DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to for the following minor informalities: Line 2 should read “the tool mating interface” for the purpose of consistency in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to for the following minor informalities: Line 1 should read “wherein the rotation member comprises a loop” for the purpose of grammatical clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “first and second parts of the gladhand coupling portion” which renders the claim indefinite because a gladhand coupling portion has not been previously introduced in the claims. It is unclear if the gladhand coupling portion is required to be on the gladhand coupling tool, part of the gladhand that the coupling tool is being coupled to, or part of some other structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-14, 17, 18, 21, 23, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Johannes (US 2024/0043075 A1, filed July 7, 2023).
In regards to claim 1: Johannes teaches
(a) a vehicle (200) comprising a pneumatic source of pressurized air (Paragraph 0009: “pressurized air from a braking circuit of the AV truck” source of air is in the braking circuit of the truck);
(b) a robotic arm assembly (270) supported on or coupled to the vehicle (Paragraph 0081: “The AV truck chassis 220, rearward of the cab 210, includes an area that resides in front of the fifth wheel 240 that supports a multi-axis robotic manipulator arm assembly 270” underline added for clarity);
(c) a gladhand coupling tool (3100) releasably connected to the robotic arm assembly (Paragraph 0100: “The connection tool 3100 is removably mounted on a robot arm end effector/manipulator 3120”) and configured to connect to a gladhand receptacle (3104) of a trailer (Paragraph 0101: “In operation, a process for connecting to a retractable, spring-loaded gladhand […] (1) The vision system of the AV truck identifies the gladhand 3104 as a retractable type; [0103] (2) The connection tool is retrieved from a stowage location by interengagement of the end effector/manipulator 3120 with the tool receptacle 3122; [0104] (3[…] (4) […] the system controller guides the end effector/manipulator 3120 and attached connection tool 3100 to the gladhand 3104; [0106] (5) The gladhand capture assembly's latching fingers 820 grasp the gladhand wedge 3110; [0107] (6) The end effector/manipulator 3120 detaches from the connection tool receptacle 3122, and the robot withdraws to a non-interfering position, thereby leaving the connection tool 3100 attached to the gladhand 3104; [0108] (7) […] This completes the pneumatic circuit between the trailer and AV truck braking systems.”); and
(d) an air supply line (not shown, discussed below) coupled to the gladhand coupling tool, the air supply line being configured to deliver pressurized air from the pneumatic source to a braking system of the trailer when the gladhand coupling tool is connected to the gladhand receptacle of the trailer (See quote of paragraph 0081 above, see also Paragraph 0011: “In an illustrative embodiment, a system and method for interconnecting a brake line on an AV truck with a gladhand mounted on a front of a trailer hitched thereto is provided, and includes a robotic arm, having an end effector, that is guided by a controller, from a stowage location to the gladhand. The end effector can removably carry a connection tool with a connection member adapted to carry pressurized air from a braking circuit of the AV truck to a braking circuit of the trailer.”),
wherein the gladhand receptacle is rotatable between a first position and a second position (Paragraph 0100: “The gladhand rotates/retracts into the enclosure 3214 based upon a pivot 3106 and spring assembly 3108 known to those of skill. The action of the connection tool 3100 causes it to react off the face of the trailer and thereby expose the gladhand and associated seal to complete the connection.” And Paragraph 0101: “The active hinge arrangement changes connection tool configuration to locked, and while doing so, the torque generated by the active hinge mechanism pushes (curved arrow 3240) the tool 3100 against the trailer face/surface 3244, thereby rotating the spring-loaded gladhand 3104 sufficiently off the enclosure surface to expose the face of the gladhand seal 3210”) underline added for clarity),
in the first position, the gladhand receptacle has an orientation with respect to a front surface of the trailer, such that a pneumatic port of the gladhand receptacle faces the front surface (See quotes of paragraphs 0100 and 0101 directly above regarding when the gladhand has to be rotated away from the first position facing the trailer/enclosure face in order to expose the seal, examiner notes that the enclosure 3214 is part of the front surface 3244 of the trailer),
in the second position, the gladhand receptacle has a different orientation with respect to the front surface, such that the pneumatic port is exposed (see quotes of paragraphs 0100 and 0101 above regarding exposing the face of the gladhand seal), and
one of the gladhand coupling tool and the robotic arm assembly includes a rotation member (active hinge arrangement 2630, 2640, 2644, 610 and wedge capture 820, see Figures 29 and 30 on gladhand coupling tool 3100), constructed to interface with a portion (wedge 3110) of the gladhand receptacle so as to rotate the gladhand receptacle from the first position to the second position in preparation for connecting the gladhand coupling tool to the gladhand receptacle (Paragraph 0101: “the active hinge mechanism pushes (curved arrow 3240) the tool 3100 against the trailer face/surface 3244, thereby rotating the spring-loaded gladhand 3104 sufficiently off the enclosure surface to expose the face of the gladhand seal 3210”).
