DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fashandi et al., Synthesis of Ti3AuC2, Ti3Au2C2 and Ti3IrC2 by noble metal substitution reaction in Ti3SiC2 for high-temperature-stable Ohmic contacts to SiC, NATURE MATERIALS, VOL 16, AUGUST 2017 pp. 814-819 (hereinafter “Fashandi”).
Regarding claim 1, Fashandi teaches a MAX phase material (see first sentence). Fashandi teaches that the Ti3AuC2 phase is formed (see pp. 814 and 815). Fashandi teaches that the Ti3AuC2 phase is formed by out-diffusion of Si from a Ti3SiC2 that forms an amorphous SiO2 on the surface (see p 815).
The Ti3AuC2 material meets the limitation of a Mn+1AuqA(1-q)Xn phase, wherein q=1 and n=2. The material is a composite either by the layered nature of the material (see Fig 1), or by the fact that a SiO2 amorphous phase be present in the surface (p. 814-815).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7572313 B2
(hereinafter “Barsoum”).
Regarding claim 1, Barsoum teaches a turbomachinery component having a substrate, comprising metal and a MAX phase material (See Summary). More specifically Barsoum teaches a substrate having a surface, which consists essentially of a composite of at least one metal and at least one compound having the chemical formula Mn+1AXn (see claim 1). Barsoum teaches that the metal is selected from silver or gold (See claim 1). Barsoum teaches numerous examples of the MAX phase composites which use silver as the metal (cols 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to have selected gold out of the choices of silver and gold, because Barsoum teaches that these are each suitable for the purpose. The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results would have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER S. KESSLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/CHRISTOPHER S KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1759