DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-8 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boulos (US 2009/0069181).
With respect to claim 1, Boulos discloses a product and process for the treatment of water bodies (see paragraph 0002), including: selecting a body of water for treatment, the body of water having a benthic layer including cyanobacteria, as shown in Fig. 1 (pond inherently has a benthic layer; blue green algae is cyanobacteria); b) providing a granular source of hydrogen peroxide (see paragraphs 0031-0036); the granular source having a density greater than the density of the water (see paragraphs 0006, 0008, 0018); c) dispersing the granular source in the body of water (see paragraphs 0078, 0098), d) permitting the granular source to dissolve to provide hydrogen peroxide to the benthic layer (see paragraphs 0027, 0098).
With respect to claim 2, Boulos discloses wherein the granular source is dispersed on the surface of the body of water (see paragraph 0098).
With respect to claim 3, Boulos discloses wherein the granular source of hydrogen peroxide is sodium carbonate peroxyhydrate (see paragraphs 0028, 0081-0082).
With respect to claim 4, Boulos discloses wherein the average particle side of the granular source of hydrogen peroxide of from about 700 microns to 900 microns (see paragraph 0022).
With respect to claim 5, Boulos discloses wherein body of water has a bottom, and the granular source of hydrogen peroxide is provided adjacent the bottom of the body of water (see paragraphs 0030, 0042).
With respect to claim 6, Boulos discloses where the granular source of hydrogen peroxide releases hydrogen peroxide adjacent the bottom of the body of water (see paragraphs 0031-0036).
With respect to claim 7, Boulos discloses wherein the body of water is thermally stratified (see paragraph 0050, body of water with high summer temperatures and low winter temperatures).
With respect to claim 8, Boulos discloses wherein the quantity of hydrogen peroxide released is sufficient to control the cyanobacteria, as shown in Figs. 1-2 (see paragraph 0098).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reimann-Philipp et al. (US 2011/0278230) discloses a process from cleaning water filtration media using hydrogen peroxide. Zarev (US 2023/0271862) discloses a formulation for purifying reservoirs from cyanobacteria using sodium percarbonate. Kiest et al. (US 6,268,205) discloses a subsurface decontamination method using sodium carbonate peroxyhydrate.
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773