In regards to claim 3: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the gladhand coupling tool includes the rotation member (See Figures 29 and 30 where the rotation member is on tool 3100), and the rotation member is constructed to remain with the portion of the gladhand receptacle after the gladhand coupling tool is connected to the gladhand receptacle and released from the robotic arm assembly (Paragraph 0101: “The end effector/manipulator 3120 detaches from the connection tool receptacle 3122, and the robot withdraws to a non-interfering position, thereby leaving the connection tool 3100 attached to the gladhand 3104”).
In regards to claim 5: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches one or more sensors (on bar 250) mounted on the vehicle (Paragraph 0078: “The exemplary AV yard truck 200 includes a novel top-mounted bar 250 that carries various sensors (e.g. visual imaging sensors and LiDAR) in a manner that affords a desirable line of sight.”) and configured to detect features in an environment surrounding the vehicle (Paragraph 0078: “For example visual sensors 252 are provided on ends of the bar 250 and a rear visual sensor 310 (FIG. 3) is provided at the top of the cab, and is used as part of the trailer connection system as described below. A rear bumper visual sensor 320 and LiDAR sensor are also depicted to aid in backup and hitching operations.”); and
a control system (120, 410, and 460) operatively coupled to the one or more sensors and the robotic arm assembly (Paragraph 0078: “The processing components 410 (also termed “processor”) for various sensing telemetry can be housed in the cab roof cap 420,” and Paragraph 0081: “As described further below, the robot arm 270 moves under the control of a processor arrangement 460 they can be contained within the robot housing or (in whole or in part) provided as part of the overall processing arrangement 410”), the control system comprising one or more processors (410 and 460, see quotes above regarding the processors) and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-readable instructions (Paragraph 0145: “Likewise, it is expressly contemplated that any function, process and/or processor herein can be implemented using electronic hardware, software consisting of a non-transitory computer-readable medium of program instructions, or a combination of hardware and software.”) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
identify, based at least in part on one or more signals from the one or more sensors, the gladhand receptacle in the first position, a pivot or hinge of the gladhand receptacle, and the portion of the gladhand receptacle (Paragraph 0102 and 0105);
plan a path (Paragraph 0093: “In order for the system to properly inform proper robot motion planning, associated control systems, and supporting behaviors, the assembly is adapted to recognize what position the connection tool (and underlying components) resides in at any given time.”) so as to position the rotation member proximal to the portion of the gladhand receptacle (Paragraph 0105: “Based upon visual information, the system controller guides the end effector/manipulator 3120 and attached connection tool 3100 to the gladhand 3104” Examiner notes that the rotation mechanism is on connection tool 3100);
move, via the robotic arm assembly, the gladhand coupling tool along the planned path (See paragraph 0105 quoted above);
move the rotation member to engage with the portion of the gladhand receptacle (Paragraph 0106, initial engagement of tool 3100 containing the rotation member to the gladhand receptacle is made by latching fingers 820);
reposition, via movement of the robotic arm assembly, the gladhand receptacle from the first position to the second position (Paragraph 0108: “The active hinge arrangement changes connection tool configuration to locked, and while doing so, the torque generated by the active hinge mechanism pushes (curved arrow 3240) the tool 3100 against the trailer face/surface 3244, thereby rotating the spring-loaded gladhand 3104 sufficiently off the enclosure surface to expose the face of the gladhand seal 3210”); and
actuate the gladhand coupling tool to connect to the gladhand receptacle such that a sealed air flow path is established between the air supply line and the trailer braking system (Paragraph 0109: “The airline connection plate 2610 swings (action not shown) on links 2710, 2720 so that its seal 2614 pressurably engages the gladhand seal 3210. This completes the pneumatic circuit between the trailer and AV truck braking systems.”).
