DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “integral damper” of claim 7 together with the “shim” of claim 1, the “dovetail shape” of claim 9 together with the “shim” of claim 1, the “serrations” of claim 10 together with the “shim” of claim 1, the “fastener oriented at a slant” of claim 12 together with the “shim” of claim 1, and the “damper arcs” of claim 21 together with the “shim” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9-10, 12 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites “the bearing housing comprising an integral damper”. Claim 1 now recites “a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing”. The specification does not describe how both embodiments are possible. For example, a shim provided between the root portion and the bearing housing is only shown in Fig. 1. Figure 1 does not have any integral damping. Figure 5 shows the integral damper. There does not appear to be any way to provide a shim into the embodiment of Fig. 5. Providing the damper of Fig. 5 into the shimmed device of Fig. 1 appears to destroy the damping at least via the screw arrangement. It is unclear how both the shim and the damper now required by claim 7 are both possible. Claim 21 suffers the same issue.
Claim 9 recites “at least one of the axial grooves comprises a dovetail shape”. Claim 1 now recites “a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing”. The specification does not describe how both embodiments are possible. For example, adding a shim to a dovetail arrangement would not work since it would increase height of the dovetail preventing it from fitting into the dovetail slot.
Claim 10 recites “the root portion of at least one of the pad modules defines two or more serrations configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing”. Claim 1 now recites “a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing”. The specification does not describe how both embodiments are possible. For example, Fig. 5 shows the serrations. There does not appear to be any way to provide a shim into the design of Fig. 5 without destroying the root of Fig. 5.
Claim 12 recites “the fastener is oriented at a slant relative to the pad module”. Claim 1 now recites “a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing”. The specification does not describe how both embodiments are possible. For example, adding a shim to Fig. 3 would create misalignment between the fastener hole in the root and the fastener hole in the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim KR 102009110.
Re clm 1, Kim discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (S, Fig. 3), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (1100) defining an inner surface (bore of 1100) and one or more axial grooves (1110, Fig. 5) adjoining the inner surface; and one or more pad modules (1200), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (1210); a root portion (1222) configured to couple in one of the axial grooves of the bearing housing; and a web portion (1221) connecting the pad body and the root portion, and a shim (d1 and d2 at r, Fig. 6a and 6b) coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing.
Re clm 2, Kim discloses the web portion defines an I-beam shape (1221, Fig. 1).
Re clm 3, Kim further discloses at least one of the one or more pad modules is coupled to the bearing housing such that the pad body is configured to tilt on an axis parallel to the axis of the shaft when the hydrodynamic bearing is installed on the shaft (shown in Fig. 1 and 5).
Re clm 4, Kim further discloses the bearing housing is configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing (via 1111, Fig. 1).
Re clm 5, Kim further discloses at least one of the one or more axial grooves comprises a neck portion (at 1111, Fig. 1) configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing.
Re clm 6, Kim further discloses the pad body, the web portion, and the root portion are integrally formed with one another (shown in Fig. 1; 1200 is of one-piece construction).
Re clm 7, Kim further discloses the bearing housing comprises an integral damper ([0016]; Fig. 6a-6c).
Re clm 8, Kim further discloses the web portion of the at least one pad module at least partially resides in a corresponding one of the axial grooves below the inner surface of the bearing housing (shown in Fig. 1 and 2).
Re clm 9, Kim further discloses at least one of the axial grooves comprises a dovetail shape (Fig. 8b).
Re clm 11, Kim further discloses the root portion of at least one of the one or more pad modules is flared relative to the web portion (1222 is wider than 1221, Fig. 1).
Re clm 14, Kim further discloses one or more lubrication devices (1120, Fig. 7; [0040]) configured to supply lubricant to at least one of the one or more pad modules.
Re clm 15, Kim discloses a method of making a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1), the method comprising: positioning a pad (1200) in a bearing housing (1100); and securing the pad to the bearing housing such that a web (1221) connecting the pad to the housing at least partially resides in a receptacle (1110) in the bearing housing, and placing a shim (d1 and d2 at r, Fig. 6a and 6b) between the pad and the bearing housing.
Re clm 16, Kim further discloses the receptacle is an axial groove (shown in Fig. 5); and the web is integral to at least one of the pad or the bearing housing (Fig. 1).
Re clm 19, Kim further discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (S, Fig. 5), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (1100) defining a first surface (bore of 1100) and one or more receptacles (1110) adjoining the first surface; and one or more pad modules (1200), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (1210); a root portion (1222) configured to couple in at least one of the receptacles of the bearing housing; and an I-beam shaped web portion (1221) connecting the pad body and the root portion, and a shim (d1 and d2 at r, Fig. 6a and 6b) coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing.
Re clm 20, Kim further discloses the first surface is an inner surface; the at least one of the receptacles is configured (via 1111, Fig. 1) to inhibit separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing; and the hydrodynamic bearing is a tilt pad journal bearing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 14-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102009110 in view of Ide U.S. 5,564,836.
According to another interpretation of the art:
Re clm 1, Kim discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (S, Fig. 3), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (1100) defining an inner surface (bore of 1100) and one or more axial grooves (1110, Fig. 5) adjoining the inner surface; and one or more pad modules (1200), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (1210); a root portion (1222) configured to couple in one of the axial grooves of the bearing housing; and a web portion (1221) connecting the pad body and the root portion.
Kim does not explicitly recite a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing.
Ide teaches a hydrodynamic bearing comprising a shim (spacer 1131, Fig. 36B) coupled between the root portion (1130) of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing (10) for the purpose of adjusting the height of the pads (col. 30: lines 34-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim and provide a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing for the purpose of adjusting the height of the pads.
