DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “an instant alarm step” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claim limitation is indefinite and unclear to what is the causing and/or responsive of an instant alarm and how the instant alarm structured and related to the radiation source. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al [US 2019/0139172]
Claim 1. A radiation monitoring method, comprising the following steps:
installing a GPS positioning module on a radiation source body to form a mobile radiation source (the GPS receiver 140c of a tracking device attached 120 to a moving radiation source 110, 120, 130, 140 for location tracking positions a radiation source 100, 120, 130, 140 and a radiation instrument upon receiving GPS satellite signals from GPS satellites. See Figs. 1, 2, 4, 6, para [0005, 0064]);
transmitting a positioning information of the mobile radiation source to a controller in a monitoring center through the GPS positioning module, and accessing the positioning information through the controller (the tracking device periodically transmits a location and a state of the radiation source to a central control server, and since the central control server is able to monitor a usage status of the moving radiation source. See para [0005, Figs. 1, 4-6, para [0065-0069]);
updating the positioning information to the controller in the monitoring center (reads upon tracking the position location of the mobile radiation sources 110, 120, 130, 140 and recording a movement route of the moving radiation source. See abstract, para [0005, 0010, 0046]);
performing monitoring on the radiation source body (the operation or performing of the moving radiation source 110, 120, 130, 140). See abstract, Figs. 1-4, para [0016, 0017, 0021, 0031-0034, 0045, 0054, 0055]); and
an instant alarm step (the alarm unit 120i, 130g, 140L, for warning. See abstract, Figs. 1-6, para [0012, 0016, 0023, 0047, 0052-0055]).
Claim 2. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the step of
installing the GPS positioning module on the radiation source body comprises the
following step: installing a GPS positioning component, a real-time radiation exposure
history recorder and an auxiliary equipment on a surface of the radiation source
body (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and including the previous/history of data collected information on a radiation source in real time. See abstract, para [0051]).
Claim 3. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the step of
installing the GPS positioning module on the radiation source body comprises the
following step: performing a radiation source anti-ionizing radiation test step on the GPS
positioning module (as cited in respect to claim 1 above, and reads upon measures to track and manage transportation of radioisotopes in real time should be taken. (See para [0009, 0048]).
Claim 4. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 3, wherein the step of
performing the radiation source anti-ionizing radiation test step on the GPS positioning module comprises the following step: adopting a zero-baseline configuration (reads upon the reference, see Figs. 4-6, para [0065, 0067, 0069]); and
comparing a component under test and a testing outdoor reference component to perform a radiation damage assessment (reads upon the detecting an ambient (outdoor) dose value of the radiator and the alarm unit 120i comparing an ambient dose value detected by the G-M detecting unit 120f with a reference dose value and outputting a sound to the outside when a dose value equal to or greater than the reference dose value is detected. (See Figs. 4-6, para [0065, 0067, 0069])
Claim 6. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the step of
performing monitoring on the radiation source body comprises the following step:
obtaining a coordinate value corresponding to a GPS positioning component in the GPS positioning module based on the positioning information of the GPS positioning module by the controller in the monitoring center (together with the location information, to the integrated management server 200, a GPS engine 120c receiving location information received from a GPS network through a GPS antenna and transferring the received location information to the WCDMA modem 120b, a movement sensor 120d sensing movement information of the irradiator including whether the irradiator is moved, a direction of the irradiator, acceleration using a gyro sensor and an acceleration sensor, a power supply unit 120e providing electric power transferred through an internal or charging battery to the system, a G-M detecting unit 120f detecting an ambient dose value of the irradiator, a display unit 120g displaying state information and error information of the mobile radiation irradiator tracking device 120 including communication, electric power, set value, and the like, of the mobile radiation irradiator tracking device 120, and the like. See Figs. 4-6, para [0065, 0067, 0069]); and
determining whether there is an error in a location of the radiation source body based on the coordinate value of the GPS positioning component by the controller in the monitoring center (the G-M detecting unit 120f detecting an ambient dose value of the irradiator, a display unit 120g displaying state information and error information of the mobile radiation irradiator tracking device 120 including communication, electric power, set value, and the like, of the mobile radiation irradiator tracking device 120, and the like. See Figs. 4-6, para [0065, 0067, 0069]).