In regards to claim 6: The system of claim 5 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer readable media store additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to disconnect the gladhand coupling tool from the robotic arm assembly (Paragraph 0101: “In operation, a process for connecting to a retractable, spring-loaded gladhand (under control of the system controller) can proceed as follows” […] Step 6 in Paragraph 0107: “The end effector/manipulator 3120 detaches from the connection tool receptacle 3122, and the robot withdraws to a non-interfering position, thereby leaving the connection tool 3100 attached to the gladhand 3104” See also paragraph 0100 quoted below in regards to claim 7).
In regards to claim 7: The system of claim 6 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media store additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the one or more processors to move the robotic arm assembly to a stowed position remote from the trailer after disconnecting the gladhand coupling tool (Paragraph 0100: “the end effector 3120 disengages from the receptacle 3122, and the arm can return to stowed position free of interference with AV truck movement and operation. Note that the receptacle 3122 is surrounded by four angled plates 3124 at 90-degree relative angles. These plates 3124 can contain unique fiducials (e.g. 2D barcodes—not shown—which can comprise ArUco markers by way of non-limiting example) that are detected by the AV tuck and/or robot arm's visual recognition (machine vision) system, and assist in guiding the arm end effector into the receptacle using known and customized robot visual guidance techniques.” Underline added for clarity).
In regards to claim 9: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches one or more additional coupling tools configured to be releasably connected to the robotic arm assembly (Paragraph 0127: “It is contemplated that the stowage assembly can be part of a plurality of adjacent (or separated) stowage arrangements that each contain one or more specialized connection tool(s). For example, other stowage arrangements on the AV truck can contain specialized tools for fixed gladhands, proprietary and/or multi-port connections and/or electrical connections with respect to either (or both) emergency and service lines of the trailer.” and paragraph 0136: “These alternate storage stands can be discretely located and identified (e.g. with a unique shape, location and or fiducial) by the robotic arm. Such locations can be part of a bank or magazine of individual tools for differing pneumatic and/or electrical connection tasks.”).
In regards to claim 10: The system of claim 9 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the vehicle comprises a library or holder (See underlined portion of quote from Paragraph 0136 directly above), and the one or more additional coupling tools are stored in or supported by the library or holder.
In regards to claim 11: The system of claim 9 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the vehicle comprises a holder (4500), the gladhand coupling tool and/or the one or more additional coupling tools being configured to releasably connect to the holder via mechanical and/or magnetic means (Paragraph 0133: “Once engaged, appropriate magnets are used to retain the stowed tool relative to the stand.”). Examiner notes the “or” statement and that the one or more faux gladhand receptacles are not required since the second condition of the “or” statement is satisfied.
In regards to claim 12: The system of claim 9 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the one or more additional coupling tools includes another gladhand coupling tool for connecting to another gladhand receptacle of the trailer, an electrical coupling tool for connecting to an electrical service line of the trailer, or any combination of the foregoing (See quote from paragraph 0127 above: “can contain specialized tools for fixed gladhands, proprietary and/or multi-port connections and/or electrical connections with respect to either (or both) emergency and service lines of the trailer”).
