DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LI et al., US 2022/0330084 A1 (Li hereinafter).
Here is how the reference teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a wireless communication method (Li, abstract, The present disclosure relates to sidelink communication methods and apparatus), comprising:
communicating, by a first wireless communication device with a second wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 1, which shows communication between two wireless device “V2X UE1” and “V2X UE2”. Also see paragraph [0116], FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a V2X communication architecture 100. As shown in FIG. 1, the V2X communication architecture 100 includes a V2X application server, V2X devices (for example, V2X UE 1 and V2X UE 2 shown in FIG. 1), and a network device)), sidelink (SL) communications (Li, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0116], The V2X communication architecture includes two types of communication interfaces: a PC5 interface and a Uu interface. The PC5 interface is a direct communication interface between V2X UEs, and a direct communication link between the V2X UEs is also defined as a sidelink (SL)); and
reporting, by the first wireless communication device to a Network (Li, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0124], A terminal device sends first information to a network device (i.e., the terminal device reports first information to a network device), and the network device receives the first information from the terminal device), at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with a Quality of Service (QoS) flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein reporting the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence) comprises reporting the at least one frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0129], the first information may include a first destination address, a first carrier index, and a first QoS parameter, and there is a correspondence between the first destination address, the first carrier index, and the first QoS parameter (i.e., at least one carrier/frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination)).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses wherein reporting the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence) comprises reporting a mapping between the at least one frequency and the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0022], The terminal device determines carrier information supported by the SLRB, where the carrier information is carrier information supported by one or more pieces of QoS flow information that correspond to destination address information. In this way, when QoS flows associated with different carrier information are mapped (i.e., mapping between at least one carrier/frequency mapping for the destination) to a same SLRB/LCH based on a network configuration, the terminal may determine carrier information allowed by the SLRB/LCH).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses a first wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 10 and paragraph [0260], As shown in FIG. 10, based on a same technical concept, an embodiment of this application further provides an apparatus 1000. The apparatus 1000 may be a terminal device or a network device), comprising:
at least one processor (Li, paragraph [0260], In a design, the apparatus may include a processing module 1001 and a communication module 1002. The processing module 1001 is configured to invoke the communication module 1002 to perform a receiving function and/or a sending function) configured to:
communicate, via a transceiver with a second wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 1, which shows communication between two wireless device “V2X UE1” and “V2X UE2”. Also see paragraph [0116], FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a V2X communication architecture 100. As shown in FIG. 1, the V2X communication architecture 100 includes a V2X application server, V2X devices (for example, V2X UE 1 and V2X UE 2 shown in FIG. 1), and a network device)), sidelink (SL) communications (Li, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0116], The V2X communication architecture includes two types of communication interfaces: a PC5 interface and a Uu interface. The PC5 interface is a direct communication interface between V2X UEs, and a direct communication link between the V2X UEs is also defined as a sidelink (SL)); and
report, via the transceiver to a Network (Li, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0124], A terminal device sends first information to a network device (i.e., the terminal device reports first information to a network device), and the network device receives the first information from the terminal device), at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with a Quality of Service (QoS) flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein to report the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence) comprises to report at least one frequency associated with the QoS flow a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0129], the first information may include a first destination address, a first carrier index, and a first QoS parameter, and there is a correspondence between the first destination address, the first carrier index, and the first QoS parameter (i.e., at least one carrier/frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination)).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses wherein to report the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence) comprises to report a mapping between the at least one frequency and the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0022], The terminal device determines carrier information supported by the SLRB, where the carrier information is carrier information supported by one or more pieces of QoS flow information that correspond to destination address information. In this way, when QoS flows associated with different carrier information are mapped (i.e., mapping between at least one carrier/frequency mapping for the destination) to a same SLRB/LCH based on a network configuration, the terminal may determine carrier information allowed by the SLRB/LCH).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses a wireless communication method (Li, abstract, The present disclosure relates to sidelink communication methods and apparatus), comprising:
