DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20170100061 A1 (Finkel).
Regarding claim 1:
Finkel discloses a method of assessing the effectiveness of a psychotropic drug on a mammalian subject (Para. [0073], the method is used to track pupillary changes and dose-ranging effects during treatment with psychotropic drugs.), said method comprising:
providing a pupilometer (Fig. 13A and Para. [0086], a smartphone with attachments [1302] is used as a pupilometer.);
using the pupilometer to obtain pupillary biomarker data from at least one pupil of the subject before the subject is administered the psychotropic drug (Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], PRD curve [710] relating to a baseline before the administration of a psychotropic drug (hydromorphone));
using the pupilometer to obtain pupillary biomarker data from at least one pupil of the subject after the subject is administered the psychotropic drug (Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], PRD curves [720], [730], and [740] taken at different times after the administration of a psychotropic drug (hydromorphone));
using the pupilometer to process all of the pupillary biomarker data (Para. [0036], components to capture and process image data of the eye.);
displaying an output that indicates the effectiveness of the psychotropic drug. (Para. [0070], the analyzed data is used to determine tolerance and dose effects. Para. [0073], the method is used to track pupillary changes and dose-ranging effects during treatment with psychotropic drugs. Fig. [13A] GUI [1308] and Para. [0088], the GUI [1308] displays the processed data)
Regarding claim 2:
Finkel discloses a method of assessing the effectiveness of a psychotropic drug on a mammalian subject (Para. [0073], the method is used to track pupillary changes and dose-ranging effects during treatment with psychotropic drugs.), said method comprising:
providing a pupilometer having a display (Fig. [13A], GUI [1308] and Para. [0088] and [0086], a smartphone with attachments [1302] is used as a pupilometer and the GUI [1308] displays the processed data), said pupilometer having access to a dataset of pupillary biomarker data obtained from subjects other than the subject (Fig. 14, step [S1401] involves generating biomarker signatures for comparison to the subjects biomarker data in step [S1407], this is done using biomarker data from other subjects);
using the pupilometer to obtain pupillary biomarker data from at least one pupil of the subject; (Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], PRD curves [720], [730], and [740] taken at different times after the administration of a psychotropic drug (hydromorphone))
using the pupilometer to process all of the pupillary biomarker data (Para. [0036], components to capture and process image data of the eye.);
displaying an output on the display of the pupilometer that indicates the effectiveness of the psychotropic drug. (Para. [0070], the analyzed data is used to determine tolerance and dose effects. Para. [0073], the method is used to track pupillary changes and dose-ranging effects during treatment with psychotropic drugs. Fig. [13A] GUI [1308] and Para. [0088], the GUI [1308] displays the processed data)
Regarding claim 3:
Finkel discloses a program product comprising a computer-readable medium and computer- executable instructions recorded on the computer-readable medium for performing a method of assessing the effectiveness of a psychotropic drug on a mammalian subject (Para. [0110]-[0111], the functions in the embodiments are implemented by a programmed processor using instructions from computer-readable memory.), wherein the method comprises:
causing a pupilometer having a display to obtain pupillary biomarker data from at least one pupil of the subject before the subject is administered the psychotropic drug; (Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], PRD curve [710] relating to a baseline before the administration of a psychotropic drug (hydromorphone))
causing the pupilometer to obtain pupillary biomarker data from at least one pupil of the subject after the subject is administered the psychotropic drug (Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], PRD curves [720], [730], and [740] taken at different times after the administration of a psychotropic drug (hydromorphone));
causing the pupilometer to process all of the pupillary biomarker data (Para. [0036], components to capture and process image data of the eye.);
causing the pupilometer to display on its display an output that indicates the effectiveness of the psychotropic drug. (Para. [0070], the analyzed data is used to determine tolerance and dose effects. Para. [0073], the method is used to track pupillary changes and dose-ranging effects during treatment with psychotropic drugs. Fig. [13A] GUI [1308] and Para. [0088], the GUI [1308] displays the processed data)
Regarding claim 4:
Finkel discloses a program product comprising a computer-readable medium and computer- executable instructions recorded on the computer-readable medium for performing a method of assessing the effectiveness of a psychotropic drug on a mammalian subject (Para. [0110]-[0111], the functions in the embodiments are implemented by a programmed processor using instructions from computer-readable memory.), wherein the method comprises:
causing a pupilometer to access a dataset of pupillary biomarker data obtained from subjects other than the subject (Fig. 14, step [S1401] involves generating biomarker signatures for comparison to the subjects biomarker data in step [S1407], this is done using biomarker data from other subjects);
causing the pupilometer to obtain pupillary biomarker data from at least one pupil of the subject (Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], PRD curves [720], [730], and [740] taken at different times after the administration of a psychotropic drug (hydromorphone));
causing the pupilometer to process all of the pupillary biomarker data (Para. [0036], components to capture and process image data of the eye.);
causing the pupilometer to display on its display an output that indicates the effectiveness of the psychotropic drug. (Para. [0070], the analyzed data is used to determine tolerance and dose effects. Para. [0073], the method is used to track pupillary changes and dose-ranging effects during treatment with psychotropic drugs. Fig. [13A] GUI [1308] and Para. [0088], the GUI [1308] displays the processed data)
Regarding claim 5:
Finkel discloses a pupilometer (Fig. 13A and Para. [0086], a smartphone with attachments [1302] is used as a pupilometer.); comprising:
a light source for generating and emitting a light stimulus to stimulate a pupil of a mammalian subject (Para. [0097], the light stimulus is generated by the smartphone camera flash.);
a camera for recording and measuring a dynamic response of said pupil to the light stimulus (Fig. 13 and para. [0087], image capture [1304] is used to measure PRD (pupillary reflex dilation));
a memory that can store data relating to the dynamic response of the pupil to the light stimulus (Fig. 13A showing the smartphone has memory [CPU/Memory] and Para. [0088], the data may be stored on the phone.);
a microprocessor that can process data obtained from a pupil prior to the subject being administered a psychotropic drug and data obtained from a pupil after the subject is administered a psychotropic drug and provide an output indicative of the effectiveness of the psychotropic drug (Para. [0088] the smartphone, having a microprocessor [CPU/Memory], is configured to analyze and display the data from the subject. Also see Fig. 7 and Para. [0069], discussing PRD curve [710] taken before the administration of the psychotropic drug and PRD curves [720], [730], and [740] taken after.).
Regarding claim 6:
Finkel discloses the pupilometer of claim 5, further comprising a display for displaying the output indicative of the effectiveness of the psychotropic drug. (Fig. [13A] GUI [1308] and Para. [0088], the GUI [1308] displays the processed data.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150116665 A1 (Finkel) See para. [0063], used for tracking pupillary changes before and during treatment to guide the treatment. US 20190191995 A1 (Giovinazzo et al.) Para. [0095]-[0100], Steps of a method to use pupil data to determine the presence of psychotropic substances in a subject by comparing to pupil data from other test subjects. US 20160183784 A1 (Privitera et al.) Discloses a similar pupilometer to claim 5. See also Para. [0015] discussing it’s use in determining drug impairment or intoxication. Malone, D. A. et al. Ophthalmologic Effects of Psychotropic Medications Psychosomatics, Vol. 33, no. 3 (August 1992), pp. 271-277. ISSN 0033-3182. (Malone et al.) Discusses various ophthalmologic effects of psychotropic drugs.
/SETH D MOSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872