DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: DUAL CONNECTIVITY BASED COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ENERGY SAVING.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KARAKI (US 20240214926 A1)
In regards to claim 1, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches a communication method, wherein the method is applicable to a first network device or a module in the first network device, and the method comprises:
receiving energy saving information of M cells from a second network device, wherein the M cells are cells managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, and the energy saving information of the first cell comprises energy saving object information, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, and the energy saving object comprises at least one of the following: a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a random access signal, a configured grant, system information, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); and
determining, according to the energy saving information of the M cells, that the second network device performs an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell, wherein M is a positive integer (KARAKI teaches a first network node, second network node, receiving energy saving information of M cells, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, from a second network device, first network node, wherein the M cells are managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, one of the Served Cells, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, the energy saving object comprising a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB). Note that the determining, according to the energy saving information of the M cells, that the second network device performs an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell wherein M is a positive integer, is believed to be inherent operation and purpose of the reception of the energy saving information by the first network device, “[0265] Accordingly, in one embodiment the first network node transmits the first coordination message to the second network node by transmitting to the second network node a “NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE” message that includes a Served Cells To Update NR IE that includes at least one SSB Index IE that identifies an SSB area and the associated SSB Area Activation IE that indicates if the concerned SSB Area is deactivated at start of energy saving or activated at stop of energy saving.”).
In regards to claim 7, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches a communication method, wherein the method is applicable to a second network device or a module in the second network device, and the method comprises: sending energy saving information of M cells to a first network device, wherein the M cells are cells managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, and the energy saving information of the first cell comprises energy saving object information, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, and the energy saving object comprises at least one of the following: a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a random access signal, a configured grant, system information, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); and performing an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell, wherein M is a positive integer (KARAKI teaches a first network node, second network node, receiving energy saving information of M cells, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, from a second network device, first network node, wherein the M cells are managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, one of the Served Cells, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, the energy saving object comprising a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB)., KAKARI further teaches performing an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell, making adjustments such as adjusting coverage for energy savings, “[0190] FIG. 9 illustrates a message flow according to embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 9, a first network node 901 can send a first coordination message 911 to a second network node 902 to indicate to the second network node that one or more cell(s), SSB beam(s) and/or CSI-RS beam(s) served by the first network node is (is being/will be) modified in coverage due to an energy savings reason. The modification can result in that, for one or more cells, SSB beams, and/or CSI-RS beams: (a) the coverage is partially reduced; (b) the coverage is completely removed; (c) the coverage is partially restored; (d) the coverage is completely restored; (e) the coverage is expanded; (f) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are split; (g) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are merged; (h) the shape of cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) is modified. The modifications taken by the first network node can be done in one step or in multiple steps (e.g., gradually)… [0265] Accordingly, in one embodiment the first network node transmits the first coordination message to the second network node by transmitting to the second network node a “NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE” message that includes a Served Cells To Update NR IE that includes at least one SSB Index IE that identifies an SSB area and the associated SSB Area Activation IE that indicates if the concerned SSB Area is deactivated at start of energy saving or activated at stop of energy saving.”).
