DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
-Applicant argued that Paradugu does not explicitly disclose:
1/transmitting, to the second wireless device, a subscription message for the update information, wherein the subscription message comprises a service code associated with a ProSe,
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Paradugu in [0090] discloses the session management device (PSMF) may obtain, from a UDM device subscription information that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions. In light of [0231-0233] of the instant application, PSFMF corresponds to the first wireless device and UDM corresponds to the second wireless device. The PSMF may determine whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions based at least in part on the subscription information. In some aspects, the PSMF may register with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. The UDM provides the information that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions because the PSFM subscribed for that information from the UDM. The message in the initial subscription registration transmitted to UDM from PSMF for subscribing for the UDM to provide the above subscription that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions (service code) corresponds to subscription message with the service code.
Paradugu further in [0082] discloses the PSMF may register (subscribing) with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information (service code) associated with the UE. For example, the session management device may receive the updated ProSe session authorization based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal corresponds to service code) to the session management device. For the UDM to provide ProSe service authorization indication information (service code) as a subscription service to PSMF, PSMF need to subscribe for ProSe service authorization indication information at the initial subscription request registration. The subscription request comprising service authorization indication information transmitted from PSMF to UDM at the initial subscription registration request corresponds to message comprising a service code that is service authorization indication information.
-wherein the service code indicates at least one of: an authorization identification of the ProSe for each wireless terminal.
Examiner Respectfully disagrees:
Paradugu in [0082] discloses the PSMF may register (subscribing) with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information (service code) associated with the UE. For example, the session management device (PSMF) may receive the updated ProSe session authorization indication (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication to the session management device. The PSMF receives subscription information associated with UE such as: authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal because of PSMF subscribed for that information with UDM during initial subscription registration. The subscription information (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) associated with UE transmitted to UDM from PSMF in the initial subscription registration corresponds to the service code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-11, and 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Paradugu (US pg. no. 20210136555).
Regarding claim 1. Paradugu discloses a wireless communication method for use in a first wireless device (fig. 6 discloses PSMF (first wireless device) in light of [0231-0233] of the instant application), the wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, from a second wireless device (fig. 6 UDM in light of [0231-0233] of the instant application), update information of proximity service (ProSe) subscription data of at least one wireless terminal ([0090] and fig. 6 discloses as shown by reference 618, the session management device (PSMF) may receive an updated ProSe session authorization indication from the UDM device. For example, the session management device may receive the updated ProSe session authorization based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication to the session management device);and
transmitting, to the second wireless device, a subscription message for the update information ([0090] the session management device (PSMF) may obtain, from a UDM device subscription information that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions. Here, the PSMF may determine whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions based at least in part on the subscription information. In some aspects, the PSMF may register with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. The message in the initial subscription registration transmitted to UDM from PSMF for subscribing for the UDM to provide the above subscription response corresponds to subscription message), wherein the subscription message comprises a service code associated with a ProSe ([0082] the PSMF may register (subscribing) with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information (service code) associated with the UE. For example, the session management device may receive the updated ProSe session authorization based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication (service code that corresponds to authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) to the session management device. For the UDM to provide ProSe service authorization indication information (service code) as a subscription service to PSMF, PSMF need to subscribe to ProSe service authorization indication information at the initial subscription request registration. The subscription request comprising service authorization indication information transmitted from PSMF to UDM at the initial subscription registration corresponds to message comprising a service code that is service authorization indication information ).
wherein the service code indicates at least one of : an authorization identification of the Prose for each wireless terminal ([0082] the PSMF may register (subscribing) with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information (service code) associated with the UE. For example, the session management device may receive the updated ProSe session authorization (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication to the session management device. The PSMF receiving subscription information associated with UE such as: authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal because PSMF subscribed for that information with UDM during initial subscription registration. The subscription information (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) associated with UE transmitted to UDM in the initial subscription registration to UDM corresponds to service code).
Regarding claim 2. Paradugu discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu further discloses, wherein the update information comprises at least one of:
a ProSe subscription update indication for each wireless terminal ([0090] In some aspects, as shown by reference 618, the session management device may receive an updated Prose session authorization indication from the UDM (second wireless device) device. For example, the session management device may receive the updated Prose session authorization (ProSe subscription update indication ) based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated Prose session authorization indication to the session management device).
Regarding claim 3. Paradugu discloses the wireless communication method of claim 2.
