DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 13 of claim 1, there is spelling mistake for the term, “filed”. Suggested correction, replace the term, “filed” with “filled”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “substantially similar” in claim 19 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “substantially similar” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no clear indication on the specification by how much or what degree of similarity will be considered as substantially similar to the electrolyte used. The required degree of similarity of the electrolyte cannot be ascertained from the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,13,17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain et al. (US 20210090901 A1) in view of Lu et al. (US 20240126233 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pain et al. teaches, a method of operating an ECAM system comprising a build plate and a printhead (electrochemical additive manufacturing system/method using plate and printhead with electrodes, [0019] and [0060]), the method comprising:
positioning the build plate and the printhead at a set orientation for a settling period (for a preprogrammed period of time (settling time), the build plate and the printhead with electrodes are positioned relative to each other for deposition, [0007] and [0062]), wherein:
the build plate comprises a first copper deposit facing the printhead (material such as copper is deposited as first layer from the printhead electrodes to the plate, [0055], [0070] and [0087]),
the printhead comprises a set of pixelated electrodes aligned with the first copper deposit (according the build plan, for each layer including the first/base layer, the printhead is positioned relative to the plate according to the build plan such that first deposited layer of copper1 is aligned with the electrodes of the printhead, [0055] and [0062]), and
a space between the set of pixelated electrodes and the first copper
deposit is filled with an electrolyte (electrolyte solution placed between the deposition anodes of the printhead and the substrate on the plate, [0053] and [0061]);
applying a measuring voltage between a measuring reference plate and the set of pixelated electrodes while obtaining one or more current values of current passing through each pixelated electrode in the set of pixelated electrodes over a measuring time and while a space between the set of pixelated electrodes and the measuring reference plate is filed with a measuring electrolyte (based on the layer description, the anodes (electrodes) of the printhead are energized by applying a certain voltage while being in contact with an electrolyte solution through which metal is deposited on the substrate on the plate. As the energized anodes are depositing material, the current through the anodes are measured using current sensors at set periods or periodically (measuring time). The anodes are energized for a period of time as taught in [0007] for deposition, [0057],[0062] and [0078]);
determining one or more distance values forming a contour map2 and representing a distance between each pixelated electrode in the set of pixelated electrodes and the first copper deposit on the build plate based on the one or more current values obtained for that pixelated electrode (based on current reading between the anodes and the substrate on which material layer is deposited, the distance between the electrodes (anodes) and the surface of the substrate (first layer deposited) is determined to determine the positioning of the printhead to maintain consistent gap for the next layer to be deposited, [0055], [0058] and [0106]); and
the target map identifies a first subset of pixelated electrodes in the
set of pixelated electrodes to apply a deposition voltage relative to the build
plate when depositing a second copper deposit over the first copper deposit
such that the second copper deposit is aligned with the first subset of
pixelated electrodes (each layer to be deposited has a target map showing exactly where material to be deposited and where material not to be deposited. Based on the target map, the array of electrodes (anodes) are determined and positioned relative to the plate having the first layer to deposit the next layer (by energizing specific electrodes as determined from the target map) on top of the deposited layer, [0067], [0069] and [0070]), and
the target map identifies a second subset of pixelated electrodes in
the set of pixelated electrodes not to apply any voltage relative to the build
plate when depositing the second copper deposit over the first copper deposit such that the second copper deposit is positioned away from the second subset of pixelated electrodes (the target map of each layer shows where material to be deposited and where not to deposit material. Based on the target map, the voltage and current on specific set of electrodes (anodes) are controlled to deposit material for each layer, one on top of another as taught in [0078]. When depositing the next layer, the cathode is moved away from the anodes (electrodes) to maintain a certain distance during deposition that is second copper deposit is positioned away from the second subset of pixelated electrodes used for depositing the first layer, [0055], [0056] and [0067]).
Pain et al. does not explicitly teach the details of generating a target map based on the one or more distance values, wherein: the target map is specific to the first copper deposit on the build plate. However Pain et al. teaches to generate target map for each layer and modify the corresponding target map of the layer as needed when depositing the layer. The system already knows the target map for each individual layer based on layer description but does not generate or update the target map based on information related to the previous or first layer for the next or subsequent layer like generating the target map for the second layer based on the distance of anodes used for the first layer. In other words, the knowledge of the first layer is not used to generate the target map for the next layer. However the system is aware of all the target maps for all the layers and the modifications made to each target map during the layer deposition process as taught in [0055]-[0057], [0068] and [0106]. Another obvious variation is using the information from the first modified target map for the first layer, to generate or update the target map for the second/subsequent layer with reasonable expectation of success.