In regards to claim 13, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and configured to store executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to instruct the at least one processor to (See where KARAKI recites, “[0278] FIG. 8 is a block diagram of an apparatus, according to some embodiments, for performing the methods disclosed herein (e.g., the first or second network node may be implemented using network node apparatus 800). In some embodiments, network node apparatus 800 may correspond to gNB 100A or 100B as shown in FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 8, network node apparatus 800 may comprise: processing circuitry (PC) 802, which may include one or more processors (P) 855… and a storage unit (a.k.a., “data storage system”) 808, which may include one or more non-volatile storage devices and/or one or more volatile storage devices. In embodiments where PC 802 includes a programmable processor, a computer program product (CPP) 841 may be provided. CPP 841 includes a computer readable medium (CRM) 842 storing a computer program (CP) 843 comprising computer readable instructions (CRI) 844. CRM 842 may be a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as, magnetic media (e.g., a hard disk), optical media, memory devices (e.g., random access memory, flash memory), and the like. In some embodiments, the CRI 844 of computer program 843 is configured such that when executed by PC 802, the CRI causes network node apparatus 800 to perform steps described herein (e.g., steps described herein with reference to the flow charts).”):
receive energy saving information of M cells from a second network device, wherein the M cells are cells managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, and the energy saving information of the first cell comprises energy saving object information, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, and the energy saving object comprises at least one of the following: a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a random access signal, a configured grant, system information, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); and
determine, according to the energy saving information of the M cells, that the second network device performs an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell, wherein M is a positive integer(KARAKI teaches a first network node, second network node, receiving energy saving information of M cells, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, from a second network device, first network node, wherein the M cells are managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, one of the Served Cells, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, the energy saving object comprising a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB). Note that the determining, according to the energy saving information of the M cells, that the second network device performs an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell wherein M is a positive integer, is believed to be inherent operation and purpose of the reception of the energy saving information by the first network device, “[0265] Accordingly, in one embodiment the first network node transmits the first coordination message to the second network node by transmitting to the second network node a “NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE” message that includes a Served Cells To Update NR IE that includes at least one SSB Index IE that identifies an SSB area and the associated SSB Area Activation IE that indicates if the concerned SSB Area is deactivated at start of energy saving or activated at stop of energy saving.”).
In regards to claim 17, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and configured to store executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor to instruct the at least one processor to(See where KARAKI recites, “[0278] FIG. 8 is a block diagram of an apparatus, according to some embodiments, for performing the methods disclosed herein (e.g., the first or second network node may be implemented using network node apparatus 800). In some embodiments, network node apparatus 800 may correspond to gNB 100A or 100B as shown in FIG. 1. As shown in FIG. 8, network node apparatus 800 may comprise: processing circuitry (PC) 802, which may include one or more processors (P) 855… and a storage unit (a.k.a., “data storage system”) 808, which may include one or more non-volatile storage devices and/or one or more volatile storage devices. In embodiments where PC 802 includes a programmable processor, a computer program product (CPP) 841 may be provided. CPP 841 includes a computer readable medium (CRM) 842 storing a computer program (CP) 843 comprising computer readable instructions (CRI) 844. CRM 842 may be a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as, magnetic media (e.g., a hard disk), optical media, memory devices (e.g., random access memory, flash memory), and the like. In some embodiments, the CRI 844 of computer program 843 is configured such that when executed by PC 802, the CRI causes network node apparatus 800 to perform steps described herein (e.g., steps described herein with reference to the flow charts).”): send energy saving information of M cells to a first network device, wherein the M cells are cells managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, and the energy saving information of the first cell comprises energy saving object information, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, and the energy saving object comprises at least one of the following: a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a random access signal, a configured grant, system information, a sounding reference signal (SRS), or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); and perform an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell, wherein M is a positive integer (KARAKI teaches a first network node, second network node, receiving energy saving information of M cells, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, from a second network device, first network node, wherein the M cells are managed by the second network device, wherein the M cells comprises a first cell, one of the Served Cells, and the energy saving object information indicates an energy saving object of the first cell, the energy saving object comprising a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB)., KAKARI further teaches performing an energy saving operation on the energy saving object of the first cell, making adjustments such as adjusting coverage for energy savings, “[0190] FIG. 9 illustrates a message flow according to embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 9, a first network node 901 can send a first coordination message 911 to a second network node 902 to indicate to the second network node that one or more cell(s), SSB beam(s) and/or CSI-RS beam(s) served by the first network node is (is being/will be) modified in coverage due to an energy savings reason. The modification can result in that, for one or more cells, SSB beams, and/or CSI-RS beams: (a) the coverage is partially reduced; (b) the coverage is completely removed; (c) the coverage is partially restored; (d) the coverage is completely restored; (e) the coverage is expanded; (f) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are split; (g) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are merged; (h) the shape of cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) is modified. The modifications taken by the first network node can be done in one step or in multiple steps (e.g., gradually)… [0265] Accordingly, in one embodiment the first network node transmits the first coordination message to the second network node by transmitting to the second network node a “NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE” message that includes a Served Cells To Update NR IE that includes at least one SSB Index IE that identifies an SSB area and the associated SSB Area Activation IE that indicates if the concerned SSB Area is deactivated at start of energy saving or activated at stop of energy saving.”).