Paradugu further discloses, wherein the ProSe subscription update indication indicates at least one of:
a list of public land mobile networks (PLMNs) authorized for ProSe ([0090] In some aspects, as shown by reference 618, the session management device may receive an updated Prose session authorization indication from the UDM device. For example, the session management device may receive the updated Prose session authorization (ProSe subscription update indication ) based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated Prose session authorization indication to the session management device; [0085] the ProSe policy information may include one or more operational and/or service parameters configured for the ProSe service. For example, the ProSe policy information may include authorization policy information associated with the ProSe service type (e.g., an allowed PLMN list for in-coverage).
Regarding claim 5. Paradugu The wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu discloses, wherein the subscription message comprises at least one of: an identity of each wireless terminal; an identity of the first wireless device, or a serving network name ([0086] In some aspects, the session management device may obtain the ProSe session authorization indication and/or the ProSe policy information from a policy control device (e.g., a network device 130 configured with the PCF)… the session management device may register with the policy control device to receive updates to the ProSe session authorization indication and/or updates to the ProSe policy information associated with the UE; [0085] In some aspects, the ProSe policy information may include one or more operational and/or service parameters configured for the ProSe service. For example, the ProSe policy information may include authorization policy information associated with the ProSe service type (e.g., an allowed PLMN list (network name) for in-coverage, an indication whether out-of-coverage operation is permitted, and/or the like). As another example, the ProSe policy information may include discovery policy information associated with the ProSe service type (e.g., information that identifies an allowed discovery model and a role for each PLMN, a group member discovery configuration for in-coverage operation, a group member discovery configuration for out-of-coverage operation, and/or the like). As another example, the ProSe policy information may include communication policy information associated with the ProSe service type (e.g., unicast communication policy information, broadcast communication policy information, groupcast communication policy information, relay communication policy information, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 7. Paradugu discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu further discloses, wherein the authorization identification relates to at least one policy of the ProSe for each wireless terminal ([0090] the session management device may receive updated ProSe policy information (associated with UE terminal) for the ProSe service type from the policy control device. For example, the session management device may receive the updated ProSe policy information based at least in part on registering with the policy control device to receive updates to the ProSe policy information associated with the ProSe service type. The identifier associated with the policy corresponds to authorization id; ([0086] In some aspects, the session management device may obtain the ProSe session authorization indication and/or the ProSe policy information from a policy control device (e.g., a network device 130 configured with the PCF)… the session management device may register with the policy control device to receive updates to the ProSe session authorization indication and/or updates to the ProSe policy information associated with the UE).
Regarding claim 8. The wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu discloses, wherein the subscription message for the update information is transmitted no earlier than at least one of: storing the ProSe subscription data of at least one wireless terminal([0082]the PSMF may register with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE (subscription registration request message for the update information where UDM stores all subscription information to all UE); [0090] as shown by reference 618, the session management device may receive an Updated Prose Session authorization indication from the UDM device. For example, the session management device may receive the Updated Prose Session authorization based at least in part on registering (corresponds to requesting based on subscription to receive for the ProSe subscription data) with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the Updated Prose Session authorization indication to the session management device. Which of the signaling is to come earlier or not is a mere engineering choice where the system can be programmed to function without a structural change on the system hence amounting to a mere printed natter or programming where printed mater or programming of the system that would not result any structural difference is not given patentable weight (see MPEP 2111.05)).
Regarding claim 9. The wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu discloses , wherein the subscription message of the update information is transmitted no earlier for than at least one of: checking authorization information of providing a ProSe to the at least one wireless terminal([0090] In some aspects, as shown by reference 618, the session management device may receive an updated Prose session authorization indication from the UDM device. For example, the session management device may receive the updated Prose session authorization (ProSe subscription update indication ) based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated Prose session authorization indication to the session management device;. Which of the signaling is to come earlier or not is a mere engineering choice where the system can be programmed to function in any sequence without a structural change on the system hence amounting to a mere printed natter or programming where printed mater or programming of the system that would not result any structural difference is not given patentable weight (see MPEP 2111.05)).
Regarding claim 10. The wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu discloses, wherein the updated information is received in an update request (fig. 6 discloses subscription update notification message sent based on prior subscription request for updated prose information in step 608).
Regarding claim 11. The wireless communication method of claim 10.