Lu et al. teaches, generating a target map3 based on the one or more distance values (physical parameters, [0005]), wherein: the target map is specific to the first copper deposit on the build plate (based on the information of the deposited first layer, the deposition parameters of the second layer is updated and than the second layer is deposited, [0005]).
Pain et al. and Lu et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is additive manufacturing.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ECAM system depositing first and second copper layers based on target maps as taught by Pain et al. where the target map or deposition parameters of the second layer is generated or updated based on deposition information of the first deposited layer as taught by Lu et al. to yield predictable results of building an object layer by layer with reasonable expectation of success while compensating for any error occurred in the first deposited layer when depositing the second/next layer on top of the first deposited layer.
Pain et al. teach:
[0060] FIG. 2 shows an architectural diagram of illustrative equipment that may be used to perform build steps of one or more embodiments of the invention. The system has a printhead 200 that contains an array 201 of deposition anodes, and a corresponding array 202 of deposition control circuits for the deposition anodes. In one or more embodiments, the deposition control circuits 202 may be organized in a matrix arrangement, thereby supporting high resolution anode arrays. The deposition anode array 201 may be organized in a two-dimensional grid; FIG. 2 shows a cross
sectional view. A grid control circuit 203 transmits control signals to the deposition control circuits 202 to control the amount of current flowing through each deposition anode in anode array 201. Current flowing through the anodes is provided by a power distribution circuit 204 that routes power from one or more power supplies 221 to the deposition control circuits and then to the anodes. Printhead 200 may also contain other elements such as insulation layers, for example to protect elements of the printhead from the electrolyte solution4.
[0062] In one or more embodiments, printhead 200 may be integrated with a processor 222. This processor may transmit signals to grid control circuit 203, which sends signals to the individual deposition control circuits 202 to turn anodes in deposition anode array 201 on or off (or to modify the intensity of current flow through each anode). Processor 222 may be for example, without limitation, a microcontroller, a microprocessor, a GPU, a FPGA, a SoC, a single-board computer, a laptop, a notebook, a desktop computer, a server, or a network or combination of any of these devices. Processor 222 may be the same as or different from a processor or processors that analyze an object model to construct a build plan. Processor 222 may communicate with one or more sensors 223 that may generate the feedback signals that measure the progress of metal deposition on part 230. Sensors 223 may include for example, without limitation, current sensors, voltage sensors, timers, cameras, rangefinders, scales, force sensors, or pressure sensors. One or more of the sensors 223 may also be used to measure the distance between the cathode and the anode, for example for zeroing to begin manufacturing an object, or to set or confirm the relative position between the anode and cathode at the beginning of each layer. The accurate positioning of the build plate relative to the
electrode array at the initialization of the deposition process may have a significant impact on the success and quality of the completed deposit. Embodiments may use various types of sensors for this positioning, including for example, without limitation, mechanical, electrical, or optical sensors, or combinations thereof. In one or more embodiments, mechanical sensors such as a pressure sensor, switch, or load cell may be employed, which detects when the build plate is moved and reaches the
required location. In one or more embodiments, portions of the system may be energized, and the cathode may be moved to proximity to the energized component at a known location. When a voltage or current is detected on the cathode or build plate the build plate may be known to be at a given location. One or more embodiments may use other types of sensors that detect for example capacitance, impedance, magnetic fields, or that utilize the Hall Effect to determine the location of the cathode/build plate relative to a known position. One or more embodiments may use optical sensors such as laser rangefinders or sensors that detect interference with an optical path.