Re clm 2, Kim discloses the web portion defines an I-beam shape (1221, Fig. 1).
Re clm 3, Kim further discloses at least one of the one or more pad modules is coupled to the bearing housing such that the pad body is configured to tilt on an axis parallel to the axis of the shaft when the hydrodynamic bearing is installed on the shaft (shown in Fig. 1 and 5).
Re clm 4, Kim further discloses the bearing housing is configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing (via 1111, Fig. 1).
Re clm 5, Kim further discloses at least one of the one or more axial grooves comprises a neck portion (at 1111, Fig. 1) configured to inhibit inward radial separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing.
Re clm 6, Kim further discloses the pad body, the web portion, and the root portion are integrally formed with one another (shown in Fig. 1; 1200 is of one-piece construction).
Re clm 7, Kim further discloses the bearing housing comprises an integral damper ([0016]; Fig. 6a-6c).
Re clm 8, Kim further discloses the web portion of the at least one pad module at least partially resides in a corresponding one of the axial grooves below the inner surface of the bearing housing (shown in Fig. 1 and 2).
Re clm 9, Kim further discloses at least one of the axial grooves comprises a dovetail shape (Fig. 8b).
Re clm 11, Kim further discloses the root portion of at least one of the one or more pad modules is flared relative to the web portion (1222 is wider than 1221, Fig. 1).
Re clm 14, Kim further discloses one or more lubrication devices (1120, Fig. 7; [0040]) configured to supply lubricant to at least one of the one or more pad modules.
Re clm 15, Kim discloses a method of making a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1), the method comprising: positioning a pad (1200) in a bearing housing (1100); and securing the pad to the bearing housing such that a web (1221) connecting the pad to the housing at least partially resides in a receptacle (1110) in the bearing housing.
Kim does not explicitly recite placing a shim between the pad and the bearing housing.
Ide teaches a hydrodynamic bearing in which a shim (spacer 1131, Fig. 36B) is placed between the root portion (1130) of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing (10) for the purpose of adjusting the height of the pads (col. 30: lines 34-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim and provide placing a shim between the pad and the bearing housing for the purpose of adjusting the height of the pads.
Re clm 16, Kim further discloses the receptacle is an axial groove (shown in Fig. 5); and the web is integral to at least one of the pad or the bearing housing (Fig. 1).
Re clm 17, the improvement of Ide further discloses installing a fastener (1132) to secure a root portion of the pad to the bearing housing.
Re clm 19, Kim further discloses a hydrodynamic bearing (Fig. 1) for supporting a shaft (S, Fig. 5), the hydrodynamic bearing comprising: a bearing housing (1100) defining a first surface (bore of 1100) and one or more receptacles (1110) adjoining the first surface; and one or more pad modules (1200), each of at least one of the one or more pad modules comprising: a pad body (1210); a root portion (1222) configured to couple in at least one of the receptacles of the bearing housing; and an I-beam shaped web portion (1221) connecting the pad body and the root portion.
Kim does not disclose a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing.
Ide teaches a hydrodynamic bearing comprising a shim (spacer 1131, Fig. 36B) coupled between the root portion (1130) of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing (10) for the purpose of adjusting the height of the pads (col. 30: lines 34-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim and provide a shim coupled between the root portion of the at least one pad module and the bearing housing for the purpose of adjusting the height of the pads.
Re clm 20, Kim further discloses the first surface is an inner surface; the at least one of the receptacles is configured (via 1111, Fig. 1) to inhibit separation of the at least one pad module from the bearing housing; and the hydrodynamic bearing is a tilt pad journal bearing.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 102009110 in view of Ide U.S. 5,564,836 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ide U.S. 5,513,917.
Kim in view of Ide ‘836 discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 21, although Kim discloses a squees film damper ([0039]), Kim does not disclose the integral damper is an integral squeeze film damper comprising damper arcs configured to provide damping when the hydrodynamic bearing is operating hydrodynamically.
Ide ‘917 teaches providing a hydrodynamic bearing with multiple squeeze film dampers (Fig. 15 and 16), one of which including an integral squeeze film damper comprising damper arcs (300g) configured to provide damping when the hydrodynamic bearing is operating hydrodynamically to allow the bearing to absorb shock type loading and adding system stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kim and provide the integral damper is an integral squeeze film damper comprising damper arcs configured to provide damping when the hydrodynamic bearing is operating hydrodynamically to allow the bearing to absorb shock type loading and adding system stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the structure disclosed by Kim constitutes a shim. As explained in Applicant’s specification, a shim is used “to control preload and clearance”. Applicant’s argument is incorrect for at least two reasons. Firstly, a “shim” is defined by the dictionary as “a piece of material used to fill in space between things (as for support, leveling, or adjustment)”. It is clear from Fig. 6a-6c of Kim that a “piece of material is used to fill in space” between the root 1221 and the housing 1100. This material is either a viscoelastic element or a metal mesh. Even if Applicant could reasonably argue that the definition provided in the arguments must be applied, it is clear that the damper of d1 and d2 lift the height of the pad (since the bottom of 1221 is lifted from the bottom surface of the cavity in the housing). This both controls the clearance and the preload of the pad.
Applicant asserts that the shim of Kim is highly compressible and thus “frustrates the manner in which “a shim” is described in the specification. Applicant is arguing limitations not found in the claim. Applicant has not claimed any material properties for the shim. See at U.S. 2023/0166393 which states that shims can be elastic ([0012]).
Claims 17, 19 and 21 recite new combinations of limitations not previously presented thus necessitating new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 2008/0013872 discloses a shim between the pad and the root in Fig. 4.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN B WAITS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617