DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024, 09/30/2024 and 06/03/2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation
• “the third direction” in line 16;
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the in cross-sections of the body in the first and third directions, is Dc, and a porosity of the disconnection portion measured in an end of the internal electrode in the third direction is Dm features of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (US20210035736).
With respect to claim 1, Cha discloses a multilayer electronic component (see FIG. 1, element 100), comprising: a body (see FIG. 1, element 110) including a dielectric layer (see FIG. 2, element 111) and internal electrodes (see FIG. 2, elements 121 and 122) alternately disposed in a first direction (see FIG. 1, Z direction), and including first and second surfaces (see FIG. 1, elements 1 and 2) opposing each other in the first direction, third and fourth surfaces (see FIG. 1, elements 3 and 4) connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction (see FIG. 1, X direction), and fifth and sixth surfaces (see FIG. 1, elements 5 and 6) connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (see FIG. 1, Y direction); and an external electrode (see FIG. 2, elements 131 and 132) disposed on the body and connected to the internal electrode, wherein the internal electrode includes a plurality of electrode portions (see FIG. 4, element E) and disconnection portions (see FIG. 4, element G), and the disconnection portion includes at least one of a dielectric (see FIG. 4, element D) and a pore (see FIG. 4, element P), and when a ratio of a length of the pore to a length of the disconnection portion is a porosity of the disconnection portion, a porosity of the disconnection portion measured in a central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, in cross-sections of the body in the first and third directions, is Dc (see FIG. 4, elements g1, g2 and g3), and a porosity of the disconnection portion measured in an end of the internal electrode in the third direction is Dm (see FIG. 4, element g4), Dm/Dc is less than 0.79 (
g
4
A
v
g
.
g
1
+
g
2
+
g
3
=
0
A
v
g
.
(
1
3
+
1
2
+
2
3
)
=
0
0.4966
=
0
,
noting Dm is 0 base on g4 lacking any pore). As such, Dm/Dc is less than 0.79 which meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 2, Cha discloses wherein Dm/Dc is 0.51 or less (
g
4
A
v
g
.
g
1
+
g
2
+
g
3
=
0
A
v
g
.
(
1
3
+
1
2
+
2
3
)
=
0
0.4966
=
0
,
noting Dm is 0 base on g4 lacking any pore). As such, Dm/Dc is less than 0.51 which meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 3, Cha discloses Dm/Dc is 0.26 or more and 0.51 or less It would clearly be well within the purview of a person having ordinary skill in the art, given the previously claimed structure, to be able to determine, through routine experimentation, the value of Dm/Dc is 0.26 or more and 0.51 or less in order to improve the bonding force while increasing the withstand the voltage (see paragraph 74-75). See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), citing In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) and MPEP 2144.05(II)(A), citing Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
With respect to claim 4, Cha discloses a third directional size of the central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction is 23 μm, and a third directional size of the end of the internal electrode in the third direction is 15 μm. It would clearly be well within the purview of a person having ordinary skill in the art, given the previously
claimed structure, to be able to determine, through routine experimentation, the size of the internal electrode layers in various portion in order to improve the bonding force while increasing the withstand the voltage (see paragraph 74-75). See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A), citing In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) and MPEP 2144.05(II)(A), citing Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
With respect to claim 5, Cha discloses Dm is 40% or less (
g
4
A
v
g
.
g
1
+
g
2
+
g
3
=
0
A
v
g
.
(
1
3
+
1
2
+
2
3
)
=
0
0.4966
=
0
,
noting Dm is 0 base on g4 lacking any pore). As such, Dm is less than 40% which meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 6, Cha discloses Dm is 19% or less (
g
4
A
v
g
.
g
1
+
g
2
+
g
3
=
0
A
v
g
.
(
1
3
+
1
2
+
2
3
)
=
0
0.4966
=
0
,
noting Dm is 0 base on g4 lacking any pore). As such, Dm is less than 19% which meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 7, Cha discloses the disconnection portion is disposed to penetrate through the internal electrode in the first direction (see FIG. 4, element D).
With respect to claim 8, Cha discloses the dielectric is disposed to connect dielectric layers adjacent to the disconnection portion (see FIG. 4, elements 111a, 111b and D, paragraph 73).
With respect to claim 9, Cha discloses at least one of the plurality of disconnection portions includes both the dielectric and the pore (see FIG. 4, elements D and P).
With respect to claim 10, Cha discloses at least one of the plurality of disconnection portions is formed of the dielectric (see FIG. 4, element d5).
With respect to claim 11, Cha discloses the dielectric includes the same material as the dielectric layer (see paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 12, Cha discloses the dielectric includes one or more selected from the group consisting of Ca, Mg, Mn, Al, and Si (see paragraph 60).
With respect to claim 13, Cha discloses an average thickness of the internal electrode is 1 μm or less (see paragraph 89, noting 0.41um or less).
With respect to claim 14, Cha discloses a multilayer electronic component (see FIG. 1, element 100), comprising: a body (see FIG. 1, element 110) including a dielectric layer (see FIG. 2, element 111) and internal electrodes (see FIG. 2, elements 121 and 122) alternately disposed in a first direction (see FIG. 1, Z direction), and including first and second surfaces opposing each other in the first direction (see FIG. 1, elements 1 and 2), third and fourth surfaces (see FIG. 1, elements 3 and 4) connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction (see FIG. 1, X direction), and fifth and sixth surfaces (see FIG. 1, elements 5 and 6) connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in the third direction (see FIG. 1, Y direction); and an external electrode (see FIG. 2, elements 131 and 132) disposed on the body and connected to the internal electrode, wherein the internal electrode includes a plurality of electrode portions (see FIG. 4, element E) and disconnection portions (see FIG. 4, element G), and the disconnection portion includes at least one of a dielectric (see FIG. 4, element D) and a pore (see FIG. 4, element P), and when a ratio of a length of the pore to a length of the disconnection portion is referred to as a porosity of the disconnection portion, a porosity of the disconnection portion measured in a central portion of the internal electrode in the third direction, in cross-sections of the body in the first and third directions, is Dc (see FIG. 4, elements g1, g2 and g3), and a porosity of the disconnection portion measured in an end of the internal electrode in the third direction is Dm (see FIG. 4, element g4), the Dm is 40% or less, and Dm<Dc is satisfied (
g
4
A
v
g
.
g
1
+
g
2
+
g
3
=
0
A
v
g
.
(
1
3
+
1
2
+
2
3
)
=
0
0.4966
=
0
,
noting Dm is 0 base on g4 lacking any pore). As such, Dm<Dc and Dm is less than 40% which meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 15, Cha discloses the Dm is 19% or less (
g
4
A
v
g
.
g
1
+
g
2
+
g
3
=
0
A
v
g
.
(
1
3
+
1
2
+
2
3
)
=
0
0.4966
=
0
,
noting Dm is 0 base on g4 lacking any pore). As such, Dm is less than 19% which meets the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 16, Cha discloses the Dc is 43% or less (see FIG. 4, element g1, noting g1 is
1
3
=0.33). As such, Dc is less than 43% which meets the claim limitation.
Conclusion
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847