In regards to claim 4, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first network device is a central unit CU and the second network device is a distributed unit DU managed by the CU (“[0272] In one embodiment, the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system, as illustrated in FIG. 10. [0273] In one embodiment, the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU), while the second network node is a second decentralized unit (DU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system.”)
In regards to claim 10, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the first network device is a central unit CU and the second network device is a distributed unit DU managed by the CU (“[0272] In one embodiment, the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system, as illustrated in FIG. 10. [0273] In one embodiment, the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU), while the second network node is a second decentralized unit (DU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system.”).
In regards to claim 16, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the apparatus is a central unit CU and the second network device is a distributed unit DU managed by the CU(“[0272] In one embodiment, the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system, as illustrated in FIG. 10. [0273] In one embodiment, the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU), while the second network node is a second decentralized unit (DU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system.”)
In regards to claim 20, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the first network device is a central unit CU and the apparatus is a distributed unit DU managed by the CU (“[0272] In one embodiment, the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system, as illustrated in FIG. 10. [0273] In one embodiment, the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU), while the second network node is a second decentralized unit (DU) of a NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU). In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system.”)
In regards to claim 6, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the energy saving information of the first cell further comprises at least one of the following: energy saving state information, wherein the energy saving state information indicates whether the first cell is in an energy saving state; energy saving direction information, wherein the energy saving direction information indicates an energy saving direction of the first cell, and the energy saving direction comprises an uplink direction and/or a downlink direction; energy saving mode information, wherein the energy saving mode information indicates an energy saving mode used by the first cell, and the energy saving mode is a semi-static energy saving mode, a dynamic energy saving mode, or a hybrid energy saving mode; energy saving degree information, wherein the energy saving degree information indicates an energy saving degree of the first cell; energy saving carrier information, wherein the energy saving carrier information indicates an unavailable carrier of the first cell; energy saving resource information, wherein the energy saving resource information indicates an unavailable space domain resource of the first cell; or a maximum data transmission rate that can be provided by the first cell for the terminal device (“[0261] As another embodiment, the first coordination message comprises indications pertaining to energy metrics, e.g. indicating how much energy consumption/efficiency is expected to improve by means of applying the configuration at the first network node comprised in the first coordination message. The second node can use the said indications to perform at least one of the following: (i) comparing the improvements in energy savings at the first node with the possible deterioration in energy savings at the second network node; (ii) evaluating/determining if a second node configuration is applicable that compensates for the modified configuration at the first network node; (iii) applying a second node configuration, if applicable; and/or (iv) sending to the first network node the second coordination message that can comprise an indication indicating that the request is feasible or not, and the determined second node configuration. ”).
In regards to claim 12, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the energy saving information of the first cell further comprises at least one of the following: energy saving state information, wherein the energy saving state information indicates whether the first cell is in an energy saving state; energy saving direction information, wherein the energy saving direction information indicates an energy saving direction of the first cell, and the energy saving direction comprises an uplink direction and/or a downlink direction; energy saving mode information, wherein the energy saving mode information indicates an energy saving mode used by the first cell, and the energy saving mode is a semi-static energy saving mode, a dynamic energy saving mode, or a hybrid energy saving mode; energy saving degree information, wherein the energy saving degree information indicates an energy saving degree of the first cell; energy saving carrier information, wherein the energy saving carrier information indicates an unavailable carrier of the first cell; energy saving resource information, wherein the energy saving resource information indicates an unavailable space domain resource of the first cell; and a maximum data transmission rate that can be provided by the first cell for the terminal device(“[0261] As another embodiment, the first coordination message comprises indications pertaining to energy metrics, e.g. indicating how much energy consumption/efficiency is expected to improve by means of applying the configuration at the first network node comprised in the first coordination message. The second node can use the said indications to perform at least one of the following: (i) comparing the improvements in energy savings at the first node with the possible deterioration in energy savings at the second network node; (ii) evaluating/determining if a second node configuration is applicable that compensates for the modified configuration at the first network node; (iii) applying a second node configuration, if applicable; and/or (iv) sending to the first network node the second coordination message that can comprise an indication indicating that the request is feasible or not, and the determined second node configuration. ”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 9, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKI (US 20240214926 A1) in view of ABEDINI (US 20220417875 A1).