In regards to claim 13: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the gladhand coupling tool comprises at least one of an electric motor, a hydraulic actuator, a hydraulic supply line, a pneumatic actuator, a pneumatic supply line, a spring, or any combination of the foregoing (See paragraph 0085 regarding the arrangement of 820: “With further reference to FIGS. 7 and 8, the latching fingers 660, 662 are actuated by a linear or rotary actuator (pneumatic, electromagnetic solenoid, etc.) 680, which carries a U-shaped link bar 682 on a pivoting clevis 684. The fingers 660, 662 include pivoting ends that, when withdrawn (arrow 687), cause the protruding gripping ramps 820 (FIG. 8) to move inwardly (arrows 810 in FIG. 8) as the fingers rotate about fulcrum points 689.” Examiner notes that the “or” statement does not require all of the different elements listed and pneumatic actuator is underlined as the Johannes references teaches at least that element) configured to supply a clamping force between first and second parts (Right and left 820 shown at least in Figure 8, see reference of 820 above in the quote of paragraph 0106 provided in the rejection of claim 1) of the gladhand coupling portion.
In regards to claim 14: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the gladhand coupling tool has a first coupling face (3122), the robotic arm assembly comprises a tool mating interface (end effector 3120), and the gladhand coupling tool is releasably connected to the robotic arm assembly via contact between the first coupling face the tool mating interface (Paragraph 0100: “The connection tool 3100 is removably mounted on a robot arm end effector/manipulator 3120 (shown in phantom) that is selectively attached and detached by movable locking components (not shown) on the end effector 3120 that interact with a receptacle 3122 on the tool 3100.”).
In regards to claim 17: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the robotic arm assembly comprises at least one sensor configured to detect the gladhand receptacle and/or positioning of the gladhand coupling tool with respect to the gladhand receptacle (Paragraph 0008: “The arm includes an end effector assembly that is arranged to visually navigate to the gladhand using appropriate machine vision cameras (and/or depth sensors) and techniques and engage the gladhand by latching onto a recognized gladhand portion (e.g. a wedge) using a connection tool”).
In regards to claim 18: The system of claim 17 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises an optical camera (see quote of paragraph 0008 above). Examiner notes that because of the “or” statement, all of the alternatives listed in the claim are not required.
In regards to claim 21: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the rotation member comprises the open feature of the gladhand capture assembly 610 rotated by the rotation member (see Figure 27) as well as paragraph 0101 regarding the active hinge mechanism relied upon for the rotation member and the gladhand capture assembly on the end thereof. Examiner notes that the “or” statement does not require all of the alternatives listed. Examiner is relying upon the “or other open feature” alternative.
In regards to claim 23: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the rotation member or a portion thereof (820) is formed of an active shape control material (Paragraph 0085: “The ramps 820 (also termed “gripping formations”) can be constructed from a durable material (polymer, metal, etc.) that is long-wearing and relatively non-marring.”). Examiner notes that applicant does not give a specific definition for “an active shape control material” but rather describes an active shape mechanism or shape memory materials in Paragraph 0033 of the specification. As such, examiner gives the term “active shape control material” its broadest reasonable interpretation which would be a material that actively holds or controls its shape (i.e. a solid). Additionally, the metal or polymer relied upon in the art would actively hold its shape and is “relatively non-marring”.
In regards to claim 25: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the rotation member is configured to contract, rotate, and actuate in response to electrical input and magnetic input (i.e. electromagnetic input) (Paragraph 0085: “With further reference to FIGS. 7 and 8, the latching fingers 660, 662 are actuated by a linear or rotary actuator (pneumatic, electromagnetic solenoid, etc.) 680, which carries a U-shaped link bar 682 on a pivoting clevis 684. The fingers 660, 662 include pivoting ends that, when withdrawn (arrow 687), cause the protruding gripping ramps 820 (FIG. 8) to move inwardly (arrows 810 in FIG. 8) as the fingers rotate about fulcrum points 689” underlines added for clarity. Examiner notes that 610 and 820 are relied upon as part of the rotation member).
In regards to claim 27: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the gladhand coupling tool further comprises an alignment member (3510, see also block 3730 in operational diagrams of Figures 37 and 38) constructed to abut the portion of the gladhand receptacle so as to assist in aligning the gladhand coupling tool to the gladhand receptacle during connection (Paragraph 0114: “As shown in FIG. 38, where the wedge of the gladhand 3810 is slightly misaligned, axially and/or rotationally, relative to the position and/or orientation of the manipulator 3710 and main body 3720 axes, the compliance elements 3730 allow for relative misalignment as shown. Hence, when latching onto the gladhand 3810, the gladhand capture mechanism 3740 can conform to actual gladhand alignment along one or more gladhand axes, thus avoiding breakage of the assembly or a poorly sealed connection.”). Examiner notes that the “or” statement does not require the other second alternative listed in the claim. Examiner also notes that Paragraph 0113 states that the passive compliance mounting structure 3510 is for use with 610 which is part of the rotation member on the gladhand coupling tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannes.