receiving, by a Network from a first wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0124], A terminal device sends first information to a network device (i.e., the terminal device reports first information to a network device), and the network device receives the first information from the terminal device), a report comprising at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with a Quality of Service (QoS) flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence), wherein the first wireless communication device communicates with a second wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 1, which shows communication between two wireless device “V2X UE1” and “V2X UE2”. Also see paragraph [0116], FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a V2X communication architecture 100. As shown in FIG. 1, the V2X communication architecture 100 includes a V2X application server, V2X devices (for example, V2X UE 1 and V2X UE 2 shown in FIG. 1), and a network device)) via sidelink (SL) communications (Li, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0116], The V2X communication architecture includes two types of communication interfaces: a PC5 interface and a Uu interface. The PC5 interface is a direct communication interface between V2X UEs, and a direct communication link between the V2X UEs is also defined as a sidelink (SL)).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses wherein the report comprising the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence), comprises at least one frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0129], the first information may include a first destination address, a first carrier index, and a first QoS parameter, and there is a correspondence between the first destination address, the first carrier index, and the first QoS parameter (i.e., at least one carrier/frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination)).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses wherein the report comprising the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence), comprises a mapping between the at least one frequency and the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0022], The terminal device determines carrier information supported by the SLRB, where the carrier information is carrier information supported by one or more pieces of QoS flow information that correspond to destination address information. In this way, when QoS flows associated with different carrier information are mapped (i.e., mapping between at least one carrier/frequency mapping for the destination) to a same SLRB/LCH based on a network configuration, the terminal may determine carrier information allowed by the SLRB/LCH).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses a network node (Li, Fig. 10 and paragraph [0260], As shown in FIG. 10, based on a same technical concept, an embodiment of this application further provides an apparatus 1000. The apparatus 1000 may be a terminal device or a network device), comprising:
at least one processor (Li, paragraph [0260], In a design, the apparatus may include a processing module 1001 and a communication module 1002. The processing module 1001 is configured to invoke the communication module 1002 to perform a receiving function and/or a sending function) configured to:
receive, via a receiver from a first wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 2 and paragraph [0124], A terminal device sends first information to a network device (i.e., the terminal device reports first information to a network device), and the network device receives the first information from the terminal device), a report comprising at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with a Quality of Service (QoS) flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence),
wherein the first wireless communication device communicates with a second wireless communication device (Li, Fig. 1, which shows communication between two wireless device “V2X UE1” and “V2X UE2”. Also see paragraph [0116], FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of a V2X communication architecture 100. As shown in FIG. 1, the V2X communication architecture 100 includes a V2X application server, V2X devices (for example, V2X UE 1 and V2X UE 2 shown in FIG. 1), and a network device)) via sidelink (SL) communications (Li, Fig. 1 and paragraph [0116], The V2X communication architecture includes two types of communication interfaces: a PC5 interface and a Uu interface. The PC5 interface is a direct communication interface between V2X UEs, and a direct communication link between the V2X UEs is also defined as a sidelink (SL)).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses wherein the report comprising the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence), comprises at least one frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0129], the first information may include a first destination address, a first carrier index, and a first QoS parameter, and there is a correspondence between the first destination address, the first carrier index, and the first QoS parameter (i.e., at least one carrier/frequency associated with the QoS flow for a destination)).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses wherein the report comprising the at least one frequency used in the SL communications with the second wireless communication device associated with the QoS flow (Li, paragraph [0125], The first information includes a destination address, and further includes an association relationship between carrier information (i.e., at least one frequency used in the SL communication) and a QoS parameter (i.e., carrier frequency and associated QoS parameter). One destination address may be associated with one or more pieces of carrier information, or one destination address may be associated with one or more QoS parameters. One piece of carrier information may correspond to one or more QoS parameters. One QoS parameter may correspond to one or more pieces of carrier information. The first information includes a specific QoS parameter and specific carrier information that have a correspondence), comprises a mapping between the at least one frequency and the QoS flow for a destination of the SL communications (Li, paragraph [0022], The terminal device determines carrier information supported by the SLRB, where the carrier information is carrier information supported by one or more pieces of QoS flow information that correspond to destination address information. In this way, when QoS flows associated with different carrier information are mapped (i.e., mapping between at least one carrier/frequency mapping for the destination) to a same SLRB/LCH based on a network configuration, the terminal may determine carrier information allowed by the SLRB/LCH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al., US 2022/0330084 A1 (Li hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Orisino, US 2023/0239949 A1 (Orisino hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 4, 8, 12 and 16, Li discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, the first wireless communication device of claim 5, the wireless communication method of claim 9 and the network node of claim 13. Li does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses further comprises passing the at least one frequency from a higher layer to a lower layer, wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency.