In regards to claim 3, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the method according to claim 1, wherein when the energy saving object of the first cell comprises the SSB, the method further comprises: determining that the second network device increases a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving energy savings. ABEDINI (US 20220417875 A1) teaches a where an energy saving object of a first cell comprises a SSB, and determining, that a second network device increases a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell to provide energy savings (“[0105] Accordingly, aspects presented herein may enable energy saving for one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs by enabling SSB transmission periodicities associated with the one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs to be extended and/or modified for different ES modes. [0106] FIG. 10 is a communication flow 1000 illustrating an example of transmitting SSBs with different periodicities for energy saving in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The transmitting entity may include a base station, a cell, a TRP, a CU, and/or a DU, etc., and the receiving entity may include a UE, an MT, a CU, and/or a DU, etc. The numberings associated with the communication flow do not specify a particular temporal order and are merely used as references for the communication flow. [0107] At 1010, a transmitting entity 1002 may configure multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with a plurality of ES modes. For example, a first SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a first ES mode, and a second SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a second ES mode, etc. The SSB Tx periodicities 1006 may be associated with one or more cells or one or more TRPs of a DU or a base station. [0108] At 1012, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit an indication 1008 of the multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with the plurality of ES modes to a receiving entity 1004. For example, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit the indication 1008 in one or more formats of a SIB or an RRC message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy saving feature of KARAKI, by increasing a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell, and determining that the second network device has increased the sending periodicity of the first cell via an indication of SSB sending periodicities, as similarly seen in the energy saving feature of ABEDINI, to thus arrive at claim 3, in order to further accommodate the energy saving feature of KARAKI.
In regards to claim 9, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the method according to claim 7, wherein when the energy saving object of the first cell comprises the SSB, the method further comprises: increasing a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving energy savings. ABEDINI (US 20220417875 A1) teaches a where an energy saving object of a first cell comprises a SSB, and determining, that a second network device increases a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell to provide energy savings (“[0105] Accordingly, aspects presented herein may enable energy saving for one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs by enabling SSB transmission periodicities associated with the one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs to be extended and/or modified for different ES modes. [0106] FIG. 10 is a communication flow 1000 illustrating an example of transmitting SSBs with different periodicities for energy saving in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The transmitting entity may include a base station, a cell, a TRP, a CU, and/or a DU, etc., and the receiving entity may include a UE, an MT, a CU, and/or a DU, etc. The numberings associated with the communication flow do not specify a particular temporal order and are merely used as references for the communication flow. [0107] At 1010, a transmitting entity 1002 may configure multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with a plurality of ES modes. For example, a first SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a first ES mode, and a second SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a second ES mode, etc. The SSB Tx periodicities 1006 may be associated with one or more cells or one or more TRPs of a DU or a base station. [0108] At 1012, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit an indication 1008 of the multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with the plurality of ES modes to a receiving entity 1004. For example, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit the indication 1008 in one or more formats of a SIB or an RRC message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy saving feature of KARAKI, by increasing a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell, and determining that the second network device has increased the sending periodicity of the first cell via an indication of SSB sending periodicities, as similarly seen in the energy saving feature of ABEDINI, to thus arrive at claim 9, in order to further accommodate the energy saving feature of KARAKI.