Paradugu further discloses, further comprising:
transmitting, to the second wireless device, a response in response to the update request (fig. 6 discloses UDM storing all information. The UDM is capable of requesting if there is a change in the stored information periodically to synchronize stored information. The system can be configured to perform periodic request to PSMF of update information stored of UE).
Regarding claim 13. The wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu discloses, wherein the second wireless device comprises at least one of a unified data management (fig. 6 discloses UDM as second wireless device).
Regarding claim 14. Paradugu discloses a wireless communication method for use in a second wireless device (fig. UDM), the wireless communication method comprising:
transmitting to a first wireless device (fig. 6 PSMF), update information of proximity service, ProSe, subscription data of at least one wireless terminal (fig. 6 discloses per subscription relationship, UDM transmits UE prose subscription update information to PSMF), and
receiving, from the first wireless device, a subscription message for the update information, wherein the subscription message comprises a service code associated with a ProSe ([0090] discloses the session management device (PSMF) may obtain, from a UDM device subscription information that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions. In light of [0231-0233] of the instant application, PSFMF corresponds to the first wireless device and UDM corresponds to the second wireless device. The PSMF may determine whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions based at least in part on the subscription information. In some aspects, the PSMF may register with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. The UDM provides the information that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions per the PSFM subscribing for that information from the UDM. The message in the initial subscription registration transmitted to UDM from PSMF for subscribing for the UDM to provide the above subscription that indicates whether the UE is authorized for ProSe sessions corresponds to subscription message. Paradugu further in [0082] discloses the PSMF may register (subscribing) with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information (service code) associated with the UE. For example, the session management device may receive the updated ProSe session authorization based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication ( authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal corresponds to service code) to the session management device. For the UDM to provide ProSe service authorization indication information (service code) as a subscription service to PSMF, PSMF need to subscribe for ProSe service authorization indication information at the initial subscription request registration. The subscription request comprising service authorization indication information transmitted from PSMF to UDM at the initial subscription registration request corresponds to message comprising a service code that is service authorization indication information).
wherein the service code indicates at least one of: a connectivity service provided from a wireless terminal to another wireless terminal, or an authorization identification of the ProSe for each wireless terminal (Paradugu in [0082] discloses the PSMF may register (subscribing) with the UDM to receive updates to the subscription information (service code) associated with the UE. For example, the session management device (PSMF) may receive the updated ProSe session authorization (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) based at least in part on registering with the UDM device to receive updates to the subscription information associated with the UE. Here, based on such an update, the UDM device may provide the updated ProSe session authorization indication to the session management device. The PSMF receiving subscription information associated with UE such as: authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal because PSMF subscribed for that information with UDM during initial subscription registration. The subscription information (authorization identification of the Prose for wireless terminal) associated with UE transmitted to UDM in the initial subscription registration to UDM corresponds to the service code).
Regarding claim 15. The wireless communication method of claim 14.
All other limitations of claim 15 are similar with the limitation of claim 2 rejected above.
Regarding claim 16. The wireless communication method of claim 15.
All other limitations of claim a6 are similar with the limitations of claim 3 rejected above.
Regarding claim 18. The wireless communication method of claim 14.
All other limitations of claim 18 are similar with the limitations of claim 5 rejected above.
Regarding claim 19. Paradugu discloses a first wireless device (Fig. 6 PSMF), comprising: a transceiver, configured to receive, from a second wireless device, update information of proximity service (ProSe) subscription data of at least one wireless terminal (fig. 6 discloses per subscription relationship, UDM transmits UE prose subscription update information to PSMF. Component of PSMF receiving the message corresponds to communication unit).
All other limitations of claim 19 are similar with the rejection of claim 1 rejected above.
Regarding claim 20. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing program code, the program code, when executed by a processor, causing the processor to implement the wireless communication method recited in claim 1.
All other limitations of claim 20 are similar with the limitations of claim 1 rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paradugu (US pg. no. 20210136555), further in view of Fu (US pg. no. 20240196206).
Regarding claim 12. Paradugu discloses wireless communication method of claim 1.
Paradugu does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first wireless device comprises at least one of a ProSe anchor function or a ProSe key management function.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Fu discloses wherein the first wireless device comprises at least one of a ProSe anchor function or a ProSe key management function (fig. 5a. 218 discloses PAnF that corresponds to the first wireless device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Paradugu with Fu. The modification would allow a secured Prose service system with secured key management to enforce security measures.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-“3GPP TS 23.304 V17.2.1 (2022-03)”.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESSERET F GEBRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445