In regards to claim 2: The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. The relied upon embodiment of Johannes does not explicitly teach wherein the portion of the gladhand receptacle is a lug or detent plate. However, Johannes teaches a general embodiment describing a conventional gladhand attachment procedure wherein the gladhand wedge (540) has a detent (542). Examiner notes that the wedge is generally flat and could be considered a “plate” with a detent. See Figures 5 and 6. Paragraph 0082: “In the case of a conventional, native gladhand attachment procedure, a rotational motion is used to slip another (not shown) gladhand's front wedge (540), beneath the other gladhand's rear flange 550 [..]. A shallow detent (542) on the wedge (544) engages an associated protrusion (not shown) on the flange 550 to maintain the connection until it is overcome by a rotational force to detach the gladhands from each other.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wedge of the embodiment of Johannes relied upon in claim 1, comprise a detent plate, as taught in the more general embodiment of Johannes so as to provide a simple and secure attachment with the other gladhand thereby providing a safer and more user friendly gladhand connection.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannes in view of Smith (US 2019/0302764 A1).
In regards to claim 8: The system of claim 5 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media store further instruction that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to autonomously operate the vehicle (Paragraph 0080: “In operation, control of the truck 200 can be implemented in a self-contained manner, entirely within the processor 410 which receives mission plans and decides on appropriate maneuvers (e.g. start, stop, turn accelerate, brake, move forward, reverse, etc.).”). Johannes also teaches in Paragraph 0077: “The yard truck 200 is powered by diesel or another internal combustion fuel, or (more typically) electricity, using appropriate rechargeable battery assembly that can operate in a manner known to those of skill. For the purposes of this description, the AV yard truck is powered by rechargeable batteries, but it is contemplated that any other motive power source (or a combination thereof) can be used to provide mobility to the unit.”, but does not explicitly teach a “drive-by-wire kit and one or more motors”.
However, Smith teaches an autonomous vehicle with a drive motor (Paragraph 0290: “configure the base vehicle to remove power from drive motors altogether”) that is autonomously controlled and describes the autonomous vehicle as having a drive-by-wire system (Paragraph 0305: “The yard truck 200 is powered by diesel or another internal combustion fuel, or (more typically) electricity, using appropriate rechargeable battery assembly that can operate in a manner known to those of skill. For the purposes of this description, the AV yard truck is powered by rechargeable batteries, but it is contemplated that any other motive power source (or a combination thereof) can be used to provide mobility to the unit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motor(s) as in Smith for the battery powered motive power in Johannes and to allow the autonomously controlled vehicle of Johannes to be controlled via a drive-by-wire kit as in Smith to allow for the vehicle to be controlled autonomously, including starting and stopping the motor, and save power as in Smith (Paragraph 0291) thereby allowing for a more efficient autonomous vehicle.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannes in view of Smith (US 2021/0053407 A1).
In regards to claim 15: The system of claim 14 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches wherein the gladhand coupling tool and the robotic arm assembly are locked together via locking components that are not shown (Paragraph 0100). Johannes fails to teach wherein at least one of the first coupling face and the tool mating interface comprises a permanent magnet, an electromagnet, servo lock, or any combination. However, Smith teaches magnetic connections can be used to assist in connection and alignment of connectors (Paragraph 0204: “Such magnetic connection can also be used to assist in connection and alignment of other types of connectors, such as the above-described probe and receptacle connector assemblies.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use magnets as in Smith for the connection between the first coupling face of the gladhand coupling tool and the tool mating interface of the robotic arm assembly so as to provide quicker and more precise alignment as well as a more secure lock between the two components thereby creating a safer and more efficient connection mechanism between the arm and the coupling tool.