In regards to claim 15, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein when the energy saving object of the first cell comprises the SSB, the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: determining that the second network device increases a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving energy savings. ABEDINI (US 20220417875 A1) teaches a where an energy saving object of a first cell comprises a SSB, and determining, that a second network device increases a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell to provide energy savings (“[0105] Accordingly, aspects presented herein may enable energy saving for one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs by enabling SSB transmission periodicities associated with the one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs to be extended and/or modified for different ES modes. [0106] FIG. 10 is a communication flow 1000 illustrating an example of transmitting SSBs with different periodicities for energy saving in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The transmitting entity may include a base station, a cell, a TRP, a CU, and/or a DU, etc., and the receiving entity may include a UE, an MT, a CU, and/or a DU, etc. The numberings associated with the communication flow do not specify a particular temporal order and are merely used as references for the communication flow. [0107] At 1010, a transmitting entity 1002 may configure multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with a plurality of ES modes. For example, a first SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a first ES mode, and a second SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a second ES mode, etc. The SSB Tx periodicities 1006 may be associated with one or more cells or one or more TRPs of a DU or a base station. [0108] At 1012, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit an indication 1008 of the multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with the plurality of ES modes to a receiving entity 1004. For example, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit the indication 1008 in one or more formats of a SIB or an RRC message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy saving feature of KARAKI, by increasing a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell, and determining that the second network device has increased the sending periodicity of the first cell via an indication of SSB sending periodicities, as similarly seen in the energy saving feature of ABEDINI, to thus arrive at claim 15, in order to further accommodate the energy saving feature of KARAKI.
In regards to claim 19, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein when the energy saving object of the first cell comprises the SSB, the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: increase a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving energy savings. ABEDINI (US 20220417875 A1) teaches a where an energy saving object of a first cell comprises a SSB, and determining, that a second network device increases a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell to provide energy savings (“[0105] Accordingly, aspects presented herein may enable energy saving for one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs by enabling SSB transmission periodicities associated with the one or more base stations, cells, and/or TRPs to be extended and/or modified for different ES modes. [0106] FIG. 10 is a communication flow 1000 illustrating an example of transmitting SSBs with different periodicities for energy saving in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. The transmitting entity may include a base station, a cell, a TRP, a CU, and/or a DU, etc., and the receiving entity may include a UE, an MT, a CU, and/or a DU, etc. The numberings associated with the communication flow do not specify a particular temporal order and are merely used as references for the communication flow. [0107] At 1010, a transmitting entity 1002 may configure multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with a plurality of ES modes. For example, a first SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a first ES mode, and a second SSB Tx periodicity may be associated with a second ES mode, etc. The SSB Tx periodicities 1006 may be associated with one or more cells or one or more TRPs of a DU or a base station. [0108] At 1012, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit an indication 1008 of the multiple SSB Tx periodicities 1006 associated with the plurality of ES modes to a receiving entity 1004. For example, the transmitting entity 1002 may transmit the indication 1008 in one or more formats of a SIB or an RRC message.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of ABEDINI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy saving feature of KARAKI, by increasing a sending periodicity of the SSB of the first cell, and determining that the second network device has increased the sending periodicity of the first cell via an indication of SSB sending periodicities, as similarly seen in the energy saving feature of ABEDINI, to thus arrive at claim 19, in order to further accommodate the energy saving feature of KARAKI.
Claim(s) 2, 8, 14, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKI (US 20240214926 A1) in view of CHIBA (“US 20170105128 A1”).
