DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending in instant application.
Claims 2-6 and 8-12 are rejected for being dependent on rejected base claims 1 and 7.
Claim 1 is rejected under 103 over Hoang et al. [Hoang] US 20250267737 A1,
Yao et al. [Yao] CN 119485139 A
Claim 2 and 8 are rejected under 103 over Zhang et al. [Zhang] US 20220279558 A1, Pan US 20240121803 A1
Claim 3 and 9 are rejected under 103 over Yang et al. [Yang] US 20240057079 A1.
Claim 4 and 10 are rejected under 103 over Kim KR 20240064119 A.
Claim 5 and 11 are rejected under 103 over Golitschek et al. [Golitschek] US 20250168877 A1.
Claim 6 and 12 are rejected under 103 over Xu et al. [Xu] CN 111294140 A.
Claim 7 is rejected under 103 over Qi et al. [Qi] US 20260020043 A1, Hoang et al. [Hoang] US 20250267737 A1, Yao et al. [Yao] CN 119485139 A
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on the certified copy of the Korean application (10-2023-0131083) filed on 09/27/2023.
However, should Applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024 and 03/25/2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Hoang in view of Yao.
Regarding claim 1, Hoang discloses a method performed by a terminal for sidellink (SL) communication, method comprising: receiving, from a base station, an SL grant for SL transmission;(Fig. 19, Illustrates WTRU receives from the base station, Paragraph [0359], The WTRU may receive one or any combination of the following resources for sidelink positioning for the group of WTRUs, including the group ID associated with the scheduled SL-PRS. For example, for dynamic grant, the WTRU may be provided an indication in DCI that the scheduled resource may be used for a particular group ID.)
in case that there is an SL-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for transmission
for a selected destination, identifying a first transport block size (TBS) including the SL-PRS based on the SL grant; (Page 13 Paragraph [0144],Page 21 [0229] -[0232],
[0144], In examples, a WTRU may determine not to multiplex SCI with SL-PRS in one transmission in a network scheduled resource pool dedicated for SL-PRS transmission. The WTRU may determine to multiplex SCI with SL-PRS in one transmission in a WTRU autonomous selection resource pool sharing with sidelink data communication. Paragraph. [0229] The WTRU may determine whether to transmit SL-PRS and/or sidelink data in the scheduled/selected resource based on the destination associated with SL-PRS. For example, when the WTRU determines to put sidelink data in the sidelink resource, the WTRU may determine to opportunistically put SL-PRS to the sidelink resource to transmit SL-PRS with data. For each destination ID associated with sidelink data, the WTRU may be (pre-) configured with a set of destination IDs associated with SL-PRS to multiplex with the sidelink data. For unicast sidelink data, the WTRU may transmit data with SL-PRS if both data and SL-PRS target the same WTRU. In another approach, the WTRU may transmit data with SL-PRS if the receiver of sidelink data receives SL-PRS. For groupcast sidelink data, the WTRU may transmit data with SL-PRS if the receiver of SL-PRS receives sidelink data. For broadcast sidelink data, the WTRU may transmit SL-PRS with sidelink data if both sidelink data and/or SL-PRS have the same destination ID (e.g., the same broadcast service. [0230] The WTRU may determine whether to transmit SL-PRS and/or sidelink data in the scheduled/selected resource based on cast type associated with SL-PRS and/or sidelink data. In examples, if the WTRU determines to transmit SL-PRS in a sidelink resource, the WTRU may determine to multiplex sidelink data in the resource based on the cast type associated with the SL-PRS and/or the cast type associated with sidelink data. If the WTRU determines to transmit SL-PRS using broadcast, the WTRU may transmit sidelink data if the sidelink data is broadcast. The WTRU may transmit broadcast sidelink data if they belong to the same service. If the WTRU determines to transmit SL-PRS using groupcast, the WTRU may transmit sidelink data if sidelink data target the same group. If the WTRU determines to transmit sidelink data in a sidelink resource, the WTRU may determine to multiplex SL-PRS in the resource based on the cast type associated with the SL-PRS and/or the cast type associated with sidelink data. If the WTRU determines to transmit sidelink data using unicast, the WTRU may transmit SL-PRS if both SL-PRS and/or data target the same receiver. [0231] The WTRU may determine whether to transmit SL-PRS and/or sidelink data in the scheduled/selected resource based on a (pre-) configured restriction. For example, the WTRU may be (pre-) configured to multiplex SL-PRS with sidelink data in one transmission in the resource pool. In one (pre-) configuration, the WTRU may not allow SL-PRS to multiplex with sidelink data. In another (pre-) configuration, SL-PRS may be multiplexed with sidelink data. [0232] The WTRU may determine whether to put data or SL-PRS in the resource first based on the priority associated with the data and/or the priority associated with the SL-PRS. For example, the WTRU may put the one with higher priority first. If SL-PRS and/or data have the same priority, the WTRU may prioritize one (pre-) configured precedence (e.g., either data or SL-PRS))
Hoang does not disclose that all data within a logical channel with higher priority than a logical channel of the SL-PRS is allocated with resources of the SL grant, transmitting the SL-PRS based on the SL grant.
