DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 3-10, and 13-116 are currently pending.
Claims 2, 11, and 12 are cancelled.
Claims 17-19 are ne2wly added.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 1 recites: the limitation "coupling mechanism" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "mechanism"; (B) the generic placeholder "mechanism" is modified by functional language e.g., "coupling"; and (C) the generic placeholder "mechanism" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structures are the mating threads. As such, the recitation "coupling mechanism" will be interpreted as being mating threads and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 5 recites: the limitation "retaining element" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "element"; (B) the generic placeholder "element” is modified by functional language e.g., "retaining"; and (C) the generic placeholder "element" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a circlip or snap ring and an elastic cylindrical structure (represented by applicant’s element 38 (38a and 38b) in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "retaining element" will be interpreted as being a circlip or snap ring and an elastic cylindrical structure and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 5 recites: the limitation "compressing element" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "element"; (B) the generic placeholder "element” is modified by functional language e.g., "compressing"; and (C) the generic placeholder "element" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a torus shaped structure with a tapered outer surface having a recess groove in the tapered outer surface (represented by applicant’s element 39 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "compressing element" will be interpreted as being a torus shaped structure with a tapered outer surface having a recess groove in the tapered outer surface and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have made moot the perivenous 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FR 2664672, (hereinafter, FR-672).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parted Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Calm 1: FR-672 discloses a coupling assembly (see Figs. 1-8; note that Fig. 5 is being used to illustrates the thread forms not shown in Fig. 8) for connecting fluid lines, comprising:
a first part (22 and 14) comprising a sleeve (of 22 and 14);
a second part (13) comprising an insert (the insertable portion of 13); and
at least one seal (32),
wherein:
the first part and the second part comprise complementary parts (the threads of 14 and the threads of 13) of a coupling mechanism (the threads of 14 and 13) configured to mechanically connect the first part to the second part (when 14 and 13 are threaded together):
the sleeve (of 22 and 14) comprises an opening configured to accommodate the insert (see Fig. 8),
the at least one seal being arranged between the first part and the second part to provide a fluid-tight connection between the first part and the second part in response to the insert being arranged in an end position within the sleeve (see Fig. 8, the end position contains the structure that holds 32);
the sleeve (10 and/or the gap between 13 and 22 or 14) and/or the insert (the gap between 13 and 22 or 14 and/or the spacing between the 11s, that is the 9A, 9B, and 9C, as illustrated in Fig. 5) comprise at least one vent opening (see Figs. 5 and 8) configured to provide a fluid path from an inner volume of the coupling assembly to a surrounding in response to the insert being arranged within the sleeve in a position between the opening of the sleeve and the end position (see Fig. 8), the at least one vent opening being a hole, a perforation, or a slot extending through a wall of the sleeve (at least one of the 10s) and/or the insert (at least one of 9A, or 9B, or 9C); and
the insert remains mechanically engaged with the sleeve via the coupling mechanism while the at least one vent opening provides the fluid path from the inner volume of the coupling assembly to the surrounding (the insert is made to or is capable of remains mechanically engaged with the sleeve via the coupling mechanism while the at least one vent opening provides the fluid path from the inner volume of the coupling assembly to the surrounding).
Re Clm 3: FR-672 discloses wherein the coupling mechanism comprises a threaded connection (see Figs. 5 and 8), the sleeve including a female thread (12) and the insert including a male thread (11) configured to mechanically engage with the female thread of the sleeve.
Re Clm 4: FR-672 discloses wherein the insert comprises a non-threaded section (9A) arranged between a first threaded section (one of the 11s) and a second threaded section (another of the 11s), outer diameters (at the peaks of the threads of the 11s) of the first threaded section and the second threaded section exceeding an outer diameter of the non-threaded section (as illustrated in Fig. 5).
Re Clm 5: FR-672 discloses a retaining element (the element that retains 32 and 29 and contains element 23) and a compressing element (the structure that contains element 24), the sleeve including an end wall (the end of the wall structure that retains 32 opposite element 23), the retaining element being configured to circumferentially encompass a fluid line along a section of a longitudinal axis of the fluid line, and the compressing element being configured to compress the retaining element between the end wall (see Fig. 8) and the compressing element in response to the insert being arranged in the end position within the sleeve (see Fig. 8).
Re Clm 6: FR-672 discloses wherein a section of the compressing element is shaped as a cone, a frustrum, a hemisphere, a cylinder, or a prism (see the section containing 24).
Re Clm 8: FR-672 discloses wherein: the at least one vent opening is arranged in a lateral surface of the sleeve (10); and/or the sleeve comprises an end wall and the at least one vent opening is arranged in the end wall (the flanged end wall of 22 penetrated by 24, the opening in the flanged end wall).
Re Clm 9: FR-672 discloses wherein the at least one vent opening is arranged on a surface of the insert and/or the sleeve.
Re Clm 10: FR-672 discloses a passage (see Fig. 8, one of the 28s) configured to: accommodate a vacuum insulated fluid line, and allow for the vacuum insulated fluid line to extend through the coupling assembly along a longitudinal axis of the coupling assembly.
Re Clm 13: FR-672 discloses a fluid line connection (see Figs. 5 and 8), comprising: a coupling assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1), the first part being attached to a first fluid line (see Fig. 8 and page 5/6, lines 8-12) and the second part being attached to a second fluid line (see Fig. 8 and page 5/6, lines 8-12), wherein: the insert of the second part is arranged in the end position within the sleeve of the first part (see Fig. 8); and the at least one seal is arranged between the first part and the second part (see Fig. 8) to provide a fluid-tight connection between the first part and the second part.