[0055] The build phase 120 of the process constructs an object from the build plan 103, using for example equipment that performs electrochemical deposition. Illustrative equipment that may be used in one or more embodiments of the invention is described below with respect to FIG. 2. To initiate the build process, a surface of a cathode may be placed in contact with an electrolyte solution in step 121; the object may be constructed by electrochemically depositing material onto the cathode by passing
current through an anode array that is also in contact with the solution. Layers in build plan 103 may then be built successively onto the base of the cathode or onto previously constructed layers, effectively enlarging the cathode for purposes of deposition. For each layer in the build plan, the layer description is retrieved or loaded in step 122. The layer description may for example be loaded into a memory accessible to a controller of the electrochemical deposition equipment; this controller may be any type or types of processors. For example, to start object construction, the first layer description
111 may be loaded or retrieved. The controller may then perform step 123 to set or confirm the relative position between the anode and the cathode. As layers are successively built, the distance between the anode and the cathode may need to be modified so that the anode distance from the most recently deposited surfaces remains within a range that enables sufficient control of the deposition process. For example, the electrochemical deposition equipment may include an actuator that can move either or both of the cathode and the anode, as illustrated below with respect to FIG. 2. For the first layer, step 123 may for example involve a “zeroing” procedure that sets the initial relative position between the anode and the cathode to a desired initial value. The specific methods used for zeroing may vary depending on the deposition equipment. For example, in one or more embodiments the controller may move the cathode or anode until one or more sensors indicate contact (or sufficiently close proximity) between the two, and it may then offset a desired distance from this contacting position. In one or more embodiments there may be sensors such as absolute or relative encoders on the position actuator that assist in zeroing.
[0078]…This map may therefore be used to set the outputs 1007 of the anodes in the anode array, so that deposition continues for anodes that correspond to the“on” pixels of map 1006. Anode outputs may be set for example by setting anode currents 1011, by setting anode voltages 10125, or by setting anode duty cycles 1013, or by using a combination of these methods…
[0106]…These measurements could include for example, a capacitance reading using the seed layer of the substrate, or voltage or current, or A/C impedance measurements between the anode and substrate either in air or the plating bath to determine the distance between the surfaces at various locations in the build volume…
Lu et al. teach:
[0005] According to some embodiments of the disclosure, there is provided a method of layer-by-layer three-dimensional (3D) printing. The method includes: providing a 3D printer, wherein the 3D printer includes a print head; selecting parameters for an object to be printed; providing a surface modification assembly, wherein the surface modification assembly operates co-operatively with a print head of the3D printer; printing a first layer of the object based on the parameters; detecting physical features of the first layer including a first surface roughness of the first layer; updating the parameters based on the detected physical features of the first layer; and, carrying out a surfacing step on the first layer. The surfacing step includes: determining, based on the parameters and the detected physical features, whether the first layer has an appropriate surface roughness; and, providing surface roughness to the first layer using the surface modification assembly in response to determining that the first layer does not have the appropriate surface roughness. The method further includes: printing a second layer of the object based on the updated parameters; detecting physical features of the second layer including a second surface roughness of the second layer; updating the parameters based on the detected physical features of the second layer; and carrying out the surfacing step on the second layer.
Regarding claim 2 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition Pain et al. teaches, wherein positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation comprises depositing the first copper deposit on the build plate by applying the deposition voltage between the build plate and the set of pixelated electrodes (the target map for each layer includes black pixels representing material to be deposited and white pixels representing material not be deposited. From the description of the initial target map, the electrodes (anodes) of the print head and the plate are positioned relative to each to deposit the first layer based on the initial target map, [0054] and [0067]), and the set of pixelated electrodes is identified in an initial target map (from the black and white pixels of the target map, the electrodes to be turned on for deposition are identified, [0054] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 3 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, further comprising depositing the second copper deposit over the first copper deposit by applying the deposition voltage between the build plate and the first subset of pixelated electrodes (“…For example, in some situations an object may be constructed by successively depositing
material for a layer, then repositioning the cathode relative to the anode to move the cathode away from the anode to prepare for the next layer, and then depositing material for the next layer. In other situations relative movement between the anode and cathode may be performed throughout construction of a layer...”, [0056] that is depositing the second layer on top of first layer on the plate by energizing the group of anodes (pixelated electrodes) determined from the target map as taught in [0054] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 4 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, further comprises repeating (a) positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation for the settling period (for a certain period of time, the anodes are energized and repositioned relative to the plate (repeating) to deposit the second layer on top of the first layer, [0007], [0054] and [0056]), (b) applying the measuring voltage (energizing the anodes (by applying voltage or current as determined from the target map as taught in [0054]) to deposit the second layer, [0056] and [0106]) (c) determining the one or more distance values (using the measured current values, the distance between the anodes and the surface of the first layer are determined, [0096] and [0106]), and (d) generating the target map (pre-processing (generating or updating) the target for layer/ material deposition, [0078] and [0080]).