In regards to claim 16: The system of claim 15 is taught by Johannes in view of Smith. The combination further teaches wherein the gladhand coupling tool is retained to the robotic arm assembly by magnetic attraction between the first coupling face and tool mating interface (see rejection of claim 15 above where the combination teaches magnets for the connection between the first coupling interface (1322 of Johannes) and the tool mating interface (1320 of Johannes).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannes in view of Ohl (provided as NPL 1). The system of claim 23 is taught by Johannes. Johannes fails to teach wherein the active shape control material comprises an internal tensile member, an internal compressive member, a pneumatically-actuatable member, a hydraulically-actuatable member, a shape memory alloy, or any combination of the foregoing. However, Ohl teaches using shape memory alloys for more accurate robot controls such as robotic hands (examiner notes that Johannes refers to 820 as both gripping ramps and fingers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fingers or gripping ramps 820 of the rotation member of Johannes be formed of a shape memory alloy as taught by Ohl so as to allow for more precise control during the gripping operation thereby creating a more agile and precise rotation member for grabbing the gladhand and decreasing the likelihood of failure or damage to the parts.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johannes in view of Hetrich (US 2024/0244332 A1). The system of claim 1 is taught by Johannes. Johannes further teaches powering the vehicle with rechargeable batteries (Paragraph 0077: “For the purposes of this description, the AV yard truck is powered by rechargeable batteries”). Johannes does not explicitly teach wherein the robotic arm assembly is further configured to couple an electrical connector to a battery charging receptacle of the vehicle. However, Hetrich teaches using a robotic arm (106) to couple an electrical connector (110) to a battery charging receptacle (102) of the vehicle. Paragraph 0023: “In operation, the control device 116 may determine the location of charging component 102 and direct the positioning and movement of the charging element 110 (e.g., via the robot 104 or directly to the robot arm 106). For instance, the control device 116 (or robot 104) may sense (via one or more sensors or other interfaces) that the EV has been parked in a charging zone, and may seek to begin charging the EV by connecting the charging element 110 to the charging component 102. The robot 104 may then be directed to couple the charging element 110 to the charging component 102.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally have the robot arm of Johannes connect an electrical connector to a battery charging receptacle as in Hetrich so as to allow for autonomous recharging of the rechargeable batteries powering the yard truck of Johannes thereby creating a more hand-off and user friendly vehicle and charging arrangement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 20, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 4: The claim recites wherein the rotation member is constructed to remain with the robotic arm assembly after the gladhand coupling tool is connected to the gladhand receptacle and released from the robotic arm assembly. The relied upon embodiment teaches the rotation member as being on the gladhand coupling tool and which disconnects from the robotic arm during attachment. Because the robotic arm only makes contact with the gladhand via the coupling tool, it would not be obvious, nor would it make sense to alter the relied upon embodiment of Johannes so as to move the rotation member to the arm rather than the tool to have it remain with the arm after coupling. Examiner notes that Johannes teaches rotation members 5600 and 5800 that can either reside on the end effector of the robotic arm or the connection tool. However, these rotation members are not responsible for moving the gladhand receptacle from the first position to the second position as required by claim 1.
In regards to claim 20: The claim recites wherein the rotation member is mounted to said one of the gladhand coupling tool and the robotic arm assembly via one or more springs. The relied upon embodiment of Johannes does not teach springs for mounting the rotation member to the coupling tool. Furthermore, it is unclear how or why springs would be added to the relied upon embodiment used to reject claims 1 and 19 from which claim 20 depends. Additional art failed to teach the limitations as claimed and there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to add springs to the rotation member of Johannes.
In regards to claim 22: The claim recites wherein the rotation member or a portion thereof is formed of one or more metallic or non-metallic filaments. Examiner notes that metallic or non-metallic covers nearly all materials. However, the hinge mechanism relied upon for the rotation member does not comprise any filaments. It is a gear mechanism for rotating 610. It would not make sense, nor is it clear how it would be possible, to use filaments (either metallic or non-metallic) to form the gear and hinge arrangement of Johannes. Additional art failed to teach the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL R HYMEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3611