However, Yao disclose that all data within a logical channel with higher priority than a logical channel of the SL-PRS is allocated with resources of the SL grant, transmitting the SL-PRS based on the SL grant. (Page 2 Lines 1-4, In the SL positioning scenario, since the terminal device needs to transmit the SL PRS, the terminal device may transmit the SL PRS using a side grant (SL grant) resource of a dedicated resource pool of the SL PRS, and the terminal device may also transmit the SL PRS using a side grant resource of a shared resource pool. Page 5 Lines 3-5, In the case that the first destination address has the SL PRS and the first information is not the SL PRS, the first information is higher in priority than the SL PRS and the first information is a MAC CE or a logical channel. Page 26 Lines 5-8, The MAC layer of the first terminal apparatus performs the grouping of MAC PDUs based on the logical channel priority (logical channel prioritization, LCP) according to the acquired TBS and the priority order of the logical channels, and the specific generation method may refer to chapter 5.22.1.4.1.3 in TS 38.321.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as taught by Hoang with the system disclosed by Yao since doing so would have achieved direct and dynamic sidelink channels.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Modified Hoang in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Hoang teaches the method of claim 1. Modified Hoang does not disclose wherein the method of claim 1, further comprising: in case that all data within the logical channel with higher priority than the logical channel of the SL-PRS is not allocated with resources of the SL grant, identifying that the SL-PRS is not transmitted based on the SL grant, and identifying a second TBS with no SL-PRS.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the method of claim 1, further comprising: in case that all data within the logical channel with higher priority than the logical channel of the SL-PRS is not allocated with resources of the SL grant, identifying that the SL-PRS is not transmitted based on the SL grant (Fig. 5 Flowchart illustrates Logical Channel Prioritization Procedure between first set and second set and as LCH is in starved state SL-PRS is not transmitted.)
Zhang does not disclose identifying a second TBS with no SL-PRS
However, Pan does disclose identifying a second TBS with no SL-PRS (Paragraph [0575] Lines 12-17, For assistance data exclude SL-PRS configuration, it is possible to use broadcast, groupcast or unicast, because the anchor UE's location can be seen as a common information and is no harm to be known by other neighbor UEs; If the SL-PRS configuration is conveyed in PC5-RRC, that means it at least supports unicast.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as taught by modified Hoang with the system disclosed by Zhang and teachings of Pan, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of regular sidelink data block with no positioning reference signal.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Hoang in view of Yang.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Hoang teaches the method of claim 2. Modified Hoang does not teach the second TBS is identified based on a resource element allocated based on the SL grant and a modulation and coding scheme.
However, Yang teaches the second TBS is identified based on a resource element allocated based on the SL grant (Page 2 Paragraph [0032] Lines 3-8, The apparatus comprises: means of obtaining a grant allocating a set of resources on which to transmit at least two transport blocks(TBS) using multiple spatial layers; means for determining whether a data size of data available to be carried on the set resources is sufficient for at least one TB of the at least two TBs) and a modulation and coding scheme (Page 1 Paragraph [0009] Lines 14-17, the at least one TB is configured with a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) that is different than a second MCS with which at least one other TB is configured.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of modified Hoang in view of Yang, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of improved management of sidelink resource allocation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Hoang in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 4, modified Hoang teaches the method of claim 1. Modified Hoang does not disclose wherein the first TBS is determined based on resources excluding a symbol used for the SL-PRS.