Regarding claim 5 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein the measuring reference plate is the build plate (“…confirm the relative position between the anode and cathode at the beginning of each layer. The accurate positioning of the build plate relative to the
electrode array at the initialization of the deposition process may have a significant impact on the success and quality of the completed deposit…”,[0062], that is the build plate is the measuring reference plate since the anodes are positioned relative to the build plate for material deposition.).
Regarding claim 6 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 5. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein the one or more current values correspond to a concentration of cuprous cations (cu+) in the measuring electrolyte accumulated proximate to this pixelated electrode in the set of pixelated electrodes while the set orientation is maintained between the build plate and the printhead for the settling period (the process parameters for each layer includes, current through each anode (electrode), concentration of the electrolyte6 including metal such as copper as taught in [0087] while repositioning the set of anodes and the build plate per the target map for each corresponding layer to be deposited, [0054],[0058] and [0065]).
Regarding claim 7 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 5. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein the electrolyte is used as the measuring electrolyte while applying the measuring voltage (deposition anode arrays are placed in the electrolyte solution in which chemical reaction occurs to deposit material that is the measuring voltage applied to the anodes (electrodes) while using the electrolyte as the measuring electrolyte, [0061] and [0062]).
Regarding claim 8 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 7. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein the measuring electrolyte further comprises cupric ions (Cu 2+) in addition to cuprous cations (cu+) generated in the measuring electrolyte (copper from copper electrolyte bath will have both the copper ions and copper cations, [0087]) while positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation for the settling period (repositioning the set of anodes and the build plater per the target map for each corresponding layer to be deposited for a certain period of time, [0054],[0058] and [0065]).
Regarding claim 13 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, further comprising, while positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation for the settling period (for a certain period of time, the anodes are energized and repositioned relative to the plate (repeating) to deposit the second layer on top of the first layer, [0007], [0054] and [0056]), applying a deposition voltage between the build plate and an additional set of pixelated electrodes of the printhead thereby depositing an additional first copper deposit aligned with the additional set of pixelated electrodes and away from the first copper deposit (“…In this example, anodes are turned on for the anodes that correspond to anodes with desired deposition, and additional anodes (shown as cross-hatched regions) are turned on7 around the edges and the corners of the deposition area. For example, edge anodes are turned on around each outer edge, such as anodes 1231 along the top edge, and additional anodes are turned on around the corners, such as anodes 1232 around the top right corner. Turning on these additional edge and corner anodes helps to shape the field of current to drive deposition of material more evenly8 at the corresponding edges and corners of target map 1220…”, [0083]).
Regarding claim 17 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein each of the one or more current values has a corresponding time value representing a duration to achieve this one of one or more current values (leave the anode energized for a period of time to ensure the amount of current is generated by the anode as determined from the target map for a layer, [0054] and [0098]).
Regarding claim 20 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein the ECAM system comprises a system controller that performs (1) determining the one or more distance values and (2) generating the target map9 (distance measurement to the points of the layer and the electrodes (anodes) are measured along with current through the anodes to determine deposition map which indicates where the material is deposited for the layer and also compared with the initial target map for the depositing layer, [0058], [0074] and [0075]).
Claim(s) 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain et al. (US 20210090901 A1) in view of Lu et al. (US 20240126233 A1) and Carter et al. (US 20150001093 A1).
Regarding claim 9 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, after positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation for the settling period and prior to applying the measuring voltage between the measuring reference plate and the set of pixelated electrodes (for a period of time before the deposition of the next layer, the electrodes (anodes) and the build plate (cathode) are positioned relative to each other based on the target map, [0007],[0054] and [0062]).
Neither in combination nor individually Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach to replace the build plate with measuring reference plate. However Pain et al. teaches to replace the electrolyte solution to replenish for lost ions during the electrochemical process.
Carter et al. teaches, the measuring reference plate is different from the build plate (prior to electrochemical processing, the build plate is replaced with support plate than the electrodes are energized to perform electrochemical processing, [0033]), and
the build plate is replaced with the measuring reference plate (plate (prior to electrochemical processing, the build plate is replaced with support plate than the electrodes are energized to perform electrochemical processing [0033]).
