Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 4-7 recite “said tube” on line 2 (Claim 1), “the tube” line 2 (Claim 4), “the tube (10)” line 2 (Claim 5), “the tube” line 2 (Claim 6), and “said tube” line 3 (Claim 7). To avoid clarity issues, it is asked for the applicant to rename to match the basis of this term, “cylindrical tube”, provided in line 1 of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 7 recite “two adjacent discs” on line 2 (Claim 2) and “said disc” on line 2 (Claim 7). To avoid clarity issues, it is asked for the applicant to rename to match the basis of this term, “truncated disc”, provided in line 4 of claim 1.
Claim 11 recites, “said the orientation angle (θ)” in lines 1 and 2. To avoid clarity issues, it is asked for the applicant to rename to match the basis of this term, “non-zero orientation angle (θ)”, provided in the last line of claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
To promote clarity and efficiency in the examination process (compact prosecution), the following terms as outlined below are interpreted, but not limited to, the following:
“Order of magnitude.” – a range of magnitude extending from some value to ten times that value — often used figuratively. (Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the transverse surface (SD)" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the surface of the internal cross section (ST)" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8-9 recite the limitation "the surface” in lines 1-2 of each claim. It is unclear which surface they are referring to, if any, from the surfaces claimed above. The examiner does not believe the Applicant is attempting to limit the surfaces claimed above, but rather, the “coating” of the discs. It is suggested to amend to the following, “… such that at least an outer surface of said truncated discs is produced from …”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US5393429A) in view of Louis Freedman (or Louis) (US2248620A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches a pulsed column for liquid-liquid extraction, {Column 1 lines 43-45 re. liquid-liquid contactor and high extraction efficiency} comprising a cylindrical tube of longitudinal axis (Z) {Column 2 line 3 re. tower & Figure 1 reference 1 "tower"} and inside diameter (D0) {Column 4 line 22 re. tower with an inner diameter} and packing located inside said tube, {Column 2 line 4 re. splitter plates and baffles} and a plurality of truncated discs {Column 2 line 4 re. baffles & Figures 4B}
secured and regularly distributed {Column 4 lines 24-25 re. mounted inside the tower at intervals of 150mm} with a separation (E) {Column 4 line 24 re. intervals} and each extending in a transverse plane (P) perpendicular to said rod, {Figure 1 reference 4 "baffle plates", shown perpendicular to the longitudinal axis}
each of said truncated discs having, as their perimeter in said transverse plane (P), two arcs of a circle of radius (R) connected by two identical parallel rectilinear edges spaced apart by a distance (D), {Figure 4B annotated below}
Nakayama fails to teach said packing being characterized in that it comprises a rod extending along said longitudinal axis (Z); the truncated discs secured along said rod; and any two of said adjacent truncated discs being oriented with respect to each other in said transverse plane (P) by a non-zero orientation angle (θ).
Louis, drawn to a liquid extraction column, {Page 1 lines 1-3} teaches said packing being characterized in that it comprises a rod extending along said longitudinal axis (Z); {Page 2 lines 5-10 re. revolving shaft 2 (rod)} the truncated discs secured along said rod; {Page 2 lines 8-10 re. baffle blades fastened to said shaft} and any two of said adjacent truncated discs being oriented with respect to each other in said transverse plane (P) by a non-zero orientation angle (θ). {Page 2 lines 50-60 re. staggering revolving discs}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakayama with Louis' teachings wherein said packing being characterized in that it comprises a rod extending along said longitudinal axis (Z); the truncated discs secured along said rod; and any two of said adjacent truncated discs being oriented with respect to each other in said transverse plane (P) by a non-zero orientation angle (θ) as Louis, similar to Nakayama, teaches of a liquid-liquid extraction column, utilizing packing to aid in the extraction. {Louis, Page 1 lines 1-3} Doing so allows for the liquid to contact a larger surface area while flowing through the column due to the staggering revolving discs. {Louis, Page 2 lines 50-60}
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama teaches such that said separation (E) between two adjacent discs is constant. {Column 5 lines 15-20 re. intervals (E) of 75mm}
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama teaches such that said separation (E) is of the same order of magnitude as said diameter (D0) of the tube. {Column 5 lines 15-20 re. inner diameter (D0) 100 mm and interval (E) of 75mm} See claim interpretation regarding “order of magnitude”.