However, Kim teaches the first TBS is determined based on resources excluding a symbol used for the SL-PRS. (The first terminal determines the second symbol for the DL PRS resource by excluding the symbol used by the SS/PBCH block in the serving cell where the DL-PRS is transmitted. <Explanation> based on reference it would be obvious to use disclosed knowledge to exclude a symbol for different physical signals used for synchronization and channel estimation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of modified Hoang taught by Kim to achieve desired system.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Hoang in view of Golitschek.
Regarding claim 5, modified Hoang teaches the method of claim 1. Modified Hoang does not teaches selecting the destination; and selecting a logical channel for transmission for the destination.
However, Golitschek teaches selecting the destination; and selecting a logical channel for transmission for the destination (Paragraph [0003] Lines 3-10 One embodiment of a method includes selecting, at a user equipment (“UE”), a destination from a plurality of destinations for a transmission as part of a LCP procedure. The transmission includes a medium access control (“MAC”) control element (“CE”) (“MAC CE”), a logical channel with a highest priority of a plurality of priorities, or a comXuation thereof; a first priority for a first destination of the plurality of destinations of the transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of modified Hoang taught by Golitschek to achieve channel mapping process and data is interpreted correctly by UE.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Hoang in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 6, modified Hoang teaches claim 5. Modified Hoang does not teach selected logical channel includes a logical channel with SL data or a logical channel enabled for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback.
However, Xu teaches wherein the selected logical channel includes a logical channel with SL data or a logical channel enabled for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback. (Claim 1 and 4, A data transmission method, wherein, comprising: the network device sends the indication information to the terminal device, said indication information is used for indicating the first transmission mode, the first transmission mode comprises starting hybrid automatic repeat request function, closing a hybrid automatic repeat request function, or at least one of hybrid automatic repeat way., the method further comprises: the network device sends the first configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the first configuration information for the transmission mode indicator corresponding to at least one logical channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of modified Hoang taught by Xu to ensure reliable delivery while optimizing for efficiency and latency.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Qi in view of Hoang and Yao.
Regarding claim 7, Qi discloses a terminal for sidelink (SL) communication, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a base station, an SL grant for SL transmission, (Page 10 Paragraph [0126] Lines 1-3, 8-10, As shown, the UE 3 has a transceiver circuit 31 that is operable to transmit signals to and to receive signals from a base station, The UE 3 also has a controller 37 to control the operation of the UE 3. The controller 37 is associated with a memory 39 and is coupled to the transceiver circuit 31. Page 2 Paragraph [0018] Lines 1-4, In CG scheduling, the base station assigns a set of sidelink resources (referred to as the configured grant (CG)) to a UE that can be used (persistently or semi-persistently) for transmitting several TBs.)
Qi does not disclose that there is an SL-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for transmission for a selected destination, identifying a first transport block size (TBS) including the SL-PRS based on the SL grant.