Re Clm 14: FR-672 discloses wherein the coupling assembly further comprises: a retaining element (the element that retains 32 and contains element 23) and a compressing element (the structure that contains element 24), the sleeve including an end wall (the end of the wall structure that retains 32 opposite element 23), the retaining element being configured to circumferentially encompass a fluid line along a section of a longitudinal axis of the fluid line, and the compressing element being configured to compress the retaining element between the end wall (see Fig. 8) and the compressing element in response to the insert being arranged in the end position within the sleeve (see Fig. 8), wherein the retaining element is compressed between the end wall of the sleeve and the compressing element (see Fig. 8), the first fluid line being mechanically attached to the first part via the retaining element (see Fig. 8 and page 5/6, lines 8-12).
Re Clm 15: FR-672 a coupling assembly (see Figs. 1-8; note that Fig. 5 is being used to illustrates the thread forms not shown in Fig. 8) for connecting fluid lines, comprising:
a first part (22 and 14) comprising a sleeve (of 22 and 14);
a second part (13) comprising an insert (the insertable portion of 13); and
at least one seal (32), and
a coupling mechanism (the threads of 14 and 13) configured to mechanically connect the first part to the second part (via the threads), the coupling mechanism including a threaded connection (the threads of 14 and 13), the sleeve including a female threaded section (10) and the insert including a male threaded section (11) configured to mechanically engage with the female threaded section of the sleeve (10 and 11 are made to or capable of mechanically engaging),
wherein: the insert comprises a non-threaded section (such as 9A) arranged between a first threaded section (to the left of 9A) and a second threaded section (to the right of 9A), outer diameters of the first threaded section (at the crest of the threads) and the second threaded section (at the crest of the threads) exceeding an outer diameter of the non-threaded section (at the flat location or 9A), and an axial length of the non- threaded section (the entire length) of the insert exceeds an axial length of the female threaded section of the sleeve (the length of one of the threads of 12A); the sleeve comprises an opening configured to accommodate the insert (see Fig. 5),
the at least one seal being arranged between the first part and the second part to provide a fluid-tight connection between the first part and the second part in response to the insert being arranged in an end position within the sleeve (see Fig. 8, the end position contains the structure that holds 32); and the sleeve (10 and/or the gap between 13 and 22 or 14) and/or the insert (the gap between 13 and 22 or 14 and/or the spacing between the 11s, that is the 9A, 9B, and 9C, as illustrated in Fig. 5) comprise at least one vent opening (see Figs. 5 and 8) configured to provide a fluid path from an inner volume of the coupling assembly to a surrounding in response to the insert being arranged within the sleeve in a position between the opening of the sleeve and the end position (see Fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 7 in line 14 through page 11 the last line, that FR-672 does not disclose the at least one vent opening being a hole, a perforation, or a slot extending through a wall of the sleeve and/or the insert; and the insert remains mechanically engaged with the sleeve via the coupling mechanism while the at least one vent opening provides the fluid path from the inner volume of the coupling assembly to the surrounding, that FR-672 does not address the same concerns as applicants, for claim 15 the length comparisons are improper, and the 112(f) interpretations are wrong because one having skill in the art would understand what is being set forth in the claims.
This is not persuasive.
FR-672 disclose a slot extending through a wall longitudinally of the sleeve through the threads (at least one of the 10s) and/or longitudinally through the threads of the insert (at least one of 9A, or 9B, or 9C); and the insert remains mechanically engaged with the sleeve via the coupling mechanism while the at least one vent opening provides the fluid path from the inner volume of the coupling assembly to the surrounding (the insert is made to or is capable of remains mechanically engaged with the sleeve via the coupling mechanism while the at least one vent opening provides the fluid path from the inner volume of the coupling assembly to the surrounding), there are no requirements that FR-672 has to explicitly address the same concerns as applicants but it is noted that FR-672 discloses all of the claimed structural requirements as claimed and is thus made to or is capable of addressing the same concerns as applicants, and as for claim 15, FR-672 meets the claim langue with regards to the length comparisons.
The 112(f) interpretations are not wrong because each claim recitation identified as invoking 112(f) passes the three prong test for invoking 112(f), such as:
Claims 1 recites: the limitation "coupling mechanism" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "mechanism"; (B) the generic placeholder "mechanism" is modified by functional language e.g., "coupling"; and (C) the generic placeholder "mechanism" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structures are the mating threads. As such, the recitation "coupling mechanism" will be interpreted as being mating threads and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 5 recites: the limitation "retaining element" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "element"; (B) the generic placeholder "element” is modified by functional language e.g., "retaining"; and (C) the generic placeholder "element" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a circlip or snap ring and an elastic cylindrical structure (represented by applicant’s element 38 (38a and 38b) in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "retaining element" will be interpreted as being a circlip or snap ring and an elastic cylindrical structure and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 5 recites: the limitation "compressing element" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder "element"; (B) the generic placeholder "element” is modified by functional language e.g., "compressing"; and (C) the generic placeholder "element" is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a torus shaped structure with a tapered outer surface having a recess groove in the tapered outer surface (represented by applicant’s element 39 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "compressing element" will be interpreted as being a torus shaped structure with a tapered outer surface having a recess groove in the tapered outer surface and any structural/functional equivalents.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The prior art of record does not anticipate all the limitations as recited in independent claim 16.
The prior art does not provide any teaching, suggestion or motivation (TSM) to modify the prior art as such.
There is no cogent reasoning that is unequivocally independent of hindsight that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the prior art to obtain the applicant’s invention.
Even though, the individual parts are known per se, there is nothing to teach the specific structures and structural combinations as claimed. More specifically it is the totality of that which is claimed that is not found in the art of record.
Also refer to page 9 line 11 in Applicant’s Remarks filed 12/24/2025.
Conclusion
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
08/10/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679