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to pass the at least one frequency from a higher layer to a lower layer, wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency.
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses wherein the at least one frequency passes from a higher layer to a lower layer, wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency.
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses wherein the at least one frequency is passed from a higher layer to a lower layer, wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Orsino discloses a method related to wireless communication that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses further comprises passing the at least one frequency from a higher layer to a lower layer (Orsino, paragraph [0007], In NR, a sidelink (SL) QoS flow model is adopted. At the non-access stratum (NAS) layer, the UE maps one V2X packet to the corresponding SL QoS flow and then maps the QoS flow to a SL radio bearer at the Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer. Also see paragraph [0286]-[0287], if configured by upper layers to receive NR sidelink communication … include sl-RxinterestedFreqList and set it to the frequency for NR sidelink communication Reception (i.e., passing at least one frequency from the upper to the lower layer)), wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency (Orsino, paragraph [0292], The UE shall submit the SidelinkUEinformationNR message (i.e., sidelink communication message) to lower layers for transmission).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to pass the at least one frequency from a higher layer to a lower layer (Orsino, paragraph [0007], In NR, a sidelink (SL) QoS flow model is adopted. At the non-access stratum (NAS) layer, the UE maps one V2X packet to the corresponding SL QoS flow and then maps the QoS flow to a SL radio bearer at the Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer. Also see paragraph [0286]-[0287], if configured by upper layers to receive NR sidelink communication … include sl-RxinterestedFreqList and set it to the frequency for NR sidelink communication Reception (i.e., passing at least one frequency from the upper to the lower layer)), wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency (Orsino, paragraph [0292], The UE shall submit the SidelinkUEinformationNR message (i.e., sidelink communication message) to lower layers for transmission).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses wherein the at least one frequency passes from a higher layer to a lower layer (Orsino, paragraph [0007], In NR, a sidelink (SL) QoS flow model is adopted. At the non-access stratum (NAS) layer, the UE maps one V2X packet to the corresponding SL QoS flow and then maps the QoS flow to a SL radio bearer at the Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer. Also see paragraph [0286]-[0287], if configured by upper layers to receive NR sidelink communication … include sl-RxinterestedFreqList and set it to the frequency for NR sidelink communication Reception (i.e., passing at least one frequency from the upper to the lower layer)), wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency (Orsino, paragraph [0292], The UE shall submit the SidelinkUEinformationNR message (i.e., sidelink communication message) to lower layers for transmission).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses wherein the at least one frequency is passed from a higher layer to a lower layer (Orsino, paragraph [0007], In NR, a sidelink (SL) QoS flow model is adopted. At the non-access stratum (NAS) layer, the UE maps one V2X packet to the corresponding SL QoS flow and then maps the QoS flow to a SL radio bearer at the Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) layer. Also see paragraph [0286]-[0287], if configured by upper layers to receive NR sidelink communication … include sl-RxinterestedFreqList and set it to the frequency for NR sidelink communication Reception (i.e., passing at least one frequency from the upper to the lower layer)), wherein the SL communications is performed for the QoS flow in the lower layer using the at least one frequency (Orsino, paragraph [0292], The UE shall submit the SidelinkUEinformationNR message (i.e., sidelink communication message) to lower layers for transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Li by using the features, as taught by Orsino, in order to support configuration of radio connections in a multi-radio access technology (RAT) network (see Orsino, paragraph [0001]).
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 07/24/2026