In regards to claim 2, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending second request information to the second network device based on the energy saving information of the M cells, wherein the second request information is for requesting to add N cells in the M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal device, wherein N is positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving dual connectivity. CHIBA (“US 20170105128 A1”) teaches a feature for sending a request message, “MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG” based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells, different CSG Cell, of M cells, already existing CSG cell to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M (“[0091] Some embodiments relate to CSG support in dual connectivity operation. When the UE and network have a dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as SCG (secondary cell group) of the connection. A secondary cell group is the group of serving cells which is associated with a secondary eNB (SeNB). A SeNB is the eNB in dual connectivity providing resources for the UE, and is not the Master eNB (MeNB). The master cell group MCG is the group of serving cells associated with the MeNB…[0101] When the UE and network have dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as a SCG (secondary group cell) of the connection. With a UE having connections over two cells and one cell has a different CSG, the access control and membership expiry needs to be handled in different way than in single connectivity-case…[0102] Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE starting its connection with MeNB (master eNB) with open access and adding the CSG-cell as SCG. Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE is starting its connection with a MeNB with a CSG-cell and adds a different CSG cell as the SCG of the dual connection… [0110] In step S1, on receipt of an event such as a measurement report from the UE, the MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG for the UE. The message may include the MCG configuration for UE capability coordination to be used as a basis for the reconfiguration by the SeNB. The SeNB sends the RRC Reconfiguration message to include its SCells as SCG (Secondary Cell group) to the UE along with the SCG bearers configured to use SCG for its operations… [0138] Reference is now made to FIG. 7 which shows another signal flow. In the case that the UE has dual connectivity over two different CSG-cells, the MCG may include the information of SCG in the initial UE message procedure, or the MCG may choose to initiate the SCG add procedure after the attach is completed. The MeNB and SeNB have different CSGs in this embodiment.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of CHIBA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify dual connectivity feature of KARAKI, by sending a request message based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells of M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M, as similarly seen in CHIBA, to thus arrive at claim 2, to provide flexible cell configuration adaptable to measurements indicative of a network load (i.e. UE measurements, energy-savings configuration).
In regards to claim 8, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: receiving second request information that is sent by the first network device based on the energy saving information of the M cells, wherein the second request information is for requesting to add N cells in the M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal device, wherein N is positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving dual connectivity. CHIBA (“US 20170105128 A1”) teaches a feature for receiving a request message, “MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG” based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells, different CSG Cell, of M cells, already existing CSG cell to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M (“[0091] Some embodiments relate to CSG support in dual connectivity operation. When the UE and network have a dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as SCG (secondary cell group) of the connection. A secondary cell group is the group of serving cells which is associated with a secondary eNB (SeNB). A SeNB is the eNB in dual connectivity providing resources for the UE, and is not the Master eNB (MeNB). The master cell group MCG is the group of serving cells associated with the MeNB…[0101] When the UE and network have dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as a SCG (secondary group cell) of the connection. With a UE having connections over two cells and one cell has a different CSG, the access control and membership expiry needs to be handled in different way than in single connectivity-case…[0102] Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE starting its connection with MeNB (master eNB) with open access and adding the CSG-cell as SCG. Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE is starting its connection with a MeNB with a CSG-cell and adds a different CSG cell as the SCG of the dual connection… [0110] In step S1, on receipt of an event such as a measurement report from the UE, the MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG for the UE. The message may include the MCG configuration for UE capability coordination to be used as a basis for the reconfiguration by the SeNB. The SeNB sends the RRC Reconfiguration message to include its SCells as SCG (Secondary Cell group) to the UE along with the SCG bearers configured to use SCG for its operations… [0138] Reference is now made to FIG. 7 which shows another signal flow. In the case that the UE has dual connectivity over two different CSG-cells, the MCG may include the information of SCG in the initial UE message procedure, or the MCG may choose to initiate the SCG add procedure after the attach is completed. The MeNB and SeNB have different CSGs in this embodiment.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of CHIBA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify dual connectivity feature of KARAKI, by receiving a request message based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells of M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M, as similarly seen in CHIBA, to thus arrive at claim 8, to provide flexible cell configuration adaptable to measurements indicative of a network load (i.e. UE measurements, energy-savings configuration).