Pain et al., Lu et al. and Carter et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is additive manufacturing.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the ECAM comprising a build plate and a printhead with electrodes by applying the known concept of replace the build plate with a support plate or measuring reference plate as taught by Carter et al. to yield predictable results of building the object by further electrically isolating the plate from electrodes in preparation for electrochemical machining as taught by Carter et al. in [0033].
Regarding claim 10, combination of Pain et al., Lu et al. and Carter et al. teach the method of claim 9. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein each of the one or more current values corresponds to surface modifications of this pixelated electrode in the set of pixelated electrodes while the set orientation is maintained between the build plate and the printhead for the settling period (when corresponding amount of current is passed through each anode (electrode) in a set of electrodes, the electrodes erode over time (surface modification) which requires to be replenished during the deposition process while maintaining the relative position between the build plate and the set of electrodes of the printhead, [0058], [0078] and [0085]).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Pain et al., Lu et al. and Carter et al. teach the method of claim 9. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein the surface modifications correspond to a concentration of cuprous cations (cu+) in the measuring electrolyte accumulated proximate to this pixelated electrode in the set of pixelated electrodes while the set orientation is maintained between the build plate and the printhead for the settling period (during electrolysis, a film of copper ions and cations from the electrolyte10 may be formed on the surface of the anodes (electrodes) used for deposition while depositing the layer maintaining the relative position between the deposition electrodes and the build plate, [0058] and [0087]) .
Regarding claim 12, combination of Pain et al., Lu et al. and Carter et al. teach the method of claim 9. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein, after positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation for the settling period and prior to applying the measuring voltage between the measuring reference plate and the set of pixelated electrodes (for a period of time before the deposition of the next layer, the electrodes (anodes) and the build plate (cathode) are positioned relative to each other based on the target map, [0007],[0054] and [0062]), the electrolyte is replaced with the measuring electrolyte having a different composition from the electrolyte (the electrolyte solution is replaced with a new solution11 to account for evaporation of electrolyte solution and lost ions during material deposition for previous layers, [0056] and [0065]).
Claim(s) 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain et al. (US 20210090901 A1) in view of Lu et al. (US 20240126233 A1) and Choi et al. (US 20220293919 A1).
Regarding claim 14 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the method of claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the details of wherein the settling period is between 1 second and 20 seconds. However, Pain et al. teaches in [0007], for a certain period of time, the anodes (electrodes) are energized to perform material deposition. The period of time can be any amount as desired or required by the ECAM system.
Choi et al. teaches, wherein the settling period is between 1 second and 20 seconds (the deposition time for electrochemical deposition is varied from 1 to 175 seconds).
Choi et al. is analogous art to Pain et al. and Lu et al. because it is from the same field of endeavor that is additive manufacturing where Choi et al is in electrochemical deposition field which is same as the application itself and the cited prior art of record, Pain et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill to modify the ECAM system having a printhead and build plate positioned at a set orientation for a settling period of time as taught by combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. by applying the known technique of setting the settling period between 1 seconds to 175 seconds as taught by Choi et al. to yield predictable result of performing electrochemical processing by energizing anodes to deposit materials on cathode or build plate.
Regarding claim 15 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the method of claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the details of wherein the measuring voltage is between 1V and 6V. However, Pain et al. teaches in [0054] to apply voltage across the anodes (electrodes) to deposit material. From the target map, the voltage range can be identified.
On the other hand Choi et al. teaches, wherein the measuring voltage is between 1V and 6V (the bias voltage applied during electrochemical deposition is between 0.1volts to 10 volts, [0041]).
Choi et al. is analogous art to Pain et al. and Lu et al. because it is from the same field of endeavor that is additive manufacturing where Choi et al is in electrochemical deposition field which is same as the application itself and the cited prior art of record, Pain et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill to modify the ECAM system having a printhead and build plate positioned at a set orientation for a settling period of time and applying a voltage across the anodes of the printhead as taught by combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. by applying the known technique of setting the voltage between 0.1 volts to 10 volts as taught by Choi et al. to yield predictable result of performing electrochemical processing by energizing anodes to deposit materials on cathode or build plate.
Regarding claim 16 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the method of claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the details of wherein the measuring voltage is between 2V and 4V. However, Pain et al. teaches in [0054] to apply voltage across the anodes (electrodes) to deposit material. From the target map, the voltage range can be identified.