Claim 7. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the step of
performing monitoring on the radiation source body comprises the following step:
the GPS positioning module entering an electronic fence mode (reads upon the moving source tracking device 140 collects data such as location information through a GPS receiver, location information through a WCDMA modem, an ambient radiation dose through the G-M detecting unit, image capturing and photographing in a movement vehicle through a camera, whether the radiation source enters and is present in the storage box through the RFID reader (as the electronic fence), user information recognition, detection of a movement through a movement sensor, tracking device state information, and the like, and transmits the collected data to the integrated management server 200 via a communication network. See Fig. 5, para [0068]).
Claim 8. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the step of
performing monitoring on the radiation source body comprises the following step:
using an RFID antenna in the GPS positioning module to assist in positioning a location of the radiation source body (the RFID reader 140h and the GPS antenna, see Fig. 6, para [0069]).
Claim 9. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 1, wherein the step of
performing monitoring on the radiation source body comprises the following step:
detecting a radiation exposure history of the GPS positioning component in the GPS positioning module and instantly recording a cumulative exposure dose through a real-time radiation exposure history recorder in the GPS positioning module (as cited in respect to claims 1, 2 above, and including a warning of an accumulated high dose radiation exposure, see Figs. 2A-2C, 4-6, para [0012, 0025, 0053, 0056, 0065, 0067, 0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al [US 2019/0139172] in view of Steinbrecher [US 7,420,522]
Claim 5. The radiation monitoring method according to claim 4, wherein the step of adopting the zero-baseline configuration comprises the following step (as indicating in respect to claim 4 above). But Kim et al fails to disclose using a high-frequency coaxial cable of dielectric material for wiring. However,
Kim et al teach that there is provided an integrated safety management system for a radioisotope and a radiation worker including an integrated management server collecting, through a wired/wireless communication network, see Fig. 1, para [0019]).
Steinbrecher suggests that the electromagnetic radiation interface whose basic construction may be utilized to perform widely divergent function. (See col. 7, lines 48-50).
Dimension 36 between holes 28 provides the approximate thickness of the effective outer conductor for a coaxial cable formed by making holes in ground plate 18. In one preferred embodiment of the invention, dimension 36 is greater than zero to thereby utilize plate 18 for mechanical stability of array 100 and to provide that the effective outer conductor of the coaxial transmission lines 14 have at least some metallic thickness completely surrounding dielectric material 20. (See Fig. 2, col. 10, lines 10-18).
For an example, which may vary considerably depending on construction, a one square meter array may have a bandwidth with a lower frequency of 300 MHz. If the upper frequency cut off is determined by coaxial cable having an upper frequency of 25 GHz, then it will be appreciated that the bandwidth is very wide. (See Fig. 2, col. 10, lines 57-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify or substitute the 25 GH high frequency coaxial cable of Steinbrecher to the wired communication of Kim et al for minimizing and preventing of radio frequency interference and leaking electromagnetic signals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeVito discloses the radiation detection, localization and identification system is disclosed. A dispersed array of radiation detectors is networked to act as a unified detection system. This network has a wide area of view and high sensitivity to radiation sources. The system, a Dispersed Compton Radiation Detector system, utilizes the properties of Compton scattering for high energy gamma radiation. Rather than the traditional reliance on measuring full energy interactions for identification and possible localization, the Dispersed Compton Radiation Detector system uses a geometric correlation to identify and localize radiation sources. If a mobile detector is used, either alone or with other detectors (mobile or stationary) then the detector identifier (if more than one detector) and position of mobile detectors will be recorded. Position measurement of the mobile detectors can be accomplished by several techniques including GPS signals, encoded position readouts, RF tagging, optical systems and other means know to those skilled in the art or yet to be developed. [US 7,550,738]
Chen et al discloses the radioactive source monitoring system, it comprise several detector, monitoring terminal and monitoring centre, said detector comprise a radiation detector and a GPS signal receiver, a radiation source mounting device of user. A radiation detector for detecting radiation source a radiation dose rate of the radiation dose rate and convert into digital signal, GPS satellite signal receiver used for a geographical position digital signal of radiation source device. Monitoring terminal used for a detector of radiation dose rate digital signal and geographical position digital signal, the signal data and transmitting to said monitoring centre. This utility new type of radioactive source monitoring system a high sensitivity, fast reaction, stable and reliable working state and position a, radiation source monitoring department of a online monitoring a radiation source a know the condition in order to radiation source for a process management. [CN 203909308]
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
07/22/2026