart to enable the lines to be distinguished without difficulty. Figures 1-7B, 13-15A and 16A-18 must have crosshatching.
The drawings are objected to because the character of the lines, numbers, and letters are not sufficiently dense and dark, uniformly thick and well-defined as required by MPEP §608.02(V)(l). Figures 8-12 are of poor quality making the figures difficult to read.
The examiner points out that the USPTO website has guidelines on how to submit drawing images for the best results. See https://www.uspto.gov/patents-application-process/applying-online/efs-web-pdf-guidelines. Specifically, see the section which states:
It is recommended to use images saved in a lossless format (e.g., TIFF, PNG, GIF, BMP). It is strongly recommended that the PDF creation software does not downsample images during the PDF creation process, as this could degrade the quality of the image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schuller U.S. 3,804,472.
Re clm 1, Schuller discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1-2) for supporting a shaft, the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (14) defining an inner surface (bore of 14 and/or inner surface of posts 20) and one or more axial grooves (slot 36) adjoining the inner surface; and one or more pad modules (22), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (24); a root portion (26) configured to couple in one of the axial grooves of the bearing housing; and a web portion (28) connecting the pad body and the root portion.
Re clm 2, Schuller discloses the web portion defines an I-beam shape (28, Fig. 1).
Re clm 3, Schuller further discloses at least one of the one or more pad modules is coupled to the bearing housing such that the pad body is configured to tilt on an axis parallel to the axis of the shaft when the hydrodynamic bearing is installed on the shaft (shown in Fig. 1; col. 2: lines 39-46).
Re clm 4, Schuller further discloses the bearing housing is configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing (via 38 and 40).
Re clm 6, Schuller further discloses the pad body, the web portion, and the root portion are integrally formed with one another (as shown in Fig. 1).
Re clm 11, Schuller further discloses the root portion of at least one of the one or more pad modules is flared relative to the web portion (26 is thicker than 28, Fig. 1).
Re clm 12, Schuller further discloses a fastener (for example, 40) configured to couple the at least one pad module to the bearing housing, wherein the fastener inhibits axial movement along the axial groove, and wherein the fastener is oriented at a slant relative to the pad module (for example, tapered surface of fastener is slanted as in Fig. 2; also, fastener is slanted relative to at least circumferential ends of pads).
Re clm 19, Schuller discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (12), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (14) defining a first surface (inner bore of 14) and one or more receptacles (grooves 36) adjoining the first surface; and one or more pad modules (22), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (24); a root portion (26) configured to couple in at least one of the receptacles of the bearing housing; and an I-beam shaped web portion (28) connecting the pad body and the root portion.
Re clm 20, Schuller further discloses the first surface is an inner surface (radially inner surface 16); the at least one of the receptacles is configured to inhibit separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing (via 38 and/or 40); and the hydrodynamic bearing is a tilt pad journal bearing.
Claims 1-9, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim KR 102009110.
Re clm 1, Kim discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (S, Fig. 3), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (1100) defining an inner surface (bore of 1100) and one or more axial grooves (1110, Fig. 5) adjoining the inner surface; and one or more pad modules (1200), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (1210); a root portion (1222) configured to couple in one of the axial grooves of the bearing housing; and a web portion (1221) connecting the pad body and the root portion.
Re clm 2, Kim discloses the web portion defines an I-beam shape (1221, Fig. 1).
Re clm 3, Kim further discloses at least one of the one or more pad modules is coupled to the bearing housing such that the pad body is configured to tilt on an axis parallel to the axis of the shaft when the hydrodynamic bearing is installed on the shaft (shown in Fig. 1 and 5).
Re clm 4, Kim further discloses the bearing housing is configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing (via 1111, Fig. 1).
Re clm 5, Kim further discloses at least one of the one or more axial grooves comprises a neck portion (at 1111, Fig. 1) configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing.
Re clm 6, Kim further discloses the pad body, the web portion, and the root portion are integrally formed with one another (shown in Fig. 1; 1200 is of one-piece construction).
Re clm 7, Kim further discloses the bearing housing comprises an integral damper ([0016]; Fig. 6a-6c).
Re clm 8, Kim further discloses the web portion of the at least one pad module at least partially resides in a corresponding one of the axial grooves below the inner surface of the bearing housing (shown in Fig. 1 and 2).
Re clm 9, Kim further discloses at least one of the axial grooves comprises a dovetail shape (Fig. 8b).
Re clm 11, Kim further discloses the root portion of at least one of the one or more pad modules is flared relative to the web portion (1222 is wider than 1221, Fig. 1).
Re clm 13, Kim further discloses a shim (at r, Fig. 6a and 6b) coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing.
Re clm 14, Kim further discloses one or more lubrication devices (1120, Fig. 7; [0040]) configured to supply lubricant to at least one of the one or more pad modules.
Re clm 15, Kim discloses a method of making a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1), the method comprising: positioning a pad (1200) in a bearing housing (1100); and securing the pad to the bearing housing such that a web (1221) connecting the pad to the housing at least partially resides in a receptacle (1110) in the bearing housing.
Re clm 16, Kim further discloses the receptacle is an axial groove (shown in Fig. 5); and the web is integral to at least one of the pad or the bearing housing (Fig. 1).
Re clm 18, Kim further discloses placing a shim (at r, Fig. 6a and 6b) between the pad and the bearing housing.
Re clm 19, Kim further discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (S, Fig. 5), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (1100) defining a first surface (bore of 1100) and one or more receptacles (1110) adjoining the first surface; and one or more pad modules (1200), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (1210); a root portion (1222) configured to couple in at least one of the receptacles of the bearing housing; and an I-beam shaped web portion (1221) connecting the pad body and the root portion.
Re clm 20, Kim further discloses the first surface is an inner surface; the at least one of the receptacles is configured (via 1111, Fig. 1) to inhibit separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing; and the hydrodynamic bearing is a tilt pad journal bearing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102009110 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dittmar CN 109695629.
Kim discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 10, although Kim discloses various root geometries for inhibiting inward radial separation of the pad module from the housing, Kim does not disclose the root portion of at least one of the pad modules defines two or more serrations configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing.
Dittmar discloses movement preventing features on bearing components comprising two or more serrations (at 58c, Fig. 8).
Since both Kim and Dittmar disclose bearing components with movement limiting features, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the movement limiting features of Kim with the serrations of Dittmar to achieve the predictable result of securing affixing parts together by limiting movement in an undesired direction.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102009110 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ide U.S. 5,513,917.
Kim discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 17, Kim does not disclose installing a fastener to secure a root portion of the pad to the bearing housing.
Ide teaches providing a fastener (threaded bolt, Fig. 27 and 29) to secure a root portion (37p) of the pad to the bearing housing (30) to releasably secure the pad to the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim and provide a fastener to secure a root portion of the pad to the bearing housing to releasably secure the pad to the housing.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617