However, Hoang discloses that there is an SL-positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) for transmission for a selected destination, identifying a first transport block size (TBS) including the SL-PRS based on the SL grant; (Page 13 Paragraph [0144],Page 21 [0229] -[0232],[0144], In examples, a WTRU may determine not to multiplex SCI with SL-PRS in one transmission in a network scheduled resource pool dedicated for SL-PRS transmission. The WTRU may determine to multiplex SCI with SL-PRS in one transmission in a WTRU autonomous selection resource pool sharing with sidelink data communication. Paragraph. [0229] The WTRU may determine whether to transmit SL-PRS and/or sidelink data in the scheduled/selected resource based on the destination associated with SL-PRS. For example, when the WTRU determines to put sidelink data in the sidelink resource, the WTRU may determine to opportunistically put SL-PRS to the sidelink resource to transmit SL-PRS with data. For each destination ID associated with sidelink data, the WTRU may be (pre-) configured with a set of destination IDs associated with SL-PRS to multiplex with the sidelink data. For unicast sidelink data, the WTRU may transmit data with SL-PRS if both data and SL-PRS target the same WTRU. In another approach, the WTRU may transmit data with SL-PRS if the receiver of sidelink data receives SL-PRS. For groupcast sidelink data, the WTRU may transmit data with SL-PRS if the receiver of SL-PRS receives sidelink data. For broadcast sidelink data, the WTRU may transmit SL-PRS with sidelink data if both sidelink data and/or SL-PRS have the same destination ID (e.g., the same broadcast service. [0230] The WTRU may determine whether to transmit SL-PRS and/or sidelink data in the scheduled/selected resource based on cast type associated with SL-PRS and/or sidelink data. In examples, if the WTRU determines to transmit SL-PRS in a sidelink resource, the WTRU may determine to multiplex sidelink data in the resource based on the cast type associated with the SL-PRS and/or the cast type associated with sidelink data. If the WTRU determines to transmit SL-PRS using broadcast, the WTRU may transmit sidelink data if the sidelink data is broadcast. The WTRU may transmit broadcast sidelink data if they belong to the same service. If the WTRU determines to transmit SL-PRS using groupcast, the WTRU may transmit sidelink data if sidelink data target the same group. If the WTRU determines to transmit sidelink data in a sidelink resource, the WTRU may determine to multiplex SL-PRS in the resource based on the cast type associated with the SL-PRS and/or the cast type associated with sidelink data. If the WTRU determines to transmit sidelink data using unicast, the WTRU may transmit SL-PRS if both SL-PRS and/or data target the same receiver. [0231] The WTRU may determine whether to transmit SL-PRS and/or sidelink data in the scheduled/selected resource based on a (pre-) configured restriction. For example, the WTRU may be (pre-) configured to multiplex SL-PRS with sidelink data in one transmission in the resource pool. In one (pre-) configuration, the WTRU may not allow SL-PRS to multiplex with sidelink data. In another (pre-) configuration, SL-PRS may be multiplexed with sidelink data. [0232] The WTRU may determine whether to put data or SL-PRS in the resource first based on the priority associated with the data and/or the priority associated with the SL-PRS. For example, the WTRU may put the one with higher priority first. If SL-PRS and/or data have the same priority, the WTRU may prioritize one (pre-) configured precedence (e.g., either data or SL-PRS))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as taught by Qi with the method disclosed by Hoang since doing so would have achieved positioning accuracy for the intended UE(s), while still allowing efficient use of the granted resources.
Modified Qi does not disclose that all data within a logical channel with higher priority than a logical channel of the SL-PRS is allocated with resources of the SL grant, transmitting the SL-PRS based on the SL grant.
However, Yao disclose that all data within a logical channel with higher priority than a logical channel of the SL-PRS is allocated with resources of the SL grant, transmitting the SL-PRS based on the SL grant. (Page 2 Lines 1-4, In the SL positioning scenario, since the terminal device needs to transmit the SL PRS, the terminal device may transmit the SL PRS using a side grant (SL grant) resource of a dedicated resource pool of the SL PRS, and the terminal device may also transmit the SL PRS using a side grant resource of a shared resource pool. Page 5 Lines 3-5, In the case that the first destination address has the SL PRS and the first information is not the SL PRS, the first information is higher in priority than the SL PRS and the first information is a MAC CE or a logical channel. Page 26 Lines 5-8, The MAC layer of the first terminal apparatus performs the grouping of MAC PDUs based on the logical channel priority (logical channel prioritization, LCP) according to the acquired TBS and the priority order of the logical channels, and the specific generation method may refer to chapter 5.22.1.4.1.3 in TS 38.321.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as taught by Modified Qi with the system disclosed by Yao since doing so would have achieved direct and dynamic sidelink channels.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Qi in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Qi teaches the method of claim 7. Modified Qi does not disclose wherein the method of claim 7, further configured to: in case that all data within the logical channel with higher priority than the logical channel of the SL-PRS is not allocated with resources of the SL grant, identifying that the SL-PRS is not transmitted based on the SL grant, and identifying a second TBS with no SL-PRS.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the method of claim 7, further configured to: in case that all data within the logical channel with higher priority than the logical channel of the SL-PRS is not allocated with resources of the SL grant, identifying that the SL-PRS is not transmitted based on the SL grant (Fig. 5 Flowchart illustrates Logical Channel Prioritization Procedure between first set and second set and as LCH is in starved state SL-PRS is not transmitted.)
