CTNF 18/898,880 CTNF 71190 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yoon et al (US 2021/0173066; art cited by applicant) . Regarding independent claim 1, Yoon teaches a method comprising: obtaining a ranging signal comprising N fragments, wherein N is an integer greater than 1 (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]); sending an n th fragment of the N fragments during a first time unit, wherein the first time unit is one of M1 time units in an n th time period, wherein n is an integer greater than 0 and less than N, and wherein M1 is an integer greater than 1 (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]); and sending an (n+1) th fragment of the N fragments during a second time unit (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]), wherein the second time unit is one of M2 time units in an (n+1) th time period, wherein M2 is an integer greater than 1, and wherein a time interval between the n th time period and the (n+1) th time period is a preset interval (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]). Regarding independent claims 17 and 20, the claims recite similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1. Regarding dependent claim 2, Yoon further teaches wherein M1 is the same as M2. See (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]). Regarding dependent claims 3, 10 and 19, Yoon further teaches determining the first time unit and the second time unit based on a first linear feedback shift register (LFSR) function, wherein an initial value of the first LFSR function is related to a channel index corresponding to information, and wherein the information configures N of fragments or durations of the N fragments. See [0135] and claims 4 and 12. Regarding dependent claim 11, Yoon further teaches wherein M1 is different from M2. See (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]). Regarding dependent claim 12, Yoon further teaches generating a first location of the first time unit in the nth time period or a second location of the second time unit in the (n+1)th time period using an encryption algorithm or a pseudo-random number generation algorithm. See [0135] and claims 4 and 12. Regarding dependent claim 13, Yoon further teaches wherein a first length of the n th fragment is the same as a second length of the (n+1) th fragment. See (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]). Regarding dependent claim 14, Yoon further teaches generating a first length of the n th time period or a second length of the (n+1) th time period using an encryption algorithm or a pseudo-random number generation algorithm. See [0135] and claims 4 and 12. Regarding dependent claim 15, Yoon further teaches generating a first length of the n th fragment or a second length of the (n+1) th fragment using an encryption algorithm or a pseudo-random number generation algorithm. See [0135] and claims 4 and 12. Regarding dependent claim 16, Yoon further teaches sending information indicating a first location of the first time unit during the n th time period and a second location of the second time unit during the (n+1) th time period. See (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]). Regarding dependent claim 18, Yoon further teaches wherein M1 is the same as M2. See (figs. 4 and 5 and [0009], [0010], [0065] – [0067], [0071] – [0076] and [0079] – [0081]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Examiner's note : Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Chae et al (US 11,102,749), Akopian (US 2003/0110015), Ji et al (US 2009/0252075), Lin et al (US 2019/0239215) and Ma et al (US 2020/0044779) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for communicating information. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 4-9 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DON NGUYEN VO whose telephone number is (571) 272-3018. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday from 9:00 to 6:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) Form at https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth N Vanderpuye, can be reached on 571-272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/898,880 Page 2 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/898,880 Page 3 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 18/898,880 Page 4 Art Unit: 2634