On the other hand, Choi et al. teaches, wherein the measuring voltage is between 2V and 4V (the bias voltage applied during electrochemical deposition is between 0.1volts to 10 volts, [0041]).
Choi et al. is analogous art to Pain et al. and Lu et al. because it is from the same field of endeavor that is additive manufacturing where Choi et al is in electrochemical deposition field which is same as the application itself and the cited prior art of record, Pain et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill to modify the ECAM system having a printhead and build plate positioned at a set orientation for a settling period of time and applying a voltage across the anodes of the printhead as taught by combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. by applying the known technique of setting the voltage between 0.1 volts to 10 volts as taught by Choi et al. to yield predictable result of performing electrochemical processing by energizing anodes to deposit materials on cathode or build plate.
Claim(s) 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pain et al. (US 20210090901 A1) in view of Lu et al. (US 20240126233 A1) and Pavlov et al. (US 20090065362 A1).
Regarding claim 18 combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the method of claim 1. In addition, Pain et al. teaches, wherein determining the one or more distance values (distance between the anode and the build plate (cathode) is determined to maintain sufficient distance when depositing the next layer, [0055]).
Neither in combination nor individually Pain et al. and Lu et al. teach the details of determination performed using a calibration dataset.
Pavlov et al. teaches, performed using calibration dataset (determining data for plating bath sample solution based on calibration data of standard solutions having known concentrations same as the sample bath, [0036]).
Pavlov et al. is analogous art to Pain et al. and Lu et al. because it is from the same field of endeavor that is additive manufacturing where Pavlov et al. is in electrochemical deposition field which is same as the application itself and the cited prior art of record, Pain et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill to modify the ECAM system having a printhead and build plate positioned at a set orientation where the distance between the anode and the cathode for each layer is measured as taught by combination of Pain et al. and Lu et al. by applying the known technique of using calibration data of standard solutions to determine current parameters for performing electrochemical process as taught by Pavlov et al. to yield predictable results of depositing layer during electrochemical process while improving the quality of deposits based on calibration data as taught by Pavlov et al. in [0018].
Regarding claim 19, combination of Pain et al., Lu et al. and Pavlov et al. teach the method of claim 18. In addition, Pavlov et al. teaches, wherein the calibration dataset is obtained using the electrolyte having substantially similar temperature, acidity, chloride content, cupric ion (Cu 2+) concentrations, and viscosity as the electrolyte used for positioning the build plate and the printhead at the set orientation for the settling period12 (the electrolyte on the sample or used in the current process has the same organic additives as the standard solutions used to determine calibration data for the current sample electrolyte. That is the standard solutions have the same concentration of copper, chloride content, temperature and other properties same as the current process electrolyte. The viscosity of the electrolyte solution is dependent on the temperature of the electrolyte used during the electrochemical process, [0036] and [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TW 202200848 A teaches electrochemical deposition process having a printhead and a build plate for depositing material by activating selective groups of anodes for each layer deposition.
Tago et al. (US 20160141696 A1) teaches an electrochemical process where calibration data for the sample electrolyte is determined from reference electrolyte solution.
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Deposition material can be cooper as taught in [0087].
2 The is no limitation defining the contour map. However [0058] and [0074] of Pain et al. teaches based on current sensor data related to the anodes are analyzed the locations of where the material deposition took place, similar to a contour map- an analysis of location of deposited material in a layer based on current readings thus generating a deposition map.
3 Target map in view of Pain et al. as taught in [0054].
4 Electrolyte solution between the anodes (printhead) and the plate.
5 Target map identifying which set of electrodes to be energized by applying voltage for a certain period of time to deposit the layer.
6 Some one of ordinary skill in the art can correlate the current through anode the electrolyte concentration per the target map to yield predictable results of depositing material layer by layer.
7 Anodes (electrodes) on the printhead having pixelated anodes as taught in [0066] are energized by applying current through them.
8 Additional deposition of material to even out the deposited layer.
9 It is not clear whether the target map is for the second layer or the initial target map of the first layer is updated based on the determined distance value.
10 Corresponding cuprous cations in the measuring electrolyte such as copper from copper electrolyte bath are accumulated proximate to the pixelated electrodes.
11 The new solution will have different composition than the replaced solution since the replaced solution has lost ions during the electrochemical process during material deposition.
12 In view of Pain et al., during the deposition process, the relative position between the build plate and the set of electrodes of the printhead, [0058], [0078] and [0085]).