Zhang does not disclose identifying a second TBS with no SL-PRS
However, Pan does disclose identifying a second TBS with no SL-PRS (Paragraph [0575] Lines 12, For assistance data exclude SL-PRS configuration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings as taught by modified Qi with the system disclosed by Zhang and teachings of Pan, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of regular sidelink data block with no positioning reference signal.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Qi in view of Yang.
Regarding Claim 9 modified Qi teaches the method of claim 8. Modified Qi does not disclose the second TBS is identified based on a resource element allocated based on the SL grant and modulation and coding scheme.
However, Yang teaches the second TBS is identified based on a resource element allocated based on the SL grant (Page 2 Paragraph [0032] Lines 3-8, The apparatus comprises: means of obtaining a grant allocating a set of resources on which to transmit at least two transport blocks(TBS) using multiple spatial layers; means for determining whether a data size of data available to be carried on the set resources is sufficient for at least one TB of the at least two TBs) and a modulation and coding scheme (Page 1 Paragraph [0009] Lines 14-17, the at least one TB is configured with a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) that is different than a second MCS with which at least one other TB is configured.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the teachings of modified Qi in view of Yang, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of improved management of sidelink resource allocation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Qi in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Qi teaches the method of claim 7. Modified Qi does not disclose wherein the first TBS is determined based on resources excluding a symbol used for the SL-PRS.
However, Kim teaches the first TBS is determined based on resources excluding a symbol used for the SL-PRS. (The first terminal determines the second symbol for the DL PRS resource by excluding the symbol used by the SS/PBCH block in the serving cell where the DL-PRS is transmitted. <Explanation> based on reference it would be obvious to use disclosed knowledge to exclude a symbol for different physical signals used for synchronization and channel estimation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of modified Qi taught by Kim to achieve desired system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Qi in view of Golitschek.
Regarding claim 11, modified Qi teaches the method of claim 7. Modified Qi does not teaches selecting the destination; and selecting a logical channel for transmission for the destination.
However, Golitschek teaches selecting the destination; and selecting a logical channel for transmission for the destination (Paragraph [0003] Lines 3-10 One embodiment of a method includes selecting, at a user equipment (“UE”), a destination from a plurality of destinations for a transmission as part of an LCP procedure. The transmission includes a medium access control (“MAC”) control element (“CE”) (“MAC CE”), a logical channel with a highest priority of a plurality of priorities, or a comXuation thereof; a first priority for a first destination of the plurality of destinations of the transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of modified Qi taught by Golitschek to achieve channel mapping process and data is interpreted correctly by UE.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over modified Qi in view of Xu.
Regarding Claim 12 modified Qi teaches method of claim 11. Modified Qi does not teach selected logical channel includes a logical channel with SL data or a logical channel enabled for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback.
However, Xu teaches wherein the selected logical channel includes a logical channel with SL data or a logical channel enabled for hybrid automatic repeat request feedback. (Claim 1 and 4, A data transmission method, wherein, comprising: the network device sends the indication information to the terminal device, said indication information is used for indicating the first transmission mode, the first transmission mode comprises starting hybrid automatic repeat request function, closing a hybrid automatic repeat request function, or at least one of hybrid automatic repeat way., the method further comprises: the network device sends the first configuration information to the terminal device, wherein the first configuration information for the transmission mode indicator corresponding to at least one logical channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of modified Qi taught by Xu to ensure reliable delivery while optimizing for efficiency and latency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
/VNP/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
Patel, Vaidehiben
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414