In regards to claim 14, KARAKI (USPGPub No. 20240214926) is silent on the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: send second request information to the second network device based on the energy saving information of the M cells, wherein the second request information is for requesting to add N cells in the M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal device, wherein N is positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving dual connectivity. CHIBA (“US 20170105128 A1”) teaches a feature for sending a request message, “MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG” based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells, different CSG Cell, of M cells, already existing CSG cell to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M (“[0091] Some embodiments relate to CSG support in dual connectivity operation. When the UE and network have a dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as SCG (secondary cell group) of the connection. A secondary cell group is the group of serving cells which is associated with a secondary eNB (SeNB). A SeNB is the eNB in dual connectivity providing resources for the UE, and is not the Master eNB (MeNB). The master cell group MCG is the group of serving cells associated with the MeNB…[0101] When the UE and network have dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as a SCG (secondary group cell) of the connection. With a UE having connections over two cells and one cell has a different CSG, the access control and membership expiry needs to be handled in different way than in single connectivity-case…[0102] Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE starting its connection with MeNB (master eNB) with open access and adding the CSG-cell as SCG. Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE is starting its connection with a MeNB with a CSG-cell and adds a different CSG cell as the SCG of the dual connection… [0110] In step S1, on receipt of an event such as a measurement report from the UE, the MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG for the UE. The message may include the MCG configuration for UE capability coordination to be used as a basis for the reconfiguration by the SeNB. The SeNB sends the RRC Reconfiguration message to include its SCells as SCG (Secondary Cell group) to the UE along with the SCG bearers configured to use SCG for its operations… [0138] Reference is now made to FIG. 7 which shows another signal flow. In the case that the UE has dual connectivity over two different CSG-cells, the MCG may include the information of SCG in the initial UE message procedure, or the MCG may choose to initiate the SCG add procedure after the attach is completed. The MeNB and SeNB have different CSGs in this embodiment.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of CHIBA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify dual connectivity feature of KARAKI, by sending a request message based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells of M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M, as similarly seen in CHIBA, to thus arrive at claim 14, to provide flexible cell configuration adaptable to measurements indicative of a network load (i.e. UE measurements, energy-savings configuration).
In regards to claim 18, KARAKI is silent on the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the executable instructions further instruct the at least one processor to: receive second request information that is sent by the first network device based on the energy saving information of the M cells, wherein the second request information is for requesting to add N cells in the M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal device, wherein N is positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving dual connectivity. CHIBA (“US 20170105128 A1”) teaches a feature for receiving a request message, “MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG” based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells, different CSG Cell, of M cells, already existing CSG cell to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M (“[0091] Some embodiments relate to CSG support in dual connectivity operation. When the UE and network have a dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as SCG (secondary cell group) of the connection. A secondary cell group is the group of serving cells which is associated with a secondary eNB (SeNB). A SeNB is the eNB in dual connectivity providing resources for the UE, and is not the Master eNB (MeNB). The master cell group MCG is the group of serving cells associated with the MeNB…[0101] When the UE and network have dual connectivity capability, it is possible to add the CSG-cells as a SCG (secondary group cell) of the connection. With a UE having connections over two cells and one cell has a different CSG, the access control and membership expiry needs to be handled in different way than in single connectivity-case…[0102] Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE starting its connection with MeNB (master eNB) with open access and adding the CSG-cell as SCG. Some embodiments may address a scenario in which the UE is starting its connection with a MeNB with a CSG-cell and adds a different CSG cell as the SCG of the dual connection… [0110] In step S1, on receipt of an event such as a measurement report from the UE, the MeNB initiates the SCG addition procedure to add the first cell of the SCG for the UE. The message may include the MCG configuration for UE capability coordination to be used as a basis for the reconfiguration by the SeNB. The SeNB sends the RRC Reconfiguration message to include its SCells as SCG (Secondary Cell group) to the UE along with the SCG bearers configured to use SCG for its operations… [0138] Reference is now made to FIG. 7 which shows another signal flow. In the case that the UE has dual connectivity over two different CSG-cells, the MCG may include the information of SCG in the initial UE message procedure, or the MCG may choose to initiate the SCG add procedure after the attach is completed. The MeNB and SeNB have different CSGs in this embodiment.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of CHIBA it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify dual connectivity feature of KARAKI, by receiving a request message based on measurement information, wherein the request message is for requesting to add N cells of M cells to a secondary cell group of a terminal, where N is a positive integer, and N is less than or equal to M, as similarly seen in CHIBA, to thus arrive at claim 18, to provide flexible cell configuration adaptable to measurements indicative of a network load (i.e. UE measurements, energy-savings configuration).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476