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama teaches such that said separation (E) is less than said diameter (D0) of the tube. {Column 5 lines 15-20 re. inner diameter (D0) 100 mm and interval (E) of 75mm}
Regarding claims 5-6, Nakayama teaches said diameter (D0) of the tube (10) is less than 50 mm; (Claim 5) {Column 5 lines 15-20 re. inner diameter (D0) 100 mm} and such that said separation (E) is equal to 10 mm and said diameter (D0) of the tube is equal to 15 mm. (Claim 6) {Column 5 lines 15-20 re. inner diameter (D0) 100 mm and interval (E) of 75mm}
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the disclosed measurements of Nakayama, as a case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, or “the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05(I) In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 :: Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779.
Without showing unexpected results, the claimed sizes of the column diameter, nor the separation (E) can be considered critical. See Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989) Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the tower diameter of Nakayama’s disclosed invention, as Nakayama discloses a relationship between the size (diameter) of the tower, the intervals (separation), and the type of liquids being contacted. {Column 2 lines 43-48} Furthermore, the claimed ratio between the diameter and separation of 15:10 or 3:2 when simplified, is very similar to the disclosed ratio of Nakayama, 100:75 or 4:3 when simplified. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when scaling down, to use approximately the same ratio between the measurements, and expect similar, successful results. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama teaches at least the surface of said discs is produced from a hydrophilic material. {Column 4 line 22 re. perforated plate tower made of glass}
Claims 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US5393429A) modified by Louis (US2248620A) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Faugeras (FR2429608A). Faugeras is directed to the attached, translated version.
Regarding claim 7, Nakayama fails to teach such that the ratio of the transverse surface (SD) of said disc to the surface of the internal cross section (ST) of said tube is between 75% and 80%.
Faugeras, drawn to a liquid-liquid extraction device, {Top page 2} teaches such that the ratio of the transverse surface (SD) of said disc to the surface of the internal cross section (ST) of said tube is between 75% and 80%. {Middle page 8 re. 23% transparency; Note [0033] of the instant specification relates a transparency of 20-25% to a ratio of (SD) to (ST) of 75-80%}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Nakayama with Faugeras' teachings such that the ratio of the transverse surface (SD) of said disc to the surface of the internal cross section (ST) of said tube is between 75% and 80% as Faugeras, similar to Nakayama, teaches column extraction of a component from one phase to another. {Faugeras, Top page 2} Doing so increases the efficiency of the column through the counteraction of the coalescence of phases in between the baffles within the device. {Faugeras, Middle page 4}
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama fails to teach such that at least the surface of said discs is produced from a hydrophobic material.
Faugeras teaches at least the surface of said discs is produced from a hydrophobic material. {Top page 3 re. plastic fabrication}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Nakayama with Faugeras' teachings such that at least the surface of said discs is produced from a hydrophobic material as there is no need for continuous wetting, allowing the trays to be made from a plastic material, saving costs. {Faugeras, Top page 3}
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama fails to teach wherein said the orientation angle (θ) and is equal to 90°.
Faugeras suggests wherein the orientation angle (θ) and is equal to 90°. {Middle page 7 re. 180° offset}
Without showing unexpected results, the claimed orientation angle cannot be considered critical. See Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989) Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the orientation angle of Faugeras’ disclosed invention, as Faugeras discloses offsetting helps with reduction in axial mixing. {Faugeras, Top page 3} Given the shape of modified Nakayama, one of reasonable skill in the art would find it obvious that a 180° rotation of the discs of Nakayama, would result in effectively the same orientation, as the discs are symmetric. With this known, it would be reasonable to experiment, discovering the most optimal orientation angle for the specific extraction in this combination of references. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Nakayama with Faugeras' suggestions wherein the orientation angle (θ) and is equal to 90° {Middle page 7 re. 180° offset} as doing so would create a liquid extraction column that does not suffer from the drawbacks of axial mixing. {Faugeras, Top page 3}
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US5393429A) modified by Louis (US2248620A) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Braun (US4256673A).
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama fails to teach the rectilinear edges are crenelated.
Braun, drawn to a separation column, {Column 1 line 10} teaches the rectilinear edges are crenelated. {Column 1 lines 45-55 re. side edge corrugations or teeth}
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Nakayama with Braun's teachings of the rectilinear edges are crenelated as Braun, similar to Nakayama, teaches packing material, used in a separation column. {Braun, Column 1 line 10} Doing so results in a larger number of drip off points, {Braun, lines 15-20} aiding in separation efficiency. It is also noted that as modified Nakayama does not require continuous wetting, the "unsatisfactory results" as mentioned in Braun {Column 1 lines 22-26}, does not have the same effect when combined with modified Nakayama.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kleinberger (US20030035767A1), drawn to a liquid-liquid column contactor, with a series of discs, pulsation, packing material, and other components, apparent in claim 1.
/CONNOR J ROTONDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773 /JOSEPH W DRODGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773